webtrees

Click To See Award Winners
by Greg Roach
An online collaborative genealogy applicaton that works from standard GEDCOM files and is free and Open Source. It uses PHP and MySQL. Webtrees is a fork of PhpGedView, created in 2010.

Free • Online • Full Featured
http://www.webtrees.net/
Overall324.59 out of 54.59 out of 54.59 out of 54.59 out of 54.59 out of 5 4.59
201854.81 out of 54.81 out of 54.81 out of 54.81 out of 54.81 out of 5 4.81
201754.14 out of 54.14 out of 54.14 out of 54.14 out of 54.14 out of 5 4.14
Earlier224.63 out of 54.63 out of 54.63 out of 54.63 out of 54.63 out of 5 4.63

Add Your Review of webtrees

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

32 Reviews of webtrees     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

webtrees Review by Doug Joe,  Feb 26, 2018

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Gedcom standard for true compatability

Biggest Pro: gedcom compliant
Biggest Con: ability to understand server configuration for local or online use. Else you hire a webspace and webmaster

webtrees Review by Alejandro Cavazos,  Feb 23, 2018

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Excellent software, well developed and well supported. Best option is you want to share your work with family and friends (and even have them join in and help out). Support is also superb, responses by Greg and other knowledgeable users is incredibly fasta and engaged. I’m always looking forward to see the next release and new third party modules.

Biggest Pro: Ability to share your work with others, frequently updated.
Biggest Con: None that I’ve run into.

webtrees Review by Claudio Bendinelli,  Jan 9, 2018

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

After trying several genealogy programs, I think that at the moment it is the best; many add-ons, intuitive use that facilitates people who are not familiar with the PC and simple but nice graphics.

Biggest Pro: great features, great support

webtrees Review by KenN,  Jan 5, 2018

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Lots to like about this program, but requires some understanding of web applications to install. Community help, no-one gets paid even the developer, but someone in the community has seen your problem so you will always get an answer.

This program collaborative which allows you to interact directly with members of your family all over the world, therefore each member can input their information and their close relatives. This does require your to do some training to keep data consistency up, but you can also reject bad data or information if you desire.

Program is completely GEDCOM Standard version 5.5.1 compatible, produces .ged files that are also GEDCOM v 5.5.1. If can read almost any GEDCOM file that a desktop program produces, even files that have non-standard GEDCOM tags (most programs don’t produce great GEDCOM).

Because this program is web based it concentrates on presenting data in a web browser and unfortunately it does not have a very good paper reporting application. However, if you have a good desktop program that read a large number of GEDCOM tags you could import the GEDCOM into that program and run its reports. A caution here is that many programs do not read a large percentage of GEDCOM tags so some data will be dropped by the receiving program (which is the fault of your desktop program not webtrees).

webtrees uses Google mapping to display locations of events, but requires some user data input to register the location. Note: community members have assembled some very good starting data for the most popular countries.

webtrees in multi-lingual in that If a user indicates that they live and speak (for example French) then the screen field names (not the data) is displayed in their language. This is very helpful in a collaborative environment.

Biggest Pro: Multi-lingul, GEDCOM Standard (full, not partial), colaborative (web based), free use, good help
Biggest Con: limited paper reporting, requires some website building knowledge. not a “slick” display design. Some extended (and little used) GEDCOM tags require additional work to input

webtrees Review by Thomas R Adkins,  Jan 5, 2018

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

A very smooth user-friendly package with many optional add-ons, constantly being developed & improved, with an almost immediately responsive help forum.

Biggest Pro: Rich in features & reports, outstanding support
Biggest Con: Wiki & documentation is always lagging behind the rapid software development & improvement

webtrees Review by Martin,  Sep 7, 2017

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I’m having a hard time figuring out the website. It does look great and a lot of people seem to love it. But first impressions, I don’t get it… there’s no easy way to figure out where to start. At least for a novice. :( Don’t want to give up but getting frustrated.

webtrees Review by Fabled Santa,  Jan 4, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

webtrees has made many since its original fork from PGV, and all for the good. As an Open Source program, free for all to use, it is relatively easy to install and maintain. As a collaborative program, it is a great way to get your relatives to cooperate in growing your family tree. The auto-update portion now operates very smoothly and it is not difficult to customize certain aspects of the code. It has a broad range of platforms it supports as can use legacy PHP and SQL, but is updated for the latest PHP 7. Overall, well featured and online for sharing, but secure.

Biggest Pro: Collaborative
Biggest Con: Reports

webtrees Review by claben,  Jan 2, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

One of the best on-line genealogy programs

Biggest Pro: Very easy and intuitive to use
Biggest Con: It has many customizations

webtrees Review by Andreas Rauhut,  Jan 2, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

A wonderful way to manage all kind of genealogical informations as data & media. And this online in real time with other searchers. I tried a lot of systems starting with PAF, GeneWeb, Heredis, Brother Keeper, and many others.
The best is the very active community of users and developers and this in differents languages.
If you’re interested look here at http://wt.rauhut.eu

Biggest Pro: Very stable and intuitiv.
Biggest Con: I can’t find anything negativ.

webtrees Review by Thomas,  Jan 2, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been using webtrees for several years after converting from phpgedview.
I have all my data online only and webtrees works excellent for me.
As an open source project with several dedicated contributors both for the core and many add-ons, this is exactly what I want and need.

Biggest Pro: Active forum and rapid support/helpful community. Privacy is seriously considered and supported.
Biggest Con: Takes some time to learn, love and master!

webtrees Review by sebadja,  Dec 25, 2016

Not Rated

After copying the program to the webtrees directory, I get an error message when calling:
Parse error: syntax error, unexpected T_STRING in /home/www/web299/html/Webtrees/index.php on line 16

The server is now set to php 7.0.

webtrees Review by Neve Franklin,  Dec 5, 2016

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Webtrees is a very basic genealogical program. People who are accustomed to using a program like TMG will be extremely disappointed with Webtrees. Its reports, in particular, are very primitive. It has similar capabilities to family history programs of the early 90s. Data exported from Webtrees includes tags which are not compatible with other programs which makes it impossible to generate usable reports in the program to which the data has been imported without massive editing of the report. Despite this Webtrees should continue to improve, perhaps in another fifteen years it will have similar functionality as TMG has now.

Biggest Pro: Open source. Can only improve.
Biggest Con: Poor reports.

webtrees Review by Rolf Schlösser,  Jun 17, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Wir finden diese Software unglaublich gut und einfach !!!

Google translate: We find this software incredibly good and easy !!!

webtrees Review by Horst Reinhardt,  Jun 16, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

good to handle and open source

Biggest Pro: helpful community

webtrees Review by patrick craig,  Mar 7, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

The best online genealogy program, and it is free.

Biggest Pro: the community help
Biggest Con: needs more programmers.

webtrees Review by Frank Kuilboer,  Feb 12, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I find this the best genealogy program for a range of reasons including that its free, open source, secure, web based, great layout and options for various skins. It also has an active group of people who develop great add ons for the program.

Biggest Pro: Secure website, free and very flexible
Biggest Con: Did initially take a little to learn

webtrees Review by Torgeir Abrahamsen,  Jan 28, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I would recommend it to everyone!

webtrees Review by Łukasz,  Jan 11, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

The best genealogy software.

Biggest Pro: online, open surce

webtrees Review by Marek Zielinski,  Jan 9, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I recently switched from PhpGedView (my server crashed) to Webtrees on a hosting service. The transition was easy (with some initial hicckups, but the support was great!). Luckily I kept the data in a GEDCOM file, and had backup of the media. I recommend it for everyone - keep your data in your pocket (figuratively - pendrive is OK, but keep multiple backup copies). The site works very well, is fast, and very simple to use. I slowly add new editors, who are not necessarily experienced in genealogy, and they find it user-friendly. What ultimately won me over was the recent upgrade - one click and it went smoothly to the end without a single menual step or error.

I would recommend it to everyone!

Biggest Pro: Web based, both accepts and exports your data as standard GEDCOM

webtrees Review by Steffi,  Jan 7, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Moved over from phpGedView, Webtrees is much better.
I wanted to have my data online but controlled by myself. http://www.stammbaum-schosser.de/wt/

Biggest Pro: Free, Lots of features and Designs, easy to maintain
Biggest Con: Missing Kékulé Report, without technical skills not possible to use

Show 21-32 »