webtrees

Click To See Award Winners
by Greg Roach, Nigel Osborne, Rob Peters and Stephen Arnold
An online collaborative genealogy applicaton that works from standard GEDCOM files and is free and Open Source. It uses PHP and MySQL. Webtrees is a fork of PhpGedView, created in 2010.

Free • Online • Full Featured
http://www.webtrees.net/
Overall274.42 out of 54.42 out of 54.42 out of 54.42 out of 54.42 out of 5 4.42
201754.14 out of 54.14 out of 54.14 out of 54.14 out of 54.14 out of 5 4.14
2016114.68 out of 54.68 out of 54.68 out of 54.68 out of 54.68 out of 5 4.68
Earlier114.44 out of 54.44 out of 54.44 out of 54.44 out of 54.44 out of 5 4.44

Add Your Review of webtrees

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

27 Reviews of webtrees     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

webtrees Review by Martin,  Sep 7, 2017

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I’m having a hard time figuring out the website. It does look great and a lot of people seem to love it. But first impressions, I don’t get it… there’s no easy way to figure out where to start. At least for a novice. :( Don’t want to give up but getting frustrated.

webtrees Review by Fabled Santa,  Jan 4, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

webtrees has made many since its original fork from PGV, and all for the good. As an Open Source program, free for all to use, it is relatively easy to install and maintain. As a collaborative program, it is a great way to get your relatives to cooperate in growing your family tree. The auto-update portion now operates very smoothly and it is not difficult to customize certain aspects of the code. It has a broad range of platforms it supports as can use legacy PHP and SQL, but is updated for the latest PHP 7. Overall, well featured and online for sharing, but secure.

Biggest Pro: Collaborative
Biggest Con: Reports

webtrees Review by claben,  Jan 2, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

One of the best on-line genealogy programs

Biggest Pro: Very easy and intuitive to use
Biggest Con: It has many customizations

webtrees Review by Andreas Rauhut,  Jan 2, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

A wonderful way to manage all kind of genealogical informations as data & media. And this online in real time with other searchers. I tried a lot of systems starting with PAF, GeneWeb, Heredis, Brother Keeper, and many others.
The best is the very active community of users and developers and this in differents languages.
If you’re interested look here at http://wt.rauhut.eu

Biggest Pro: Very stable and intuitiv.
Biggest Con: I can’t find anything negativ.

webtrees Review by Thomas,  Jan 2, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been using webtrees for several years after converting from phpgedview.
I have all my data online only and webtrees works excellent for me.
As an open source project with several dedicated contributors both for the core and many add-ons, this is exactly what I want and need.

Biggest Pro: Active forum and rapid support/helpful community. Privacy is seriously considered and supported.
Biggest Con: Takes some time to learn, love and master!

webtrees Review by sebadja,  Dec 25, 2016

Not Rated

After copying the program to the webtrees directory, I get an error message when calling:
Parse error: syntax error, unexpected T_STRING in /home/www/web299/html/Webtrees/index.php on line 16

The server is now set to php 7.0.

webtrees Review by Neve Franklin,  Dec 5, 2016

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Webtrees is a very basic genealogical program. People who are accustomed to using a program like TMG will be extremely disappointed with Webtrees. Its reports, in particular, are very primitive. It has similar capabilities to family history programs of the early 90s. Data exported from Webtrees includes tags which are not compatible with other programs which makes it impossible to generate usable reports in the program to which the data has been imported without massive editing of the report. Despite this Webtrees should continue to improve, perhaps in another fifteen years it will have similar functionality as TMG has now.

Biggest Pro: Open source. Can only improve.
Biggest Con: Poor reports.

webtrees Review by Rolf Schlösser,  Jun 17, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Wir finden diese Software unglaublich gut und einfach !!!

Google translate: We find this software incredibly good and easy !!!

webtrees Review by Horst Reinhardt,  Jun 16, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

good to handle and open source

Biggest Pro: helpful community

webtrees Review by patrick craig,  Mar 7, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

The best online genealogy program, and it is free.

Biggest Pro: the community help
Biggest Con: needs more programmers.

webtrees Review by Frank Kuilboer,  Feb 12, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I find this the best genealogy program for a range of reasons including that its free, open source, secure, web based, great layout and options for various skins. It also has an active group of people who develop great add ons for the program.

Biggest Pro: Secure website, free and very flexible
Biggest Con: Did initially take a little to learn

webtrees Review by Torgeir Abrahamsen,  Jan 28, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I would recommend it to everyone!

webtrees Review by Łukasz,  Jan 11, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

The best genealogy software.

Biggest Pro: online, open surce

webtrees Review by Marek Zielinski,  Jan 9, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I recently switched from PhpGedView (my server crashed) to Webtrees on a hosting service. The transition was easy (with some initial hicckups, but the support was great!). Luckily I kept the data in a GEDCOM file, and had backup of the media. I recommend it for everyone - keep your data in your pocket (figuratively - pendrive is OK, but keep multiple backup copies). The site works very well, is fast, and very simple to use. I slowly add new editors, who are not necessarily experienced in genealogy, and they find it user-friendly. What ultimately won me over was the recent upgrade - one click and it went smoothly to the end without a single menual step or error.

I would recommend it to everyone!

Biggest Pro: Web based, both accepts and exports your data as standard GEDCOM

webtrees Review by Steffi,  Jan 7, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Moved over from phpGedView, Webtrees is much better.
I wanted to have my data online but controlled by myself. http://www.stammbaum-schosser.de/wt/

Biggest Pro: Free, Lots of features and Designs, easy to maintain
Biggest Con: Missing Kékulé Report, without technical skills not possible to use

webtrees Review by Shaun,  Jan 3, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Having been a user of PHPGedview, I was excited to move across to webtrees. It offers a fresh and brilliant GUI interface and offers massive under the hood functions such as quick database searches; even with very large trees and the ability to run multiple trees independently, just to name a few of the features.

This software enables families to connect from all over the world to a central database allowing users to offer and add input in relation to knowledge that they may have and of course it does give you, or the administrator the final say in what gets changed. This software could be the answer that you are looking for to compile all those records you have in a filing cabinet or drawer at home. And if it’s privacy you’re after, you can completely lock the site down to only your registered users.

The best part it is free (a donation can be made to the author for his work if you like it), and all you need to get running is a hosting server or if you want run it from your local PC. If you get stuck help is only a forum away, with many active and knowledgeable users frequenting the forums. Give it a run and try it now, you can easily import your GEDCOM file from other software packages if you have one or start from scratch.

Biggest Pro: Hard to say with so many features, but perhaps its feature rich, stable and all things you need in a genealogy program.
Biggest Con: Learning curve

webtrees Review by Ocky,  Sep 8, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I have setup Webtrees and it is very nicely built, and very good presentation / graphics. It is not a public web site, you need to set it up on yourself and this limits its use for many non techies.

But if you want to go to the trouble of setting up your own website and have Webtrees on it, go for it. This (and TNG, i now use TNG) are the go.

Biggest Pro: Free, good layouts and graphics
Biggest Con: Need some technical interest and ability to setup and maintain

webtrees Review by andre,  Jun 19, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

i’ve been using webtrees since year 2011 and was using pgv since year 2006.
this is a wonderfull master sofware for collaborative genealogy. No wonder where you are, who you meet, datas are available always up to date.
Todays, more than 1000 members are updating the same tree, some get connected everyday and my sosa list keeps growing by itself. If you want to visit an active webtrees website, you can connect to http://www.ghezibde.net/genealogie/

Biggest Pro: great features, great devoelopper team, great support, …
Biggest Con: still a google mapping tools, i’d prefer OSM cause i do not like to give ANY information to google

webtrees Review by Hermann,  Dec 13, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Webtrees is easy to install on your own server, has a lot of features, a great forum with helpful answers and a wiki to get help.

Biggest Pro: web based, free, detailed privacy control, GEDCOM conform
Biggest Con: many features, very flexible, no integrated connection to other genealogical databases (e.g. to match source records)

webtrees Review by Robert,  Jul 13, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Reliable software with very helpful support forum, possibility to give relatively detailed and specific access to different levels of visitors and editors, easy to work together on one common database, huge variety of different data representations possible, some plugins could be further developed

Biggest Pro: collaboration, web based, forum support, multi language, security controls, easy setup
Biggest Con: Needs some learning to understand and master all detailed functions

Show 21-27 »