RootsMagic

Click To See Award Winners
by RootsMagic, Inc. (Bruce Buzbee)
A program from the developer of the very popular and well-liked Family Origins. This program is even better. Complete and easy to use with extensive reports. There is a free version called RootsMagic Essentials. There is a free app for iOS. It has some active user groups. They also have a blog.

Free • Purchase • Windows • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://www.rootsmagic.com/
Overall1984.37 out of 54.37 out of 54.37 out of 54.37 out of 54.37 out of 5 4.37
201773 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00
2016664.49 out of 54.49 out of 54.49 out of 54.49 out of 54.49 out of 5 4.49
Earlier1254.69 out of 54.69 out of 54.69 out of 54.69 out of 54.69 out of 5 4.69

Add Your Review of RootsMagic

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

198 Reviews of RootsMagic     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 21 - 40                   Add Your Review

RootsMagic Review by Jane Blackshear,  Aug 30, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have used Roots Magic since the first version of Family Origins and thru each new version of Family Origins as well as for Roots Magic. I currently have RM 7 and as always still find it fits my needs exactly. Many times improvements have been made which I didn’t even know were needed. I have tried to use other family tree software and either found it just to hard to manipulate or just didn’t have the items or arrangement I preferred. No other program I’ve tried provided the variety and number of reports as does Roots Magic.

Biggest Pro: ease of use
Biggest Con: I don’t know of any problem I may have encountered.

RootsMagic Review by Ward Bray,  Aug 30, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Super product. Super support. Looking forward to the Ancestry synch capability!

Biggest Pro: price to features
Biggest Con: needs more “finished” report types

RootsMagic Review by Carol Menges,  Aug 30, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

For years now–since version 4–I’ve been using RootsMagic. It’s a great program with a great many more bells and whistles I’ll ever need but with all the features I want. It’s easy to learn and practice. The company’s website gives us access to users to ask all our questions, and the helpers on the phone give quick access for the same purpose. The price is right too. Top notch program.

Biggest Pro: All I’ve said above.
Biggest Con: I can’t think of any.

RootsMagic Review by Pat McGrath,  Aug 30, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Used several other products and RootsMagic is the easiest to learn, the MOST user-friendly I’ve had; no plans to switch anymore. Great FREE training with webinars, UtubeTV, Magic Guides and an easy-to-follow manual as well as personal support via mailing lists, Facebook, user forums, and fast customer support.

Biggest Pro: EASY and DOES THE JOB BEST
Biggest Con: Not as many colors for coding as I’d like

RootsMagic Review by Denise Stanton,  Aug 30, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have used several software programs in my research. Roots Magic is by far the best. I have never had it crash or lock up, even when upgrading my computer to Windows 10. For me, it works like a dream.

Biggest Pro: User Friendly
Biggest Con: Making a custom report perhaps could be easier, but not a real problem

RootsMagic Review by Jo,  Aug 30, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been wowed over and over again by RootsMagic since installing it a year and a half ago. I’m not tech savvy at all and was very worried about trying something new. I figured it would take me months to learn to navigate and probably days to get it installed properly and drag over all my data but in just an evening I was up and running. It is a much more user friendly program than any other genealogy software I have tried and in fact than any other kind of program I use period! For the few things I’m not able to figure out on my own (and there have been only a couple!) there are wonderful tutorials and worksheets to walk you through specific things. The webhints are fantastic and am really looking forward to being able to sync with ancestry soon. This software is wonderful! I would recommend it to anyone. The product is amazing, the customer support (although you’re not likely to need it much) seems great and the company obviously stands behind its product and strives to make it the best out there. And they have succeeded!

Biggest Pro: An easy to use and affordable way to get the best that is out there!
Biggest Con: Haven’t found one yet other than it’s not free ;)

RootsMagic Review by August A. Peters,  Aug 30, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

RootsMagic great program. Technical support exceptional! Polite, courteous and very patient

Biggest Pro: Technical support
Biggest Con: None

RootsMagic Review by wanda Gant,  Aug 30, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I like this program I think. I do not like the steps I have to take to find a person. And, I do not like the idea of Ancestry or anyone else obtaining all my years of work free. Their info that would sync with my files may be incorrect, and that would be a real problem for me, so I sincerely hope that I can decline this feature. I never import another persons info directly into my files.

Biggest Pro: the book feature maybe.
Biggest Con: steps taken to search for new person in file. Ancestry will take all my years of work. I have not looked into ability to change back to a different program.

RootsMagic Review by Kathleen,  Aug 30, 2016

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I have had significant problems that messed up my previously good database which has been in use through various software revisions since the 90s. If I had started fresh with RM, I suppose all would have been well. Unfortunately, I had an older database (RM3) and fell for the PR about the newest version (RM6) being so great, and then had a terrible time of over a year trying to get the Tech department to fix what one bad upgrade messed up. The owner/software developer then tried to fix the kinks, but my database is permanently damaged and Reports print nonsense. Now, to be able to use the upcoming sync with Ancestry, I must do another upgrade to RM7. I wouldn’t go anywhere near another upgrade sold by that company!
I am following user groups of the new Kiev Family Tree Maker, which will also sync with Ancestry, to see if I should switch from my current unsatisfactory database.

The owner/developer is asking people to come here and give reviews. What a laugh.

Biggest Pro: It has lots of gewgaws that the average user will probably never use.
Biggest Con: Do not ever trust an Upgrade.

RootsMagic Review by Jim Sissel,  Aug 30, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

The best, most usable, and shareable reports. Very easy to use.

Biggest Pro: Shareable reports
Biggest Con: Photo storage can get confused.

RootsMagic Review by Katherine Richards,  Aug 30, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

This is the best designed and most flexible genealogy program I have ever seen. I’ve been using it for four or five years now. It is regularly upgraded. A quite good manual is available. The report set is very comprehensive. In general, I would recommend it to anyone, beginner or advanced researcher.

Biggest Pro: Flexibility. It’s pretty easy to do anything I want done.
Biggest Con: I would like to be able to manage sources a little easier. A search function would be good.

RootsMagic Review by Gloria Cingano,  Aug 30, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been using RootsMagic for many years and would not consider using any other genealogy software. RM is easy to use, intuitive, and does everything a genealogist could want. The online Webinars and other aids are wonderful.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use, intuitive.
Biggest Con: Can’t think of any.

RootsMagic Review by Nancy Bonifield,  Aug 30, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I love this program. After doing Family Genealogy for over 35 years I can say this is the best.
Easy to understand and the reports are far greater than anything I had before.

Your support teams are wonderful. There are so nice and easy to understand.

This is the best!!

Biggest Pro: Ease of use

RootsMagic Review by AudioGirl,  Aug 30, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I was gutted when Ancestry stopped producing Family Tree Maker but was delighted to find this software and am more than happy with it, it does everything I want it too and more. Extremely easy to use, got the hang of it straight away. Excellent, would recommend to anyone.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use and navigate around.
Biggest Con: None.

RootsMagic Review by Sue Cieslak,  Aug 30, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been using RootsMagic software since Version 2. It has evolved over the years but in a user friendly way. It is a complete and productive program. Customer support and Facebook’s User group is always there to encourage and help.

Biggest Pro: completeness of the program
Biggest Con: I wish it could house all the media inside the program so when you get a new computer, you wouldn’t have to link the media on another drive.

RootsMagic Review by Scott Carruth,  Aug 30, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

This is a great program. It takes all the tedium out of genealogy and maximizes the fun! Easy to understand and use once you get acquainted with the software. Thanks RootsMagic!

RootsMagic Review by Colleen,  Aug 30, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Not complicated to use, but very sophisticated results.

Biggest Pro: The sharing features, Webhints,custom facts, source citations plus several more features I use daily!
Biggest Con: no Con’s

RootsMagic Review by Erdeslau,  Aug 30, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Ah, the penny drops!

RootsMagic Inc. has just sent out a Newsletter including a request to satisfied users to post positive reviews on this Website.

Now I consider that to be a deliberate attempt to:

- significantly increase the volume of reviews listed; and
- to massage (manipulate) overall software review ’scores’.

Both of which are, in my opinion, highly dubious business practices and earn a ‘Worst’ score from me. A bit like the old claim that Family TreeMaker is currently the best selling Genealogy Software product on the market, without informing a gullible public that that is only correct if you

a) add together all the sales of the software product back to the year it was originally introduced to the market, with few competitor products available; and
b) if you include all of the new versions that were purchased from Ancestry just to get a ‘free’ 6 month subscription/subscription extension to the Ancestry Site at a lesser cost than the direct annual subscription!

Biggest Pro: It works satisfactorily
Biggest Con: Don’t like companies who attempt manipulate software review scoring!

————————————–
Moderator’s comment: GenSoftReviews encourages developers to ask their users to post a review of their program here. It shows that the developer believes they have a good product and are willing to take the chance to hear what their users have to say, good or bad. It gives them the opportunity to deal with some of the issues the users have and make their product even better.

RootsMagic Review by Erdeslau,  Aug 30, 2016

Not Rated

A couple of surprisingly negative comments, followed by a veritable avalanche of positive reviews!!!

I smell a very unsavoury plot to manipulate overall scoring.

In reality, like all software, RootsMagic has it’s good points and its bad points and in the end it depends if the users is happy with their choice and whether the software produces what they want and need. RootsMagic is certainly a satisfactory performer and I’ve used it on and off for many years, but it’s not my first choice of Genealogy Software at present.

Biggest Pro: It works satisfactorily
Biggest Con: Sourcing and the endless list of Sourcing Templates are far more complex than they really need to be. Far too strongly focussed on US research and research standards.

RootsMagic Review by Miguel Santos,  Aug 30, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I was a PAF user and then I discovered RootsMagic. It’s more complete but at the same time simple to use. I tried other software but at the end had no reasons to change.

Biggest Pro: Very easy and intuitive
Biggest Con: No Portuguese Language

« Show 1-20    Show 41-60 »