RootsMagic

Click To See Award Winners
by RootsMagic, Inc. (Bruce Buzbee)
A program from the developer of the very popular and well-liked Family Origins. This program is even better. Complete and easy to use with extensive reports. There is a free version called RootsMagic Essentials. There is a free app for iOS. It has some active user groups. They also have a blog.

Free • Purchase • Windows • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://www.rootsmagic.com/
Overall2054.38 out of 54.38 out of 54.38 out of 54.38 out of 54.38 out of 5 4.38
201864.83 out of 54.83 out of 54.83 out of 54.83 out of 54.83 out of 5 4.83
201782.84 out of 52.84 out of 52.84 out of 52.84 out of 52.84 out of 5 2.84
Earlier1914.55 out of 54.55 out of 54.55 out of 54.55 out of 54.55 out of 5 4.55

Add Your Review of RootsMagic

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

205 Reviews of RootsMagic     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 21 - 40                   Add Your Review

RootsMagic Review by Gene,  Aug 31, 2016

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Guess I am one of the few individuals that still likes the format of the old PAF. My main hang up of Roots Magic is your refusal of letting me as a user to include the MRI number in the Family Group forms. I understand that your staff and other individuals do not want to include this number, but the MRI number helps me keep track of people in a notebook. For this reason, I will not completely change over to Roots magic, but it is a real pain to keep up both programs. . My suggestion is, if you want me to do away with PAF, just give me the OPTION of including the MRI. If users do not want to use the MRI number that is fine with me.

No, I am not a real big user of either program, but I do have two notebooks that are close to 4 inches thick and two other notebooks that are 2-3 inches thick. I have been using PAF since the mid 1980’s.

Biggest Pro: Decendency chart.
Biggest Con: Not being able to include MRI numbers on the Family Group reports.

RootsMagic Review by Sal. Franco,  Aug 31, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I don’t have all the time in the world, but I love my Roots Magic and have told a number of friends and relatives about how easy and intuitive Roots Magic is. I have used a number of Roots Magic disks. In fact I have 1-7 right now (I think)! Since I bought the first one, that’s all I’ve used.)! I think it’s the absolute best for a beginning genealogist.

I am an original Family Origins user. and still love his work.

Biggest Pro: Ease of use.
Biggest Con: The first 10 minutes.

RootsMagic Review by Kelly,  Aug 31, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Love it! Very easy to use.

RootsMagic Review by Jon A. Miller,  Aug 31, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Used FTM for over 6 years. I will not reiterate what others have written, but will add you will not find a better software support organization, or a more positive and responsive user community.

Biggest Pro: support; portability; user community; open database structure
Biggest Con: source/citations; some UI depth issues

RootsMagic Review by Lorine Taylor,  Aug 30, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been doing family history research for many years. I used PAF until it was abandoned. I tried several commercial programs, but didn’t like the look or the way they worked. Then I was introduced to RootsMagic. I love it. When I was using PAF I would put an * after the surname of all direct ancestors & ! after all of their descendant except the direct one. This was helpful in navigating because I all a lot of side line people. With RootsMagic I could color code these people.
I am a family history consultant in my LDS ward. I encourage all those I work with to get RootsMagic. Everyone needs to have their own copy of their research & ancestors because anyone can make changes to the file on FamilySearch. Also, if they are new to family history & have a family member who has done some on the old PAF programs, they can easily import those files. And RootsMagic, until very recently was the only commercial program to link/sync with FamilySearch.
I really like that I can have several files - one for my mother & her ancestors, one for my father & his ancestors, on for my husband & his ancestors, one for descendants of my grandparents.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use; Syncs with FamilySearch; Color Coding; Ease of Merging both automatic & manual; So much more.
Biggest Con: haven’t found any cons

RootsMagic Review by Paul Cooper,  Aug 30, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I have swapped from Family Tree Maker a few months ago and I’m really pleased I did. Roots Magic isn’t as aesthetically pleasing as FTM but it more than compensates for that with a database that gives several possible views and many fields with which to record your families past. Reporting capabilities are also extensive so it’s capable of virtually anything.
The package also links into the online databases for FamilySearch, MyHeritage & FindMyPast which gives huge capabilities. Plans are underway to link to Ancestry and this should happen sometime this year. When this happens we have the whole package!

Biggest Pro: Flexibility
Biggest Con: None

RootsMagic Review by Reeves Shaw,  Aug 30, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I am also one of the first RootsMagic users even before when the program was first FamilyOrigins (I think that’s what it was called way back in old days), I have used many other genealogy programs and have always found them complicated, hard to manipulate or navigate and they just never filled the bill for what I needed or wanted, I have always been amazed at the simplicity and yet so user friendly RootsMagic has been for keeping my genealogy records in order and the way the program has helped me to do what little research I am able to do from my desk since I am not able to physically move about due to my declining physical abilities. Now with the ability to work with Ancestry.com, What a great Improvement to advancing my research. Thank You RootsMagic.

RootsMagic Review by Jane Blackshear,  Aug 30, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have used Roots Magic since the first version of Family Origins and thru each new version of Family Origins as well as for Roots Magic. I currently have RM 7 and as always still find it fits my needs exactly. Many times improvements have been made which I didn’t even know were needed. I have tried to use other family tree software and either found it just to hard to manipulate or just didn’t have the items or arrangement I preferred. No other program I’ve tried provided the variety and number of reports as does Roots Magic.

Biggest Pro: ease of use
Biggest Con: I don’t know of any problem I may have encountered.

RootsMagic Review by Ward Bray,  Aug 30, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Super product. Super support. Looking forward to the Ancestry synch capability!

Biggest Pro: price to features
Biggest Con: needs more “finished” report types

RootsMagic Review by Carol Menges,  Aug 30, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

For years now–since version 4–I’ve been using RootsMagic. It’s a great program with a great many more bells and whistles I’ll ever need but with all the features I want. It’s easy to learn and practice. The company’s website gives us access to users to ask all our questions, and the helpers on the phone give quick access for the same purpose. The price is right too. Top notch program.

Biggest Pro: All I’ve said above.
Biggest Con: I can’t think of any.

RootsMagic Review by Pat McGrath,  Aug 30, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Used several other products and RootsMagic is the easiest to learn, the MOST user-friendly I’ve had; no plans to switch anymore. Great FREE training with webinars, UtubeTV, Magic Guides and an easy-to-follow manual as well as personal support via mailing lists, Facebook, user forums, and fast customer support.

Biggest Pro: EASY and DOES THE JOB BEST
Biggest Con: Not as many colors for coding as I’d like

RootsMagic Review by Denise Stanton,  Aug 30, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have used several software programs in my research. Roots Magic is by far the best. I have never had it crash or lock up, even when upgrading my computer to Windows 10. For me, it works like a dream.

Biggest Pro: User Friendly
Biggest Con: Making a custom report perhaps could be easier, but not a real problem

RootsMagic Review by Jo,  Aug 30, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been wowed over and over again by RootsMagic since installing it a year and a half ago. I’m not tech savvy at all and was very worried about trying something new. I figured it would take me months to learn to navigate and probably days to get it installed properly and drag over all my data but in just an evening I was up and running. It is a much more user friendly program than any other genealogy software I have tried and in fact than any other kind of program I use period! For the few things I’m not able to figure out on my own (and there have been only a couple!) there are wonderful tutorials and worksheets to walk you through specific things. The webhints are fantastic and am really looking forward to being able to sync with ancestry soon. This software is wonderful! I would recommend it to anyone. The product is amazing, the customer support (although you’re not likely to need it much) seems great and the company obviously stands behind its product and strives to make it the best out there. And they have succeeded!

Biggest Pro: An easy to use and affordable way to get the best that is out there!
Biggest Con: Haven’t found one yet other than it’s not free ;)

RootsMagic Review by August A. Peters,  Aug 30, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

RootsMagic great program. Technical support exceptional! Polite, courteous and very patient

Biggest Pro: Technical support
Biggest Con: None

RootsMagic Review by wanda Gant,  Aug 30, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I like this program I think. I do not like the steps I have to take to find a person. And, I do not like the idea of Ancestry or anyone else obtaining all my years of work free. Their info that would sync with my files may be incorrect, and that would be a real problem for me, so I sincerely hope that I can decline this feature. I never import another persons info directly into my files.

Biggest Pro: the book feature maybe.
Biggest Con: steps taken to search for new person in file. Ancestry will take all my years of work. I have not looked into ability to change back to a different program.

RootsMagic Review by Kathleen,  Aug 30, 2016

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I have had significant problems that messed up my previously good database which has been in use through various software revisions since the 90s. If I had started fresh with RM, I suppose all would have been well. Unfortunately, I had an older database (RM3) and fell for the PR about the newest version (RM6) being so great, and then had a terrible time of over a year trying to get the Tech department to fix what one bad upgrade messed up. The owner/software developer then tried to fix the kinks, but my database is permanently damaged and Reports print nonsense. Now, to be able to use the upcoming sync with Ancestry, I must do another upgrade to RM7. I wouldn’t go anywhere near another upgrade sold by that company!
I am following user groups of the new Kiev Family Tree Maker, which will also sync with Ancestry, to see if I should switch from my current unsatisfactory database.

The owner/developer is asking people to come here and give reviews. What a laugh.

Biggest Pro: It has lots of gewgaws that the average user will probably never use.
Biggest Con: Do not ever trust an Upgrade.

RootsMagic Review by Jim Sissel,  Aug 30, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

The best, most usable, and shareable reports. Very easy to use.

Biggest Pro: Shareable reports
Biggest Con: Photo storage can get confused.

RootsMagic Review by Katherine Richards,  Aug 30, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

This is the best designed and most flexible genealogy program I have ever seen. I’ve been using it for four or five years now. It is regularly upgraded. A quite good manual is available. The report set is very comprehensive. In general, I would recommend it to anyone, beginner or advanced researcher.

Biggest Pro: Flexibility. It’s pretty easy to do anything I want done.
Biggest Con: I would like to be able to manage sources a little easier. A search function would be good.

RootsMagic Review by Gloria Cingano,  Aug 30, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been using RootsMagic for many years and would not consider using any other genealogy software. RM is easy to use, intuitive, and does everything a genealogist could want. The online Webinars and other aids are wonderful.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use, intuitive.
Biggest Con: Can’t think of any.

RootsMagic Review by Nancy Bonifield,  Aug 30, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I love this program. After doing Family Genealogy for over 35 years I can say this is the best.
Easy to understand and the reports are far greater than anything I had before.

Your support teams are wonderful. There are so nice and easy to understand.

This is the best!!

Biggest Pro: Ease of use

« Show 1-20    Show 41-60 »