RootsMagic

Click To See Award Winners
by RootsMagic, Inc. (Bruce Buzbee)
A program from the developer of the very popular and well-liked Family Origins. This program is even better. Complete and easy to use with extensive reports. There is a free version called RootsMagic Essentials. There is a free app for iOS. It has some active user groups. They also have a blog.

Free • Purchase • Windows • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://www.rootsmagic.com/
Overall1274.68 out of 54.68 out of 54.68 out of 54.68 out of 54.68 out of 5 4.68
201624.51 out of 54.51 out of 54.51 out of 54.51 out of 54.51 out of 5 4.51
2015434.84 out of 54.84 out of 54.84 out of 54.84 out of 54.84 out of 5 4.84
Earlier824.04 out of 54.04 out of 54.04 out of 54.04 out of 54.04 out of 5 4.04

Add Your Review of RootsMagic

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

127 Reviews of RootsMagic     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

RootsMagic Review by George G. Morgan,  Jan 18, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Best of all the programs I’ve ever used, and the recent addition of a Mac version is great. The incorporation of interfaces to FamilySearch and MyHeritage makes this program especially helpful.

Biggest Pro: Support
Biggest Con: None

RootsMagic Review by rob,  Jan 2, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

close. really working to accept FTM refugees.

Biggest Con: clickey

RootsMagic Review by Peggy Lauritzen,  Dec 17, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

This is the program you need. As one who does a lot of teaching and instructing, especially to older adults who may not be as computer savvy as others, RootsMagic is the perfect tool for keeping your family history straight.

Gone are the days of lugging heavy notebooks. With this program loaded right onto a laptop computer, a tablet, or a smartphone, your information is right in the palm of your hand. Who knows when you unexpectedly have a moment to research in a place you didn’t know you were going to be?

I love being able to color code my direct-line ancestors. It’s fun being able to see how the lines intersected many generations back. The program figured it out for me!

Customer service is superior.

Biggest Pro: Ease of use
Biggest Con: I haven’t found one yet.

RootsMagic Review by Marcie Garnett,  Dec 16, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I just love the source templates! Since they are based on Elizabeth Shown Mills’ Evidence Explained, I can rest assured that the sources are entered correctly.

Biggest Pro: Source Templates

RootsMagic Review by Virginia,  Dec 15, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

RootsMagic and its owner and staff are the best. The staff and owner actually listen to there users and make changes that their customers want.

Biggest Pro: Customer service
Biggest Con: No mac version but it is in the works

RootsMagic Review by Chris,  Dec 15, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Just switched to it this week. Already feel at home. Does everything I want it to do. Support is fantastic.

Biggest Pro: Powerful and comfortable to use
Biggest Con: I like pdfs better than video for instructions (but they are excellent ones)

RootsMagic Review by Vicki Roberts,  Dec 15, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I love bow easy it is to learn but at the same time, it is very powerful. I love the reports. It is a great programin

Biggest Pro: Instructional videos

RootsMagic Review by Andrew Kemp,  Dec 15, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Fantastic product with out of this world support directly from the authors and an extremely positive and active user group. Have been using Bruce’s products since FOW days and RM v1.0 through current version RM7.0.8 for my one-name study of over 250,000+ people, families, trees, photos and documents.

Would not look anywhere else for a genealogy program. This one has the lot!

Biggest Pro: Ease of use and speed
Biggest Con: Mobile app doesn’t sync with program version when changes made

RootsMagic Review by JereBecker,  Dec 15, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

It syncs with FamilySearch Family Tree, which is the *most* important feature to me, and the reason I purchased it.
I didn’t buy the manual - I didn’t have to - it’s that easy to use. I’ve been learning the bells and whistles as I need them.
The only things I still want are (1) copy and paste events, and (2) sync with Ancestry.

Biggest Pro: Syncs with FamilySearch Family Tree
Biggest Con: Still can’t copy and paste events (although you can copy and paste citations).

RootsMagic Review by Kim A,  Dec 15, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

They finally made it work on a Mac! (With a minor patch I can use it without opening up a windows portion). I love the ESM citations - it makes sourcing so much easier.

Biggest Pro: Easy to learn, wonderful online videos and help found on Facebook too.
Biggest Con: The mobile app doesn’t sync with the program when changes are made - needs to be reloaded when updated.

RootsMagic Review by DearMYRTLE,  Dec 15, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Useful for comparing and contrasting databases in side-by-side format. I love the drag and drop of an individual or his family to the original database. Thank-you for incorporating ESM citation formats. Love the share capabilities, and plan to use the “Publish Online” tool in 2016.

Biggest Pro: Ease of data entry
Biggest Con: Ancestry hasn’t permitted api to sync my tree to RootsMagic.

RootsMagic Review by She Cieslak,  Dec 15, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been using RootsMagic for a few years now. I love this program. It is easy enough to learn, easy to add data and media, the support is amazing and the FB group is always kind and helpful.

Biggest Pro: Easy to add data
Biggest Con: Media not stored within program.

RootsMagic Review by Sherry Lloyd,  Dec 15, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Great source management and I like the report options. A very handy tool is the ability to have two databases open at the same time. This allows me to view different screens for the same person as I’am reviewing information.

RootsMagic Review by Karleif Lende,  Dec 15, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

As a Norwegian and changed from TMG to RM, they both have some pre and negatives. So far OK.

Biggest Pro: Many features.
Biggest Con: The searching for persons are not good enough with big database, takes far too long time. Want it in Norwegian launguage.

RootsMagic Review by Joy Gulden,  Dec 15, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I was a “main frame” computer programmer and when I retired, I needed something computer based to occupy my time. Since I had known my mother’s family who were originally from Norway, I started researching them and used Family Origins to input what I learned. I tried several other programs, but returned to FO and then went on to invest in every RootsMagic version since then. I am a very basic user, but RM has all the bells and whistles that anyone could want.

Biggest Pro: Easy, inexpensive and can be used by basic users like me or the ones who want everything a program can offer.
Biggest Con: I have not found a con that could not be overcome.

RootsMagic Review by Amy Urman,  Dec 15, 2015

Not Rated

RootsMagic gives you all the tools you need to maintain a well researched family tree. I have been using the software for years. Videos, forums, book (manual) and user groups help genealogist unlock the product to it’s full potential. I love all the features.

Biggest Pro: Easy on the easy, easy to use
Biggest Con: none

RootsMagic Review by Dave Vickers,  Dec 15, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been using RootsMagic since early version 3 moving over from using PAF. I have tried all the others but now don’t bother. RootsMagic is the best and I recommend it to anyone who listens as well as those that don’t or won’t!!

Biggest Pro: Too many to list but especially like the ability to work with an individual and all of their facts on one screen.
Biggest Con: I can’t think of a single “con” let alone the biggest!

RootsMagic Review by Susanna Hough,  Dec 15, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I changed over to RootsMagic seven years ago because it offered many features that other software did not. The color coding new to me back then, as an example, eliminated confusion of direct maternal or paternal lineages as the numbers of ancestors grew (often with same or similar names). Different colors indicate my descendants.
I recommend it to any one who shows the least bit of interest in genealogy.

Biggest Pro: User-Friendly!
Biggest Con: None.

RootsMagic Review by Ann Smart,  Dec 15, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Roots Magic is easy to use and yet very powerful. The program has features that you can grow into when you are ready. It is a relational data base so if you find an error or additional information for a place, source etc., you just fix it once and it is corrected everyplace you use it. I love the to do list, media tagging, source wizards, and fact sharing features. The reports and publishing are good. One time I totally reorganized my photos and documents. After I moved about 3,000, I just hit repair media links and in less than 10 minutes everything was correctly reattached. The search and merge features are also easy to use and work on most fields. Color coding helps me keep my lines straight. You can search the web for a person when you are on that person. There are many features I forget about because I don’t use them on a regular basis, but our user group and the webinars help remind me.Roots Magic to go allows you to take it with you on a jump drive and enter data from another computer and then sync. You can have very long notes with facts which allows you to tell the stories in a logical order for your reports and you can customize sentences in an individual fact or write new fact types with logical sentences. The book is easy to understand. The IPad version is view only, but it is helpful when I’m asked a question, because I always have my data with me.

Biggest Pro: Relational data base is easy to correct and fixes errors everyplace.
Biggest Con: Missing things seem to be added when asked, so it is hard to find a con

RootsMagic Review by Frazier,  Dec 15, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Ive been using RootsMagic since version 4 and I love the software! It is by far the best genealogy software. Its easy to use and have a variety of wonderful reports and tools. I cannot imagine using anything else.

Show 21-40 »