RootsMagic

Click To See Award Winners
by RootsMagic, Inc. (Bruce Buzbee)
A program from the developer of the very popular and well-liked Family Origins. This program is even better. Complete and easy to use with extensive reports. There is a free version called RootsMagic Essentials. There is a free app for iOS. It has some active user groups. They also have a blog.

Free • Purchase • Windows • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://www.rootsmagic.com/
Overall1984.37 out of 54.37 out of 54.37 out of 54.37 out of 54.37 out of 5 4.37
201773 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00
2016664.49 out of 54.49 out of 54.49 out of 54.49 out of 54.49 out of 5 4.49
Earlier1254.69 out of 54.69 out of 54.69 out of 54.69 out of 54.69 out of 5 4.69

Add Your Review of RootsMagic

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

198 Reviews of RootsMagic     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

RootsMagic Review by Elizabeth Molyneux-Dickinson,  Aug 7, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Brilliant programme with plenty of available help and now able to sync with Ancestry.

Biggest Pro: Gives hints on FindMyPast, Heritage, Ancestry & LDS
Biggest Con: Would like to see better results on reprts

RootsMagic Review by Scott Hill,  Jul 19, 2017

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have to agree with everyone else, it looks great at first, then you get to understand the relationship and data sharing that occurs between them Ancestry and Family Search.

TreeShare is one dimensional and not worth the pain it brings!

Yes, you can link to FamilySearch and integrate the information. But it doesn’t capture the FamilySearch ID in case you want to go their website to look at the data or share with someone else so they can go look at it.

Further, make a spelling change to a Place in RootsMagic, then use TreeShare to Ancestry - you have to walk thru EACH change for EACH person to merge and update the change on Ancestry. This also occurs in the reverse too!

So, if you change Houston, Harris County, Texas, USA to Houston, Harris, Texas, USA in 100 people in your tree database - you will have to walk thru 100 people and make 5 mouse clicks for EACH person to ACCEPT and MAKE the change to match in both vendors applications! That is 500 mouse clicks to make ONE change that affects the Place name!

RootsMagic recommendation is to detach the linked trees and upload again! Which will lose all current hints and other data integration sharing fields and it will DUPLICATE your tree at Ancestry!

If you import and merge your file from Legacy that had the FamilySearch ID’s it captures that data, but it doesn’t make it accessible, updatable, or linkable to Ancestry/Family Tree Maker.

I actually had the RootsMagic Help Desk tell me that using the ID’s wasn’t appropriate or allowed to do by them, however Legacy IS certified by the LDS and they DO capture the FamilySearch ID number!

It seems both RootsMagic and Family Tree Maker are afraid to expose the FamilySearch ID’s for feel they would lose customers, when actually both have their place in working together on OUR databases. Each application has features that work better than the other, neither has the BEST tool for all of OUR data in OUR trees!

Biggest Pro: You can capture the FamilySearch ID # from Legacy during an import
Biggest Con: No GLOBAL merge of changes between linked RoosMagic and Ancestry trees

RootsMagic Review by Donald,  Jul 16, 2017

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

RootsMagic seems like a good piece of software at first but….
Treeshare is horrible. As a matter of fact it is not just Treeshare, the way this program transfers data to websites and to other programs is horrible. It always messes up my online trees. It is definitely not a GEDcom compliant software. Every time I export a GEDcom with Rootsmagic, it always has errors or causes problems in other software. Not only this, the program is extremely hard to navigate given the views you have a choice of.

RootsMagic Review by Jay Cee,  Jul 2, 2017

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I recently “upgraded” from Family Tree Maker because my version is no longer supported. I had heard positive things about Roots Magic and decided to try it out. First, ver. 7.5 pulls in your Family Tree Maker .ftm file without any problem as long as it’s ver. 2014 and earlier. There is some crossover compatibility but RM doesn’t handle reports well which is one of the main reasons I went with the software. You can select the number of generations to show in your report, up to 30, but it couldn’t handle my file above 12 generations. Frustrating. Now, I’m back to looking for a genealogy program that allows me to print the entire file.

Biggest Pro: Full compatibility with Family Tree Maker
Biggest Con: Doesn’t print reports well

RootsMagic Review by Marian K,  May 4, 2017

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Biggest Pro: Still looking
Biggest Con: Still looking

RootsMagic Review by john davis,  Feb 23, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

the best program I have used so far

Biggest Pro: Usability, price, support in that order
Biggest Con: need more source citation records for UK

RootsMagic Review by Linda,  Jan 1, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Roots Magic is an outstanding program. As a long-time former The Master Genealogist user, I love Roots Magic even better. The transition was seamless. It is user-friendly and robust. Linking to records in Ancestry and Family Tree has been wonderful.

Biggest Pro: Robust & great documentation capability.
Biggest Con: Reports tend to be fixed; need more options or editing possibilities to reporting capability.

RootsMagic Review by Joe Byrnes,  Sep 28, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Roots Magic is very user friendly and intuitive, with excellent support from the developers, the Facebook blog and their user manual. And the price is terrific. I use Ancestry with all it’s resources and am anxiously looking forward to synch to become effective. Ancestry and RM is an unbeatable combination, in my opinion.

Biggest Pro: Usability, price, support in that order
Biggest Con: Nothing leaps out

RootsMagic Review by Donald,  Sep 13, 2016

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I like Rootsmagic, really I do. But I just cannot bring myself to give it 5 stars or to recommend it as my #1 program anymore. I think it maybe too complicated of a program and takes too many clicks to get something simple like Source Citation done. Also it does not like PDF files. I think the people who work on the software are great and they do give great support, but I wonder if perhaps they are trying to cram too much into the software just to appease the users. It seems many of these users are trying to Over Kill genealogy and in turn Over Complicate it as well. You pretty much have to be a computer programmer to work RootsMagic at this point or use the Manual every time you use it.

Biggest Pro: Light on resources and great support
Biggest Con: Program is becoming Over Complicated and Over Kill.

RootsMagic Review by Cindy McCachern,  Sep 5, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I started using Rootsmagic when it first came out and have been using it ever since. I can’t say enough good about this program. It has definitely grown with me. I have five large databases (75,000 individuals and up). The program is easy to use and lets me easily document my sources. It is regularly updated, so it is able to keep up with advances in technology that effect genealogy.. Just when I think that it can’t get any better–it does.

Rootsmagic links with familysearch.org and lets me easily move information back-and-forth between one and the other. It is easy to print information or send information electronically to others. I’m especially looking forward to an upcoming update which will link it with ancestry.com.

I highly recommend this program to both the beginning and the experienced genealogist.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use, regularly updated, easy to include sources, organizes photos, will soon link with Ancestry.com, Great price

RootsMagic Review by Norma Ford,  Sep 3, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

The best program I have used for my genealogy family. It is updated often but a new version only when absolutely necessary. Thanks RootsMagic.

Biggest Pro: new features and fixed regularily
Biggest Con: the reports could be better i.e. Indexes

RootsMagic Review by Penny maclaughlin,  Sep 1, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Once i got used to the program i wont go back.

Biggest Con: Needs zipper merges. Its confirmed on the wishlist

RootsMagic Review by Ed Rowlance,  Sep 1, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I’ve been using Rootsmagic on several family trees, some of them quite large, for over a year now. I’m a power user and really USE my genealogy software. Quality and reliability of software is the most important thing to me along with features. Rootsmagic rocks. No complaints. It does the job, good usability, new features being added all the time, very affordable. They had it ready and working with Windows 10 very quickly.

Biggest Pro: Reliability and quality

RootsMagic Review by Gene,  Aug 31, 2016

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Guess I am one of the few individuals that still likes the format of the old PAF. My main hang up of Roots Magic is your refusal of letting me as a user to include the MRI number in the Family Group forms. I understand that your staff and other individuals do not want to include this number, but the MRI number helps me keep track of people in a notebook. For this reason, I will not completely change over to Roots magic, but it is a real pain to keep up both programs. . My suggestion is, if you want me to do away with PAF, just give me the OPTION of including the MRI. If users do not want to use the MRI number that is fine with me.

No, I am not a real big user of either program, but I do have two notebooks that are close to 4 inches thick and two other notebooks that are 2-3 inches thick. I have been using PAF since the mid 1980’s.

Biggest Pro: Decendency chart.
Biggest Con: Not being able to include MRI numbers on the Family Group reports.

RootsMagic Review by Sal. Franco,  Aug 31, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I don’t have all the time in the world, but I love my Roots Magic and have told a number of friends and relatives about how easy and intuitive Roots Magic is. I have used a number of Roots Magic disks. In fact I have 1-7 right now (I think)! Since I bought the first one, that’s all I’ve used.)! I think it’s the absolute best for a beginning genealogist.

I am an original Family Origins user. and still love his work.

Biggest Pro: Ease of use.
Biggest Con: The first 10 minutes.

RootsMagic Review by Kelly,  Aug 31, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Love it! Very easy to use.

RootsMagic Review by Jon A. Miller,  Aug 31, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Used FTM for over 6 years. I will not reiterate what others have written, but will add you will not find a better software support organization, or a more positive and responsive user community.

Biggest Pro: support; portability; user community; open database structure
Biggest Con: source/citations; some UI depth issues

RootsMagic Review by Lorine Taylor,  Aug 30, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been doing family history research for many years. I used PAF until it was abandoned. I tried several commercial programs, but didn’t like the look or the way they worked. Then I was introduced to RootsMagic. I love it. When I was using PAF I would put an * after the surname of all direct ancestors & ! after all of their descendant except the direct one. This was helpful in navigating because I all a lot of side line people. With RootsMagic I could color code these people.
I am a family history consultant in my LDS ward. I encourage all those I work with to get RootsMagic. Everyone needs to have their own copy of their research & ancestors because anyone can make changes to the file on FamilySearch. Also, if they are new to family history & have a family member who has done some on the old PAF programs, they can easily import those files. And RootsMagic, until very recently was the only commercial program to link/sync with FamilySearch.
I really like that I can have several files - one for my mother & her ancestors, one for my father & his ancestors, on for my husband & his ancestors, one for descendants of my grandparents.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use; Syncs with FamilySearch; Color Coding; Ease of Merging both automatic & manual; So much more.
Biggest Con: haven’t found any cons

RootsMagic Review by Paul Cooper,  Aug 30, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I have swapped from Family Tree Maker a few months ago and I’m really pleased I did. Roots Magic isn’t as aesthetically pleasing as FTM but it more than compensates for that with a database that gives several possible views and many fields with which to record your families past. Reporting capabilities are also extensive so it’s capable of virtually anything.
The package also links into the online databases for FamilySearch, MyHeritage & FindMyPast which gives huge capabilities. Plans are underway to link to Ancestry and this should happen sometime this year. When this happens we have the whole package!

Biggest Pro: Flexibility
Biggest Con: None

RootsMagic Review by Reeves Shaw,  Aug 30, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I am also one of the first RootsMagic users even before when the program was first FamilyOrigins (I think that’s what it was called way back in old days), I have used many other genealogy programs and have always found them complicated, hard to manipulate or navigate and they just never filled the bill for what I needed or wanted, I have always been amazed at the simplicity and yet so user friendly RootsMagic has been for keeping my genealogy records in order and the way the program has helped me to do what little research I am able to do from my desk since I am not able to physically move about due to my declining physical abilities. Now with the ability to work with Ancestry.com, What a great Improvement to advancing my research. Thank You RootsMagic.

Show 21-40 »