RootsMagic

Click To See Award Winners
by RootsMagic, Inc. (Bruce Buzbee)
A program from the developer of the very popular and well-liked Family Origins. This program is even better. Complete and easy to use with extensive reports. There is a free version called RootsMagic Essentials. There is a free app for iOS. It has some active user groups. They also have a blog.

Free • Purchase • Windows • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://www.rootsmagic.com/
Overall1914.55 out of 54.55 out of 54.55 out of 54.55 out of 54.55 out of 5 4.55
2016664.49 out of 54.49 out of 54.49 out of 54.49 out of 54.49 out of 5 4.49
2015434.84 out of 54.84 out of 54.84 out of 54.84 out of 54.84 out of 5 4.84
Earlier824.04 out of 54.04 out of 54.04 out of 54.04 out of 54.04 out of 5 4.04

Add Your Review of RootsMagic

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

191 Reviews of RootsMagic     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

RootsMagic Review by Joe Byrnes,  Sep 28, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Roots Magic is very user friendly and intuitive, with excellent support from the developers, the Facebook blog and their user manual. And the price is terrific. I use Ancestry with all it’s resources and am anxiously looking forward to synch to become effective. Ancestry and RM is an unbeatable combination, in my opinion.

Biggest Pro: Usability, price, support in that order
Biggest Con: Nothing leaps out

RootsMagic Review by Donald,  Sep 13, 2016

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I like Rootsmagic, really I do. But I just cannot bring myself to give it 5 stars or to recommend it as my #1 program anymore. I think it maybe too complicated of a program and takes too many clicks to get something simple like Source Citation done. Also it does not like PDF files. I think the people who work on the software are great and they do give great support, but I wonder if perhaps they are trying to cram too much into the software just to appease the users. It seems many of these users are trying to Over Kill genealogy and in turn Over Complicate it as well. You pretty much have to be a computer programmer to work RootsMagic at this point or use the Manual every time you use it.

Biggest Pro: Light on resources and great support
Biggest Con: Program is becoming Over Complicated and Over Kill.

RootsMagic Review by Cindy McCachern,  Sep 5, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I started using Rootsmagic when it first came out and have been using it ever since. I can’t say enough good about this program. It has definitely grown with me. I have five large databases (75,000 individuals and up). The program is easy to use and lets me easily document my sources. It is regularly updated, so it is able to keep up with advances in technology that effect genealogy.. Just when I think that it can’t get any better–it does.

Rootsmagic links with familysearch.org and lets me easily move information back-and-forth between one and the other. It is easy to print information or send information electronically to others. I’m especially looking forward to an upcoming update which will link it with ancestry.com.

I highly recommend this program to both the beginning and the experienced genealogist.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use, regularly updated, easy to include sources, organizes photos, will soon link with Ancestry.com, Great price

RootsMagic Review by Norma Ford,  Sep 3, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

The best program I have used for my genealogy family. It is updated often but a new version only when absolutely necessary. Thanks RootsMagic.

Biggest Pro: new features and fixed regularily
Biggest Con: the reports could be better i.e. Indexes

RootsMagic Review by Penny maclaughlin,  Sep 1, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Once i got used to the program i wont go back.

Biggest Con: Needs zipper merges. Its confirmed on the wishlist

RootsMagic Review by Ed Rowlance,  Sep 1, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I’ve been using Rootsmagic on several family trees, some of them quite large, for over a year now. I’m a power user and really USE my genealogy software. Quality and reliability of software is the most important thing to me along with features. Rootsmagic rocks. No complaints. It does the job, good usability, new features being added all the time, very affordable. They had it ready and working with Windows 10 very quickly.

Biggest Pro: Reliability and quality

RootsMagic Review by Gene,  Aug 31, 2016

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Guess I am one of the few individuals that still likes the format of the old PAF. My main hang up of Roots Magic is your refusal of letting me as a user to include the MRI number in the Family Group forms. I understand that your staff and other individuals do not want to include this number, but the MRI number helps me keep track of people in a notebook. For this reason, I will not completely change over to Roots magic, but it is a real pain to keep up both programs. . My suggestion is, if you want me to do away with PAF, just give me the OPTION of including the MRI. If users do not want to use the MRI number that is fine with me.

No, I am not a real big user of either program, but I do have two notebooks that are close to 4 inches thick and two other notebooks that are 2-3 inches thick. I have been using PAF since the mid 1980’s.

Biggest Pro: Decendency chart.
Biggest Con: Not being able to include MRI numbers on the Family Group reports.

RootsMagic Review by Sal. Franco,  Aug 31, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I don’t have all the time in the world, but I love my Roots Magic and have told a number of friends and relatives about how easy and intuitive Roots Magic is. I have used a number of Roots Magic disks. In fact I have 1-7 right now (I think)! Since I bought the first one, that’s all I’ve used.)! I think it’s the absolute best for a beginning genealogist.

I am an original Family Origins user. and still love his work.

Biggest Pro: Ease of use.
Biggest Con: The first 10 minutes.

RootsMagic Review by Kelly,  Aug 31, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Love it! Very easy to use.

RootsMagic Review by Jon A. Miller,  Aug 31, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Used FTM for over 6 years. I will not reiterate what others have written, but will add you will not find a better software support organization, or a more positive and responsive user community.

Biggest Pro: support; portability; user community; open database structure
Biggest Con: source/citations; some UI depth issues

RootsMagic Review by Lorine Taylor,  Aug 30, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been doing family history research for many years. I used PAF until it was abandoned. I tried several commercial programs, but didn’t like the look or the way they worked. Then I was introduced to RootsMagic. I love it. When I was using PAF I would put an * after the surname of all direct ancestors & ! after all of their descendant except the direct one. This was helpful in navigating because I all a lot of side line people. With RootsMagic I could color code these people.
I am a family history consultant in my LDS ward. I encourage all those I work with to get RootsMagic. Everyone needs to have their own copy of their research & ancestors because anyone can make changes to the file on FamilySearch. Also, if they are new to family history & have a family member who has done some on the old PAF programs, they can easily import those files. And RootsMagic, until very recently was the only commercial program to link/sync with FamilySearch.
I really like that I can have several files - one for my mother & her ancestors, one for my father & his ancestors, on for my husband & his ancestors, one for descendants of my grandparents.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use; Syncs with FamilySearch; Color Coding; Ease of Merging both automatic & manual; So much more.
Biggest Con: haven’t found any cons

RootsMagic Review by Paul Cooper,  Aug 30, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I have swapped from Family Tree Maker a few months ago and I’m really pleased I did. Roots Magic isn’t as aesthetically pleasing as FTM but it more than compensates for that with a database that gives several possible views and many fields with which to record your families past. Reporting capabilities are also extensive so it’s capable of virtually anything.
The package also links into the online databases for FamilySearch, MyHeritage & FindMyPast which gives huge capabilities. Plans are underway to link to Ancestry and this should happen sometime this year. When this happens we have the whole package!

Biggest Pro: Flexibility
Biggest Con: None

RootsMagic Review by Reeves Shaw,  Aug 30, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I am also one of the first RootsMagic users even before when the program was first FamilyOrigins (I think that’s what it was called way back in old days), I have used many other genealogy programs and have always found them complicated, hard to manipulate or navigate and they just never filled the bill for what I needed or wanted, I have always been amazed at the simplicity and yet so user friendly RootsMagic has been for keeping my genealogy records in order and the way the program has helped me to do what little research I am able to do from my desk since I am not able to physically move about due to my declining physical abilities. Now with the ability to work with Ancestry.com, What a great Improvement to advancing my research. Thank You RootsMagic.

RootsMagic Review by Jane Blackshear,  Aug 30, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have used Roots Magic since the first version of Family Origins and thru each new version of Family Origins as well as for Roots Magic. I currently have RM 7 and as always still find it fits my needs exactly. Many times improvements have been made which I didn’t even know were needed. I have tried to use other family tree software and either found it just to hard to manipulate or just didn’t have the items or arrangement I preferred. No other program I’ve tried provided the variety and number of reports as does Roots Magic.

Biggest Pro: ease of use
Biggest Con: I don’t know of any problem I may have encountered.

RootsMagic Review by Ward Bray,  Aug 30, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Super product. Super support. Looking forward to the Ancestry synch capability!

Biggest Pro: price to features
Biggest Con: needs more “finished” report types

RootsMagic Review by Carol Menges,  Aug 30, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

For years now–since version 4–I’ve been using RootsMagic. It’s a great program with a great many more bells and whistles I’ll ever need but with all the features I want. It’s easy to learn and practice. The company’s website gives us access to users to ask all our questions, and the helpers on the phone give quick access for the same purpose. The price is right too. Top notch program.

Biggest Pro: All I’ve said above.
Biggest Con: I can’t think of any.

RootsMagic Review by Pat McGrath,  Aug 30, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Used several other products and RootsMagic is the easiest to learn, the MOST user-friendly I’ve had; no plans to switch anymore. Great FREE training with webinars, UtubeTV, Magic Guides and an easy-to-follow manual as well as personal support via mailing lists, Facebook, user forums, and fast customer support.

Biggest Pro: EASY and DOES THE JOB BEST
Biggest Con: Not as many colors for coding as I’d like

RootsMagic Review by Denise Stanton,  Aug 30, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have used several software programs in my research. Roots Magic is by far the best. I have never had it crash or lock up, even when upgrading my computer to Windows 10. For me, it works like a dream.

Biggest Pro: User Friendly
Biggest Con: Making a custom report perhaps could be easier, but not a real problem

RootsMagic Review by Jo,  Aug 30, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been wowed over and over again by RootsMagic since installing it a year and a half ago. I’m not tech savvy at all and was very worried about trying something new. I figured it would take me months to learn to navigate and probably days to get it installed properly and drag over all my data but in just an evening I was up and running. It is a much more user friendly program than any other genealogy software I have tried and in fact than any other kind of program I use period! For the few things I’m not able to figure out on my own (and there have been only a couple!) there are wonderful tutorials and worksheets to walk you through specific things. The webhints are fantastic and am really looking forward to being able to sync with ancestry soon. This software is wonderful! I would recommend it to anyone. The product is amazing, the customer support (although you’re not likely to need it much) seems great and the company obviously stands behind its product and strives to make it the best out there. And they have succeeded!

Biggest Pro: An easy to use and affordable way to get the best that is out there!
Biggest Con: Haven’t found one yet other than it’s not free ;)

RootsMagic Review by August A. Peters,  Aug 30, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

RootsMagic great program. Technical support exceptional! Polite, courteous and very patient

Biggest Pro: Technical support
Biggest Con: None

Show 21-40 »