RootsMagic

Click To See Award Winners
by RootsMagic, Inc. (Bruce Buzbee)
A program from the developer of the very popular and well-liked Family Origins. This program is even better. Complete and easy to use with extensive reports. There is a free version called RootsMagic Essentials. There is a free app for iOS. It has some active user groups. They also have a blog.

Free • Purchase • Windows • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://www.rootsmagic.com/
Overall2044.37 out of 54.37 out of 54.37 out of 54.37 out of 54.37 out of 5 4.37
201854.79 out of 54.79 out of 54.79 out of 54.79 out of 54.79 out of 5 4.79
201782.84 out of 52.84 out of 52.84 out of 52.84 out of 52.84 out of 5 2.84
Earlier1914.55 out of 54.55 out of 54.55 out of 54.55 out of 54.55 out of 5 4.55

Add Your Review of RootsMagic

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

204 Reviews of RootsMagic     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

RootsMagic Review by Reverdy Lewin Orrell, III,  Feb 4, 2018

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I switched to Roots Magic when PAF went away. It is a very good program.

Biggest Pro: Nice layout - easy to use
Biggest Con: RM lacks the ability to make bulk changes. For instance, it can’t add a fact to multiply people at the same time.

RootsMagic Review by Randy Seaver,  Jan 5, 2018

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Full featured, logical layout, easy navigation, works reliably, great EE-compliant source citation templates, interfaces with FamilySearch Family Tree profiles, interfaces with your Ancestry Member Tree using TreeShare (one person at a time), has WebHints for Ancestry, MyHeritage, Findmypast and FamilySearch.

Biggest Pro: EE-compliant source citation templates
Biggest Con: Reports and charts need to be updated to industry standards.

RootsMagic Review by Caroline Horton,  Jan 4, 2018

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Easy to use; easy to learn with webinars being added as new features are added.

RootsMagic Review by John McCall,  Jan 3, 2018

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I’ve been a Rootsmagic user since the first version (after Family Origins!) and like it more every time I use it. The interface is intuitive, though there is a learning curve. But it has everything so I don’t have to use supplementary products to get the work done. The interface with Ancestry.com, FamilySearch, and My Heritage are improving. I’d really like to see a smoother search tool for locations so you can quickly find a partial location - such as a county with a listing of all towns within it — right in the list. Ditto for sources… if I forget the exact way I listed a particular source I have exit the list and go to the global search tool. But small concerns about a really solid, reliable, program with terrific support from Bruce and team. I’m very satisfied.

Biggest Pro: Intuitive interface with all the necessary information in a single screen
Biggest Con: Interface with FamilySearch needs some polish

RootsMagic Review by Betty,  Jan 2, 2018

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Former The Master Genealogist user. Tried several other programs and this seemed better than others. Still miss some features of The Master Genealogist.
Great for documentation entry and main reason for choosing this program. The help is very at good with lots of videos.

RootsMagic Review by Selma Neubauer,  Nov 5, 2017

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

So far I’m not too happy and definitely not impressed. I used The Master Genealogist which I miss

Biggest Con: not easy to use

RootsMagic Review by Elizabeth Molyneux-Dickinson,  Aug 7, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Brilliant programme with plenty of available help and now able to sync with Ancestry.

Biggest Pro: Gives hints on FindMyPast, Heritage, Ancestry & LDS
Biggest Con: Would like to see better results on reprts

RootsMagic Review by Scott Hill,  Jul 19, 2017

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have to agree with everyone else, it looks great at first, then you get to understand the relationship and data sharing that occurs between them Ancestry and Family Search.

TreeShare is one dimensional and not worth the pain it brings!

Yes, you can link to FamilySearch and integrate the information. But it doesn’t capture the FamilySearch ID in case you want to go their website to look at the data or share with someone else so they can go look at it.

Further, make a spelling change to a Place in RootsMagic, then use TreeShare to Ancestry - you have to walk thru EACH change for EACH person to merge and update the change on Ancestry. This also occurs in the reverse too!

So, if you change Houston, Harris County, Texas, USA to Houston, Harris, Texas, USA in 100 people in your tree database - you will have to walk thru 100 people and make 5 mouse clicks for EACH person to ACCEPT and MAKE the change to match in both vendors applications! That is 500 mouse clicks to make ONE change that affects the Place name!

RootsMagic recommendation is to detach the linked trees and upload again! Which will lose all current hints and other data integration sharing fields and it will DUPLICATE your tree at Ancestry!

If you import and merge your file from Legacy that had the FamilySearch ID’s it captures that data, but it doesn’t make it accessible, updatable, or linkable to Ancestry/Family Tree Maker.

I actually had the RootsMagic Help Desk tell me that using the ID’s wasn’t appropriate or allowed to do by them, however Legacy IS certified by the LDS and they DO capture the FamilySearch ID number!

It seems both RootsMagic and Family Tree Maker are afraid to expose the FamilySearch ID’s for feel they would lose customers, when actually both have their place in working together on OUR databases. Each application has features that work better than the other, neither has the BEST tool for all of OUR data in OUR trees!

Biggest Pro: You can capture the FamilySearch ID # from Legacy during an import
Biggest Con: No GLOBAL merge of changes between linked RoosMagic and Ancestry trees

RootsMagic Review by Donald,  Jul 16, 2017

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

RootsMagic seems like a good piece of software at first but….
Treeshare is horrible. As a matter of fact it is not just Treeshare, the way this program transfers data to websites and to other programs is horrible. It always messes up my online trees. It is definitely not a GEDcom compliant software. Every time I export a GEDcom with Rootsmagic, it always has errors or causes problems in other software. Not only this, the program is extremely hard to navigate given the views you have a choice of.

RootsMagic Review by Jay Cee,  Jul 2, 2017

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I recently “upgraded” from Family Tree Maker because my version is no longer supported. I had heard positive things about Roots Magic and decided to try it out. First, ver. 7.5 pulls in your Family Tree Maker .ftm file without any problem as long as it’s ver. 2014 and earlier. There is some crossover compatibility but RM doesn’t handle reports well which is one of the main reasons I went with the software. You can select the number of generations to show in your report, up to 30, but it couldn’t handle my file above 12 generations. Frustrating. Now, I’m back to looking for a genealogy program that allows me to print the entire file.

Biggest Pro: Full compatibility with Family Tree Maker
Biggest Con: Doesn’t print reports well

RootsMagic Review by Marian K,  May 4, 2017

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Biggest Pro: Still looking
Biggest Con: Still looking

RootsMagic Review by john davis,  Feb 23, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

the best program I have used so far

Biggest Pro: Usability, price, support in that order
Biggest Con: need more source citation records for UK

RootsMagic Review by Linda,  Jan 1, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Roots Magic is an outstanding program. As a long-time former The Master Genealogist user, I love Roots Magic even better. The transition was seamless. It is user-friendly and robust. Linking to records in Ancestry and Family Tree has been wonderful.

Biggest Pro: Robust & great documentation capability.
Biggest Con: Reports tend to be fixed; need more options or editing possibilities to reporting capability.

RootsMagic Review by Joe Byrnes,  Sep 28, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Roots Magic is very user friendly and intuitive, with excellent support from the developers, the Facebook blog and their user manual. And the price is terrific. I use Ancestry with all it’s resources and am anxiously looking forward to synch to become effective. Ancestry and RM is an unbeatable combination, in my opinion.

Biggest Pro: Usability, price, support in that order
Biggest Con: Nothing leaps out

RootsMagic Review by Donald,  Sep 13, 2016

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I like Rootsmagic, really I do. But I just cannot bring myself to give it 5 stars or to recommend it as my #1 program anymore. I think it maybe too complicated of a program and takes too many clicks to get something simple like Source Citation done. Also it does not like PDF files. I think the people who work on the software are great and they do give great support, but I wonder if perhaps they are trying to cram too much into the software just to appease the users. It seems many of these users are trying to Over Kill genealogy and in turn Over Complicate it as well. You pretty much have to be a computer programmer to work RootsMagic at this point or use the Manual every time you use it.

Biggest Pro: Light on resources and great support
Biggest Con: Program is becoming Over Complicated and Over Kill.

RootsMagic Review by Cindy McCachern,  Sep 5, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I started using Rootsmagic when it first came out and have been using it ever since. I can’t say enough good about this program. It has definitely grown with me. I have five large databases (75,000 individuals and up). The program is easy to use and lets me easily document my sources. It is regularly updated, so it is able to keep up with advances in technology that effect genealogy.. Just when I think that it can’t get any better–it does.

Rootsmagic links with familysearch.org and lets me easily move information back-and-forth between one and the other. It is easy to print information or send information electronically to others. I’m especially looking forward to an upcoming update which will link it with ancestry.com.

I highly recommend this program to both the beginning and the experienced genealogist.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use, regularly updated, easy to include sources, organizes photos, will soon link with Ancestry.com, Great price

RootsMagic Review by Norma Ford,  Sep 3, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

The best program I have used for my genealogy family. It is updated often but a new version only when absolutely necessary. Thanks RootsMagic.

Biggest Pro: new features and fixed regularily
Biggest Con: the reports could be better i.e. Indexes

RootsMagic Review by Penny maclaughlin,  Sep 1, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Once i got used to the program i wont go back.

Biggest Con: Needs zipper merges. Its confirmed on the wishlist

RootsMagic Review by Ed Rowlance,  Sep 1, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I’ve been using Rootsmagic on several family trees, some of them quite large, for over a year now. I’m a power user and really USE my genealogy software. Quality and reliability of software is the most important thing to me along with features. Rootsmagic rocks. No complaints. It does the job, good usability, new features being added all the time, very affordable. They had it ready and working with Windows 10 very quickly.

Biggest Pro: Reliability and quality

RootsMagic Review by Gene,  Aug 31, 2016

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Guess I am one of the few individuals that still likes the format of the old PAF. My main hang up of Roots Magic is your refusal of letting me as a user to include the MRI number in the Family Group forms. I understand that your staff and other individuals do not want to include this number, but the MRI number helps me keep track of people in a notebook. For this reason, I will not completely change over to Roots magic, but it is a real pain to keep up both programs. . My suggestion is, if you want me to do away with PAF, just give me the OPTION of including the MRI. If users do not want to use the MRI number that is fine with me.

No, I am not a real big user of either program, but I do have two notebooks that are close to 4 inches thick and two other notebooks that are 2-3 inches thick. I have been using PAF since the mid 1980’s.

Biggest Pro: Decendency chart.
Biggest Con: Not being able to include MRI numbers on the Family Group reports.

Show 21-40 »