RootsMagic

Click To See Award Winners
by RootsMagic, Inc. (Bruce Buzbee)
A program from the developer of the very popular and well-liked Family Origins. This program is even better. Complete and easy to use with extensive reports. There is a free version called RootsMagic Essentials. There is a free app for iOS. It has some active user groups. They also have a blog.

Free • Purchase • Windows • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://www.rootsmagic.com/
Overall1344.36 out of 54.36 out of 54.36 out of 54.36 out of 54.36 out of 5 4.36
201693.1 out of 53.1 out of 53.1 out of 53.1 out of 53.1 out of 5 3.10
2015434.84 out of 54.84 out of 54.84 out of 54.84 out of 54.84 out of 5 4.84
Earlier824.04 out of 54.04 out of 54.04 out of 54.04 out of 54.04 out of 5 4.04

Add Your Review of RootsMagic

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

134 Reviews of RootsMagic     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

RootsMagic Review by Phil Hales,  1 day ago

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Roots Magic had technical issues when I first installed it. Now that I’ve upgraded to Windows 10, it’s nearly impossible to use for more than a few minutes before it completely freezes and becomes unusable. In addition, the software is not intuitive at all and erroneous family relationships are nearly impossible to correct. Don’t buy this software. There is no technical help available. The help screens are not helpful.

Biggest Pro: Not sure
Biggest Con: Doesn’t work, not intuitive.

RootsMagic Review by Nancy Johnson,  Aug 22, 2016

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I’m a fairly new RM user & I’ve become frustrated with various Mac/RM issues I’ve had. Watched videos, read their instructions on different error messages I receive, called customer service (2 different times have been told “oh, I don’t know much about Mac, you need to talk to [whoever] about that, but they’re not here, you also might try to call earlier in the day, not 5 minutes before we’re shutting down”). I get one issue resolved only to hit another. I spend much time trying to address different problems.

Biggest Pro: Import of family tree
Biggest Con: Everything else!

RootsMagic Review by Myrna Wilson,  Aug 21, 2016

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I am very disappointed in the book section of this software. I had hoped to write a family history but am finding that this software will not do a decent job.. I wrote a different family book using Family Tree Maker in 2005 and was very satisfied with the result but not this program. It is a good program for keeping your day to day info but would not recommend it if your goal is to write a history.

Biggest Pro: Web Cam tutorials
Biggest Con: Very poor publishing capabililties

RootsMagic Review by Harry Martin,  Mar 10, 2016

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Have nothing but problems I can’t login and search engine locks my computer up. Call tech support and was told by tech support would be back in a day. Nothing but problems since I started.

RootsMagic Review by Anita Hunter,  Feb 28, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I purchased the software as it more closely meshes with the Family History libraries here in Utah. The reviews were great but none covered the fact that this “amazing” software doesn’t have what every other software has had for many years - an “undo”. If you ever make a mistake, you can’t change it so left with doing a back up for every item in case you do. Looking at the forums, it has been requested for years yet the company is unresponsive. It is good, but not great if you end up losing months of research on one person. And the control “Z” doesn’t work if you have already moved away from the cell. If you do a google search and see something with an SQL in it and below a tag for “undo”, don’t click it, as it makes your laptop sense a critical failure and shuts down.

Biggest Pro: the TO GO feature
Biggest Con: Lost months of work as there is no way to undo an error. Ridiculous that this feature is available in almost all programs I have seen.

RootsMagic Review by Dr. Nancy C. Coleman,  Feb 17, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I recently became a RootsMagic7 customer after Ancestry dropped support for their Family Tree Maker software. I had FTM 2011, and it was not a format that would directly transfer to RM. However RM will take your uploaded FTM 2011 backups and convert to a format that easily downloads to RM, complete with links to your media files. It was so easy. “Cina” at RM was the customer service rep. that assisted me the entire way.

I’m still exploring the features of RM7, but it’s all very intuitive and user friendly. I appreciate their commitment to the support of their software. I’m running Windows 7, but the program will also run on Win 10.

Biggest Pro: Easy to download, install, and transfer files from another software and customer service.
Biggest Con: None found at this time

RootsMagic Review by Ron.V,  Feb 11, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I’ve used this software since version 3. I also own and have used PAF, Legacy, Family Tree Maker, and Ancestral Quest. Each had its advantages and disadvantages. As with any software, there’s a learning curve getting used to it. The more complex it is, the harder it is to get used to it. There are so many features in RootsMagic that most users never know about such as quick and easy drop-down lists for entering your DNA results.

Are there things I would change? Sure. Everyone wants his software to be customized. But RM7 is the most advanced software that’s also the most intuitive to learn for most people. There are still die-hard PAF fans out there and those left crying when Ancestry.com announced they would no longer support FTM. RM makes room for everyone by providing a free version of the software and easy to follow guides when converting your data.

I chose to go with RM when I began building my own websites. It had the best website builder. Now I realize it has the best everything. I wish the website builder was more customizable but it’s still better than anything else I’ve seen, including server based software that builds dynamic web pages. RM7 has more options for creating and printing your own Family History book than any software out there. RM’s ability to interface with web-based collections like FamilySearch.org and now Ancestry.com makes it THE home based software to have without exception.

Biggest Pro: Has more and easier to use features than any other genealogy software ever.
Biggest Con: RootsMagic’s feature set may be overwhelming to new users.

RootsMagic Review by George G. Morgan,  Jan 18, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Best of all the programs I’ve ever used, and the recent addition of a Mac version is great. The incorporation of interfaces to FamilySearch and MyHeritage makes this program especially helpful.

Biggest Pro: Support
Biggest Con: None

RootsMagic Review by rob,  Jan 2, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

close. really working to accept FTM refugees.

Biggest Con: clickey

RootsMagic Review by Peggy Lauritzen,  Dec 17, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

This is the program you need. As one who does a lot of teaching and instructing, especially to older adults who may not be as computer savvy as others, RootsMagic is the perfect tool for keeping your family history straight.

Gone are the days of lugging heavy notebooks. With this program loaded right onto a laptop computer, a tablet, or a smartphone, your information is right in the palm of your hand. Who knows when you unexpectedly have a moment to research in a place you didn’t know you were going to be?

I love being able to color code my direct-line ancestors. It’s fun being able to see how the lines intersected many generations back. The program figured it out for me!

Customer service is superior.

Biggest Pro: Ease of use
Biggest Con: I haven’t found one yet.

RootsMagic Review by Marcie Garnett,  Dec 16, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I just love the source templates! Since they are based on Elizabeth Shown Mills’ Evidence Explained, I can rest assured that the sources are entered correctly.

Biggest Pro: Source Templates

RootsMagic Review by Virginia,  Dec 15, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

RootsMagic and its owner and staff are the best. The staff and owner actually listen to there users and make changes that their customers want.

Biggest Pro: Customer service
Biggest Con: No mac version but it is in the works

RootsMagic Review by Chris,  Dec 15, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Just switched to it this week. Already feel at home. Does everything I want it to do. Support is fantastic.

Biggest Pro: Powerful and comfortable to use
Biggest Con: I like pdfs better than video for instructions (but they are excellent ones)

RootsMagic Review by Vicki Roberts,  Dec 15, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I love bow easy it is to learn but at the same time, it is very powerful. I love the reports. It is a great programin

Biggest Pro: Instructional videos

RootsMagic Review by Andrew Kemp,  Dec 15, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Fantastic product with out of this world support directly from the authors and an extremely positive and active user group. Have been using Bruce’s products since FOW days and RM v1.0 through current version RM7.0.8 for my one-name study of over 250,000+ people, families, trees, photos and documents.

Would not look anywhere else for a genealogy program. This one has the lot!

Biggest Pro: Ease of use and speed
Biggest Con: Mobile app doesn’t sync with program version when changes made

RootsMagic Review by JereBecker,  Dec 15, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

It syncs with FamilySearch Family Tree, which is the *most* important feature to me, and the reason I purchased it.
I didn’t buy the manual - I didn’t have to - it’s that easy to use. I’ve been learning the bells and whistles as I need them.
The only things I still want are (1) copy and paste events, and (2) sync with Ancestry.

Biggest Pro: Syncs with FamilySearch Family Tree
Biggest Con: Still can’t copy and paste events (although you can copy and paste citations).

RootsMagic Review by Kim A,  Dec 15, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

They finally made it work on a Mac! (With a minor patch I can use it without opening up a windows portion). I love the ESM citations - it makes sourcing so much easier.

Biggest Pro: Easy to learn, wonderful online videos and help found on Facebook too.
Biggest Con: The mobile app doesn’t sync with the program when changes are made - needs to be reloaded when updated.

RootsMagic Review by DearMYRTLE,  Dec 15, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Useful for comparing and contrasting databases in side-by-side format. I love the drag and drop of an individual or his family to the original database. Thank-you for incorporating ESM citation formats. Love the share capabilities, and plan to use the “Publish Online” tool in 2016.

Biggest Pro: Ease of data entry
Biggest Con: Ancestry hasn’t permitted api to sync my tree to RootsMagic.

RootsMagic Review by She Cieslak,  Dec 15, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been using RootsMagic for a few years now. I love this program. It is easy enough to learn, easy to add data and media, the support is amazing and the FB group is always kind and helpful.

Biggest Pro: Easy to add data
Biggest Con: Media not stored within program.

RootsMagic Review by Sherry Lloyd,  Dec 15, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Great source management and I like the report options. A very handy tool is the ability to have two databases open at the same time. This allows me to view different screens for the same person as I’am reviewing information.

Show 21-40 »