RootsMagic

Click To See Award Winners
by RootsMagic, Inc. (Bruce Buzbee)
A program from the developer of the very popular and well-liked Family Origins. This program is even better. Complete and easy to use with extensive reports. There is a free version called RootsMagic Essentials. There is a free app for iOS. It has some active user groups. They also have a blog.

Free • Purchase • Windows • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://www.rootsmagic.com/
Overall764.47 out of 54.47 out of 54.47 out of 54.47 out of 54.47 out of 5 4.47
2014164.66 out of 54.66 out of 54.66 out of 54.66 out of 54.66 out of 5 4.66
201384.05 out of 54.05 out of 54.05 out of 54.05 out of 54.05 out of 5 4.05
Earlier524.18 out of 54.18 out of 54.18 out of 54.18 out of 54.18 out of 5 4.18

Add Your Review of RootsMagic

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

76 Reviews of RootsMagic     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

RootsMagic Review by Jane Maurer,  Mar 22, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

It is bringing genealogy out of the dark ages and continues to make improvements that are easy to follow and implement. It certainly is helping to make recording the information about our ancestors a breeze.

RootsMagic Review by Judie Hanson,  Mar 20, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I can say at this point, I think its terrible.I have been trying the last 4 days to download it to my desktop,& get nowhere.It only shows the installer running, but that goes for hrs,& never changes,so if I can’t get it done soon,then it’s history,& I will look some other place for one that will work.I sure would not recommend it, until I am able to use it myself,see if it works for me. I’m trying to change my Paf over . Heard good things about Roots
Magic 6, but have nothing to see, so can’t support that claim.

Biggest Pro: no pro’s,can’t download it
Biggest Con: wasting my time trying to get it to download,& only shows the installer running for hrs,& never changes.

RootsMagic Review by Jack Gracey,  Mar 17, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

An excellent program-easy to use and comprehensive. Starting with Famiy Orgins 1, I have been using a Brujce Buzbee database for, I think, over 15 years. I have never been disappointed with his products. The current version, RoutsMagic 6, is particularly impressive, particularly in its ability to sync with FamilySearch-Family Tree.
The program has a written manual which is very inclusive as well as online tutorials which thoroughly explain each function in detail. Free program updates are made available on a regular schedule and the interval between major upgrades is reasonable. Versions of the program are now available free for I-phones and Android devices.
In twenty years of genealogical research I have tried out many different programs, but also return to RootsMagic because of its ease of use and multiple capacities. I can honestly recommend it to any fellow researcher.

Biggest Pro: Ease of use; multiple capacities; integration with FamilySearch
Biggest Con: I would love to see a Chrome version

RootsMagic Review by Nita Harris,  Feb 17, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I LOVE RootsMagic! Have used it since it started with Family Origins. I recommend it to everyone.

Biggest Pro: Easy for an 83 year old grandma like me and a genius would love it.
Biggest Con: None

RootsMagic Review by Margaret Toth,  Jan 25, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I’ve used RootsMagic since its start and used Family Origins before that. I lectured on genealogy software for years and volunteered at our local genealogy society, helping people start their genealogy or answering software questions (I worked in the software field at the time). I kept multiple smaller databases to be fair to each product, and would try to be fair for the pros and cons of each, but personally I’d never consider any other product than RootsMagic. Because of Bruce’s personal commitment to his products and exceptional support for its users, I still think it’s by far the best genealogy software out there.

Biggest Pro: Ease of use and covers virtually every area of need
Biggest Con: Mac version would be nice but I use a software solution to get around that and have no problems

RootsMagic Review by John Carruthers,  Jan 23, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have used several programs over the last 15 years or so. I switched from PAF to Family Tree Maker to RootsMagic. RootsMagic is the best.

Biggest Pro: Integration with familysearch.org
Biggest Con: None

RootsMagic Review by CM,  Jan 12, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

RootsMagic 6 is the most comprehensive, easy to learn genealogy software available. It is easily adaptable to both beginner and advanced researcher. Loaded with features but not intimidating. Your research will be professionally organized and easy to manage. One of the most impressive features is the staff behind the product…they are super NICE people to deal with. Free online webinars, RootsMagic TV, and a message board give you confidence to succeed. Product pricing is quite reasonable considering how much you will use AND ENJOY this program. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!

Biggest Pro: Super Nice RootsMagic staff
Biggest Con: none

RootsMagic Review by George Elting,  Jan 7, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I’ve been using this software since version 1 and before that I was using Family Origins by the same creator. I have looked at dozens of other programs but none of them are as user friendly or as powerful, and none of them has a more responsive team behind it!

Biggest Pro: User Friendly
Biggest Con: none.

RootsMagic Review by Ray,  Jan 7, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Easy to learn & use. Web Search is very handy tool.

Biggest Pro: Love the RootsTV videos

RootsMagic Review by Roger Marble,  Jan 6, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Solid program easy enough for beginner but with features for experienced Genealogist. Despite what some think RM will do Descendant Wall Chart.

Biggest Pro: Many training videos, Program written by Genealogist not a committee.
Biggest Con: No current MAC version. Some users do not investigate all the features

Biggest Con:

RootsMagic Review by Sue Cieslak,  Jan 6, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have used several programs since 1989. Hands down RootsMagic is the best. Tech support is patient and very helpful, on demand FREE tutorials are in depth and user friendly, full featured software. Love it!!!

Biggest Pro: On demand tutorials so you can use the program to it’s fullest.
Biggest Con: Doesn’t store your attached documentation within it’s files. If you must purchase a new computer, you have to try and reattach.

RootsMagic Review by Lee Wise,  Jan 3, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I started out using Family Origins and immediately switched to RootsMagic upon hearing that Bruce produced both programs. Each year RM gets better and better. I enjoy the the flexibility of the program, as in being able to change the sentence structure. The source templates are great to work with. The link with FamilySearch is also a great feature with the ability to transfer information back and forth, and now to be able to transfer source information to FamilySearch is even better.

I have tried a couple different genealogy programs over the years, but nothing compares to RootsMagic.

Biggest Pro: Searching different websites from within RootsMagic
Biggest Con: There just aren’t any–except maybe for not having the Android version out yet.

RootsMagic Review by Nettie 's Genbits,  Jan 3, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

The best software for genealogy.. Using it for over 15 years.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use and understand the logic

RootsMagic Review by Sean,  Jan 2, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

After many years happily using Cumberland Family Tree, I tried many programs and ended up sticking with RM. In its earlier versions, I found it wasn’t as flexible or as user-friendly as CFT, but with more recent versions it has come a long way. I now can’t think of using anything else. That said, it still has some small annoying aspects that have yet to be addressed or rectified. Some are small. For example, it does not automatically sort some events in logical order if the dates are the same or if there is no date; rather, it sorts alphabetically (i.e. it always sorts baptisms before births, deaths before marriages, etc.). Other programs will always put these items in the order they occur in life if there is no date. I also do not like the strict categorization it has for describing sources. More often than not, I have to force information into the “Free Form” template. My biggest complaint is how it long it is taking to come out with an Android app. It’s like RM doesn’t know that there are other smartphones out there besides the iPhone, and given the market share of Android phones, the delay is unacceptable. In fact, I have strongly considered leaving RM because it has no Android presence.

Biggest Pro: User friendly, nice interface, well organized
Biggest Con: No Android app

RootsMagic Review by kmun,  Jan 2, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been doing genealogy for 30 years and teach computer classes. I feel that this is the most comprehensive genealogy program I have ever used. I have used 6 other programs in the past and none of them compare.

Biggest Pro: ability to handle any genealogy data
Biggest Con: If I have any con, it might be the learning curve for computer newbies.

RootsMagic Review by Tom Marshall,  Jan 2, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Love the Problem Alerts what a help that has been. This software is just amazing what it can do.

Biggest Pro: Problem Alerts
Biggest Con: None

RootsMagic Review by A Scott,  Aug 4, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Excellent now much easier to research names and check names in your own tree against Family Search records. Well worth having

Biggest Pro: Easy to use
Biggest Con: none

RootsMagic Review by zu,  Jun 9, 2013

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

completely useless - will not do descending tree which is the only reason i bought this waste of a program

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: does not do what is advertised

RootsMagic Review by Sandykj,  May 1, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have used FTM, Legacy and Ancestral Quest. Unfortunately FTM is proprietary and the only program that syncs with Ancestry.com and there are ways to work around that. Once I started with RootsMagic, I didn’t search any further. RM is the easiest interface, user friendly and easiest to teach. It now syncs with Family Tree on Familysearch.org and again is very simple to understand. There is a free version that is free forever without all the bells and whistles. Since the price is very competitive for the full version, it’s a no brainer to upgrade. You can search the web from with the programs, so it fills in the information for you. There are many built in searches for Google, Bing, FamilySearch, Ancestry, etc. And it is easy to add your own preferred searches. Adding sources and citations can be so confusing, and RM simplifies that process. They have online training with over 40 videos that are free to view online or download. I could go on and on. The only item I miss in RM is the fixed pedigree numbering that is found in PAF. I give RM A+++.

Biggest Pro: User friendly interface
Biggest Con: doesn’t do fix numbering system on the pedigree charts (PAF is the only one)

RootsMagic Review by Vicki Foley,  Apr 13, 2013

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

The programme has some brilliant features and capabilities, hence I bought it. I was using FTM 2012, and am going back to it.
You search through RM and then have to type in any new people to your tree, as RM will not import the name and relationship, as FTM does so very well.
If RM would do that, I would love to use it …….. As it is, it is not suitable for what I need - take too long to add people to the tree.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use. Full of features that makes using your tree easy.
Biggest Con: Cannot import data from the Internet (eg Ancestry) direct to your tree. Makes it poor for my needs.

Show 21-40 »