RootsMagic

Click To See Award Winners
by RootsMagic, Inc. (Bruce Buzbee)
A program from the developer of the very popular and well-liked Family Origins. This program is even better. Complete and easy to use with extensive reports. There is a free version called RootsMagic Essentials. There is a free app for iOS. It has some active user groups. They also have a blog.

Free • Purchase • Windows • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://www.rootsmagic.com/
Overall814.17 out of 54.17 out of 54.17 out of 54.17 out of 54.17 out of 5 4.17
2014214.19 out of 54.19 out of 54.19 out of 54.19 out of 54.19 out of 5 4.19
201384.05 out of 54.05 out of 54.05 out of 54.05 out of 54.05 out of 5 4.05
Earlier524.18 out of 54.18 out of 54.18 out of 54.18 out of 54.18 out of 5 4.18

Add Your Review of RootsMagic

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

81 Reviews of RootsMagic     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

RootsMagic Review by Mick,  Oct 10, 2014

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I utilised this program for about a decade: a mostly very positive experience, however, Lisa Phillips’ review below (quote, “We really only care about the information the LDS (Latter Day Saints) church wants so we don’t worry if the other fields won’t really work”. ), suggests a significantly disproportionate consideration of all-things LDS by RM. While a very good program, it has progressively become bogged down/cluttered with ‘features’ of negligible value.

RootsMagic Review by Sheri Bush,  Jun 27, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have used several genealogy programs over the past 30 years and I can say honestly that RootsMagic is the best. It is easy to use, very friendly for beginners and advanced users. I love the source entry. Such a breeze and is up to standards. Has all the ‘etras’ such as search the web and other genealogy sites. I started using RootsMagic at version 3 and am currently up to date with version 6. Love it.

Biggest Pro: Ease of use and source entry.
Biggest Con: I’d like to see a better Android app come out soon.

RootsMagic Review by GRACE,  Jun 1, 2014

Not Rated

P.S. I ALSO FOUND OUT THAT SOME OF MY INFORMATION DIDN`T TRANSFER FROM MY OLD PROGRAM TO ROOTS MAGIC AND IN VERSION 5 THE NAME SEARCH WOULDN`T WORK PROPERLY. A LOT OF THE TIME I WOULD ENTER A NAME AND I WOULD BE TOLD THERE WAS NO SUCH PERSON, EVEN IF I ENTERED IT 2-3 TIMES. I KNEW THE NAME WAS THERE, WHETHER I PUT IT THERE A LONG TIME AGO OR AS LITTLE AS 5 MINUTES AGO. B UT I WOULD HAVE TO MANUALLY FIND IT. I DON`T KNOW WHETHER IT WAS MY COMPUTER OR MY PROGRAM, BUT WHEN I WENT TO BACKUP MY DATA SOMETIMES ESPECIALLY LATELY IT WOULD FREEZE. I ALSO DON`T KNOW WHY,BUT I WOULD OFTEN FIND DUPLICATE OR EVEN TRIPLICATE AND QUADRIPLE NAMES. I HOPE ALL THESE THINGS ARE FIXED IN VERSION 6,BECAUSE I COULDN`T FIND ANY ANSWERS TO MY QUESTIONS.

Biggest Con: NAME SEARCH & PROGRAM FREEZING WHEN I WENT TO SAVE MY DATA.

RootsMagic Review by GRACE,  Jun 1, 2014

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I DON`T LIKE THE ESSENTIALS. THIS IS THE SECOND TIME I`VE USED IT AND IT SUCKS. EVERYTIME I WANT TO DO SOMETHING BASIC, THE WINDOW FOR BUYING IT COMES UP.

RootsMagic Review by Lisa Philips,  May 23, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Do you have negative ratings? If so, this software would definitely get one from me and I’ve been doing genealogy for over 25 years! I cannot afford an expensive program and began using RM6’s free version. However, I soon found out it was a “teaser” and anything useful was only available in the purchased version so I finally saved up and bought it. I had already entered over 2,000 records and wanted to utilize some of the reports not available for free. While the existing records transferred just fine (thank goodness!) the “paid” parts of the program didn’t even come close to what was promised. After entering about another 500 records, I wanted to run their “facts” report. As the majority of my ancestry is European nobility, and I was entering in the era before surnames were required, I would enter Otto IV with Otto in the first name field and IV in the suffix field. Well I ran my fact report using the “title” field (9 pages) only to discover that it SOMETIMES picks up the suffix but USUALLY it doesn’t so I ended up with a report with 22 Henrys, 6 Richards, 4 Ottos, etc and now do not know who’s who! I have to go back and forth to the screen and look each one up separately. GREAT TIMESAVER!!! It doesn’t even pick up a suffix of “Jr,” or “Sr.” so if a name ran in the family (am now talking about records in the 1800-1900 range) it doesn’t show that either, If a birthdate is entered as “about 1900″, “circa 1900″, “between 1900-1905″ it does not show up in either the onscreen index or any reports so again with the back and forth and hand written notes. I could have used my Excel program easier than this piece of junk!
Support? I just got off the phone with them. By her voice I could tell it was an elderly lady and the first thing she said was “I’ll try to answer your questions but I really don’t know anything about the program”. Oh joy! I hardly got a word in edgewise but did manage to ask about the suffix problem to which I was told “Why do you want to go back that far? Who cares? No one has reliable records on Kings and Queens anyway! MOST people only go back 4-5 generations.” Okay! When I asked about the birthdate she said that “well is you don’t know for certain you shouldn’t be entering it anyway”. I got a definite sinking feeling in the pit of my stomach thinking about all the hours I had already spent entering data. I asked about the “merge” function for duplicate entries and that - when used the way instructed - it put in EVERYTHING twice (like spouses, children, dates) and then requires you to hand manipulate the unwanted information “but be careful because it usually ends up deleting everything and you have to re-enter the entire record”. Another joyous moment. I gave up trying to speak but politely listened (respect your elders and all that) because she never took a long enough breath to give me a chance to comment anyway! Finally she said “We really only care about the information the LDS (Latter Day Saints) church wants so we don’t worry if the other fields won’t really work”. THEN DON’T PUT THEM IN THE PROGRAM!!! In short I am looking for a program that does what it says; that has customer support who are current with technology; with reports that show ALL the data, not just select fields. It’s a good thing that I am nothing if not persistent because I hear there are all kinds of problems downloading a file from RM6 and importing it into another software. I just KNOW that I will have to start all over!!!!!!!!!!

Biggest Pro: Cheap
Biggest Con: You get what you pay for (and not even that!)

RootsMagic Review by Jane Maurer,  Mar 22, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

It is bringing genealogy out of the dark ages and continues to make improvements that are easy to follow and implement. It certainly is helping to make recording the information about our ancestors a breeze.

RootsMagic Review by Judie Hanson,  Mar 20, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I can say at this point, I think its terrible.I have been trying the last 4 days to download it to my desktop,& get nowhere.It only shows the installer running, but that goes for hrs,& never changes,so if I can’t get it done soon,then it’s history,& I will look some other place for one that will work.I sure would not recommend it, until I am able to use it myself,see if it works for me. I’m trying to change my Paf over . Heard good things about Roots
Magic 6, but have nothing to see, so can’t support that claim.

Biggest Pro: no pro’s,can’t download it
Biggest Con: wasting my time trying to get it to download,& only shows the installer running for hrs,& never changes.

RootsMagic Review by Jack Gracey,  Mar 17, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

An excellent program-easy to use and comprehensive. Starting with Famiy Orgins 1, I have been using a Brujce Buzbee database for, I think, over 15 years. I have never been disappointed with his products. The current version, RoutsMagic 6, is particularly impressive, particularly in its ability to sync with FamilySearch-Family Tree.
The program has a written manual which is very inclusive as well as online tutorials which thoroughly explain each function in detail. Free program updates are made available on a regular schedule and the interval between major upgrades is reasonable. Versions of the program are now available free for I-phones and Android devices.
In twenty years of genealogical research I have tried out many different programs, but also return to RootsMagic because of its ease of use and multiple capacities. I can honestly recommend it to any fellow researcher.

Biggest Pro: Ease of use; multiple capacities; integration with FamilySearch
Biggest Con: I would love to see a Chrome version

RootsMagic Review by Nita Harris,  Feb 17, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I LOVE RootsMagic! Have used it since it started with Family Origins. I recommend it to everyone.

Biggest Pro: Easy for an 83 year old grandma like me and a genius would love it.
Biggest Con: None

RootsMagic Review by Margaret Toth,  Jan 25, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I’ve used RootsMagic since its start and used Family Origins before that. I lectured on genealogy software for years and volunteered at our local genealogy society, helping people start their genealogy or answering software questions (I worked in the software field at the time). I kept multiple smaller databases to be fair to each product, and would try to be fair for the pros and cons of each, but personally I’d never consider any other product than RootsMagic. Because of Bruce’s personal commitment to his products and exceptional support for its users, I still think it’s by far the best genealogy software out there.

Biggest Pro: Ease of use and covers virtually every area of need
Biggest Con: Mac version would be nice but I use a software solution to get around that and have no problems

RootsMagic Review by John Carruthers,  Jan 23, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have used several programs over the last 15 years or so. I switched from PAF to Family Tree Maker to RootsMagic. RootsMagic is the best.

Biggest Pro: Integration with familysearch.org
Biggest Con: None

RootsMagic Review by CM,  Jan 12, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

RootsMagic 6 is the most comprehensive, easy to learn genealogy software available. It is easily adaptable to both beginner and advanced researcher. Loaded with features but not intimidating. Your research will be professionally organized and easy to manage. One of the most impressive features is the staff behind the product…they are super NICE people to deal with. Free online webinars, RootsMagic TV, and a message board give you confidence to succeed. Product pricing is quite reasonable considering how much you will use AND ENJOY this program. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!

Biggest Pro: Super Nice RootsMagic staff
Biggest Con: none

RootsMagic Review by George Elting,  Jan 7, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I’ve been using this software since version 1 and before that I was using Family Origins by the same creator. I have looked at dozens of other programs but none of them are as user friendly or as powerful, and none of them has a more responsive team behind it!

Biggest Pro: User Friendly
Biggest Con: none.

RootsMagic Review by Ray,  Jan 7, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Easy to learn & use. Web Search is very handy tool.

Biggest Pro: Love the RootsTV videos

RootsMagic Review by Roger Marble,  Jan 6, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Solid program easy enough for beginner but with features for experienced Genealogist. Despite what some think RM will do Descendant Wall Chart.

Biggest Pro: Many training videos, Program written by Genealogist not a committee.
Biggest Con: No current MAC version. Some users do not investigate all the features

Biggest Con:

RootsMagic Review by Sue Cieslak,  Jan 6, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have used several programs since 1989. Hands down RootsMagic is the best. Tech support is patient and very helpful, on demand FREE tutorials are in depth and user friendly, full featured software. Love it!!!

Biggest Pro: On demand tutorials so you can use the program to it’s fullest.
Biggest Con: Doesn’t store your attached documentation within it’s files. If you must purchase a new computer, you have to try and reattach.

RootsMagic Review by Lee Wise,  Jan 3, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I started out using Family Origins and immediately switched to RootsMagic upon hearing that Bruce produced both programs. Each year RM gets better and better. I enjoy the the flexibility of the program, as in being able to change the sentence structure. The source templates are great to work with. The link with FamilySearch is also a great feature with the ability to transfer information back and forth, and now to be able to transfer source information to FamilySearch is even better.

I have tried a couple different genealogy programs over the years, but nothing compares to RootsMagic.

Biggest Pro: Searching different websites from within RootsMagic
Biggest Con: There just aren’t any–except maybe for not having the Android version out yet.

RootsMagic Review by Nettie 's Genbits,  Jan 3, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

The best software for genealogy.. Using it for over 15 years.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use and understand the logic

RootsMagic Review by Sean,  Jan 2, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

After many years happily using Cumberland Family Tree, I tried many programs and ended up sticking with RM. In its earlier versions, I found it wasn’t as flexible or as user-friendly as CFT, but with more recent versions it has come a long way. I now can’t think of using anything else. That said, it still has some small annoying aspects that have yet to be addressed or rectified. Some are small. For example, it does not automatically sort some events in logical order if the dates are the same or if there is no date; rather, it sorts alphabetically (i.e. it always sorts baptisms before births, deaths before marriages, etc.). Other programs will always put these items in the order they occur in life if there is no date. I also do not like the strict categorization it has for describing sources. More often than not, I have to force information into the “Free Form” template. My biggest complaint is how it long it is taking to come out with an Android app. It’s like RM doesn’t know that there are other smartphones out there besides the iPhone, and given the market share of Android phones, the delay is unacceptable. In fact, I have strongly considered leaving RM because it has no Android presence.

Biggest Pro: User friendly, nice interface, well organized
Biggest Con: No Android app

RootsMagic Review by kmun,  Jan 2, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been doing genealogy for 30 years and teach computer classes. I feel that this is the most comprehensive genealogy program I have ever used. I have used 6 other programs in the past and none of them compare.

Biggest Pro: ability to handle any genealogy data
Biggest Con: If I have any con, it might be the learning curve for computer newbies.

Show 21-40 »