Legacy Family Tree

Click To See Award Winners
by Millennia Corp (Dave Berdan and Ken McGinnis)
A comprehensive Windows program with many features, nicely described on their web site. It has a standard version that is free, and is one of the better free genealogy programs available. They have a blog. They have a number of user groups.

Free • Purchase • Windows • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://www.legacyfamilytree.com/
Overall1502.92 out of 52.92 out of 52.92 out of 52.92 out of 52.92 out of 5 2.92
2016133.13 out of 53.13 out of 53.13 out of 53.13 out of 53.13 out of 5 3.13
2015212.41 out of 52.41 out of 52.41 out of 52.41 out of 52.41 out of 5 2.41
Earlier1163.28 out of 53.28 out of 53.28 out of 53.28 out of 53.28 out of 5 3.28

Add Your Review of Legacy Family Tree

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

150 Reviews of Legacy Family Tree     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Legacy Family Tree Review by Celia Lewis,  Apr 22, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Easy to use, ability to ‘tag’ groups of individuals/family units for research purposes, ability to search for very specific criteria (e.g., all men in Maine aged 16-50 for military records), videos on their website to help learn how to use the software effectively.
Although one can use images with the individuals, it is not something I use at all. I keep my images separate and don’t bother trying to import them into the software program, as I want to keep the family tree for all-but-images.
Their online support system is superb, email or phone - one of the very best I’ve found. Also, on their Facebook page, they answer any questions clearly and quickly, as well.
I’m surprised at the low ratings here. They are currently working to upgrade their ‘marriage’/partnership section to allow same-sex/genderless details. Not a big deal to me, as I’ve only found three such connections in my own tree of over 8,000 people, and the company has stated they will have it done because of requests.

Biggest Pro: Clean clear family tree, all children’s relationships shown
Biggest Con: Hmmm. The lack of ability to edit reports - they always come out as a PDF, and I don’t have the full Adobe program to change into a word-processing program.

Legacy Family Tree Review by Denise Moss-Fritch,  Apr 15, 2016

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

The Picture Center is ‘old style’ showing only low resolution thumbnails and not permitting a readable zoomed image. The program removed a marriage upon import, ‘claiming’ that a type for gender amounted a same-gender relationship without permitting a correction. The software also claimed two sources were identical, but did not identify the sources, nor allow review during the import. When the software makes changes without allowing review of the software’s actions, that concerns me.

Biggest Pro: shows all marriage events (residences, etc), shows kids from all marriages
Biggest Con: does not accept same gender relationships or families, changes data without the user okaying

Legacy Family Tree Review by Pauline Anthony,  Mar 29, 2016

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

1) Print features–General notes should follow the individual the notes apply to. Source Citations should appear at the end of a report, not on a separate page when printed.
2) When using sentence override, the description should appear, but currently does not.
3) Unable to unlink one parent when the child is not related by blood to only one person of the couple.
4) Do not like shared feature on census data. Household member is too generic. I would rather enter relationship to the head of the household because it is more specific.

Biggest Pro: generally simple to use.
Biggest Con: Print features are NOT GREEN, wasting paper in turn wastes valuable raw resources.

Legacy Family Tree Review by jerry beaucheane,  Mar 28, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Terrible disappointment! 3 times I loaded media (photos & documents) into family members. Only to return & find them all or partly missing! Tried the media relinker to no avail. There seems to be NO SUPPORT for what could’ve been a good thing.

Biggest Pro: haven’t found one
Biggest Con: media seems to disappear DO NOT BUY!!!

Legacy Family Tree Review by dmsilbert,  Mar 21, 2016

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Legacy has crashed my computer two days in a row.
I am ready to give up on it!
I wish there was a way to talk to someone to help get through the various situations but I have found no phone number to call.
I don’t recommend this program.

Biggest Pro: it moved my Family Tree Maker individuals over to Legacy
Biggest Con: difficult to sort children in the family; locks up when trying to do things that were so easy in Family Tree Maker

Legacy Family Tree Review by Ruth Rossin,  Mar 21, 2016

Not Rated

I also was a Family Tree Maker user for many years, and before that a really early but great program called Family Edge Plus. I bought and installed the Legacy 8 CD after having an earlier one but not using much, and transferred my GEDCOM to Legacy but so far find this program not to be very user-friendly.. Had no manual on the CD. I had ordered 2 other “books” which I’ve yet to find. Customer Service is a laugh! Finally learned there’s a manual online - to print out or buy a hard copy. So far, not impressed.

Biggest Pro: Don’t know yet
Biggest Con: Customer Service

Legacy Family Tree Review by Willo Oswald,  Mar 3, 2016

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

It does the job, but it’s clunky, not real intuitive. It has lots of opportunities for pictures, for which I wish I’d planned better because changing file names and locations is a pain. Many features are unusable for non-LDS and add bloat to the program.

Biggest Pro: Pretty good report formatting options
Biggest Con: Multiple spouses display

Legacy Family Tree Review by Allene Monaghan,  Jan 11, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

It is a program that you can use that can be simple or it can master a lot. Easy to use, a lot of help, free webinars.
I’m very satisfied with the program.

Legacy Family Tree Review by David C,  Jan 10, 2016

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Scared stiff of moving from Family Tree Maker (used since version 3.0 with some 1500 entries! but now abandoned from Dec. 2016) to Legacy Family Tree after reading the reviews. I can see no reference to whether or not the software is happy to run on 32 or 64 bit bus? No User manual! F.T.M. has worked well with MS operating systems to Version 7 but no longer works on the 64 bit bus hence a lot of time spent searching for reliable family tree software. I am not surprised that a lot of rewriting of software has become necessary with Microsoft shooting itself in the foot with its operating systems fiasco over the past 5 years, and now with hiring MS OS software for only 1 to 12 months, it is enough to make one turn to Apple for the first time.

Biggest Pro: Those who like it seem to find it works perfectly
Biggest Con: No Microsoft Operating system or 32/64 bus specified in reviews.

Legacy Family Tree Review by Diana Allen,  Jan 9, 2016

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I have used paid-for Legacy 7.5 for awhile.Installing free 8.0 to trial it was a mistake, I stupidy thought it was an upgrade, but did it as 7.5 advised it could not integrate with an on line database, not sure which one..which I prefer not to be compulsory…I’d spent ages getting my data sorted and editing the web page with pics, etc. Ver 8.0 was installed to a separate dir. and has fouled up the other vers. I think, e.g I could not get the ver 7.5 web page to even open in a browser. Finding how to select/change a browser took more time -not solved, it opens in Notepad as text!’ The program lacks a manual. Fed up with it now and am looking for an alternative in windows 8.Have the free Ancestry app. on my Samsung tablet and that looks good and was simple to set up.

Biggest Pro: Many features, error checking
Biggest Con: Being forced to buy latest version, making earlier one redundant.

Legacy Family Tree Review by Lois Gilbert,  Jan 3, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I love Legacy and the citation of sources that allows you to create a master list and reuse each source. I also like that it is linked to FamilySearch Tree and that I can see the relationship of each person to me.

Biggest Pro: It shows your relationship and allows you to add your source citations in a standardized form or custom format
Biggest Con: haven’t found anything I don’t like

Legacy Family Tree Review by Vance Risinger,  Jan 3, 2016

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I found the interface to version 8 very clunky looking compared to the very clean looking version 7. I keep my legacy interface to a small size, about 1/4 of overall screen size, so that I can look at browser info simultaneously. Side by side comparison of 7 versus 8 shows while 7 is easy to read at this small size version 8 is almost unreadable. I switched back immediately to version 7 wasting $26 in the process.

Legacy Family Tree Review by Sandy Williams,  Jan 2, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I really like legacy. It has many, many tools and customization features. I have been able to do just about anything I want to do with this program. I haven’t had any technical issues and I love their training videos. I’m a member of their facebook group, and the responsiveness of moderators is really good. There are also many posts about issues that people have gone to customer support, and as far as I can recall, everyone talked about how responsive they are.

Biggest Pro: Many tools, options and customization features. Also, the source writer is really, really good.
Biggest Con: Interface a bit dated.

Legacy Family Tree Review by Kay,  Dec 13, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Coming from a dos based program many years ago, I tried everything on the market and decided on Legacy.

I liked the reports; the ToDo list to keep my research handy for where ever I was headed ie: specific Library, Archive, any individual I needed to look for in a specific film or book, etc.; showing half siblings in a family group. You can check for missing sources on an individual; missing Census and search the internet for possible leads. The Source Writer is the best as it follows “Evidence Explained by Elizabeth Shown Mills”.

Any new program is difficult to get the hang of - but I have never regretted moving to Legacy. I have never had any issue with a GedCom import other than the way sources are handled and some events, but that is common knowledge, and has gotten better over the years.

I have had only good experience customer service with problem solving regarding any issue and very quick response to any questions or remarks I may submit.

Biggest Pro: Excellent overall, reports, ease of use, customer service

Legacy Family Tree Review by 1777 Halden,  Dec 10, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

The best of all!

Legacy Family Tree Review by James Hill,  Nov 2, 2015

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I have just moved from The Master Genealogist (TMG), which is sadly no more. Legacy has a major problem that it does not have a really comprehensive manual. LEAD error followed by a number is very poor. I have tried an Internet search for answers. Will give Rootsmagic a try now.

Biggest Pro: Good family screen
Biggest Con: Lack a comprehensive manual

Legacy Family Tree Review by Barb S,  Oct 12, 2015

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I have the newest Legacy (after years of working with FTM) and I’ve been very happy with it. This is definitely not as easy to use as FTM or some other programs, but I feel it’s got great potential once I get the hang of it. Tasks that I am used to doing are “hidden” under other tabs and labeled differently, but since I have worked with PCs & Macs, language problems are not a problem. There are oodles of users groups and there are free online demos (at the end of Webinar Wednesdays). Videos are everywhere online. So, I don’t understand complains about usability. Some people have said they lost data with updates, but I haven’t noticed that to be true with my experiences. I’m giving this a 3 rating only because it’s needlessly complicated to use such a great program.

Biggest Pro: Flexibility, online user support groups, wonderful charts
Biggest Con: Needlessly difficult for new users

Legacy Family Tree Review by George Brooks,  Sep 1, 2015

Not Rated

Looks beautiful but not good for neophyte users. In spite of some reviews to the contrary, there is a phone number but nothing but recorded prompts to this and that. No one to talk to. Plus, the new user video suggests the viewer press pause as it proceeds (if you wish to check something out) but there is no pause button nor any indication where it is or how to find it.

Biggest Pro: Beautiful.
Biggest Con: Poor interface with its customers.

Legacy Family Tree Review by Dave Squires,  Aug 1, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I recently purchased Legacy 8, and was going through some details, I can’t believe the information that’s been lost, without going through all 1257 individuals, and even then I wouldn’t know. I took it for granted that all the information had been loaded into the update. Years of information lost! I honestly can’t believe your program would do this, I’ve lost the original backup as I’ve been backing up the new version to the same file. I’ve even tried the ‘Recuva’ program with no luck. I have my GEDCOM backed up in 9 places - everyone has been replaced with the Legacy 8 version. I’m absolutely devastated, I should have looked at the reviews more closely! Uninstalled Legacy 8 and reinstalled Legacy 6 which I never had a problem with.
PS. I’ve been extremely lucky and just found a backup from September last year that’s OK - I now have to add another 145 individuals and all their information again, £42 wasted - I should be compensated not just for the cost of the program but for all the stress and time I’ll now have spend sorting my family history that I’ve spent eight years collecting! YOU’VE BEEN WARNED.

Biggest Pro: NONE
Biggest Con: MESSED UP MY RESEACH

Legacy Family Tree Review by Jeannette Grosvenor,  Jul 9, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Legacy Version 8 is not Genealogy. Your insistence that the RIN is a unique ID is ridiculous. It is arbitrarily assigned by the computer when a new individual is entered and has nothing to do with relationships. Nothing is more unique than the Ancestral File Numbers, Ahnentaful numbers, Pedigree Resource numbers; all of which are based on a simple mathematical formula Except for #1 on a chart, even numbers are male, odd numbers are female.
An individual has 4 grandmothers, each with a specific number which never changes and dies with her. You are seriously damaging your reputation; I refuse to recommend this version to anyone .
The other issue is your numbering system for publishing. Only the author would understand the one you have. What happened to Modified Register? Your programmers have serious work to do and need to take Genealogy 101.

Biggest Pro: Their isn’t one.
Biggest Con: Relationships.

Show 21-40 »