Legacy Family Tree

Click To See Award Winners
by Millennia Corp (Dave Berdan and Ken McGinnis)
A comprehensive Windows program with many features, nicely described on their web site. It has a standard version that is free, and is one of the better free genealogy programs available. In August 2017, Legacy was acquired by MyHeritage.

Free • Purchase • Windows • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://www.legacyfamilytree.com/
Overall1742.96 out of 52.96 out of 52.96 out of 52.96 out of 52.96 out of 5 2.96
201852.79 out of 52.79 out of 52.79 out of 52.79 out of 52.79 out of 5 2.79
2017143.02 out of 53.02 out of 53.02 out of 53.02 out of 53.02 out of 5 3.02
Earlier1552.99 out of 52.99 out of 52.99 out of 52.99 out of 52.99 out of 5 2.99

Add Your Review of Legacy Family Tree

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

174 Reviews of Legacy Family Tree     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Legacy Family Tree Review by Donald,  4 days ago

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I decided to run Legacy 9 alongside RootsMagic 7 and Family Tree Maker to weed out the one(s) I did not like. I have the full version of all 3. I ended up deciding to drop Legacy 9 completely. The reports and Charts are decent, but the lack of Unicode is a big downer. The interface is dated and clunky as well.

Biggest Pro: Legacy Charting and Hashtags
Biggest Con: Clunky and No Unicode.

Legacy Family Tree Review by Tony,  Feb 13, 2018

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I have been using Legacy since v.3, even then it was more versatile than other UK programs and I am at present using v.8 expecting to update to v.9 shortly. For me I know of no other alternative as good. Despite its simplicity its versatility can cause questions, for which the manuals do clearly guide and answer. But if not, an email question I find will often provide an answer within 24 hours. I always suggest Legacy as the first program to try and unlike most other programs the full standard versions is free.

Whilst the tree charting may be designed to meet customer requirements, at times it has insufficient versatility so I do resort to using an UK program.

Biggest Pro: So versatile, to be recommended
Biggest Con: Tree charting needs improvement

Legacy Family Tree Review by Teresa Williams,  Feb 11, 2018

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

The program is extremely comprehensive and (probably) does everything you’d ever want, except for two glaring defects:

- the interface is dated and has a lot of inconsistencies. For example, needing to mouse over a “blank” spot on the scree to reveal a control or option; having to right-click a piece of text which turns out to be a button. Several features look as if they have been just bolted on without a proper plan.

- the program still does not support Unicode, and judging by press releases probably never will. Yet the underlying database (Access) has supported Unicode since 2000. Good luck if you have non-English names among your ancestors.

There is excellent community support, documentation is good (but costs extra for all but the basic Help). Source handling is comprehensive but complex.

Biggest Pro: Handling of sources.
Biggest Con: No Unicode

Legacy Family Tree Review by A. Howell,  Jan 3, 2018

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Legacy Family Tree is an excellent, full-featured genealogy program for Windows. It has nearly every feature a genealogist would want, and integrates well with 3rd-party applications. Citation support is especially strong, with the ability to associate sources to each bit of information that pertains to an ancestor. The Legacy Family Tree user community is large, and over 600 webinars are available online to assist with every aspect of genealogy. Hopefully, there will be a Macintosh version in the near future. Integration with MyHeritage is promised in the v10 release of Legacy Family Tree.

Biggest Pro: Excellent support for citations
Biggest Con: Windows program only at the present time

Legacy Family Tree Review by Kris,  Jan 3, 2018

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have been a dedicated Legacy Family Tree user since I started working on genealogy — about 12 years. No more. As time permits, I’m trying out every program out there to find a replacement. Since the release of v.9 and the sale to My Heritage, this program isn’t even worth the time it takes to download the free version, let alone purchase it.

On installation, it deletes, without authorization, v.8 if you have it installed. Working around that, and re-installing v.8 (because of all the bugs in v.9), if you even RUN v.9 it will once again delete v.8. This is the kind of sneaky thing malware does and is NOT standard operating procedure in the software world, though that’s their response when you complain about it.

Biggest Con: Unauthorized DELETION of computer files.

Legacy Family Tree Review by Tom,  Nov 2, 2017

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I have used Legacy8 for 2 years. Because lightning hit my computer a couple of months ago and then Microsoft did an upgrade that killed my hard drive again, Legacy8 is acting funny. I have lost the email that had my customer number from 2 years ago and I can’t upgrade. Customer service with Expressware, Millennia, Heritage, Legacy, whoever they are this year, is almost non existent and can only be accesses by email. You cannot talk to anybody by phone. In my 30 years dealing with computers this is a little goofy.

Biggest Pro: Web-free software
Biggest Con: Websites refer to upgrades that dont exist. Nobody seems to monitor websites that refer to other websites that are outdated

Legacy Family Tree Review by Jathan Pfeifle,  Oct 29, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Stand alone genealogy program with no internet connection required. Very user friendly and intuitive. Easy to input data and to navigate between views. Excellent sourcing options, optional interface with Family Search AND My Heritage (my Heritage interface is new in version 9- these hints you have to pay for are in the optional i terface with these cpmpanies, on those company’s subscription based systems) potential problem reporting. Multiple views and print options. For those with Family in the United States, it includes a US county verification index which will tell you whether or not a county existed at any point in time. Direct ancestor color coding (EIGHT colors vs the standard four). Also easy to upload new genealogy files and merge duplicate individuals (both automatically and manually)

Free sample version (full-featured) so you can test the program and see what it’s like before buying (you can upgradeclster without having to re-rnter data.

I have been through four versions of this program, and whenever I have had problems or questions they have been quick to respond, even repairing database problems, for free.

GOOD friendly customer service with fairly quick response times.

I highly recommend this program.

Biggest Pro: Very easy to learn and use
Biggest Con: None

Legacy Family Tree Review by AlexL,  Aug 25, 2017

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Recently upgraded from Legacy 8 - 9 not sure why apart from hints you have to pay for there aint much different oh and you cant do reports unless you are connected to a printer?? I dont have one connected and use a PDF program instead then print when I get a minute so for me it was a waste of time. There are others that have better features shop around.

Biggest Pro: Pretty database
Biggest Con: Cant do reports without a printer

Legacy Family Tree Review by Poppapug,  Aug 16, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I’ve used FTM since about 1995. I loved the software through V16. IMO, all versions after about 2008, were terrible!

I’m a slow-to-adapt kind of guy and tried several different brands. Then I downloaded the free edition of Legacy 9.0. After using it for a few hours, I opted for the ‘deluxe’ version. LOVE IT!

After about a week, I’m so glad I chose Legacy 9.0 . Trust me. It’s great!

Biggest Pro: Easy to use, interface, adaptability, ‘Cloud” backup,
Biggest Con: Still looking for some.

Legacy Family Tree Review by Trudy G.,  Aug 13, 2017

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I’ve been working with Ancestry.com for several months but can’t afford to keep paying the fee so I purchased the Legacy program to create a family tree that can be saved in my computer, or on a disk or memory stick. I’m very disappointed. The program is too complicated for me. It’s not as user friendly as the company states. You have to be very computer savvy. I really like Ancestry and wish I could save that tree on my computer. Hints on Ancestry on included in the membership. Hints on Legacy are an extra fee, even though I paid for the program.

Biggest Pro: None.
Biggest Con: You have to pay extra if you want to see the hints.

Legacy Family Tree Review by Nancy Lorieau,  Jul 23, 2017

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I was all set to order, and I had been told the site takes PayPal, but I could not find that option while checking out. I was very disappointed because I prefer to pay cash for my purchases.

Biggest Pro: Looks great; tried the free version, want to buy the whole deal. There doesn’t seem to be a PayPal option. Disappointed.
Biggest Con: Want to buy but it does not seem to be available to PayPal users.

Legacy Family Tree Review by Donald,  Jun 28, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Since this software is getting poor reviews I think I should review it. I use several different genealogical programs right now. After the upgrade to Legacy 9 I am now considering Legacy 9 to be a front runner. It is a great piece of software especially with the new features they have added. Just so you know I also use Family Tree Maker, Rootsmagic, rootsTrust and Heredis.

Biggest Pro: New features in Legacy 9
Biggest Con: None I can think of.

Legacy Family Tree Review by Val Cantrell,  May 27, 2017

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I purchased the deluxe version, WHY do I need to pay again for each upgrade??? Ridiculous

Biggest Pro: tools
Biggest Con: constant purchases

Legacy Family Tree Review by Nancy Rogers,  May 9, 2017

Not Rated

Does anyone know if this version of Legacy still will function as a stand alone, this means will it work wen my internet connect is not working can I still add to data base? I am using windows 7 pro.

Legacy Family Tree Review by Shirley hathawaw,  May 3, 2017

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

My purchased 8 keeps crashing (freezing). I have lost tons of info over and over again. I am fed up. What the hell? Oh, and they get rid of tech support, probably couldn’t keep up with complaints

I literally every day I work on legacy I do a back up to 3 different drives, cause I am bound to have a crash and all that work will be toast.

Btw I am using window 7 pro

Biggest Pro: Can’t think of one right now
Biggest Con: Doing work 3 or 4 or 5 times

Legacy Family Tree Review by Marcia Falconer,  Feb 21, 2017

Not Rated

TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE
Have yet to receive my order - I ordered the hard copy Legacy 8.0 Delux Edition on line.
I heard NOTHING from them. 10 days after ordering I phoned (!) and sent an email asking where it was.
Got a response that it was on its way, but would this have happened without my calling and emailing? Was told there would be a tracking number sent soon. No tracking number appeared. 4 days later sent another email requesting tracking number. Got a response with tracking number which says package IS on its way.
However no apologies for the 10 days it took between ordering and shipping. (And I’m pretty sure if I hadn’t phoned and sent an email that it would still not have been shipped.) No reassuring “we value you as a customer and will be here to help”. Customer Service needs a BIG UPGRADE!

Biggest Con: Customer Service

Legacy Family Tree Review by Jean Harrison,  Feb 20, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have just watched the video for beginners and it was the most interesting and fully explained and detailed explanation I have ever viewed. Fully recommend it, I will definitely be downloading it.

Legacy Family Tree Review by JennyGenes,  Feb 20, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Cannot agree with the negative comments I have read in the reviews here. I’ve used Legacy for many years and though a couple of upgrades (now looking forward to Legacy 9) and really have now complaints. The ability to sync with FamilySearch is a must for many and useful to others. The software encourages the use of really good Sourcing. There are often different ways of reaching the same result which although it can be confusing at first means the software is very flexible. The Support staff are very helpful and usually present on the UserGroups to offer advice and assistance. The huge range of webinars at http://familytreewebinars.com/ are a wonderful resource..

Biggest Pro: Offers everythng you need at a very low - or non-existent - cost.
Biggest Con: Perhaps a little US-centric

Legacy Family Tree Review by David C,  Jan 11, 2017

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

While both v7 and v8 can seem clunky and unintuitive (and poorly documented), at least I was used to working with v7 for 3+ years. After my “upgrade” to v8, and reading my existing family file into v8, I found that numerous individuals in early generations were completely missing. This is unacceptable and a complete show-stopper. Thank god that I was paranoid enough to back up my v7 data BEFORE letting v8 touch it. For now I’ve uninstalled v8 and will have to figure out what to replace it with. Not looking forward to climbing the learning curve all over again with another software.

Biggest Pro: Reporting
Biggest Con: Loses data on import from v7.

Legacy Family Tree Review by Max Dager,  Dec 29, 2016

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

The so called free version is a nuisance and pretty much useless as it constantly reminds users to sign up for the payed version. Avoid!

Show 21-40 »