Legacy Family Tree

Click To See Award Winners
by Millennia Corp (Dave Berdan and Ken McGinnis)
A comprehensive Windows program with many features, nicely described on their web site. It has a standard version that is free, and is one of the better free genealogy programs available. They have a blog. They have a number of user groups.

Free • Purchase • Windows • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://www.legacyfamilytree.com/
Overall1672.96 out of 52.96 out of 52.96 out of 52.96 out of 52.96 out of 5 2.96
2017122.89 out of 52.89 out of 52.89 out of 52.89 out of 52.89 out of 5 2.89
2016183.21 out of 53.21 out of 53.21 out of 53.21 out of 53.21 out of 5 3.21
Earlier1372.81 out of 52.81 out of 52.81 out of 52.81 out of 52.81 out of 5 2.81

Add Your Review of Legacy Family Tree

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

167 Reviews of Legacy Family Tree     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Legacy Family Tree Review by AlexL,  Aug 25, 2017

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Recently upgraded from Legacy 8 - 9 not sure why apart from hints you have to pay for there aint much different oh and you cant do reports unless you are connected to a printer?? I dont have one connected and use a PDF program instead then print when I get a minute so for me it was a waste of time. There are others that have better features shop around.

Biggest Pro: Pretty database
Biggest Con: Cant do reports without a printer

Legacy Family Tree Review by Poppapug,  Aug 16, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I’ve used FTM since about 1995. I loved the software through V16. IMO, all versions after about 2008, were terrible!

I’m a slow-to-adapt kind of guy and tried several different brands. Then I downloaded the free edition of Legacy 9.0. After using it for a few hours, I opted for the ‘deluxe’ version. LOVE IT!

After about a week, I’m so glad I chose Legacy 9.0 . Trust me. It’s great!

Biggest Pro: Easy to use, interface, adaptability, ‘Cloud” backup,
Biggest Con: Still looking for some.

Legacy Family Tree Review by Trudy G.,  Aug 13, 2017

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I’ve been working with Ancestry.com for several months but can’t afford to keep paying the fee so I purchased the Legacy program to create a family tree that can be saved in my computer, or on a disk or memory stick. I’m very disappointed. The program is too complicated for me. It’s not as user friendly as the company states. You have to be very computer savvy. I really like Ancestry and wish I could save that tree on my computer. Hints on Ancestry on included in the membership. Hints on Legacy are an extra fee, even though I paid for the program.

Biggest Pro: None.
Biggest Con: You have to pay extra if you want to see the hints.

Legacy Family Tree Review by Nancy Lorieau,  Jul 23, 2017

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I was all set to order, and I had been told the site takes PayPal, but I could not find that option while checking out. I was very disappointed because I prefer to pay cash for my purchases.

Biggest Pro: Looks great; tried the free version, want to buy the whole deal. There doesn’t seem to be a PayPal option. Disappointed.
Biggest Con: Want to buy but it does not seem to be available to PayPal users.

Legacy Family Tree Review by Donald,  Jun 28, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Since this software is getting poor reviews I think I should review it. I use several different genealogical programs right now. After the upgrade to Legacy 9 I am now considering Legacy 9 to be a front runner. It is a great piece of software especially with the new features they have added. Just so you know I also use Family Tree Maker, Rootsmagic, rootsTrust and Heredis.

Biggest Pro: New features in Legacy 9
Biggest Con: None I can think of.

Legacy Family Tree Review by Val Cantrell,  May 27, 2017

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I purchased the deluxe version, WHY do I need to pay again for each upgrade??? Ridiculous

Biggest Pro: tools
Biggest Con: constant purchases

Legacy Family Tree Review by Nancy Rogers,  May 9, 2017

Not Rated

Does anyone know if this version of Legacy still will function as a stand alone, this means will it work wen my internet connect is not working can I still add to data base? I am using windows 7 pro.

Legacy Family Tree Review by Shirley hathawaw,  May 3, 2017

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

My purchased 8 keeps crashing (freezing). I have lost tons of info over and over again. I am fed up. What the hell? Oh, and they get rid of tech support, probably couldn’t keep up with complaints

I literally every day I work on legacy I do a back up to 3 different drives, cause I am bound to have a crash and all that work will be toast.

Btw I am using window 7 pro

Biggest Pro: Can’t think of one right now
Biggest Con: Doing work 3 or 4 or 5 times

Legacy Family Tree Review by Marcia Falconer,  Feb 21, 2017

Not Rated

TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE
Have yet to receive my order - I ordered the hard copy Legacy 8.0 Delux Edition on line.
I heard NOTHING from them. 10 days after ordering I phoned (!) and sent an email asking where it was.
Got a response that it was on its way, but would this have happened without my calling and emailing? Was told there would be a tracking number sent soon. No tracking number appeared. 4 days later sent another email requesting tracking number. Got a response with tracking number which says package IS on its way.
However no apologies for the 10 days it took between ordering and shipping. (And I’m pretty sure if I hadn’t phoned and sent an email that it would still not have been shipped.) No reassuring “we value you as a customer and will be here to help”. Customer Service needs a BIG UPGRADE!

Biggest Con: Customer Service

Legacy Family Tree Review by Jean Harrison,  Feb 20, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have just watched the video for beginners and it was the most interesting and fully explained and detailed explanation I have ever viewed. Fully recommend it, I will definitely be downloading it.

Legacy Family Tree Review by JennyGenes,  Feb 20, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Cannot agree with the negative comments I have read in the reviews here. I’ve used Legacy for many years and though a couple of upgrades (now looking forward to Legacy 9) and really have now complaints. The ability to sync with FamilySearch is a must for many and useful to others. The software encourages the use of really good Sourcing. There are often different ways of reaching the same result which although it can be confusing at first means the software is very flexible. The Support staff are very helpful and usually present on the UserGroups to offer advice and assistance. The huge range of webinars at http://familytreewebinars.com/ are a wonderful resource..

Biggest Pro: Offers everythng you need at a very low - or non-existent - cost.
Biggest Con: Perhaps a little US-centric

Legacy Family Tree Review by David C,  Jan 11, 2017

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

While both v7 and v8 can seem clunky and unintuitive (and poorly documented), at least I was used to working with v7 for 3+ years. After my “upgrade” to v8, and reading my existing family file into v8, I found that numerous individuals in early generations were completely missing. This is unacceptable and a complete show-stopper. Thank god that I was paranoid enough to back up my v7 data BEFORE letting v8 touch it. For now I’ve uninstalled v8 and will have to figure out what to replace it with. Not looking forward to climbing the learning curve all over again with another software.

Biggest Pro: Reporting
Biggest Con: Loses data on import from v7.

Legacy Family Tree Review by Max Dager,  Dec 29, 2016

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

The so called free version is a nuisance and pretty much useless as it constantly reminds users to sign up for the payed version. Avoid!

Legacy Family Tree Review by Donald,  Sep 13, 2016

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Feels Antiquated, slow and over complicated. Too many clicks to get things done and you need the manual to operate it. I deleted my copy which I paid for today after almost a year of using it. Also it imports data wrong.

Biggest Pro: Probably support.
Biggest Con: Wastes too many system resources and is too complicated.

Legacy Family Tree Review by MaryelizaF,  Aug 25, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I have used Legacy as my main family tree software for many years, and have upgraded to the Deluxe version. I find it easy to use, though I have not explored all the many options it offers.

Biggest Pro: Range of options for recording and viewing information.
Biggest Con: While it offers good source formatting options, the very extensive range can actually be confusing.

Legacy Family Tree Review by LJRVancouver,  Jun 26, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Have been using Legacy for years and have upgraded to 8 Deluxe from 5. Fairly familiar with working with program but initial thoughts on the new version is that use and functionality is more or less the same. It does a good job but still is somewhat cumbersome. e.g. not geared for working on networks (have to setup network drives), still does not support same sex marriages & relationships, media handling bit outdated, Geo Location database is useless, cumbersome (need similar to that used by Adobe for tagging locations) and doing bulk updates are difficult. Have yet to review documenting sources & citations. However overall does a good job at reasonable cost without need of subscription.

Biggest Pro: Does a good job at reasonable cost without need of subscription.
Biggest Con: No same sex marriages, Geo Location database awkward & cumbersome & not all inclusive

Legacy Family Tree Review by Michael G.,  May 26, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Legacy’s homepage has a comparison between their software and 4 others. It’s obvious that Legacy 8 stacks up well against the competition - but then you notice that they are comparing their most recent version (Legacy 8) to PAF 5.0, FTM ‘10, Rootsmagic 4, TMG6 - seriously outdated versions of each. Legacy software is great - this tilted comparison is unnecessary.

Legacy Family Tree Review by Celia Lewis,  Apr 22, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Easy to use, ability to ‘tag’ groups of individuals/family units for research purposes, ability to search for very specific criteria (e.g., all men in Maine aged 16-50 for military records), videos on their website to help learn how to use the software effectively.
Although one can use images with the individuals, it is not something I use at all. I keep my images separate and don’t bother trying to import them into the software program, as I want to keep the family tree for all-but-images.
Their online support system is superb, email or phone - one of the very best I’ve found. Also, on their Facebook page, they answer any questions clearly and quickly, as well.
I’m surprised at the low ratings here. They are currently working to upgrade their ‘marriage’/partnership section to allow same-sex/genderless details. Not a big deal to me, as I’ve only found three such connections in my own tree of over 8,000 people, and the company has stated they will have it done because of requests.

Biggest Pro: Clean clear family tree, all children’s relationships shown
Biggest Con: Hmmm. The lack of ability to edit reports - they always come out as a PDF, and I don’t have the full Adobe program to change into a word-processing program.

Legacy Family Tree Review by Denise Moss-Fritch,  Apr 15, 2016

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

The Picture Center is ‘old style’ showing only low resolution thumbnails and not permitting a readable zoomed image. The program removed a marriage upon import, ‘claiming’ that a type for gender amounted a same-gender relationship without permitting a correction. The software also claimed two sources were identical, but did not identify the sources, nor allow review during the import. When the software makes changes without allowing review of the software’s actions, that concerns me.

Biggest Pro: shows all marriage events (residences, etc), shows kids from all marriages
Biggest Con: does not accept same gender relationships or families, changes data without the user okaying

Legacy Family Tree Review by Pauline Anthony,  Mar 29, 2016

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

1) Print features–General notes should follow the individual the notes apply to. Source Citations should appear at the end of a report, not on a separate page when printed.
2) When using sentence override, the description should appear, but currently does not.
3) Unable to unlink one parent when the child is not related by blood to only one person of the couple.
4) Do not like shared feature on census data. Household member is too generic. I would rather enter relationship to the head of the household because it is more specific.

Biggest Pro: generally simple to use.
Biggest Con: Print features are NOT GREEN, wasting paper in turn wastes valuable raw resources.

Show 21-40 »