Legacy Family Tree

Click To See Award Winners
by Millennia Corp (Dave Berdan and Ken McGinnis)
A comprehensive Windows program with many features, nicely described on their web site. It has a standard version that is free, and is one of the better free genealogy programs available. They have a blog. They have a number of user groups.

Free • Purchase • Windows • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://www.legacyfamilytree.com/
Overall1133.37 out of 53.37 out of 53.37 out of 53.37 out of 53.37 out of 5 3.37
2014193 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00
2013113.67 out of 53.67 out of 53.67 out of 53.67 out of 53.67 out of 5 3.67
Earlier834.17 out of 54.17 out of 54.17 out of 54.17 out of 54.17 out of 5 4.17

Add Your Review of Legacy Family Tree

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

113 Reviews of Legacy Family Tree     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Legacy Family Tree Review by Serious researcher,  6 days ago

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Well, I am very disappointed in the advertising “technique” used by Legacy. Their online “Comparison Chart” rates their latest version 8 with MUCH OLDER versions of other’s software: TMG 6, RM 4, FTM 10, (and PAF5 which is discontinued)!This is 2014 and those versions are years older and several versions older too. Comparing each company’s most current versions would be the most accurate way to compare, don’t you think? This type of hype has bothered me for some time and I wonder if any other shoppers had noticed? As feature rich or as wonderful a product it may be, I am steering away from this one because of the principle involved.

Biggest Pro: Have no comment as I dislike their sales technique enough to not invest in a copy
Biggest Con: Advertise by comparing their “newest” to other’s “older versions”

Legacy Family Tree Review by Mike,  Nov 19, 2014

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Just got started with Legacy 8 on a Windows 7 32-bit computer. Got upgraded to 64-bit and tried to install Legacy 8. Got the DLL error on OLE2.DLL, which research shows is an *installer* error. Legacy doesn’t seem to want to fix or even acknowledge that the problem is in their .exe. So why bother to review the product. I can’t say much about the black screen that doesn’t display any family files I try to open.

Biggest Pro: Old install worked
Biggest Con: No support for 64-bit Windows 7

Legacy Family Tree Review by Pete,  Nov 12, 2014

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Legacy has lost its mojo.
After many years cautiously using the program I now concur with a growing number of our legacy users group members, that the designers are heading off on a path that will lose serious genealogists.
It is now obvious that a philosophy of integration with LDS family search is paramount. All the designers have given us over the last few years of version updates is toys that some might be amused by such as geo location etc, but the core fundamental recording and data analysis tools that we need (and are often requested) are ignored.
The program is ever the more ‘north america’ in its concept and accurate recording of European or international research is problematic.
The recent demise of TMG has created a vacuum insofar as there is still not any one program to replace its overwhelming data management power; of which Legacy just cant compare.
Unfortunately Legacy is for a number of us a temporary program which we dare not fully utilise as the designers wish, for fear of a lot of renewed data entry and editing when we next find another more competent program.
If you are part of the gee wiz, facebook I love IGI and ancestry online tree generation,; then Legacy will be just dandy. However if your research is pre Mayflower and you like to record data as wrote such as place names without added commas, just one of a very long list of gripes, then we suggest you keep looking elsewhere.

Biggest Pro: Certainly in the top 5 for simple & basic genealogy.
Biggest Con: Poor Charts / Reports. Lacks effective database management tools. Poor non US data entry design.

Legacy Family Tree Review by Keithj,  Oct 19, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

It works well for me, and is a great improvement over the buggy and crash-prone Family Tree Maker that I was using previously.

A friend had the known problem with errors 38 and 91. Legacy’s suggestion was to try it on a different computer, and when he explained that he doesn’t have a different computer, they asked him to ship his to them since they can’t reproduce the error.

He and I fixed the problem - there are DLLs called by Legacy which may not be on the PC, and their absence will cause a crash. Legacy helpdesk don’t know which these are, but a quick inspection of the .exe file reveals all.

Biggest Pro: Flexible and versatile software
Biggest Con: Clueless helpdesk

Legacy Family Tree Review by Matt Riessen,  Sep 5, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I upgraded from Legacy 7.5 to 8.0 and everything was okay, except I found that my Research Guidance information (to-do/ignore/done checkmarks) info for everyone in my tree was missing. I thought that this was a problem on my end. So I contacted tech support and they basically said that the RGD file (which contains that info) doesn’t convert over from a previous version.

I was shocked. A key feature of the program doesn’t work for people who upgrade. Who is going to upgrade from a previous version, only to lose part of their research. I’m also surprised that no else has mentioned this problem on the internet. Tech support mentioned that I was the first person to make note of this problem. They said they would provide a fix for this in a patch in the future, but in the mean time I will stick with 7.5

Biggest Pro: Cool New Features
Biggest Con: Research guidance information doesn’t convert over from previous version

Legacy Family Tree Review by Sally Flynn,  Jul 7, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have just downloaded the new free legacy8. Big problems in the case of multiple marriages and children.
eg Husband marries twice after first wife dies.
The children of the second marriage are added to the first wife (and same for second wife) with a 1/2 put next to the wife who isn’t the mother of the first or second children. So… you get 1st wife being the 1/2 mother of the 2nd wife’s children. What have I done incorrectly ?????

Legacy Family Tree Review by John V. Richardson Jr.,  Jul 3, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have been a long time user of Legacy. However, the new build 427 of Legacy 8.0 has a fatal error. In the Publishing Center, the descendant’s report (saved as a PDF) has serious errors in it–generally, it takes the wife’s birth date and attributes it to the husband, but it does this inconsistently which is going to be a major problem to fix. I know that they are working on fixing it (I reported it as have several others), but I have a family reunion at the end of July 2014. I had promised those family members that our book would be published and ready for distribution. Now, I am not likely to be able to get it printed in time. I can’t tell you how disappointing this situation is…running out of time!

Biggest Pro: Ease of Use
Biggest Con: Known Bug in 427 build of Legacy 8.0

Legacy Family Tree Review by Lee Dickson,  May 20, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have used Legacy for several years now. It is the BEST I have found . They do upgrade from time to time. When a new version comes out it is not at a high price like FTM just to name one. It is very easy to work with. Not to mention GREAT customer service that speaks English and knows the system and fast response.
http://www.personaltouchgenealogy.com

Lee Dickson

Biggest Pro: Great value for the money
Biggest Con: Have not found one yet

Legacy Family Tree Review by Carolyn Sanders,  Mar 26, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

After a loss in PAF, I went to Legacy. It is a great program for me to learn more. Last year I received a Mac. I have a fear that if I get a program to use Legacy on my Mac. I will not be satisfied. I would like to use family search and transfer the info to Legacy to Mac. I have not use much of my Legacy since. Please consider a Mac program.
I have consider getting a new window computer just for Legacy. Mac is a great and easy computer.

Biggest Pro: Easy and has so many wonderful features.
Biggest Con: Can not use my Mac.

Legacy Family Tree Review by Paul Bishopp,  Mar 15, 2014

Not Rated

In my view this is far and away the best of all the Genealogy programmes.

However having moved to a Mac I am SO frustrated that there is no Mac version. It is no good saying I can use a crossover programme to run it on Windows…why do you think I chose a Mac?

I don’t WANT to work in Windows. WHY not a Mac version??

Biggest Pro: Family view…much the best of any programme
Biggest Con: NO MAC VERSION

Legacy Family Tree Review by Peter B,  Feb 23, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Just purchased version 8 after using version 5 for 10 years.

Sadly I get an error during installation and cannot open any files or create any files.
After 12 days working with the tech support team I still havn’t got back to my research as I’m trying to make their software install.

They say the file causing my error “OLE2.DLL” is a windows file but it only shows an error when loading their software and all other programs run fine. Their help article on this error appears well visited !

Biggest Pro: Previous Versions
Biggest Con: This version

Legacy Family Tree Review by PAUL MENSO,  Feb 17, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

GOOD PROGRAM

Legacy Family Tree Review by Pam,  Jan 9, 2014

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Used this program for many years, and even allowed Virtual PC to share a space on my Mac to run just this program! But with my new computer, I do not want to do that. I would give it 4 stars IF it would finally consent to making a Mac Version of this program!! PLEASE consider this. I get flip answers when I talk to the support team who say that it’s my fault because I’m not running the program on a PC. I’m about to throw up my hands and look at other software programs though I hate having to do that having already put hundreds of hours into my family file in Legacy. Too many glitches running it on a Mac!

Biggest Pro: Ease of use
Biggest Con: Not having a Mac version. You’re missing out on a lot of potential customers!

Legacy Family Tree Review by Anne,  Jan 7, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I really love the new version 8 that was released in dec 2013.love the Shared Events. The migration mapping/reports are great. And the statistic are interesting and fun to read. I also like the new Problem Indicator. This way Legacy tells me directly me might have done some errors when I did my genealogy research. I also like that the tags now are extended from 3 to 9. And I love that I now can have 8 lines color coded. So now I have my eldest daughter as a starting person and can still see the direct lines from my 4 grandparents and my husbands 4 grandparents.

Legacy do not fulfill all my needs on a genealogy program but it is the one that comes closest.

Biggest Pro: Shared Events and the possible to customize very much in the program
Biggest Con: No support for Same sex couples and Unicode

Legacy Family Tree Review by Malm,  Jan 4, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

v8 has just been released with a fresh new look and some great new features like Shared Events, a cool Statistics report and reports on origins and migration so you can find out where your ancestors were from and where your lines have moved to. One of my favorite features is the “Potential Problems Indicator” which shows at a glance that there’s a possible problem with data entry. It’s actually an extension of the existing Potential Problems Report.

I’ve used Legacy since it was first released in 1997 and have never considered switching to another program although I have looked at a lot of them.

Biggest Pro: Love the look and feel of the program.
Biggest Con: No Unicode support

Legacy Family Tree Review by Diane Gould Hall,  Jan 3, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Long time user and I love this program. There are a few glitches in the current version 8 release, but the programmers are listening and they are being fixed. Lots of tech support, great webinars, user friendly, great sourcing templates etc etc. My blog http://www.michiganfamilytrails.com has Legacy tips and other genealogy tips for all researchers.

Biggest Pro: Sourcing templates, great reports, geo mapping, tech support, ease of use, ability to customize
Biggest Con: Glitches in the new version including no pop ups in family view, media gallery doesn’t look as nice as 7.5

Legacy Family Tree Review by Ginny De Haan,  Jan 3, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been using
legacy Family tree software since at least 2005 and find it easy to use. If you have a problem they respond immediately.All the people at legacy are eager to help you even the guys at the top.
Their user group is very active. So active that I had to stop being on the e-mail list as it was overload and I couldn’t get my genealogy done.
The new Legacy 8 version is even easier to use and has many bells and whistles. Their research section is quite helpful. As far as I know they have left no stone unturned. They are always open to suggestions and the updates show that.

Biggest Pro: easy to use, reports and ability to write your genealogy out for you.
Biggest Con: so much information that it might be overwhelming in the beginning, but they make up for that with their free webinars.

Legacy Family Tree Review by Sandra,  Jan 3, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I have been very happy with Legacy 7 (including the updates). I have been using Legacy for several years now. Previously, I had used Family Tree Maker. I was impressed with the features provided by the free version of Legacy which has no time limit for trying it out. The free version only blocks some of the premium features which initially I did not need. I used the free version for quite some time before purchasing the full version. I recently upgrade to Legacy 8 and am still pleased with the program, as well as the new features it has added. I do have one minor complaint. The way that Legacy handles sources seems to me to be impractical when it comes to the census. However, I am not a database specialist, so not sure whether it is a limitation of databases or bad design.

I have not recently compared it to other programs. In the past, I have tried TMG, Roots Magic, and PAF, but it has not been recently enough that I can draw comparisons.

I noticed that the previous poster had a database corrupted. I have 5 family files and none have been corrupted to date. I have not needed to contact customer support yet, so I cannot speak to the quality.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use to main features.
Biggest Con: Little bit of a learning curve to learn about advanced features. Source creation for censuses.

Legacy Family Tree Review by Ridley Kemp,  Jan 2, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Legacy 8 and the shared events are a joke. It is causing corruption in my database.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Corruption of database

Legacy Family Tree Review by TJF,  Nov 8, 2013

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

If you have over 100,000 individuals in your family tree this program is not for you. Relationship calculator does not work properly past that point and has not since at least 2011. No fix forthcoming.

Biggest Pro: Ease of use
Biggest Con: Techs who can’t fix the relationship calculator, stop responding when questioned.

Show 21-40 »