Legacy Family Tree

Click To See Award Winners
by Millennia Corp (Dave Berdan and Ken McGinnis)
A comprehensive Windows program with many features, nicely described on their web site. It has a standard version that is free, and is one of the better free genealogy programs available. They have a blog. They have a number of user groups.

Free • Purchase • Windows • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://www.legacyfamilytree.com/
Overall1312.65 out of 52.65 out of 52.65 out of 52.65 out of 52.65 out of 5 2.65
2015151.84 out of 51.84 out of 51.84 out of 51.84 out of 51.84 out of 5 1.84
2014222.93 out of 52.93 out of 52.93 out of 52.93 out of 52.93 out of 5 2.93
Earlier943.95 out of 53.95 out of 53.95 out of 53.95 out of 53.95 out of 5 3.95

Add Your Review of Legacy Family Tree

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

131 Reviews of Legacy Family Tree     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Legacy Family Tree Review by Jeannette Grosvenor,  Jul 9, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Legacy Version 8 is not Genealogy. Your insistence that the RIN is a unique ID is ridiculous. It is arbitrarily assigned by the computer when a new individual is entered and has nothing to do with relationships. Nothing is more unique than the Ancestral File Numbers, Ahnentaful numbers, Pedigree Resource numbers; all of which are based on a simple mathematical formula Except for #1 on a chart, even numbers are male, odd numbers are female.
An individual has 4 grandmothers, each with a specific number which never changes and dies with her. You are seriously damaging your reputation; I refuse to recommend this version to anyone .
The other issue is your numbering system for publishing. Only the author would understand the one you have. What happened to Modified Register? Your programmers have serious work to do and need to take Genealogy 101.

Biggest Pro: Their isn’t one.
Biggest Con: Relationships.

Legacy Family Tree Review by Susan Haskell,  May 14, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

After being made to feel that all the problems I have had since Legacy 8 was released were mine and mine alone, I started seeking answers and found these reviews. When I first transferred my files to Legacy 8, the new version corrupted ALL my files. I am doing a One Name Study and my main file has been steadily growing and now is just over 90000 names. I have needed to send my file to Support and to Ken McGinnis on a number of occasions for them to fix but have still lost some data.

I try to fix as many errors by checking their instructions and following them to the letter. Sometimes the fixes work briefly only to re-occur almost immediately. I am sick of downloading and reinstalling on a daily basis. I was sent a personal update file 8.0.0.492 which has more bugs than any other previous version!!!. The Master Location List refuses to display my comma settings,automatically combines some duplicate locations and some non-duplicate locations as well. The Combine/Combine With buttons function erratically. Unstable would be the polite term!!! Utter frustration is what results as I spend fruitless hours in finding workarounds to fix stuff not caused by me or my computer.. I sent an email back to Ken last week saying I could do more at my end expecting further suggestions and help. Have had no reply…Legacy seems happy to ignore me. One support staff member was quite rude to me…I have kept that email as a record.

I have supported Legacy Family Tree and loved using it until now. My website family trees depend on its web page creation feature so I just wish the programmers would fix the well defined bugs so we can get on with what we enjoy…family history. Maybe they did not like me saying that I felt like billing them for my wasted time and effort. I understand some HTML Coding and CSS etc. and can identify some fixes that they should be able to fins as they are the experts. Come on guys…let us get on with what we do best and lift your game, please.

Thank Goodness for those who have posted here as I now know that my problems are not unique.
Legacy Family Tree was a great program until Legacy 8…..what a pity it has now failed.
By not fixing Legacy 8 they are damaging their future business prospects.

Biggest Pro: Web Page Creation
Biggest Con: Bugs, corruptions, bugs and more corruptions.

Legacy Family Tree Review by Floyd Pratt,  May 13, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Bought 6.0 years ago good program up until 8.0 Deluxe. Have had nothing but trouble with new version. When printing a book, individual report, FGS formatting characters are arbitrarily inserted into the notes section before each line. The December build did not have this problem. After contacting customer service in January got the company line “we are aware of the programming problem and are working on it”. Here it is in May with no fix. Also, the program keeps crashing…never had that problem before. Before 8.0 the program worked beautifully and I have 42,000 people in my database. After reading FTM reviews I am wondering if there really is a good family history program on the market for genealogists? Would not recommend the current version even if it is free.

Biggest Pro: can’t think of any
Biggest Con: Crashes, embeds formatting characters in notes, sometimes won’t create a GEDCOM

Legacy Family Tree Review by Karen V. Sipe,  May 4, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

After 40 years I would like to create a GOOD report for publication.

To bad they don’t feel final reports are a must have item. The ones currently available aren’t worth the time to create if you want a RFT version and staff is not responding to my inquires about the citation issues.

Good for input and storage but not much else.

Biggest Pro: Easy input and navagation
Biggest Con: NO REPORTS WORTH WHILE so what good is this?

Legacy Family Tree Review by Eileen Keim,  Apr 29, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I purchased this (8.0) without checking the reviews - BIG mistake! While entry is easy, actually producing a report or a tree is just impossible. My request for help has gone unanswered. Looks like I’ll have to start all over again with another program.
Any advice on how to get a refund?

Biggest Con: will not produce charts or reports past 1 generation.

Legacy Family Tree Review by canby3,  Apr 17, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have used many programs and done research into genealogy for almost 20 years. I found the legacy program to be difficult to navigate through, transfer information to and in general of no use unless you are starting from scratch and want to enter everything one step at a time.

Biggest Pro: It was cheap but you get what you pay for.
Biggest Con: Not user friendly and hard to transfer existing information.

Legacy Family Tree Review by Penni Luntsford,  Apr 13, 2015

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I have been a long-time Legacy user and through many versions it has been my “go-to” genealogical software. I loved it! Not so anymore!

I upgraded to the version 8 right after it’s issue and since then I’ve had nothing but problems. There are so many bugs and after all this time (issue date late 2013, early 2014) many of those irritating bugs are still crawling around.

At one point I had completely lost the ability to access my personal family file, the one I’ve spent over 40 years working on. It was visible on the hard-drive so I knew it was there, but Legacy could not open it, nor could I restore the backup. After spending many hours daily for 2-3 weeks with tech support, nothing they recommended worked. Finally I was ready to give up, when out-of-the-blue my file reappeared (with no thanks to Legacy’s support).

I now have multiple files (I research for others as well as myself) that I am afraid to open as once you open a file in the newer version it becomes converted and you cannot go back. My ability to assist others with their research is severely affected by my fear of damaging my files by opening them in version 8. The 2 files that I did open in version 8 have been stagnating as I am unsure that any added data will be secure in this version.

Unfortunately, there doesn’t seem to be another piece of software that has the ability to do what Legacy does. I only wish that instead of trying to add more features, that many people will not utilize to their potential, that they would fix the problems they have created in adding those features in the first place.

Biggest Con: Bugs - Bugs - Bugs

Legacy Family Tree Review by Larry Blanchard,  Apr 5, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Have been user for about 15 years. Starting with Version 7 program quality continues to go downhill. With Version 8 it has accelerated.

In Version 7 you could add em dashes manually or use the one’s that were pasted in from newspaper articles. The program now changes these dashes to ’97 AFTER the event item is closed. Even though their programmers caused the problem I was told that their programmers do not support em or en dashes so the problem will not be fixed.

You can report bugs but they want you to spend a lot of time documenting the error so they can reproduce it and then you get a reply that the bug has already been reported or not supported by their programmers. They refuse to have a list of known bugs (with possible workarounds) so that you don’t waste your time trying to help them. I don’t bother anymore.

There seems to have been no coordination in the programming of different sections so it is necessary to learn the idiosyncrasies of every section. If they would only fix the errors in programming this would be a great program, as it is it’s not worth the aggravation.

Version 7 was extremely stable but Version 8 constantly locks up. Definitely will go to another program when they want more money from me for “improvements.”

Biggest Pro: Tagging
Biggest Con: Sloppy programming

Legacy Family Tree Review by cathy,  Mar 15, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I dislike dislike dislike this program. I do not like the report format. I will soon return to using Family Tree Maker. The user manual is quite vague and frequently refers you to the online help and information site for Legacy.

Biggest Con: It is very complicated

Legacy Family Tree Review by Mari,  Feb 24, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I like Legacy but I found every time there is a upgrade my saved information gets mixed up. Words become
one word and jumbo up. Has another come across this problem?

Legacy Family Tree Review by Larry thomas,  Feb 16, 2015

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

One of the big selling points at last year’s Genealogy Forum in Richmond was Legacy’s ability to interface with FamilSearch.Org. After I bought it, I find out that this feature is restricted to Mormons. Since I am a Christian and not LDS, I cannot use this feature. While I really like the ability to enter everyone appearing on a document (Census, etc) at one time, I find the reporting feature annoying. It will then report under each person’s name, “This is event is shared with so-and-so” might be OK the first time, but not all through the report

Biggest Pro: Better ability to tie people to a single event
Biggest Con: False advertisement and restricting the use of paying customer because of their religion

Legacy Family Tree Review by Anne,  Jan 22, 2015

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I find Legacy to be difficult to use. It may have many features, but it’s complicated to use. With the recent upgrade to Legacy 8.0, I find that I’m back at square one again trying to understand the program. I’m very unhappy with Legacy, but there doesn’t seem to be a clear choice out there of a better genealogy software program.

Biggest Pro: I’m not sure there is one right now…
Biggest Con: Extraordinarily time consuming to learn

Legacy Family Tree Review by Larisa,  Jan 6, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

By far the best genealogy database program I’ve encountered so far. Surprised by some of the recent negative review, given how much documentation there is on how to use the software. For people with issues with Potential Problems icon, you can go to Reports>Other Reports>Potential Problems Report. Use the Warnings, Problems, Standardization and Gaps tabs to turn on/off those problems you do or don’t want to see. That’s a great example of the versatility of the feature set of Legacy Family Tree. You can really customize the software to meet your needs. The user interface is easy to use and the source writer is incredibly helpful for writing useful and detailed source citations without having to agonize over if I’m doing it correctly.

Biggest Pro: Customization, flexibility, breadth of available features
Biggest Con: Breadth of Available Features - It is a complicated software program and takes time to really learn all it’s features inside and out.

Legacy Family Tree Review by Jane,  Jan 6, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Comprehensive and complete. Free webinars. FTM changes all the time and gets expensive to keep upgrading.

Biggest Pro: ease of adding info and great with sources

Legacy Family Tree Review by Joan,  Jan 5, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I haven’t had Legacy 8.0 that long, but already, I find the “Potential Problems” feature very annoying. Almost everyone in my various family files has a problem. The only way to correct the problems is to do each individual. Does anyone know how to turn this feature off? I may give a better review after I’ve worked with Legacy 8.0, but right now I wish I had stuck with 7.5.

Biggest Con: Potential Problems feature

Legacy Family Tree Review by sln,  Dec 16, 2014

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

After using Legacy for several years, I am very disappointed with Version 8.0 and wish I hadn’t converted my data from 7.5. The short book I tried to publish came out with many, many spacing issues, as it did in previous versions, and problems with the syntax. I don’t like the “Potential Problems,” which in the overwhelming majority of cases are non-issues - for me, it doesn’t matter if children are not in birth order because I prefer to have my direct ancestor in the top space. I don’t find a universal disable for that “feature” and am not going to spend time to make individual changes. I preferred the earlier screen appearance, which was easier to read, and don’t like having 1/2 (stepchildren) children on every screen.

Biggest Pro: Version 7.5
Biggest Con: Version 8

Legacy Family Tree Review by Nannete,  Dec 12, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I’ve used Ancestry, Geni, and others…but have been using Legacy Family Tree now for almost 5 years and I’ve found the program to use. I will not change as this program has been everything I’ve needed. Yes, they don’t have a few items…but I can do a go-around for those and haven’t had any problems. Absolutely love this program and the webinars that you are encouraged to attend!!!

Biggest Pro: Ease of adding linked and unlinked individuals, the charting, the chronology and timeline!
Biggest Con: Restrictive for cultural changes due to religious beliefs.

Legacy Family Tree Review by John V. Richardson Jr.,  Dec 10, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

As I said back in July 2014, there was a problem with the 428 build when you try to generate a PDF of ancestors and want the notes to appear as true footnotes–there are missing footnotes at the very beginning.

I reported it back then in July and it is now December 2014 and the latest build number 458 of 2 December still doesn’t correct the problem. To make matters worse, when I reported the continuing problem I got the following (non) response: “I cannot predict when the picture size issue will be fixed.”

What? The Legacy technical support staff appear incompetent, lazy, or just don’t care about customers.

Biggest Pro: Ease of Use
Biggest Con: Extremely Slow Correction of Reported BUGS!

Legacy Family Tree Review by Serious researcher,  Nov 22, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Well, I am very disappointed in the advertising “technique” used by Legacy. Their online “Comparison Chart” rates their latest version 8 with MUCH OLDER versions of other’s software: TMG 6, RM 4, FTM 10, (and PAF5 which is discontinued)!This is 2014 and those versions are years older and several versions older too. Comparing each company’s most current versions would be the most accurate way to compare, don’t you think? This type of hype has bothered me for some time and I wonder if any other shoppers had noticed? As feature rich or as wonderful a product it may be, I am steering away from this one because of the principle involved.

Biggest Pro: Have no comment as I dislike their sales technique enough to not invest in a copy
Biggest Con: Advertise by comparing their “newest” to other’s “older versions”

Legacy Family Tree Review by Mike,  Nov 19, 2014

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Just got started with Legacy 8 on a Windows 7 32-bit computer. Got upgraded to 64-bit and tried to install Legacy 8. Got the DLL error on OLE2.DLL, which research shows is an *installer* error. Legacy doesn’t seem to want to fix or even acknowledge that the problem is in their .exe. So why bother to review the product. I can’t say much about the black screen that doesn’t display any family files I try to open.

Biggest Pro: Old install worked
Biggest Con: No support for 64-bit Windows 7

Show 21-40 »