Legacy Family Tree

Click To See Award Winners
by Millennia Corp (Dave Berdan and Ken McGinnis)
A comprehensive Windows program with many features, nicely described on their web site. It has a standard version that is free, and is one of the better free genealogy programs available. It compares itself with Personal Ancestral File, Family Tree Maker, Roots Magic, and The Master Genealogist. They have a blog. They have a number of user groups.

Free • Purchase • Windows • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://www.legacyfamilytree.com/
Overall1053.88 out of 53.88 out of 53.88 out of 53.88 out of 53.88 out of 5 3.88
2014113.79 out of 53.79 out of 53.79 out of 53.79 out of 53.79 out of 5 3.79
2013113.67 out of 53.67 out of 53.67 out of 53.67 out of 53.67 out of 5 3.67
Earlier834.17 out of 54.17 out of 54.17 out of 54.17 out of 54.17 out of 5 4.17

Add Your Review of Legacy Family Tree

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

105 Reviews of Legacy Family Tree     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Legacy Family Tree Review by Carolyn Sanders,  Mar 26, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

After a loss in PAF, I went to Legacy. It is a great program for me to learn more. Last year I received a Mac. I have a fear that if I get a program to use Legacy on my Mac. I will not be satisfied. I would like to use family search and transfer the info to Legacy to Mac. I have not use much of my Legacy since. Please consider a Mac program.
I have consider getting a new window computer just for Legacy. Mac is a great and easy computer.

Biggest Pro: Easy and has so many wonderful features.
Biggest Con: Can not use my Mac.

Legacy Family Tree Review by Paul Bishopp,  Mar 15, 2014

Not Rated

In my view this is far and away the best of all the Genealogy programmes.

However having moved to a Mac I am SO frustrated that there is no Mac version. It is no good saying I can use a crossover programme to run it on Windows…why do you think I chose a Mac?

I don’t WANT to work in Windows. WHY not a Mac version??

Biggest Pro: Family view…much the best of any programme
Biggest Con: NO MAC VERSION

Legacy Family Tree Review by Peter B,  Feb 23, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Just purchased version 8 after using version 5 for 10 years.

Sadly I get an error during installation and cannot open any files or create any files.
After 12 days working with the tech support team I still havn’t got back to my research as I’m trying to make their software install.

They say the file causing my error “OLE2.DLL” is a windows file but it only shows an error when loading their software and all other programs run fine. Their help article on this error appears well visited !

Biggest Pro: Previous Versions
Biggest Con: This version

Legacy Family Tree Review by PAUL MENSO,  Feb 17, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

GOOD PROGRAM

Legacy Family Tree Review by Pam,  Jan 9, 2014

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Used this program for many years, and even allowed Virtual PC to share a space on my Mac to run just this program! But with my new computer, I do not want to do that. I would give it 4 stars IF it would finally consent to making a Mac Version of this program!! PLEASE consider this. I get flip answers when I talk to the support team who say that it’s my fault because I’m not running the program on a PC. I’m about to throw up my hands and look at other software programs though I hate having to do that having already put hundreds of hours into my family file in Legacy. Too many glitches running it on a Mac!

Biggest Pro: Ease of use
Biggest Con: Not having a Mac version. You’re missing out on a lot of potential customers!

Legacy Family Tree Review by Anne,  Jan 7, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I really love the new version 8 that was released in dec 2013.love the Shared Events. The migration mapping/reports are great. And the statistic are interesting and fun to read. I also like the new Problem Indicator. This way Legacy tells me directly me might have done some errors when I did my genealogy research. I also like that the tags now are extended from 3 to 9. And I love that I now can have 8 lines color coded. So now I have my eldest daughter as a starting person and can still see the direct lines from my 4 grandparents and my husbands 4 grandparents.

Legacy do not fulfill all my needs on a genealogy program but it is the one that comes closest.

Biggest Pro: Shared Events and the possible to customize very much in the program
Biggest Con: No support for Same sex couples and Unicode

Legacy Family Tree Review by Malm,  Jan 4, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

v8 has just been released with a fresh new look and some great new features like Shared Events, a cool Statistics report and reports on origins and migration so you can find out where your ancestors were from and where your lines have moved to. One of my favorite features is the “Potential Problems Indicator” which shows at a glance that there’s a possible problem with data entry. It’s actually an extension of the existing Potential Problems Report.

I’ve used Legacy since it was first released in 1997 and have never considered switching to another program although I have looked at a lot of them.

Biggest Pro: Love the look and feel of the program.
Biggest Con: No Unicode support

Legacy Family Tree Review by Diane Gould Hall,  Jan 3, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Long time user and I love this program. There are a few glitches in the current version 8 release, but the programmers are listening and they are being fixed. Lots of tech support, great webinars, user friendly, great sourcing templates etc etc. My blog http://www.michiganfamilytrails.com has Legacy tips and other genealogy tips for all researchers.

Biggest Pro: Sourcing templates, great reports, geo mapping, tech support, ease of use, ability to customize
Biggest Con: Glitches in the new version including no pop ups in family view, media gallery doesn’t look as nice as 7.5

Legacy Family Tree Review by Ginny De Haan,  Jan 3, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been using
legacy Family tree software since at least 2005 and find it easy to use. If you have a problem they respond immediately.All the people at legacy are eager to help you even the guys at the top.
Their user group is very active. So active that I had to stop being on the e-mail list as it was overload and I couldn’t get my genealogy done.
The new Legacy 8 version is even easier to use and has many bells and whistles. Their research section is quite helpful. As far as I know they have left no stone unturned. They are always open to suggestions and the updates show that.

Biggest Pro: easy to use, reports and ability to write your genealogy out for you.
Biggest Con: so much information that it might be overwhelming in the beginning, but they make up for that with their free webinars.

Legacy Family Tree Review by Sandra,  Jan 3, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I have been very happy with Legacy 7 (including the updates). I have been using Legacy for several years now. Previously, I had used Family Tree Maker. I was impressed with the features provided by the free version of Legacy which has no time limit for trying it out. The free version only blocks some of the premium features which initially I did not need. I used the free version for quite some time before purchasing the full version. I recently upgrade to Legacy 8 and am still pleased with the program, as well as the new features it has added. I do have one minor complaint. The way that Legacy handles sources seems to me to be impractical when it comes to the census. However, I am not a database specialist, so not sure whether it is a limitation of databases or bad design.

I have not recently compared it to other programs. In the past, I have tried TMG, Roots Magic, and PAF, but it has not been recently enough that I can draw comparisons.

I noticed that the previous poster had a database corrupted. I have 5 family files and none have been corrupted to date. I have not needed to contact customer support yet, so I cannot speak to the quality.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use to main features.
Biggest Con: Little bit of a learning curve to learn about advanced features. Source creation for censuses.

Legacy Family Tree Review by Ridley Kemp,  Jan 2, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Legacy 8 and the shared events are a joke. It is causing corruption in my database.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Corruption of database

Legacy Family Tree Review by TJF,  Nov 8, 2013

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

If you have over 100,000 individuals in your family tree this program is not for you. Relationship calculator does not work properly past that point and has not since at least 2011. No fix forthcoming.

Biggest Pro: Ease of use
Biggest Con: Techs who can’t fix the relationship calculator, stop responding when questioned.

Legacy Family Tree Review by B Byers,  Oct 25, 2013

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I find Legacy Family Tree an excellent programme BUT It would be better if there was a Mac version. I got around that by setting up Windows on my Mac using a programme using Parallels. Is it possible to do the same thing on my iPad. The ipad is certainly far lighter and more convenient to take to libraries and archives

Biggest Con: needs to be a Mac Version

Legacy Family Tree Review by L.Hunter,  Jul 2, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

By far and away the best genealogy software I have ever found This one is so much ahead of the rest its unfair to compare. So much easier to use than PAF that even in the freeware version it outperforms on every level. Stable database even with vast interconnected trees. I dont use this application for making charts though

Biggest Pro: Insanely easy to use, stable database, highly customizable
Biggest Con: None that I have found. If I was in a position to get the deluxe version I’m sure my delight could only increase

Legacy Family Tree Review by Billy Bob,  Jun 7, 2013

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Ok, it’s good, but could be the best.

Hopefully version 8 fixes many of the small bugs that have been hanging around for years.

Biggest Pro: Way better than TMG
Biggest Con: Small bugs that never get fixed.

Legacy Family Tree Review by Jerzee Girl,  Mar 10, 2013

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I used the free version when I began my journey over 11 years ago. I then bought the deluxe software and find it meets my needs.

Legacy Family Tree Review by Jennifer Burgess,  Mar 3, 2013

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I purchased the deluxe version because some of my friends have it and I liked it, and some friends use both Legacy and Ancestry, I struck my first very major problem when transferring my data from FTM via a gedcom file. the baptisms, over 3000 went into events, not into the christenings, doing a Google search I discovered the only way to put a baptism into the christenings, is to do each baptism manually, that means one at a time, and not only is it several clicks to put the baptism in, the place does not follow and also has to be done manually, more clicks of the mouse, and then of course you need to delete the event, which is several more clicks of the mouse. I’m doing a manual check of my tree as I have discovered some people didn’t transfer at all. I’ll be keeping my FTM as well as the legacy. I did get confirmation from my email to customer service, (after a few days) that manually is the way it has to be done.

Biggest Pro: easy to swap information with other family
Biggest Con: the problem with not matching information via a Gedcom file

Legacy Family Tree Review by Peter Rezende,  Feb 8, 2013

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

The features in Legacy are about average for what you’d expect of a family tree program but there’re many more user friendly programs on the market. I use Legacg, FTM, FTB, PAF and CGR depending on what I want to do and which reports I want to run.

But would you trust your family tree data, data that has been collected after years of painstaking research, to a program that does not correctly export to a Gedcom?

Legacy is more concerned with developing new features rather than fixing the bugs in their current version. Below is correspondence with their “support” department when I discovered a bug in the system..a bug they claim to have known about and fixed in Oct 2012 but the fix has not been released as at 8 Feb 2013..

< < Moderator note: Sorry, personal correspondence with the company should not be included in a review and has been removed >>

Biggest Pro: Photo Management
Biggest Con: Fixing bugs and support

Legacy Family Tree Review by Saskey,  Feb 4, 2013

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

The free version is pitiful. If you are considering this program, skip this clumsy program and go directly to the fully functional version, which *may* be better.

Biggest Pro: Free
Biggest Con: Not very user-friendly or useful.

Legacy Family Tree Review by Nancy Hanson,  Jan 12, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been using the program for 10 years and find the Deluxe Version meets all my needs. I teach beginner classes and recommend the free version for people starting their research.

Biggest Pro: All the features
Biggest Con: Wouldn’t have found all of the features without collaborating with other users.

Show 21-40 »