Legacy Family Tree

Click To See Award Winners
by Millennia Corp (Dave Berdan and Ken McGinnis)
A comprehensive Windows program with many features, nicely described on their web site. It has a standard version that is free, and is one of the better free genealogy programs available. They have a blog. They have a number of user groups.

Free • Purchase • Windows • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://www.legacyfamilytree.com/
Overall1432.98 out of 52.98 out of 52.98 out of 52.98 out of 52.98 out of 5 2.98
201663.66 out of 53.66 out of 53.66 out of 53.66 out of 53.66 out of 5 3.66
2015212.41 out of 52.41 out of 52.41 out of 52.41 out of 52.41 out of 5 2.41
Earlier1163.28 out of 53.28 out of 53.28 out of 53.28 out of 53.28 out of 5 3.28

Add Your Review of Legacy Family Tree

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

143 Reviews of Legacy Family Tree     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Legacy Family Tree Review by Allene Monaghan,  Jan 11, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

It is a program that you can use that can be simple or it can master a lot. Easy to use, a lot of help, free webinars.
I’m very satisfied with the program.

Legacy Family Tree Review by David C,  Jan 10, 2016

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Scared stiff of moving from Family Tree Maker (used since version 3.0 with some 1500 entries! but now abandoned from Dec. 2016) to Legacy Family Tree after reading the reviews. I can see no reference to whether or not the software is happy to run on 32 or 64 bit bus? No User manual! F.T.M. has worked well with MS operating systems to Version 7 but no longer works on the 64 bit bus hence a lot of time spent searching for reliable family tree software. I am not surprised that a lot of rewriting of software has become necessary with Microsoft shooting itself in the foot with its operating systems fiasco over the past 5 years, and now with hiring MS OS software for only 1 to 12 months, it is enough to make one turn to Apple for the first time.

Biggest Pro: Those who like it seem to find it works perfectly
Biggest Con: No Microsoft Operating system or 32/64 bus specified in reviews.

Legacy Family Tree Review by Diana Allen,  Jan 9, 2016

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I have used paid-for Legacy 7.5 for awhile.Installing free 8.0 to trial it was a mistake, I stupidy thought it was an upgrade, but did it as 7.5 advised it could not integrate with an on line database, not sure which one..which I prefer not to be compulsory…I’d spent ages getting my data sorted and editing the web page with pics, etc. Ver 8.0 was installed to a separate dir. and has fouled up the other vers. I think, e.g I could not get the ver 7.5 web page to even open in a browser. Finding how to select/change a browser took more time -not solved, it opens in Notepad as text!’ The program lacks a manual. Fed up with it now and am looking for an alternative in windows 8.Have the free Ancestry app. on my Samsung tablet and that looks good and was simple to set up.

Biggest Pro: Many features, error checking
Biggest Con: Being forced to buy latest version, making earlier one redundant.

Legacy Family Tree Review by Lois Gilbert,  Jan 3, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I love Legacy and the citation of sources that allows you to create a master list and reuse each source. I also like that it is linked to FamilySearch Tree and that I can see the relationship of each person to me.

Biggest Pro: It shows your relationship and allows you to add your source citations in a standardized form or custom format
Biggest Con: haven’t found anything I don’t like

Legacy Family Tree Review by Vance Risinger,  Jan 3, 2016

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I found the interface to version 8 very clunky looking compared to the very clean looking version 7. I keep my legacy interface to a small size, about 1/4 of overall screen size, so that I can look at browser info simultaneously. Side by side comparison of 7 versus 8 shows while 7 is easy to read at this small size version 8 is almost unreadable. I switched back immediately to version 7 wasting $26 in the process.

Legacy Family Tree Review by Sandy Williams,  Jan 2, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I really like legacy. It has many, many tools and customization features. I have been able to do just about anything I want to do with this program. I haven’t had any technical issues and I love their training videos. I’m a member of their facebook group, and the responsiveness of moderators is really good. There are also many posts about issues that people have gone to customer support, and as far as I can recall, everyone talked about how responsive they are.

Biggest Pro: Many tools, options and customization features. Also, the source writer is really, really good.
Biggest Con: Interface a bit dated.

Legacy Family Tree Review by Kay,  Dec 13, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Coming from a dos based program many years ago, I tried everything on the market and decided on Legacy.

I liked the reports; the ToDo list to keep my research handy for where ever I was headed ie: specific Library, Archive, any individual I needed to look for in a specific film or book, etc.; showing half siblings in a family group. You can check for missing sources on an individual; missing Census and search the internet for possible leads. The Source Writer is the best as it follows “Evidence Explained by Elizabeth Shown Mills”.

Any new program is difficult to get the hang of - but I have never regretted moving to Legacy. I have never had any issue with a GedCom import other than the way sources are handled and some events, but that is common knowledge, and has gotten better over the years.

I have had only good experience customer service with problem solving regarding any issue and very quick response to any questions or remarks I may submit.

Biggest Pro: Excellent overall, reports, ease of use, customer service

Legacy Family Tree Review by 1777 Halden,  Dec 10, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

The best of all!

Legacy Family Tree Review by James Hill,  Nov 2, 2015

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I have just moved from The Master Genealogist (TMG), which is sadly no more. Legacy has a major problem that it does not have a really comprehensive manual. LEAD error followed by a number is very poor. I have tried an Internet search for answers. Will give Rootsmagic a try now.

Biggest Pro: Good family screen
Biggest Con: Lack a comprehensive manual

Legacy Family Tree Review by Barb S,  Oct 12, 2015

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I have the newest Legacy (after years of working with FTM) and I’ve been very happy with it. This is definitely not as easy to use as FTM or some other programs, but I feel it’s got great potential once I get the hang of it. Tasks that I am used to doing are “hidden” under other tabs and labeled differently, but since I have worked with PCs & Macs, language problems are not a problem. There are oodles of users groups and there are free online demos (at the end of Webinar Wednesdays). Videos are everywhere online. So, I don’t understand complains about usability. Some people have said they lost data with updates, but I haven’t noticed that to be true with my experiences. I’m giving this a 3 rating only because it’s needlessly complicated to use such a great program.

Biggest Pro: Flexibility, online user support groups, wonderful charts
Biggest Con: Needlessly difficult for new users

Legacy Family Tree Review by George Brooks,  Sep 1, 2015

Not Rated

Looks beautiful but not good for neophyte users. In spite of some reviews to the contrary, there is a phone number but nothing but recorded prompts to this and that. No one to talk to. Plus, the new user video suggests the viewer press pause as it proceeds (if you wish to check something out) but there is no pause button nor any indication where it is or how to find it.

Biggest Pro: Beautiful.
Biggest Con: Poor interface with its customers.

Legacy Family Tree Review by Dave Squires,  Aug 1, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I recently purchased Legacy 8, and was going through some details, I can’t believe the information that’s been lost, without going through all 1257 individuals, and even then I wouldn’t know. I took it for granted that all the information had been loaded into the update. Years of information lost! I honestly can’t believe your program would do this, I’ve lost the original backup as I’ve been backing up the new version to the same file. I’ve even tried the ‘Recuva’ program with no luck. I have my GEDCOM backed up in 9 places - everyone has been replaced with the Legacy 8 version. I’m absolutely devastated, I should have looked at the reviews more closely! Uninstalled Legacy 8 and reinstalled Legacy 6 which I never had a problem with.
PS. I’ve been extremely lucky and just found a backup from September last year that’s OK - I now have to add another 145 individuals and all their information again, £42 wasted - I should be compensated not just for the cost of the program but for all the stress and time I’ll now have spend sorting my family history that I’ve spent eight years collecting! YOU’VE BEEN WARNED.

Biggest Pro: NONE
Biggest Con: MESSED UP MY RESEACH

Legacy Family Tree Review by Jeannette Grosvenor,  Jul 9, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Legacy Version 8 is not Genealogy. Your insistence that the RIN is a unique ID is ridiculous. It is arbitrarily assigned by the computer when a new individual is entered and has nothing to do with relationships. Nothing is more unique than the Ancestral File Numbers, Ahnentaful numbers, Pedigree Resource numbers; all of which are based on a simple mathematical formula Except for #1 on a chart, even numbers are male, odd numbers are female.
An individual has 4 grandmothers, each with a specific number which never changes and dies with her. You are seriously damaging your reputation; I refuse to recommend this version to anyone .
The other issue is your numbering system for publishing. Only the author would understand the one you have. What happened to Modified Register? Your programmers have serious work to do and need to take Genealogy 101.

Biggest Pro: Their isn’t one.
Biggest Con: Relationships.

Legacy Family Tree Review by Susan Haskell,  May 14, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

After being made to feel that all the problems I have had since Legacy 8 was released were mine and mine alone, I started seeking answers and found these reviews. When I first transferred my files to Legacy 8, the new version corrupted ALL my files. I am doing a One Name Study and my main file has been steadily growing and now is just over 90000 names. I have needed to send my file to Support and to Ken McGinnis on a number of occasions for them to fix but have still lost some data.

I try to fix as many errors by checking their instructions and following them to the letter. Sometimes the fixes work briefly only to re-occur almost immediately. I am sick of downloading and reinstalling on a daily basis. I was sent a personal update file 8.0.0.492 which has more bugs than any other previous version!!!. The Master Location List refuses to display my comma settings,automatically combines some duplicate locations and some non-duplicate locations as well. The Combine/Combine With buttons function erratically. Unstable would be the polite term!!! Utter frustration is what results as I spend fruitless hours in finding workarounds to fix stuff not caused by me or my computer.. I sent an email back to Ken last week saying I could do more at my end expecting further suggestions and help. Have had no reply…Legacy seems happy to ignore me. One support staff member was quite rude to me…I have kept that email as a record.

I have supported Legacy Family Tree and loved using it until now. My website family trees depend on its web page creation feature so I just wish the programmers would fix the well defined bugs so we can get on with what we enjoy…family history. Maybe they did not like me saying that I felt like billing them for my wasted time and effort. I understand some HTML Coding and CSS etc. and can identify some fixes that they should be able to fins as they are the experts. Come on guys…let us get on with what we do best and lift your game, please.

Thank Goodness for those who have posted here as I now know that my problems are not unique.
Legacy Family Tree was a great program until Legacy 8…..what a pity it has now failed.
By not fixing Legacy 8 they are damaging their future business prospects.

Biggest Pro: Web Page Creation
Biggest Con: Bugs, corruptions, bugs and more corruptions.

Legacy Family Tree Review by Floyd Pratt,  May 13, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Bought 6.0 years ago good program up until 8.0 Deluxe. Have had nothing but trouble with new version. When printing a book, individual report, FGS formatting characters are arbitrarily inserted into the notes section before each line. The December build did not have this problem. After contacting customer service in January got the company line “we are aware of the programming problem and are working on it”. Here it is in May with no fix. Also, the program keeps crashing…never had that problem before. Before 8.0 the program worked beautifully and I have 42,000 people in my database. After reading FTM reviews I am wondering if there really is a good family history program on the market for genealogists? Would not recommend the current version even if it is free.

Biggest Pro: can’t think of any
Biggest Con: Crashes, embeds formatting characters in notes, sometimes won’t create a GEDCOM

Legacy Family Tree Review by Karen V. Sipe,  May 4, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

After 40 years I would like to create a GOOD report for publication.

To bad they don’t feel final reports are a must have item. The ones currently available aren’t worth the time to create if you want a RFT version and staff is not responding to my inquires about the citation issues.

Good for input and storage but not much else.

Biggest Pro: Easy input and navagation
Biggest Con: NO REPORTS WORTH WHILE so what good is this?

Legacy Family Tree Review by Eileen Keim,  Apr 29, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I purchased this (8.0) without checking the reviews - BIG mistake! While entry is easy, actually producing a report or a tree is just impossible. My request for help has gone unanswered. Looks like I’ll have to start all over again with another program.
Any advice on how to get a refund?

Biggest Con: will not produce charts or reports past 1 generation.

Legacy Family Tree Review by canby3,  Apr 17, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have used many programs and done research into genealogy for almost 20 years. I found the legacy program to be difficult to navigate through, transfer information to and in general of no use unless you are starting from scratch and want to enter everything one step at a time.

Biggest Pro: It was cheap but you get what you pay for.
Biggest Con: Not user friendly and hard to transfer existing information.

Legacy Family Tree Review by Penni Luntsford,  Apr 13, 2015

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I have been a long-time Legacy user and through many versions it has been my “go-to” genealogical software. I loved it! Not so anymore!

I upgraded to the version 8 right after it’s issue and since then I’ve had nothing but problems. There are so many bugs and after all this time (issue date late 2013, early 2014) many of those irritating bugs are still crawling around.

At one point I had completely lost the ability to access my personal family file, the one I’ve spent over 40 years working on. It was visible on the hard-drive so I knew it was there, but Legacy could not open it, nor could I restore the backup. After spending many hours daily for 2-3 weeks with tech support, nothing they recommended worked. Finally I was ready to give up, when out-of-the-blue my file reappeared (with no thanks to Legacy’s support).

I now have multiple files (I research for others as well as myself) that I am afraid to open as once you open a file in the newer version it becomes converted and you cannot go back. My ability to assist others with their research is severely affected by my fear of damaging my files by opening them in version 8. The 2 files that I did open in version 8 have been stagnating as I am unsure that any added data will be secure in this version.

Unfortunately, there doesn’t seem to be another piece of software that has the ability to do what Legacy does. I only wish that instead of trying to add more features, that many people will not utilize to their potential, that they would fix the problems they have created in adding those features in the first place.

Biggest Con: Bugs - Bugs - Bugs

Legacy Family Tree Review by Larry Blanchard,  Apr 5, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Have been user for about 15 years. Starting with Version 7 program quality continues to go downhill. With Version 8 it has accelerated.

In Version 7 you could add em dashes manually or use the one’s that were pasted in from newspaper articles. The program now changes these dashes to ’97 AFTER the event item is closed. Even though their programmers caused the problem I was told that their programmers do not support em or en dashes so the problem will not be fixed.

You can report bugs but they want you to spend a lot of time documenting the error so they can reproduce it and then you get a reply that the bug has already been reported or not supported by their programmers. They refuse to have a list of known bugs (with possible workarounds) so that you don’t waste your time trying to help them. I don’t bother anymore.

There seems to have been no coordination in the programming of different sections so it is necessary to learn the idiosyncrasies of every section. If they would only fix the errors in programming this would be a great program, as it is it’s not worth the aggravation.

Version 7 was extremely stable but Version 8 constantly locks up. Definitely will go to another program when they want more money from me for “improvements.”

Biggest Pro: Tagging
Biggest Con: Sloppy programming

Show 21-40 »