Legacy Family Tree

Click To See Award Winners
by Millennia Corp (Dave Berdan and Ken McGinnis)
A comprehensive Windows program with many features, nicely described on their web site. It has a standard version that is free, and is one of the better free genealogy programs available. In August 2017, Legacy was acquired by MyHeritage.

Free • Purchase • Windows • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://www.legacyfamilytree.com/
Overall1792.97 out of 52.97 out of 52.97 out of 52.97 out of 52.97 out of 5 2.97
2018102.89 out of 52.89 out of 52.89 out of 52.89 out of 52.89 out of 5 2.89
2017143.02 out of 53.02 out of 53.02 out of 53.02 out of 53.02 out of 5 3.02
Earlier1552.99 out of 52.99 out of 52.99 out of 52.99 out of 52.99 out of 5 2.99

Add Your Review of Legacy Family Tree

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

179 Reviews of Legacy Family Tree     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Legacy Family Tree Review by Rosemary Stewart,  Apr 1, 2018

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

This is full featured and has lots of really good points: strong support for proper sourcing, good backup and restore features. Obviously develipoed by people who really understand genealogy.

But the interface has far too many quirks for me to take it seriously. to mention a few:

- Option buttons which contain action menus, such as delete
- click on a piece of text (what in programming is called a label) rather than a button
- active icons in the menu bar. Where they are not supposed to be, and anyway they are so small as to be difficult to use
-Parts are extremely old fashioned -like the Customise section
- Close buttons which are in different places in each window
- the interface is, for the programmers out there, extremely modal.

and my personal choice for idiotic design of all time: mouse over a blank spot to get information about a person’s entry

Have these programmers never heard of the Microsoft User Interface Guidelines?

Biggest Pro: Good genealogical practice
Biggest Con: Hopeless interface.

Legacy Family Tree Review by Sheri,  Mar 20, 2018

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I’ve been using this program for 1 year. I liked how it organized my paper data. I am still learning how to navigate the program.

Biggest Pro: The reports - I used the Family Bingo
Biggest Con: slowness, especially when saving the data I just entered

Legacy Family Tree Review by Linda Lindroos,  Mar 6, 2018

Not Rated

This could be a great program, but it isn’t.

It understands genealogy, genealogists’ requirements, and the nature of genealogical studies. It’s sourcing systems (there are two to choose from) are second to none, once you learn them. It is beautifully linked to ‘Evidence Explained’ and i am yet to find anything that I want to do that I cannot do in Legacy.

But oh my, the user interface. I’ve been using various programs (semi-professionally) in genealogy for 20 years, and started with Legacy 3 months ago to possibly replace my current tools. Legacy has a user interface straight out of the 1990s. and even in the 1990s we didn’t expect to have to hit a particular blank part of the screen to cycle through spouses or children. Or click on a label as opposed to a button. Or deal with aclunky toolbar/menu bar combo.

Not going to replace my current tools, much as I would like to.

Biggest Pro: Genealogical background.
Biggest Con: User interface is unusable.

Legacy Family Tree Review by Yvonne,  Mar 5, 2018

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I have found this a really good package at a reasonable cost. it allows integrating with some online sites if you wish and has good research plan features.

Biggest Pro: Versatile
Biggest Con: Windows only

Legacy Family Tree Review by Rosemary Nicholls,  Feb 27, 2018

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

This program has all the features you could possibly need, and allows for proper sourcing, weighing of evidence and has quite good charts.

But getting reports exactly the way you want is tedious to impossible. Missing information is sometimes spressed; other times a gap is left or even an underline.

The interface is ludicrously clunky, with several ad hoc additions obviously just shoved in where they could be squeezed, with no thought to consistency or transparency. Programmers: please look up the word ‘affordance’.

Where else have the words ‘Mouse over a blank part of the screen looking for a popup’ been used in modern software? Where else does any program require you to right-click a label (piece of text) on the screen? Why do option buttons hide operations like ‘delete’? This interface dates back to the 1990s.

Some operations are crazy long winded. For example: I have a family of 6 children and want to give each of them the same address. Click the first then ctrl-click the rest? Or click one and use the selection boxes? No, not in Legacy.

The interface has become so clunky, and common operations so long winded, that I am trialling alternatives - despite investing some 4 years of research on 3000+ individuals into Legacy. I hope it exports nice GEDCOM files!

Biggest Pro: Makes it easy to do evidence-based genealogy.
Biggest Con: The user interface is just unacceptable in this century.

Legacy Family Tree Review by Donald,  Feb 19, 2018

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I decided to run Legacy 9 alongside RootsMagic 7 and Family Tree Maker to weed out the one(s) I did not like. I have the full version of all 3. I ended up deciding to drop Legacy 9 completely. The reports and Charts are decent, but the lack of Unicode is a big downer. The interface is dated and clunky as well.

Biggest Pro: Legacy Charting and Hashtags
Biggest Con: Clunky and No Unicode.

Legacy Family Tree Review by Tony,  Feb 13, 2018

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I have been using Legacy since v.3, even then it was more versatile than other UK programs and I am at present using v.8 expecting to update to v.9 shortly. For me I know of no other alternative as good. Despite its simplicity its versatility can cause questions, for which the manuals do clearly guide and answer. But if not, an email question I find will often provide an answer within 24 hours. I always suggest Legacy as the first program to try and unlike most other programs the full standard versions is free.

Whilst the tree charting may be designed to meet customer requirements, at times it has insufficient versatility so I do resort to using an UK program.

Biggest Pro: So versatile, to be recommended
Biggest Con: Tree charting needs improvement

Legacy Family Tree Review by Teresa Williams,  Feb 11, 2018

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

The program is extremely comprehensive and (probably) does everything you’d ever want, except for two glaring defects:

- the interface is dated and has a lot of inconsistencies. For example, needing to mouse over a “blank” spot on the scree to reveal a control or option; having to right-click a piece of text which turns out to be a button. Several features look as if they have been just bolted on without a proper plan.

- the program still does not support Unicode, and judging by press releases probably never will. Yet the underlying database (Access) has supported Unicode since 2000. Good luck if you have non-English names among your ancestors.

There is excellent community support, documentation is good (but costs extra for all but the basic Help). Source handling is comprehensive but complex.

Biggest Pro: Handling of sources.
Biggest Con: No Unicode

Legacy Family Tree Review by A. Howell,  Jan 3, 2018

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Legacy Family Tree is an excellent, full-featured genealogy program for Windows. It has nearly every feature a genealogist would want, and integrates well with 3rd-party applications. Citation support is especially strong, with the ability to associate sources to each bit of information that pertains to an ancestor. The Legacy Family Tree user community is large, and over 600 webinars are available online to assist with every aspect of genealogy. Hopefully, there will be a Macintosh version in the near future. Integration with MyHeritage is promised in the v10 release of Legacy Family Tree.

Biggest Pro: Excellent support for citations
Biggest Con: Windows program only at the present time

Legacy Family Tree Review by Kris,  Jan 3, 2018

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have been a dedicated Legacy Family Tree user since I started working on genealogy — about 12 years. No more. As time permits, I’m trying out every program out there to find a replacement. Since the release of v.9 and the sale to My Heritage, this program isn’t even worth the time it takes to download the free version, let alone purchase it.

On installation, it deletes, without authorization, v.8 if you have it installed. Working around that, and re-installing v.8 (because of all the bugs in v.9), if you even RUN v.9 it will once again delete v.8. This is the kind of sneaky thing malware does and is NOT standard operating procedure in the software world, though that’s their response when you complain about it.

Biggest Con: Unauthorized DELETION of computer files.

Legacy Family Tree Review by Tom,  Nov 2, 2017

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I have used Legacy8 for 2 years. Because lightning hit my computer a couple of months ago and then Microsoft did an upgrade that killed my hard drive again, Legacy8 is acting funny. I have lost the email that had my customer number from 2 years ago and I can’t upgrade. Customer service with Expressware, Millennia, Heritage, Legacy, whoever they are this year, is almost non existent and can only be accesses by email. You cannot talk to anybody by phone. In my 30 years dealing with computers this is a little goofy.

Biggest Pro: Web-free software
Biggest Con: Websites refer to upgrades that dont exist. Nobody seems to monitor websites that refer to other websites that are outdated

Legacy Family Tree Review by Jathan Pfeifle,  Oct 29, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Stand alone genealogy program with no internet connection required. Very user friendly and intuitive. Easy to input data and to navigate between views. Excellent sourcing options, optional interface with Family Search AND My Heritage (my Heritage interface is new in version 9- these hints you have to pay for are in the optional i terface with these cpmpanies, on those company’s subscription based systems) potential problem reporting. Multiple views and print options. For those with Family in the United States, it includes a US county verification index which will tell you whether or not a county existed at any point in time. Direct ancestor color coding (EIGHT colors vs the standard four). Also easy to upload new genealogy files and merge duplicate individuals (both automatically and manually)

Free sample version (full-featured) so you can test the program and see what it’s like before buying (you can upgradeclster without having to re-rnter data.

I have been through four versions of this program, and whenever I have had problems or questions they have been quick to respond, even repairing database problems, for free.

GOOD friendly customer service with fairly quick response times.

I highly recommend this program.

Biggest Pro: Very easy to learn and use
Biggest Con: None

Legacy Family Tree Review by AlexL,  Aug 25, 2017

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Recently upgraded from Legacy 8 - 9 not sure why apart from hints you have to pay for there aint much different oh and you cant do reports unless you are connected to a printer?? I dont have one connected and use a PDF program instead then print when I get a minute so for me it was a waste of time. There are others that have better features shop around.

Biggest Pro: Pretty database
Biggest Con: Cant do reports without a printer

Legacy Family Tree Review by Poppapug,  Aug 16, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I’ve used FTM since about 1995. I loved the software through V16. IMO, all versions after about 2008, were terrible!

I’m a slow-to-adapt kind of guy and tried several different brands. Then I downloaded the free edition of Legacy 9.0. After using it for a few hours, I opted for the ‘deluxe’ version. LOVE IT!

After about a week, I’m so glad I chose Legacy 9.0 . Trust me. It’s great!

Biggest Pro: Easy to use, interface, adaptability, ‘Cloud” backup,
Biggest Con: Still looking for some.

Legacy Family Tree Review by Trudy G.,  Aug 13, 2017

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I’ve been working with Ancestry.com for several months but can’t afford to keep paying the fee so I purchased the Legacy program to create a family tree that can be saved in my computer, or on a disk or memory stick. I’m very disappointed. The program is too complicated for me. It’s not as user friendly as the company states. You have to be very computer savvy. I really like Ancestry and wish I could save that tree on my computer. Hints on Ancestry on included in the membership. Hints on Legacy are an extra fee, even though I paid for the program.

Biggest Pro: None.
Biggest Con: You have to pay extra if you want to see the hints.

Legacy Family Tree Review by Nancy Lorieau,  Jul 23, 2017

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I was all set to order, and I had been told the site takes PayPal, but I could not find that option while checking out. I was very disappointed because I prefer to pay cash for my purchases.

Biggest Pro: Looks great; tried the free version, want to buy the whole deal. There doesn’t seem to be a PayPal option. Disappointed.
Biggest Con: Want to buy but it does not seem to be available to PayPal users.

Legacy Family Tree Review by Donald,  Jun 28, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Since this software is getting poor reviews I think I should review it. I use several different genealogical programs right now. After the upgrade to Legacy 9 I am now considering Legacy 9 to be a front runner. It is a great piece of software especially with the new features they have added. Just so you know I also use Family Tree Maker, Rootsmagic, rootsTrust and Heredis.

Biggest Pro: New features in Legacy 9
Biggest Con: None I can think of.

Legacy Family Tree Review by Val Cantrell,  May 27, 2017

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I purchased the deluxe version, WHY do I need to pay again for each upgrade??? Ridiculous

Biggest Pro: tools
Biggest Con: constant purchases

Legacy Family Tree Review by Nancy Rogers,  May 9, 2017

Not Rated

Does anyone know if this version of Legacy still will function as a stand alone, this means will it work wen my internet connect is not working can I still add to data base? I am using windows 7 pro.

Legacy Family Tree Review by Shirley hathawaw,  May 3, 2017

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

My purchased 8 keeps crashing (freezing). I have lost tons of info over and over again. I am fed up. What the hell? Oh, and they get rid of tech support, probably couldn’t keep up with complaints

I literally every day I work on legacy I do a back up to 3 different drives, cause I am bound to have a crash and all that work will be toast.

Btw I am using window 7 pro

Biggest Pro: Can’t think of one right now
Biggest Con: Doing work 3 or 4 or 5 times

Show 21-40 »