Legacy Family Tree

Click To See Award Winners
by Millennia Corp (Dave Berdan and Ken McGinnis)
A comprehensive Windows program with many features, nicely described on their web site. It has a standard version that is free, and is one of the better free genealogy programs available. They have a blog. They have a number of user groups.

Free • Purchase • Windows • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://www.legacyfamilytree.com/
Overall1233.17 out of 53.17 out of 53.17 out of 53.17 out of 53.17 out of 5 3.17
201572.82 out of 52.82 out of 52.82 out of 52.82 out of 52.82 out of 5 2.82
2014222.93 out of 52.93 out of 52.93 out of 52.93 out of 52.93 out of 5 2.93
Earlier943.95 out of 53.95 out of 53.95 out of 53.95 out of 53.95 out of 5 3.95

Add Your Review of Legacy Family Tree

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

123 Reviews of Legacy Family Tree     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Legacy Family Tree Review by cathy,  Mar 15, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I dislike dislike dislike this program. I do not like the report format. I will soon return to using Family Tree Maker. The user manual is quite vague and frequently refers you to the online help and information site for Legacy.

Biggest Con: It is very complicated

Legacy Family Tree Review by Mari,  Feb 24, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I like Legacy but I found every time there is a upgrade my saved information gets mixed up. Words become
one word and jumbo up. Has another come across this problem?

Legacy Family Tree Review by Larry thomas,  Feb 16, 2015

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

One of the big selling points at last year’s Genealogy Forum in Richmond was Legacy’s ability to interface with FamilSearch.Org. After I bought it, I find out that this feature is restricted to Mormons. Since I am a Christian and not LDS, I cannot use this feature. While I really like the ability to enter everyone appearing on a document (Census, etc) at one time, I find the reporting feature annoying. It will then report under each person’s name, “This is event is shared with so-and-so” might be OK the first time, but not all through the report

Biggest Pro: Better ability to tie people to a single event
Biggest Con: False advertisement and restricting the use of paying customer because of their religion

Legacy Family Tree Review by Anne,  Jan 22, 2015

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I find Legacy to be difficult to use. It may have many features, but it’s complicated to use. With the recent upgrade to Legacy 8.0, I find that I’m back at square one again trying to understand the program. I’m very unhappy with Legacy, but there doesn’t seem to be a clear choice out there of a better genealogy software program.

Biggest Pro: I’m not sure there is one right now…
Biggest Con: Extraordinarily time consuming to learn

Legacy Family Tree Review by Larisa,  Jan 6, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

By far the best genealogy database program I’ve encountered so far. Surprised by some of the recent negative review, given how much documentation there is on how to use the software. For people with issues with Potential Problems icon, you can go to Reports>Other Reports>Potential Problems Report. Use the Warnings, Problems, Standardization and Gaps tabs to turn on/off those problems you do or don’t want to see. That’s a great example of the versatility of the feature set of Legacy Family Tree. You can really customize the software to meet your needs. The user interface is easy to use and the source writer is incredibly helpful for writing useful and detailed source citations without having to agonize over if I’m doing it correctly.

Biggest Pro: Customization, flexibility, breadth of available features
Biggest Con: Breadth of Available Features - It is a complicated software program and takes time to really learn all it’s features inside and out.

Legacy Family Tree Review by Jane,  Jan 6, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Comprehensive and complete. Free webinars. FTM changes all the time and gets expensive to keep upgrading.

Biggest Pro: ease of adding info and great with sources

Legacy Family Tree Review by Joan,  Jan 5, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I haven’t had Legacy 8.0 that long, but already, I find the “Potential Problems” feature very annoying. Almost everyone in my various family files has a problem. The only way to correct the problems is to do each individual. Does anyone know how to turn this feature off? I may give a better review after I’ve worked with Legacy 8.0, but right now I wish I had stuck with 7.5.

Biggest Con: Potential Problems feature

Legacy Family Tree Review by sln,  Dec 16, 2014

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

After using Legacy for several years, I am very disappointed with Version 8.0 and wish I hadn’t converted my data from 7.5. The short book I tried to publish came out with many, many spacing issues, as it did in previous versions, and problems with the syntax. I don’t like the “Potential Problems,” which in the overwhelming majority of cases are non-issues - for me, it doesn’t matter if children are not in birth order because I prefer to have my direct ancestor in the top space. I don’t find a universal disable for that “feature” and am not going to spend time to make individual changes. I preferred the earlier screen appearance, which was easier to read, and don’t like having 1/2 (stepchildren) children on every screen.

Biggest Pro: Version 7.5
Biggest Con: Version 8

Legacy Family Tree Review by Nannete,  Dec 12, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I’ve used Ancestry, Geni, and others…but have been using Legacy Family Tree now for almost 5 years and I’ve found the program to use. I will not change as this program has been everything I’ve needed. Yes, they don’t have a few items…but I can do a go-around for those and haven’t had any problems. Absolutely love this program and the webinars that you are encouraged to attend!!!

Biggest Pro: Ease of adding linked and unlinked individuals, the charting, the chronology and timeline!
Biggest Con: Restrictive for cultural changes due to religious beliefs.

Legacy Family Tree Review by John V. Richardson Jr.,  Dec 10, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

As I said back in July 2014, there was a problem with the 428 build when you try to generate a PDF of ancestors and want the notes to appear as true footnotes–there are missing footnotes at the very beginning.

I reported it back then in July and it is now December 2014 and the latest build number 458 of 2 December still doesn’t correct the problem. To make matters worse, when I reported the continuing problem I got the following (non) response: “I cannot predict when the picture size issue will be fixed.”

What? The Legacy technical support staff appear incompetent, lazy, or just don’t care about customers.

Biggest Pro: Ease of Use
Biggest Con: Extremely Slow Correction of Reported BUGS!

Legacy Family Tree Review by Serious researcher,  Nov 22, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Well, I am very disappointed in the advertising “technique” used by Legacy. Their online “Comparison Chart” rates their latest version 8 with MUCH OLDER versions of other’s software: TMG 6, RM 4, FTM 10, (and PAF5 which is discontinued)!This is 2014 and those versions are years older and several versions older too. Comparing each company’s most current versions would be the most accurate way to compare, don’t you think? This type of hype has bothered me for some time and I wonder if any other shoppers had noticed? As feature rich or as wonderful a product it may be, I am steering away from this one because of the principle involved.

Biggest Pro: Have no comment as I dislike their sales technique enough to not invest in a copy
Biggest Con: Advertise by comparing their “newest” to other’s “older versions”

Legacy Family Tree Review by Mike,  Nov 19, 2014

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Just got started with Legacy 8 on a Windows 7 32-bit computer. Got upgraded to 64-bit and tried to install Legacy 8. Got the DLL error on OLE2.DLL, which research shows is an *installer* error. Legacy doesn’t seem to want to fix or even acknowledge that the problem is in their .exe. So why bother to review the product. I can’t say much about the black screen that doesn’t display any family files I try to open.

Biggest Pro: Old install worked
Biggest Con: No support for 64-bit Windows 7

Legacy Family Tree Review by Pete,  Nov 12, 2014

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Legacy has lost its mojo.
After many years cautiously using the program I now concur with a growing number of our legacy users group members, that the designers are heading off on a path that will lose serious genealogists.
It is now obvious that a philosophy of integration with LDS family search is paramount. All the designers have given us over the last few years of version updates is toys that some might be amused by such as geo location etc, but the core fundamental recording and data analysis tools that we need (and are often requested) are ignored.
The program is ever the more ‘north america’ in its concept and accurate recording of European or international research is problematic.
The recent demise of TMG has created a vacuum insofar as there is still not any one program to replace its overwhelming data management power; of which Legacy just cant compare.
Unfortunately Legacy is for a number of us a temporary program which we dare not fully utilise as the designers wish, for fear of a lot of renewed data entry and editing when we next find another more competent program.
If you are part of the gee wiz, facebook I love IGI and ancestry online tree generation,; then Legacy will be just dandy. However if your research is pre Mayflower and you like to record data as wrote such as place names without added commas, just one of a very long list of gripes, then we suggest you keep looking elsewhere.

Biggest Pro: Certainly in the top 5 for simple & basic genealogy.
Biggest Con: Poor Charts / Reports. Lacks effective database management tools. Poor non US data entry design.

Legacy Family Tree Review by Keithj,  Oct 19, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

It works well for me, and is a great improvement over the buggy and crash-prone Family Tree Maker that I was using previously.

A friend had the known problem with errors 38 and 91. Legacy’s suggestion was to try it on a different computer, and when he explained that he doesn’t have a different computer, they asked him to ship his to them since they can’t reproduce the error.

He and I fixed the problem - there are DLLs called by Legacy which may not be on the PC, and their absence will cause a crash. Legacy helpdesk don’t know which these are, but a quick inspection of the .exe file reveals all.

Biggest Pro: Flexible and versatile software
Biggest Con: Clueless helpdesk

Legacy Family Tree Review by Matt Riessen,  Sep 5, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I upgraded from Legacy 7.5 to 8.0 and everything was okay, except I found that my Research Guidance information (to-do/ignore/done checkmarks) info for everyone in my tree was missing. I thought that this was a problem on my end. So I contacted tech support and they basically said that the RGD file (which contains that info) doesn’t convert over from a previous version.

I was shocked. A key feature of the program doesn’t work for people who upgrade. Who is going to upgrade from a previous version, only to lose part of their research. I’m also surprised that no else has mentioned this problem on the internet. Tech support mentioned that I was the first person to make note of this problem. They said they would provide a fix for this in a patch in the future, but in the mean time I will stick with 7.5

Biggest Pro: Cool New Features
Biggest Con: Research guidance information doesn’t convert over from previous version

Legacy Family Tree Review by Sally Flynn,  Jul 7, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have just downloaded the new free legacy8. Big problems in the case of multiple marriages and children.
eg Husband marries twice after first wife dies.
The children of the second marriage are added to the first wife (and same for second wife) with a 1/2 put next to the wife who isn’t the mother of the first or second children. So… you get 1st wife being the 1/2 mother of the 2nd wife’s children. What have I done incorrectly ?????

Legacy Family Tree Review by John V. Richardson Jr.,  Jul 3, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have been a long time user of Legacy. However, the new build 427 of Legacy 8.0 has a fatal error. In the Publishing Center, the descendant’s report (saved as a PDF) has serious errors in it–generally, it takes the wife’s birth date and attributes it to the husband, but it does this inconsistently which is going to be a major problem to fix. I know that they are working on fixing it (I reported it as have several others), but I have a family reunion at the end of July 2014. I had promised those family members that our book would be published and ready for distribution. Now, I am not likely to be able to get it printed in time. I can’t tell you how disappointing this situation is…running out of time!

Biggest Pro: Ease of Use
Biggest Con: Known Bug in 427 build of Legacy 8.0

Legacy Family Tree Review by Lee Dickson,  May 20, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have used Legacy for several years now. It is the BEST I have found . They do upgrade from time to time. When a new version comes out it is not at a high price like FTM just to name one. It is very easy to work with. Not to mention GREAT customer service that speaks English and knows the system and fast response.
http://www.personaltouchgenealogy.com

Lee Dickson

Biggest Pro: Great value for the money
Biggest Con: Have not found one yet

Legacy Family Tree Review by Carolyn Sanders,  Mar 26, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

After a loss in PAF, I went to Legacy. It is a great program for me to learn more. Last year I received a Mac. I have a fear that if I get a program to use Legacy on my Mac. I will not be satisfied. I would like to use family search and transfer the info to Legacy to Mac. I have not use much of my Legacy since. Please consider a Mac program.
I have consider getting a new window computer just for Legacy. Mac is a great and easy computer.

Biggest Pro: Easy and has so many wonderful features.
Biggest Con: Can not use my Mac.

Legacy Family Tree Review by Paul Bishopp,  Mar 15, 2014

Not Rated

In my view this is far and away the best of all the Genealogy programmes.

However having moved to a Mac I am SO frustrated that there is no Mac version. It is no good saying I can use a crossover programme to run it on Windows…why do you think I chose a Mac?

I don’t WANT to work in Windows. WHY not a Mac version??

Biggest Pro: Family view…much the best of any programme
Biggest Con: NO MAC VERSION

Show 21-40 »