GenoPro

by Daniel Morin
The only program that displays genograms. Many unique features including the ability to write macros in VBScript and JavaScript to perform complex computations and transformations on your family tree. It used to be freeware but is now shareware. Has had millions of downloads from shareware sites. They have a list of essential features of sound genealogy software.

Purchase • Windows • Full Featured
http://www.genopro.com/
Overall122.87 out of 52.87 out of 52.87 out of 52.87 out of 52.87 out of 5 2.87
20140    No Ratings
201322.47 out of 52.47 out of 52.47 out of 52.47 out of 52.47 out of 5 2.47
Earlier103.32 out of 53.32 out of 53.32 out of 53.32 out of 53.32 out of 5 3.32

Add Your Review of GenoPro

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

12 Reviews of GenoPro     RSS 2.0 RSS                   Add Your Review

GenoPro Review by Richway,  Jan 30, 2013

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Slow and buggy, just got garbage published and took 4 hrs for 2800 people

Biggest Pro: Online backups
Biggest Con: Old dated database software, bad GUI and will not handle large charts

GenoPro Review by Azrael,  Jan 7, 2013

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I have been using GenoPro off and on for at least 10 years. I absolutely LOVE the genogram approach and the visibility it gives you into your family tree and all the relationships. It does take a little practice figuring out the best way to split up very large trees so that they arrange nicely but once you figure out the tricks, it isn’t that hard.

The generated web reports could be much better (and more modern) but you can always export a gedcom and use other programs for that. The one significant problem that I have run into is running out of memory when generating a gedcom or reports on a very large tree. I haven’t run across this yet since moving to Windows 7, getting more memory and upgrading from GenoPro 2007 to 2011. I used to also see errors after importing a gedcom from somewhere with data GenoPro didn’t like. The problem though is that it didn’t give you enough info to determine where the error occurred and the report generation would just crash. I also haven’t seen this problem since moving to 2011 though. We’ll see…

At the end of the day, you will either fall in love with genograms or you will find another program you like better. I have tried and I can’t bear to leave genograms behind so until and unless some other genealogy program starts offering a similar interface, I’ll stick with GenoPro.

Biggest Pro: Genograms are absolutely the best way to view and manage a tree.
Biggest Con: Sometimes have problems generating reports on very large trees, ‘autoarrange’ isn’t so auto…

GenoPro Review by V,  Jun 2, 2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Best program I have worked with… Configurable, simple to use… Had a problem with passwod but only because I had typo in e-mail. Post to support site resolved issue in a few hours.

I started from scratch and basic input is fast as you realize there are keyboard shortcuts for almost everything and where ther is no shortcut you can create one of your own!!!

Biggest Pro: Everything
Biggest Con: Highly addictive once you get it!

GenoPro Review by Joe bGosse,  Apr 28, 2012

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I am not getting any response from GenoPro about my PASSWORD.

I never had a chance to register on the FamilyTrees.GenPro.Com and I can not log in.

I requested my password, but never get a reply……………..

Biggest Con: No response to password requests, cannot use FamilyTrees site……..

GenoPro Review by Mick Reed,  Apr 18, 2010

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Whatever a previous reviewer says (TWICE), GenoPro is not remotely slow, nor particularly buggy so far as I can see, although I’m new to it.

I suspect that for those entering data from scratch, this will be a terrific programme. The only problem is importing a large GEDCOM, which can make the graphical output of genograms very messy. An auto arrange feature needs a lot of improvement, although there are a few tricks that make it easier.

There are a few other issues that I have, but these may be down to my lack of experience with the programme. Time will tell. At the moment, I’m fairly confident that I’ll buy this when my trial period ends.

Biggest Pro: Genogram output, reports, unlimited images, low RAM overhead.
Biggest Con: Autoarrange feature needs improvement.

GenoPro Review by Peter Marx,  Jan 28, 2009

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

The graphic potrayal is very clear and it is very easy to split the family into differnet branches to avoid clutter. Navigating from branch to branch is very simple as is the hyperlink connection between branches. Finding someone on the tree is very easy and the report generator is excellent. I have found the application does everything I need and once one is used looking up data is quick and easy

Biggest Pro: Clear and simple graphic presentation.
Biggest Con: Perhaps not ideal for someone who is not that computer literate.

GenoPro Review by Mariel Summrs,  Sep 30, 2008

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

SSLLLOOOWWWWWW. Unusable.

Biggest Pro: looks cute
Biggest Con: SLOOOWWWWW

GenoPro Review by Jon Burns,  Sep 30, 2008

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Does as it claims, always updating, active users Forum, great graphical interface, multi-lingual, very few shortcomings.

Biggest Pro: Graphical Interface. User programmable report generator
Biggest Con: Unable to use hyperlinks seamlessly

GenoPro Review by Niels,  Sep 30, 2008

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Have used this pro program for the last few years and have seen it grow from infant style to adulthood style. Users helped with their comments to develop it so it became very user friendly.

Biggest Pro: The best overall view you can get from your ancestors and relatives.

GenoPro Review by Mati,  Sep 29, 2008

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Very logical program to use for data input and processing

GenoPro Review by Mariel Summrs,  Sep 28, 2008

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I tried was very disappointed. Slow and buggy. Graphical tree looks horrible. Runs out of memory. I have 1 GB.
Switched back PAF.

Biggest Pro: advertising looks good
Biggest Con: does not work well

GenoPro Review by Sirje,  Sep 28, 2008

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I chose to use the GenoPro program since 2004. Very logical program to use for data input and processing, clear and illustratively built up graphical schemes which are visually easy readable not only for the researcher but for grandfathers-aunts during the family gathering. Easy to process selected branches separately of the whole tree. Flexilility in displaying a large scale of information on the scheme according to the researches wish and need. Grafical schemes are easy adjustable for printing out with special tools for compressing the tree or a part of the tree for economize the area. Report generators and all necessary tools are built in; program user can choose between at least 39-40 languages and so on.The GenoPro team keeps the program in constant development. Stongly recommend.