Family Tree Maker - Current Version

by Ancestry.com
The current version of Family Tree Maker is followed by its release year, e.g. 2012. It was completely rewritten in 2008 and is very different than its previous incarnation. There is also a Mac version. They have a Family Tree Maker category in their blog. Use this entry to review the current version, and use the FTM Up To Version 16 entry to review the versions prior to the rewrite.

Purchase • Windows • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://www.familytreemaker.com/
Overall2921.53 out of 51.53 out of 51.53 out of 51.53 out of 51.53 out of 5 1.53
20141121.33 out of 51.33 out of 51.33 out of 51.33 out of 51.33 out of 5 1.33
2013481.97 out of 51.97 out of 51.97 out of 51.97 out of 51.97 out of 5 1.97
Earlier1322.26 out of 52.26 out of 52.26 out of 52.26 out of 52.26 out of 5 2.26

Add Your Review of Family Tree Maker - Current Version

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

292 Reviews of Family Tree Maker - Current Version     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Glen Waring,  12 hrs ago

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I purchased Treemaker some years ago and a new disk 2012 however on purchasing an upgrade 2012 found it had glitches and my program would crash. So purchased the new 2014 Deluxe Treemaker. On loading I found a raft of issues such as missing text, stalling of program, $100 spent and still not able to download a tree as it stalls and requires a complete reboot. The support staff keep suggesting I do the work and send them screen shots and uninstall, reinstall reboot etc which I have done. Last year when I ordered Update 2012 on line, they lost the order, the money was debited and no one could be bothered to send a receipt via email or an order number, phoning didn’t help as ended up in USA when the order was processed in UK or France.. following it up until finally the head of sales followed it up and sent me the disk. Took months! Is almost a month since I ordered Treemaker 2014 and still cant get it to load. Although I backed up my files, come time to load, it stated a corrupt file so lost the tree entirely after years of work.

Biggest Pro: Did have great descendants reports which could be printed and link to website
Biggest Con: Download links don’t work, glitches, patches required for NEW programs. Screen freezes. Bonus memberships don’t register.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Julie,  19 hrs ago

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Trying to update from FTM 2011. The first download installed, opened and then crashed. I’ve talked to tech support a couple of times and tried several downloads and a disk. I keep getting the same error message. C:\PROGRA~3\{3F06E~1\Family Tree Maker – Files\951C9513\8488E27\msvcr100.dll, They keep giving me solutions that don’t work. They don’t seem to be interested in what the error message is. Something is obviously missing and they just want me to keep turning things on the computer off and on. I’ve never had a problem loading a program before. Something is wrong with FTM 2014.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Jill,  6 days ago

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

When it works, it is great. But after a week of trying every fix listed, I want my money back.

Biggest Pro: Point and Click
Biggest Con: Doesn’t work

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Sharon Morgan,  Sep 24, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I am SO SORRY I upgraded to FTM2014. It DOES NOT WORK. It has DESTROYED 30 years worth of family trees. Ancestry.com support does not know how to fix it. DO NOT BUY IT!

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Does not work.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by chicoles36,  Sep 22, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

FTM 14 is so awkward, unintuitive and complex compared with FTM 16 I am sorry I “upgraded.” it is a definite loser.

Biggest Pro: Auto sync
Biggest Con: Not user-friendly. Stricktly for people who have lots of time to relearn how to use FTM

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Wendy O'Keeffe,  Sep 22, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Thank you for all these reviews. You have saved me the expense and effort of upgrading. I have used Family Tree Maker since it’s first edition, upgrading every few years. The last time I upgraded was to the 2011 version and I was so disappointed that I’ve hardly ever used it. The main problem is the lack of choices to customise charts. I thought the latest version may have improved but now I see it is even worse. I will be looking for a different programme now.

Biggest Con: Lack of chart customisation features.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Vanita,  Sep 21, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I am very disappointed in 2014. I have had nothing but headaches. None of the media will link to the people. All you get is links to read instead of fixing the problem. The people are not much help and really do not know how to answer your questions. I hope I haven’t lost everything. I am going to reinstall 2012 and hope that it will link to it. This is one sorry program and has some major issues.

Biggest Pro: NOTHING
Biggest Con: DON’T BUY

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Rose,  Sep 13, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I got a new computer and couldn’t find my disks for my old

Family tree maker vs 10, so I bought the 2014 version. I hate it. It’s really hard to see what you have and where to find it. My pictures didnt all transfer over. I don’t like the reports that are available and there are not many options to make a custom report.

I’m thinking of switching to a different program, but am not sure what would be a good one.

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: screen views and reports.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by RC,  Sep 13, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

It has now ruined my 40,000 person database built up over 20 years. I should have stayed away but the link with ancestry.com was too tempting. Stay away from this program. Competent support is apparently unavailable.

Biggest Pro: Easy access to ancestry.com.
Biggest Con: No useful search function. It is incredibly slow. Most importantly, it has more bugs than an anthill.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Daphne Gawne,  Sep 12, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have used Family Tree Maker ever since its first version. 2010 was a disappointment and 2014 is worse. It does not have a useful search feature. It is difficult to use. Now that he excellent search feature of Family Tree Maker 16 has been discontinued, I will start looking for new software.

Biggest Con: search feature

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Maggie,  Sep 7, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

FTM 2014 has taken the pleasure out of researching. It is too complicated and not easy to view progress.

Whoever designed this latest FTM obviously is not au fait with how genealogy works.

Please revert to the previous ‘user friendly’ system - BIG PLEASE

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Modus Operandi too complicated and not well structured. Please reconsider reverting back and make FTM enjoyable again.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Jan Connell,  Sep 6, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Very unhappy with Family Tree Maker Deluxe 2014. I wasted money buying it. It does not update as required. Each time there is a key stroke, I receive “not responding” - which makes it impossible to use this software. I wish I had read the reviews before purchasing. Help desk was not able to help at all. This is a software issue and not an user issue. Computer works with all other software application.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Does not work!

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Simon,  Sep 6, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I work as a programmer, and am amazed that this software was ever released - the glitches and problems put it in ‘beta’ testing at best.
I’ve had to help my partner (who isn’t tech savvy) every night of the last 2 weeks. And the ‘fixes’ shouldn’t be anywhere near as involved as they are - certainly not for the average user, who won’t want to be bothered with clean boots, deleting folder contents etc etc.
If this software was free, then maybe you could forgive the constant crashes etc - but it isn’t and it’s awful. I certainly wouldn’t trust my family history on such a bug ridden piece of software.

Biggest Pro: The ability to sync with Ancestry
Biggest Con: Everything else about the software

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Ian,  Sep 5, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Like the other users of here I have successfully used Family Tree Maker for many years without issue. Upgrading to FTM 2014 was the worst thing I have ever done and a total waste of money. No matter what you do it will not let you install the updates required to make it work. Their support desk is no help.

Biggest Con: Total rubbish - do not buy it.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Lisa T,  Sep 3, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I purchased a new computer running Windows 8. When the new software came out I purchased it online (disks are not available in Canada). First two installs failed… I was told I had used up all of my software download rights and had to purchase it again. So, the idiot that I am, I bought it again because I had a deadline. First install worked for about a week, then it crashed. Then my computer had a problem and I had to return it, once again needed to install the software for Family Tree Maker 2014. I used up my second install again and it wouldn’t install on my computer. So, all out of luck. Help desk couldn’t help me, and wouldn’t even reply to my email about having another download for free.

I ended up installing Family Tree Maker 2012 from the software disk I still had. Installed without a problem!!! I will not even try spending more money on Family Tree Maker again. I use Legacy a bit more often now because it’s more stable and their charting is much better, the only thing I like about Family Tree Maker is that it’s linked to ancestry and saves me from having to type it all in manually.

Biggest Pro: linked to Ancestry.com
Biggest Con: You only get two downloads from the software, help desk doesn’t help.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Barbara,  Sep 2, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I agree with everything that has been written. Family Tree 2014 is the worse ever. I have used Family Tree Maker for years!! I have had nothing but problems this time.. Started with installing — took days to install because I would say yes to the update when you install it and then it would not open. If you call them, they just send you an email with links to hopefully fix the problem. I think everyone that works there is good at sending emails but do not know a thing about how to actually fix a problem. This is one time to believe all of these reviews. So I finally got it installed and did not accept the update. After working for about a week, I thought lets do the update—guess what the problems started again!!!! So now I had to reinstall it and I did it without accepting the update. So far so good. Thank goodness, I still have the 2012. Probably will go back to that one.

Biggest Pro: NOTHING
Biggest Con: Installation —DO NOT INSTALL THE UPDATE.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Diane Areklet,  Aug 31, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have a new Dell computer and Family Tree Maker would not update during the install process. Since the required update would not work I am totally frozen out of my family tree maker program FTM 14. I kept thinking a new software would come out that I could use but I haven’t seen anything. So upset I have a large tree and I hate to loose it or not be able to use the software. Ancestry.com doesn’t seem to admit there is a major problem with this. I bought the disk and it isn’t a downloaded software that I am using.

Biggest Con: I cannot use the program. Totally shut out of it.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Larry,  Aug 30, 2014

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Thanks for all the input on FTM 2014…you all saved me much time and heart burn. I was going to update from FTM 16 on Win 7 32bit to FTM 2014 so I could update Win 7 64bit and use more of my computers RAM…I see Ancestry like always is pushing software thats got issues!…I have been using their software from the start and found much of their update useless…it appears they hired software designers from MS and do a yearly update just for the sake of generating $$…so you all know FTM 16 will fine on Win 7 32bit and FTM 2005 will also run on Win 7 32bit with a free patch you get find online….also i found FTM 2011 works fine also…you can find these programs for sale on line (Ebay, etc)….just stay way from the 64bit Win OS systems…and no you do not have to use Win 8…

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: most of it

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Ellen,  Aug 30, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Have been user of FTM for past 13 years. Have purchased every version since. With 2014, the merge between FTM and Ancestry works 3-4 times, then freezes. Have to End Task or Control Alt Delete to get out. Often the entire system crashes. Has been getting progressively worse in the past 3 or so months. Have spoken with numerous help desk people. They send me antiquated ‘fixes’. I’ve done them all. I’ve reinstalled. I’ve even had my computer rebuilt just to make sure it wasn’t a problem on my end. First 2 documents merged OK although were slow to do so. 3rd document froze. 4th document froze. 5th document crashed the entire system.

Biggest Pro: the unique feature - the potential of pulling directly from ancestry into FTM
Biggest Con: Products that don’t work and aren’t supported; with company not acknowledging their problems

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Freddy duCat,  Aug 26, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Unable to even install this on my pc. Keep getting a .net error. Called MY tech support and still not able to install. Am asking for a refund. We will see if I even get that.

Biggest Pro: If it works, it would sync with Ancestry.ca
Biggest Con: Can’t get it to even install :(

Show 21-40 »