Family Tree Maker - Current Version

by Ancestry.com
The current version of Family Tree Maker is followed by its release year, e.g. 2012. It was completely rewritten in 2008 and is very different than its previous incarnation. There is also a Mac version. They have a Family Tree Maker category in their blog. Use this entry to review the current version, and use the FTM Up To Version 16 entry to review the versions prior to the rewrite.

Purchase • Windows • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://www.familytreemaker.com/
Overall3921.55 out of 51.55 out of 51.55 out of 51.55 out of 51.55 out of 5 1.55
2015561.68 out of 51.68 out of 51.68 out of 51.68 out of 51.68 out of 5 1.68
20141561.36 out of 51.36 out of 51.36 out of 51.36 out of 51.36 out of 5 1.36
Earlier1802.06 out of 52.06 out of 52.06 out of 52.06 out of 52.06 out of 5 2.06

Add Your Review of Family Tree Maker - Current Version

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

392 Reviews of Family Tree Maker - Current Version     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Trevor,  2 days ago

Not Rated

Totally useless

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: paying for something that doesn’t work

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Bill Henderson,  3 days ago

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have used Family Tree Maker for over 25 years now and after version 16 this software has gone downhill quickly. Seems as if there technicians have been on vacation. I currently have the latest version FTM 2014. I have constantly contacted their support center and complained about the errors in syncing with Ancestry and have not received an answer to fix this problem in the past six years. I add a new name and the birth dates and death dates and it crashes. In an average of one hour working on with this software, it will crash causing me to wait until it is useable again about forty minutes out of an hour. After trying a few fixes of my own, it works well for twenty minutes and then starts crashing again. If it actually had some type of crash report to send to the makers of FTM maybe they would put a update and fix these problems. If you check Ancestry support pages, you will see all of the problems people are having with Family Tree Maker. Don’t waste your time until these problems are fixed for good.

Biggest Pro: Very easy to use
Biggest Con: Constantly crashes

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Matti Sinivuori,  3 days ago

Not Rated

I have the Family Tree Maker version 2008. I use VISTA program. Now I need the Training Video and instructions. There is a good book for this FTM 2000 Mattel. I have used the FTM for some time and now need to make a fresh start again. I must have lost the instructions and need new. I need not the new FTM 2014. I have not had any family in US or Canada, so there is no need for the Ancestry program. Though the programs are not in Finnish language they do serve me.
Could you send the needed instructions for FTM 2008.
My mail is matti. sinivuori@netikka.fi or mskon@netikka.fi.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by bob,  4 days ago

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

It sucks hard to control

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by D. Keller,  4 days ago

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I have a Love/Hate relationship with this software. The reason I love it is the interaction between the software and Ancestry.com. I can work on my tree online, come home and sync my computer version to the work I did earlier. That is a huge benefit! The reason I hate it is that it is unstable and if you have a very large tree, stand by for multiple errors in reports. FTM 2014 won’t make a Descendants Report for more than 5 generations, if I’m lucky, because the software can’t handle tens of thousands of people in the database.

FTM 2010 has no problem chugging out that same report, but it does not have some of the really nice qualities that 2014 comes with, such as the ability to sort children by birth order in your entire file with one click. I’m hoping that FTM 2016 will capture the best of 2010 and 2014, whenever they decide to release it.

FOR THOSE HAVING PROBLEMS GETTING FTM TO RUN:

Uninstall the program, reboot, TURN OFF VIRUS PROTECTION/FIREWALL, re-install, run FTM 2014, run updates, TURN ON VIRUS PROTECTION/FIREWALL. You should be up and running.

Biggest Pro: Online Sync; more sort capabilities
Biggest Con: Unstable with large files; reports won’t run properly (or at all) if you have a large file

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Janice miller,  5 days ago

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Connection to ancestry after each session to upload your changes to your tree.

Biggest Con: filtering the volume of information found on ancestry subscription

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Huggins,  5 days ago

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Crashing

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Beverley Prouting,  Feb 22, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

The new version is a waste of time, have moved to Legends, you cant do pdf files anymore to send information and the new front pages is just hopeless………and so hard to read and follow…after many many years of use very angry.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: None.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Lillian Wold,  Feb 20, 2015

Not Rated

I have seen all the terrible reviews. I hope I can find an earlier version and try to upload all my work into that version. Now that you have seen how horrible your version 2014 is, when are you going to go back to the best FTM and end our suffering!!!

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Lillian Wold,  Feb 20, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Family Tree Maker 2014 is the worst I have ever tried to use. I had to put all my 19,000 + names and all my precious notes to the 2014 because my computer crashed. Luckily, I didn’t lose my information but I was forced to add the 2014 version. It is so hard to go to different tasks and reports! It seems that each version is harder than the one before. Now, I hope to find someone who can help me maneuver through this version.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Michael York,  Feb 19, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

FTM 2014 is a Hugh dissointment, I have fought it for a year and it’s no better today than the day installed, sync issues, error messages, locks up, ftm must close, it goes on and on, we deserve our money back

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: we are being conned

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Jerry,  Feb 19, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

FTM 2014 is probably the worst computer program I have ever purchased. There are to many problems with it to list. Just awful.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Does not work as well as the older versions and much more expensive.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Jenni,  Feb 18, 2015

Not Rated

I have used FTM for many years. 2012 works perfectly fine on laptop. I purchased 2014 upgrade and it will not work, will not open. All windows updates are done. I have windows 7. Can anyone suggest what I may need to do?

Biggest Con: It doesnt work

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Irene Chase,  Feb 16, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Everything mentioned below is what I have experienced, so very disappointing. Tried clean boot still not working. How after such a fantastic program they could get it so wrong I don’t understand. Thankfully I have lots of printouts so all is not lost.

Biggest Pro: I get to try out other programs. There is nothing good about this one.
Biggest Con: The time spent to date on my tree and loading info into a new program.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Bob Coleman,  Feb 15, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

After reading the reviews I will block the purchase of this software. It is doing ( or not Doing) everything that others have complained about.At this point I will not recommend it to anyone.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Bob Coleman,  Feb 15, 2015

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I just purchase an online download of Family tree maker 14. I t loaded but will not update. In fact I cannot open it.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Charles Bartholomew,  Feb 15, 2015

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I have been using FTM since it first came out but never had the problems experienced with version 2014. I will not regurgitate the comments of others writing but am getting a bad taste for the skills of the software writers. One of the main problems I have been having is that some names are displayed in the PEOPLE window but not in the INDEX. This causes program crashes when trying to perform some operations because these individuals do not exist to the software. I will have a string of people saying there is “no direct relationship found” imbedded with legitimate ancestors both before and after. This program requires a complete rewrite, not patches. Patches can only exaserbate the problems after a while. I have always liked FTM and its features but believe the program is beginning to collapse upon itself because of inattention to details. I now have well over 17K individuals and am not happy with what is happening.

Biggest Pro: Like the features of the software
Biggest Con: Too many fixable problems being ignored

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Barbara A. Valentin,  Feb 14, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I’m VERY disappointed…I have used FTM for more years than I can count…but this new program - 2014 - being used in a new lap top (8.1) has much to be desired. I am at the point of un-installing and getting a new version 7 to use the 2011 program that has served me wonderfullyi!
1. 2014 - It keeps telling me/forcing me to close the program saying it wasn’t closed properly when previously used. This happens even after using the program for as much as an hour…nothing had closed!
2. I know have “phantom” people in my index and can’t merge them! The index has duplicates and triplicates of my tree members…I had about 14,800 names…and now I have nearly 19,000!!!! I’ve tried un-installing/shutting the computer off/and re-installing…NADA…all the same additional data is there that can’t be changed!
3. Therefore…I am NOT using the program…much to my distress…I don’t want to add material that I can’t use properly! MUCH wasted time in a hobby I love.
4. The names in the index are also not in alphabetical order…oh…I can get them back in order…but they don’t remain!
5. The “merge individual” function also won’t function…also out of alphabetical order and only has one name for each (no phantom folks that I can merge!)…
6. The staff at FTM were kind…but not at all helpful…only suggestion was to compact the files…this doesn’t solve the software issue!
7.The updated patch was done as it was required!
I only upgraded because I needed a new lap top…and chose to go the route of an 8.1! Was trying to figure out if it was the 8.1 or the FTM…but after reading all the comments below…I’d bet it’s the FTM software…
I DO NOT want my tree on line…and wondering if FTM and ANCESTRY.COM have gotten to big to think of the customers and the quality of their product…more concerned with making money? I have found both very valuable in the past…but I’m not impressed right now!
i’m in limbo right now trying to figure out what to do/buy! :(
I note Andy below saying his program is working well…MINE did also for about 4 months…only in January of this year did issues start to arise…to the point that the program closes down on me, etc…!
The other programs in my 8.1 have been working well…I don’t think it’s the computer…
Does anyone in the FTM/Ancestry.com programming department read these comments and follow up???

Biggest Pro: NONE…
Biggest Con: Useless if I can’t use the functions…fortunately I haven’t lost any data…YET!

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Lynne Susan,  Feb 14, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Worst thing I have EVER purchased. Purchased new laptop with Windows 8 and tried to load the FTM. Loaded onto my desktop but will not open. Tried to reinstall but fails to install at the final hurdle…..Grrrrrr. I have been well and truly conned by purchasing this :-(

Biggest Pro: Nothing whatsoever
Biggest Con: Can’t load with Windows 8

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by DDD,  Feb 11, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I previously installed Family Tree MakerĀ® 2014 Deluxe Edition (CD) which worked brilliantly. I changed PCs and needed to reload the software which would not work. As I thought it may have only been a once off licence I purchased the download version - it has loaded fine, I created a new file, but will not open . I uploaded my ancestry file that wont open either. Tried the patches but it claims my edition is up to date. No response from Ancestry. Feeling disappointed !

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: waste of money if I can not use it

Show 21-40 »