Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry

by Ancestry.com
In 2016, Ancestry sold Family Tree Maker to Software MacKiev. Please only review Ancestry versions of Family Tree Maker here. Go to the Family Tree Maker page for Software MacKiev to review releases that started in March 2016. There is also a Mac version.

Ancestry completely rewrote Family Tree Maker in 2008 and it was very different than its previous incarnation. Use this entry to review Ancestry’s newer version, and use the FTM Up To Version 16 entry to review the versions prior to the rewrite.

Unsupported • Windows • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://web.archive.org/web/20150207071808/http://www.ancestry.com/cs/a...
Overall5231.87 out of 51.87 out of 51.87 out of 51.87 out of 51.87 out of 5 1.87
2016251.94 out of 51.94 out of 51.94 out of 51.94 out of 51.94 out of 5 1.94
20151622.1 out of 52.1 out of 52.1 out of 52.1 out of 52.1 out of 5 2.10
Earlier3361.5 out of 51.5 out of 51.5 out of 51.5 out of 51.5 out of 5 1.50

Add Your Review of Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

523 Reviews of Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by Gill Greef,  23 hrs ago

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I can’t understand the complaint regarding Windows 10. We use Windows 10 and FTM 2014 works perfectly normally.

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by jackie Lane,  Apr 17, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I bought my Family Tree Maker version in 2015 I loaded it on my computer it worked for awhile and now I cant get into the programme I reloaded it and still no good . I am not impressed at all just a waste of money I certainly would’t recommend it to anyone.

Biggest Pro: cant use it

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by Anne Nicholson,  Apr 14, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have now used FTM for over many many years and it is an excellent program. I can’t believe Ancestry have now dumped the program after all the millions and millions of dollars they have made out of this program. How much money does Ancestry want? It is nothing but greed and I will never use Ancestry again after this selfish act. Think of all the people you have hoodwinked over the years.

Biggest Con: Nothing but con merchants Ancestry

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by Beverley Reynolds,  Apr 5, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Family Tree maker 2014 WAS a good program. Easy to use and grow my family tree. Unfortunately it is incompatible with Windows 10 so now I am unable to access my tree at all. Very very angry.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use and navigate
Biggest Con: Incompatible with Windows 10 so unusable. Do NOT buy

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by C. Barrow,  Apr 2, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I would like to obtain FTM 2014, please contact me.

Biggest Pro: History log for research
Biggest Con: The need for personal one on one guidance and support

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by Linda Ann Quinn,  Apr 1, 2016

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Can’t pull up my Quinn family

Biggest Con: Can’t find what I am looking for

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by Gerald Berner,  Mar 29, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I had 3 family trees on FTM and synced to Ancestry. I just did a back up and one family disappeared and another now has a 2015 date on it. I have no clue what happened and don’t know who to talk to for help. I am an old guy and not sure I have the patience to start over. Can anyone help me restore to what I had? Thanks

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by Frances Shay,  Mar 2, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I am looking for an alternative software. When Ancestry bought the program from its originators, they took it, gutted it and threw out the baby with the bath water ! I have suffered with each new version, and now they’ve sold it to another joker like themselves. I am mad at Ancestry for their corporate takeover of just about all,the sites worth visiting. Greedy greedy people. I can’t believe some of the things they pulled right before Christmas. I may pull my subscription to Ancestry as well, and I just spent money last year on the DNA tests!

Biggest Con: I have found practically no new information on Ancestry except census, social security , or death records for several years. It’s like all the info from genealogy .com was thrown in the trash also, as well,as roots web etc.

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by J Doe,  Feb 26, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

It’s hard to use (even though it looks appealing at first). Even doing the most simple thing is more difficult than necessary. It’s got many options and boxes but is antiquated. This user interface hasn’t been updated since dirt was invented.
It crashes constantly. Doesn’t offer proposed responses or intelligent data entry.
Views are antiquated.
It’s being discontinued anyway so don’t buy it.

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by R. Jean Vallieres,  Feb 24, 2016

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Worst feature is its very poor file structure. I would just kill for software that allows me to copy data into excel to slice and dice information. This software requires that I cut and paste info into my excel software for data analysis. Terrible, terrible, terrible waste of time. Build and sell me the functionality to readily - i.e. easily move data to excel spreadsheets. Please, please. please.

Biggest Pro: Inexpensive
Biggest Con: Software File Structure

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by Graham P,  Feb 24, 2016

Not Rated

I restored my laptop after a crash (all data intact), but find that the original disk for 2011 Platinum will not load.
Contacted support and they just said ‘won’t work on newer operating systems’ I am still on WIN 8 and it ran ok before the crash….and runs ok on a backup laptop WIN8.
Seems like the disk is just unreadable - but I cannot find where to get a download replacement. I have a full license key.

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by Jean,  Feb 14, 2016

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I have both version 11 and the new version 20 from 2011. The new version is not as user friendly as the older version 11. I am very upset that version 11 is no longer compatible with the newer windows versions.

Biggest Pro: I don’t know of any pros
Biggest Con: Bad reports and hard to navigate

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by Virginia Lloyd,  Feb 7, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

EVERY single time I have to detach and re-attach a person the software locks up. I sure hope whoever takes over the software has someone who knows what they are doing go through it and fix the glitches. It’s like if you change sometimes it’s like “OH MY GOD THEY’VE CHANGED SOMETHING - WHAT DO WE DO???!!!!” Ridiculous for as many years as this software has been out there. It’s the same problems over and over again. Complain - NOTHING HAPPENS!

Biggest Pro: Good handling of Fact fields
Biggest Con: Locks up when you change information

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by Pauline,  Feb 7, 2016

Not Rated

I have always been a fan of FTM from the early days. I still run 2005 on Windows XP but also have 2014 so when i update one, I import to 2014 so both are current. 2014 has been a challenge and I do prefer the older version. I have dragged my feet updating my OS simply because of the problems people have had. I am VERY disappointed it will no longer be available. I have never synced with Ancestry simply because of access and use issues. I prefer sole control of my work

Biggest Pro: Trees, reports media - tutorials in the help
Biggest Con: Ancestry encouraging usage only to withdraw it again!!!!

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by T. Dalessandro,  Feb 6, 2016

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I have FTM 11 in Windows 10 and use it simply for dates and personal notes.
Lately I can change dates and places but I cannot edit the notes. WHY???

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by WMW,  Feb 2, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I’m not sure why all of those folks are having such troubles with FTM 2014 and Windows 10. I have a computer that originally ran Windows 7, which I loved, but decided to do the upgrade to 10 when it was offered. I’ve had no problems with the FTM software running under Windows 10. I do virtually all of my work on FTM and then sync the tree with my online tree. Since I do all of my work on FTM I was one of the many who were dismayed when Ancestry announced they were discontinuing FTM. Apparently I was not the only one. Just today they announced a couple of options for those of us who don’t do our work on the Ancestry website. I am hopeful that one of these will work well.

Biggest Pro: Link with online databases
Biggest Con: Reports

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by Barb,  Feb 2, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have had FTM almost since it’s beginning. I have had all versions up to 2010. I bought a new computer for my “she Shed” that had Windows 10 not knowing that FTM wasn’t compatible. (Never really thought about unfortunately.) The program worked fine for almost a year. FTM stopped working so I took it in to see what the problem was. Lo and behold Windows 10 doesn’t support my version of FTM. I was told how lucky I was that it work the year. Anyway. I have 3000 entries. The repair shop took the FTM program off, but saved my data. Well, since 14 isn’t being sold and my data won’t load to Rootsmagic , just purchased it , from the backup because the data is just data not from another program (FTM, GEDCOM etc) I can’t retrieve my info. I finally found a copy of 14 bought it and it won’t load on my computer. Anybody have any suggestions or a good repair person that can maybe figure out what I can do. I use my FTM primarily for data input. I don’t link up to Ancsestry as I had too many errors in information from personal trees. I usually get the info, enter data on my tree or on paper and research it more myself. I do use the census’, birth and death etc.as they are more reliable. P.S. Thanks Ancestry for nothing but problems. Big business….doesn’t consider it’s loyal customers Just $$$$$. Hopefully word will spread and you will be the ones looking for help.

Biggest Con: Doesn’t load

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by Jim,  Jan 30, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

At this point in time FTM is leaving us so there is no reason to use FTM unless you already have it. I teach FTM classes. see my wordpress blog if you want more info: ftmbyebye.wordpress.com

Biggest Pro: Easy input, great reports
Biggest Con: Will no longer be supported after 2016, and syncing function to Ancestry.com will be phased out.

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by Liz,  Jan 29, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I’ve used an old FTM for years but had to update. The old version was so easy and intuitive. This new one is simply impossible. Trying to figure out the simplest things takes forever.

Biggest Pro: haven’t found it yet
Biggest Con: very difficult to use

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by Frank,  Jan 23, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I give it a 1 rating because Ancestry has discontinued FTM.

Biggest Pro: They have nice charts
Biggest Con: They discontinued FTM

Show 21-40 »