Family Tree Maker - Current Version

by Ancestry.com
The current version of Family Tree Maker is followed by its release year, e.g. 2012. It was completely rewritten in 2008 and is very different than its previous incarnation. There is also a Mac version. They have a Family Tree Maker category in their blog. Use this entry to review the current version, and use the FTM Up To Version 16 entry to review the versions prior to the rewrite.

Purchase • Windows • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://www.familytreemaker.com/
Overall4091.57 out of 51.57 out of 51.57 out of 51.57 out of 51.57 out of 5 1.57
2015731.72 out of 51.72 out of 51.72 out of 51.72 out of 51.72 out of 5 1.72
20141561.36 out of 51.36 out of 51.36 out of 51.36 out of 51.36 out of 5 1.36
Earlier1802.06 out of 52.06 out of 52.06 out of 52.06 out of 52.06 out of 5 2.06

Add Your Review of Family Tree Maker - Current Version

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

409 Reviews of Family Tree Maker - Current Version     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by JERRY OLIVER,  57 min. ago

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

An earlier version (2006) did everything I wanted. Allowed me to easily enter notes for individuals and was very intuitive. Not unlike using earlier versions of Word. Edition 2012 is none of those things. I have lost data. I lost 90 days of work and do not know why. Have been forced to do things I do not want to do. The help line is a joke. Nobody seems to know anything.

Biggest Pro: NONE!
Biggest Con: It does not begin to meet my simple needs as a CUSTOMER. They do not care.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Carol C,  21 hrs ago

Not Rated

FTM 2014 has given me nothing but trouble. Had message to upload a patch. Forced me to do this. Could not get it to open so I did all of the suggestions I found online and now it won’t even open.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: A big waste of my time and research. It doesn’t work.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Michael,  2 days ago

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Very nice software - I’m not sure what all of the concerns are about. I have use FTM since FTM10 and I think that 2014 is faster and smoother than ever before.

Biggest Pro: Ability to format notes, visual appeal, page contect and set up.
Biggest Con: Slow to start up.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Bill sigmund,  3 days ago

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Software is an easy way to generate duplicate entries into your tree. It duplicates events, people, anything at all. Searching for duplicates is extremely tedious. You can’t set the parameters; every time you search for duplicates it occasionally finds a duplicate or 2 (or more), but you have to go through the same list of possible duplicates with any new entries it adds. My last list of possible duplicates was 208 entries long. Compared to other software available, it’s overpriced. I would recommend Legacy or Roots Magic. Both sync with web sites like FTM 2014, but without the endless duplicates. The online data at Ancestry.com is EXTREMELY inaccurate. Many users accept every hint without checking. I’ve seen numerous times children born before the parents, born after parents death, 150-200 year life spans, etc. Reports are next to useless.

Biggest Pro: After several re-installs, it doesn’t crash as much as it used to.
Biggest Con: Connects to a large database online.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Dennis Stanley,  Apr 19, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I’m using the latest Mac version (as of Apr 2015) and I can’t even sync my Ancestry database without the program failing (after 30 minutes or so). Granted, I have a moderate to large database of 12k people. This stinks.

Biggest Pro: Supposed link to Ancestry
Biggest Con: Doesn’t work

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Gerald C Theisen Jr.,  Apr 16, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I have been using FTM since 2009. Currently I have 2014. I also have Ancestry.com on my I Pad. Thus my problem. I am un able to upload all the Media from my computer to My I Pad. I contacted Support and they emailed me instructions as to how to unlink and relink my tree. I followed the instructions and it did the same thing so as a result I do not have all my ftm media on my I PAD.

Biggest Pro: FTM is very accurate and detailed.
Biggest Con: Transfering media is very tough as well as update problems.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by LarryB,  Apr 8, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I’ve used FTM for many years and its sheer simplicity was its greatest asset. It was intuitive, not over sophisticated and did all the basics. Then came the tie up with Ancestry. Now there is a generation of family tree builders who simply sync their work with totally unresearched hideously inaccurate family trees on Ancestry.com. I’m an Ancestry user too, and it is an extremely valuable resource, but it lets total newbies pollute the web with totally inaccurate family trees. And of course it was acquired as a bolt-on to Ancestry to generate greater revenues for them. the simplicity of syncing totally bogus trees does a major disservice to all genealogists.

Biggest Pro: simple intuitive interface
Biggest Con: ancestry.com

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Ron Hager,  Mar 30, 2015

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

The primary focus of FTM seems to be its connection to Ancestry.com and EVERYTHING else is of a very distant priority. In my opinion they have no real interest in providing a database for our home use and are headed in the direction of providing cloud services rather than a home database. In the meantime we long time users (I’m a customer for nearly 20 years) are nothing more than repeat customers who provide cash on a regular basis. This year I moved my database to a new computer and of course upgraded to 2014 and have found few improvements. The system is still slow, cannot handle large files well and I have discovered that the export branch feature has holes in it. The problem for us users is that they have the money to throw at advertising and are selling their products so they think they are a success and are unwilling to change any of their ways. I see little hope of any improvement until they become a public company and are no longer under the influence of the church.

Biggest Pro: It is what I have been using for years, so I know many of the issues and work arounds.
Biggest Con: Their focus on Ancestry.com

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Irene Hobbins,  Mar 25, 2015

Not Rated

I am getting the message “could not find required dll to export report” . in FTM 2012,, Can anyone tell me where I can find out what dll and where I could download it from?

Generally I like the program once I got used to using it. I was never able to publish a book, but until recently was able to do the reports. I would really like to able to do the RTF again…\\

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by M Richardson,  Mar 24, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Most difficult and awkward program to use. Cant understand the terms used and what the heck do they want. ?
Publishing the print outs take a month of study to decide what you want to do.

I just hate it.. I have numerous duplicates on my program now for some reason and it doesn;t even show them on the merge section. And NO I do not want to merge Tom Someone b. 1806 with William Someone b 1815.

I now have my people page greyed out and the principal name I am trying to work on is blanked out.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Ken,  Mar 17, 2015

Not Rated

Family Tree 2012 - worse than earlier versions! Attempted to create a book. Very difficult to do. Descendant charts came out terribly compressed, filling only about 1/4 of the page. Would NEVER recommend!

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: very poor set up for creating a book. Formating is terrible

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Greg P,  Mar 17, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have had two other FTM versions, and this one is by far the worst. I plan to uninstall it and go back to my 2003 version, which is much easier to work with.

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: hard to navigate. can’t seem to find anything and adding info sucks

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Ron Irwin,  Mar 17, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I’ve had FTM 2014 since Jan ‘14 and overall I’m happy with it. I have almost 20K people and 1K documents on the program. It has had a few problems, but overall very workable. My trouble started when I bought an Apple MAC. The MAC 3 FTM is absolutely the PITS! I’ve had so many problems that I started a log recording the date and problems. I finally stopped. Too many. The people at Ancestry answering phone attempt to help, but they obviously know very little about the program or they know support has no answers. I keep getting “I’m going to send an email of what you need to try. . .” which is worthless. I started sending screen shots to support, but got tired of that also. I bought the MAC specifically for FTM. I quit fighting it and bought a HP laptop with (UGH) Windows 8.1 and I’m having a heck of time with it. Maybe I’m too old to adapt to the computer age? I’ve checked for other family tree software, but Ancestry still provides the best tools so I’ll probably stick with it.

Biggest Pro: Will hold lots of data & USUALLY I get good help when needed
Biggest Con: Cannot get a report for a specific location without a long list (1,166 pages for all names)

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Randee,  Mar 12, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have never had so many problems with Family Tree Maker like I have with this newest version. For years I’ve used an older program which I loved, but when I got a new computer it wouldn’t allow me to use my old program so like many others I updated to the newest version…..what a mistake…..what a waste of time….. I would never recommend this version to anyone until the kinks are worked out. Maybe going back to what worked is the solution….. I’m thinking of going to another program, hate to, but I can’t be playing games day after day with something that is suppose to be fun and rewarding. This newest version is definitely NOT!!

Biggest Pro: not one comes to mind…
Biggest Con: has toooooo many bugs and problems

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Joseph Dorseuy,  Mar 11, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

It is a peice of crap. It will not download on my new computer. It keeps saying “Unabke to extract installation data downloaded from the web.” What does this mean. I have been on hold to Ancestry support for almost an hour to talk about this.

Biggest Pro: NONE
Biggest Con: “Unabke to extract installation data downloaded from the web.”

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Gill Cooper,  Mar 10, 2015

Not Rated

Have been successfully using FTM since the Broderbund days - bought 2014 Worldwide Version, which included 6 months Ancestry membership, loaded onto new computer (Windows 8.1) - icon appeared but programme won’t launch. Tried software on 2 laptops, in case it was the computer, but programme failed on each. Fortunately I have a good version (2010) on my old computer. Thinking of trying a different programme altogether after reading other reviews - what a phaff!

Biggest Pro: You must be joking!
Biggest Con: Unusable

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Virginia,  Mar 7, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I’ve tried several versions of FTM since 16 and they are all for the trash can. Miserable to even look at, worse to use, unfriendly. The new versions are terrible, very difficult for old eyes and the entire entry system is a pain to manage, very difficult. I purchased FTM2012 and 2014, hated both and was promised by sales person each time, they were so much improved - HA HA very wrong, I did return 2014 for a refund that took forever.
I know you cannot un-ring a bell, but FTM really went to you know where in a hand basket after 16. This seems to me that programmers who don’t actually DO GENEALOGY write your new programs.

Biggest Pro: NONE
Biggest Con: The entire program.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Trevor,  Feb 27, 2015

Not Rated

Totally useless

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: paying for something that doesn’t work

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Bill Henderson,  Feb 26, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have used Family Tree Maker for over 25 years now and after version 16 this software has gone downhill quickly. Seems as if there technicians have been on vacation. I currently have the latest version FTM 2014. I have constantly contacted their support center and complained about the errors in syncing with Ancestry and have not received an answer to fix this problem in the past six years. I add a new name and the birth dates and death dates and it crashes. In an average of one hour working on with this software, it will crash causing me to wait until it is useable again about forty minutes out of an hour. After trying a few fixes of my own, it works well for twenty minutes and then starts crashing again. If it actually had some type of crash report to send to the makers of FTM maybe they would put a update and fix these problems. If you check Ancestry support pages, you will see all of the problems people are having with Family Tree Maker. Don’t waste your time until these problems are fixed for good.

Biggest Pro: Very easy to use
Biggest Con: Constantly crashes

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Matti Sinivuori,  Feb 26, 2015

Not Rated

I have the Family Tree Maker version 2008. I use VISTA program. Now I need the Training Video and instructions. There is a good book for this FTM 2000 Mattel. I have used the FTM for some time and now need to make a fresh start again. I must have lost the instructions and need new. I need not the new FTM 2014. I have not had any family in US or Canada, so there is no need for the Ancestry program. Though the programs are not in Finnish language they do serve me.
Could you send the needed instructions for FTM 2008.
My mail is matti. sinivuori@netikka.fi or mskon@netikka.fi.

Show 21-40 »