Family Tree Maker - Current Version

by Ancestry.com
The current version of Family Tree Maker is followed by its release year, e.g. 2012. It was completely rewritten in 2008 and is very different than its previous incarnation. There is also a Mac version. They have a Family Tree Maker category in their blog. Use this entry to review the current version, and use the FTM Up To Version 16 entry to review the versions prior to the rewrite.

Purchase • Windows • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://www.familytreemaker.com/
Overall2731.62 out of 51.62 out of 51.62 out of 51.62 out of 51.62 out of 5 1.62
2014931.41 out of 51.41 out of 51.41 out of 51.41 out of 51.41 out of 5 1.41
2013481.97 out of 51.97 out of 51.97 out of 51.97 out of 51.97 out of 5 1.97
Earlier1322.26 out of 52.26 out of 52.26 out of 52.26 out of 52.26 out of 5 2.26

Add Your Review of Family Tree Maker - Current Version

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

273 Reviews of Family Tree Maker - Current Version     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Freddy duCat,  2 days ago

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Unable to even install this on my pc. Keep getting a .net error. Called MY tech support and still not able to install. Am asking for a refund. We will see if I even get that.

Biggest Pro: If it works, it would sync with Ancestry.ca
Biggest Con: Can’t get it to even install :(

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by JAY,  4 days ago

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

My advice is to try any other program than FTM 2014.

I have used Ancestry and their FTM since inception. In my 15+ years of research, I have massed over 20,000 individual person entries into this program, including all notes and documentation. No problem with earlier versions.

Recently had to update computer to Windows 8. Program installed and worked for a couple days. Program no longer links to Ancestry, via the “leaves” feature. Despite countless contacts with Ancestry, they offer no help whatsoever and constantly say there has to be a problem with virus protection (wrong as that was disabled and still doesn’t work). Unfortunately, the help number does not get you to a tech person who might have some idea as to a problem. Instead, there’s a customer service person who literally knows nothing and his/her idea of help is to send troubleshooting answers. Unfortunately these “helps” are ridiculous and have nothing to do with the problem. For the expensive membership and cost to buy these program, there should be some actual help when their product does not work. The last person I talked with told me that I had to go into the main frame of the computer. That is not going to happen.

Despite the frustration with the contact between home computer and Ancestry records, I have still used and hand-transferred records from my own FTM to the family tree saved on Ancestry. This is cumbersome and would be unnecessary if Ancestry actually backed their product with helpful advice and solution.

That is I have used the program etc since inception and never had problems until this 2014 version. It is horrible and there is no solution. Now, last night, the sync stopped working completely. So the info I have on my FTM on my computer no longer, for some reason, has the same info as the version help by Ancestry.

Ancestry’s solution? Send me yet another troubleshooter worthless piece of paper stating there must be a problem with my anti-virus program. Turned anti-virus off, and the sync does not work.

It would be advisable, to avoid frustration, to try and find another program which allows one to actually use a purchased program and a company which actually offers valid troubleshooting from actual IT people instead of customer service people who are clueless.

Charts have also changed and the one I have used for many years is no longer available

I have over 20 years of research experience and this latest version of FTM is poor and unacceptable

Biggest Pro: Records could be maintained at home and on Ancestry if they worked
Biggest Con: Does not work properly, in that does not connect to Ancestry and does not sync.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Bob Bryan,  Aug 18, 2014

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Very slow with large database. It takes a long time to load and generate charts and reports. I used many versions of FTM and was very happy through version 16. The new re-write with 2008 was where the problems began.

It does make nice charts and the sync feature is good.

Biggest Pro: sync with ancestry.com family tree
Biggest Con: unacceptably slow especially with large database

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Maggie,  Aug 17, 2014

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Do not like FTM 2014 - it is more difficult to use and harder to view. Why when upgrades are made would you make the upgrade so difficult to work on.

I am a Family Historian with some 25yrs’ experience, so I think I can comment.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Too much effort entering data & collating!

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Jan Barron,  Aug 11, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I had to buy a new computer in March 2014 so now run a 64bit HP Envy with McAfee security and use windows 8.1. I’ve been told that my FTM 2009 wont run on this machine, so bought a 2014 version. Have been doing the tree since 1978 so have a fair amount of info, having had to input the info again a couple of times over the years as computers change. First tree was done on a Commodore 64 (anyone remember that?) I did manage once in April this year to get the latest version to install but had to do my own version of getting around the “install update” to get the program to run. That lasted for a month, then twice I got a message that my ” compact file” wouldn’t work and the program closed saying the program closed unexpectedly (I’ll say!!). Next time I tried to open, the message said was closed unexpectedly, need to compact the file (which was what I had tried to do anyway). Now I can’t get anything to work; my computer tells me that it doesn’t recognise me. I’m not prepared to accept changes to my computer home page and have ticked that box. I have a few options. Change to some other computer program, or wait until FTM issues a disc that does not need a patch and will install without problems (costly, the 2014 should have been released without the need for a patch) or pay up and get a computer whiz with much more patience than I have to install it for me, also costly. NOT HAPPY,JAN. In all fairness I have been in contact with Ancestry.com since April when I first bought this version, and they have sent me many emails of how to fix my problem. I have used a tree printing out all these hints. I am no computer whiz and am disappointed that I have to put aside 35 years of research. Might just be the straw that broke the camel’s back. My thanks to ancestry.com for trying to help, Jan,

Biggest Pro: My thanks to ancestry.com for trying to help
Biggest Con: The patch, should never have been released needing one.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Ed Thomas,  Aug 10, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

It won’t open in windows 8.1

Biggest Con: Doesn’t open, seems to be no help on line or via phone

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Shirley,  Aug 10, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

It is so difficult to enter information. You have to switch back and forth. Children are listed all together even if they have different mothers (confusing). Can’t view and enter family group sheet as before. You have made it so much more difficult. Not user friendly.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Janealogy,  Jul 22, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I’ve been using FTM for many years, I have upgraded many times. Each time have reverted back to 2005.
My problems were, lack of ease using the newer programs, my embeded scrapbook files were not transfered over in gedcom, many names would not transfered over. I’m using Vista, which I’m hanging on to for as long as possible!
I did find a way to transfer all my embeded media and all the names some 16,000. Did not lose one! purchased a tablet for going overseas and needed a genealogy program to access all my material on the tablet. I downloaded the free version of The Master Genealogist. You will have to read up when transfering your files, what program you are using eg FTM 2012 etc. I saved them to gedcom and making sure I clicked transfer media files or what ever they list. The full gedcom was transfered over, ready for me to put on my app program. The Master genealogist will be a way not to lose any of your data to transfer to what ever program you are using. If other programs can do this why can FTM? some may like the Master Genealogist, I found it to be an updated version of the old PAF program. No bells and Whistles, simple.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Fix the issues with earlier programs before releasing another with more problems

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Bill Fraser,  Jul 15, 2014

Not Rated

Just switched from FTM 2005 to 2014 and find that the Genealogy Report does not include facts ie Baptism, wedding facts, cause of death, and others etc. I feel this is important info that should be included in the Genealogy report. FTM 2014 is %$##$*&.

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: too complicated

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Bill Fraser,  Jul 12, 2014

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I have just switched fro FTM 2005 to FTM 2014 (my 3rd (version) and find it more user confusing than user friendly. This may be since I missed versions between 05 and 14. To me if I was brand new to FTM I would be in trouble. However as time passes I will get use to 14. I find citing sources more confusing than 05 version. Too many bells and whistles when you open it up. But I guess that’s progress.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Total Frustration,  Jul 8, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have used Family Tree Maker Software ever since it was invented and reordered every time a new version came out. Version 16 was wonderful with XP and worked perfectly. Version 9 sucked because it dropped off records.
My last purchase was Version 2014. What a boo-boo. It’s slow as Christmas starting up. Every time I bring it up the INDEX will work only for 2 or three clicks, then the program crashes. The filter refuses to work at all. If you click on the filter, a screen comes up and I select ‘include all’. Within a minute, the program crashes again.
I can be working on a person and suddenly I get a message ‘not responding’, then it crashes again. Sometimes it just freezes up.
I am a veteran user of FTW so I know what I am doing and I am more than well versed in computer knowhow. This 2014 version is a piece of junk. You need to either fix all the bugs or give people their money back.

Biggest Pro: None. It has too many bugs and doesn’t work as intended
Biggest Con: Slow, unresponsive, crashing, a piece of junk to bilk customers out of money

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Wendy,  Jul 4, 2014

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I moved over from Legacy Family Tree to FTM 2014 mainly because of the syncing with Ancestry and being able to keep my data in Ancestry as a backup. Well that’s working to expectation but my beef with the software is the slowness in which it starts up, the constant “not responding” and the freezing when adding new data which most of the time can only be solved by shutting the software down via the Task Manager.
I’m using it on both a Win7 laptop and a Win8 desktop with high specs. The only way I can combat these annoyances is to go “offline” which stops the software from constantly trying to search Ancestry for links or whatever it does.
Funny enough that I thought Legacy was getting too big for it’s boots with Legacy 8!
RootMagic is starting to look rather good!

Biggest Pro: Syncing with Ancestry.com.au
Biggest Con: Slowness, unresponsive, crashing

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Barry P.,  Jul 3, 2014

Not Rated

After I’ve read your reviews below, I feel my suspicions are confirmed that Ancestry.com has taken over the world of Genealogy. My genealogy is locked up in a Family Tree Maker, version 2006 data file that I feel I may never be able to access again, either at all or in part. My confidence in the world of genealogy has been shaken. I’m not sure what else to say?

Biggest Pro: None.
Biggest Con: Genealogy has been hi-jacked by Ancestry.com, and/or affiliates.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Martyn,  Jul 3, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

This is the worst software experience I have ever encountered. I have used Family Tree Maker for many years only updating when ‘forced’ to by Ancestry as I only really wanted somewhere to store the data and print simple trees. The last version I have been using on my old XP computer was FTM 2008. When XP expired I had to buy a new Windows 8.1 computer and Ancestry told me 2008 was not compatible with this and I had to buy 2014 to see my old files. Having followed their advice it just doesn’t work and they either can’t or won’t assist me. I have asked for my money back but even if I do eventually get it I still have the problem of how to access my own data. Fortunately I have kept the old XP machine so I am wondering if there is any third party software out there which can process the old FTM backup files into some intelligible form?

Biggest Pro: None what so ever
Biggest Con: No simple upgrade path to enable conversion of years of FTM data.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Brenda,  Jul 3, 2014

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

The program is more time consuming, has a lot of not responding issues…I like the old 2005 program, was simple and easy to read..2014 text is smaller and difficult to read…do not like it..

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: none

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Terri,  Jun 30, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I just started using FTM 2014 recently because I had to buy a new computer. FTM 2014 is the pits as it way too complicated for a simpleton like me. Why couldn’t they keep it simple like FTM 2005 which is on my old computer and will remain in use just because it is simple.

I want my genealogy report to be simple like FTM 2005 - not a lot of stuff in it that I don’t want to print. I want to be able to select what I want included and what generation to start with when I separate the groups.

Biggest Pro: None that I can find
Biggest Con: Too complicated.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Malcolm,  Jun 29, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Have use FTM 2012 since it came out with no problems have just tried to upgrade to FTM 2014 that did not work properly so cost me money for nothing.
So purchased a full copy which has the same problems in that it will dot perform the required update I just get “Failure opening New FileC:\Programme file\Family Tree Maker 2014\ RTA 21211 with the end number changing have had 40621 and 69050.
After this it will not open so I have to uninstall and reinstall done this 4 time now same problem it is a complete con.

Biggest Pro: None as it does not work properly
Biggest Con: FTM 2014 is unuasable

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by John,  Jun 26, 2014

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Apparently after the Windows update of 6/16 and after the Ancestry site crash, my copy of FTM 2014 will not connect to the network. Reloading the software made it worse since the media connection failed due to no internet connection. Could be FTM2014 issue or it is affected by the 6/16 windows update. I am running Windows 7.1 with current updates on a Toshiba A505 with lots of memory. Have used FTM for a years and all my data files are converted to it, not real happy about now. Anybody have any ideas how wake up FTM2014 or how to convert my file to some form I can get to them.

Biggest Pro: Used FTM for years and found it great, FTM2014 good until this happened
Biggest Con: No easy way to convert current data files to some other system, way too much work involved

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Laura,  Jun 21, 2014

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Does anyone have a solution for the ” There is not enough memory left to generate your book” error? I just upgraded last week from FTM16. I had to upgrade because FTM 16 was no longer going to work with search in ancestry after July 31, 2014. I transferred my file & photos (working fine in 16) to FTM 2014, then had to pull the photos back into my book, then realized that 2014 has spouse order scrambled, so worked on that (I know I haven’t corrected all of these yet, did call ancestry about spouse order to find out that they had to be done individually). Then when I finished getting my pages in order, I clicked on ‘Table of Contents’ & get nothing but the error ” There is not enough memory left to generate your book”. Well I did a google search, I see that there are MANY more with the same issue!!! Called tech dept, no solution, they are sending error ticket to someone higher up who will send me an email. I am running Windows Home Premium 64, 4 G memory, AMD Turion II dual core processor. Did the compact files, go offline, FTM only thing open, same error. Very sluggish moving from things, spins takes forever to load. I have not added anything new to the file, just reorganizing what was imported. I started with FTM back in the 90’s with version 3.1. and have a loyal customer for 20+ years. I am so disappointed….

Biggest Pro: FTM has been great over the years!!
Biggest Con: FTM 2014 has too many bugs, doesn’t work, very sluggish…

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Lorrie,  Jun 20, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Software freezes many times per use. It is extremely frustrating to find new facts and be unable to enter them because the FTM 2014 is either frozen or reloading. I have a large family file, but the program should be able to handle it. It also crashes with my smaller family files.

Biggest Pro: Sometimes can sync with Ancestry tree.
Biggest Con: Functionally unusable.

Show 21-40 »