Family Tree Maker - Current Version

by Ancestry.com
The current version of Family Tree Maker is followed by its release year, e.g. 2012. It was completely rewritten in 2008 and is very different than its previous incarnation. There is also a Mac version. They have a Family Tree Maker category in their blog. Use this entry to review the current version, and use the FTM Up To Version 16 entry to review the versions prior to the rewrite.

Purchase • Windows • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://www.familytreemaker.com/
Overall4281.64 out of 51.64 out of 51.64 out of 51.64 out of 51.64 out of 5 1.64
2015921.85 out of 51.85 out of 51.85 out of 51.85 out of 51.85 out of 5 1.85
20141561.36 out of 51.36 out of 51.36 out of 51.36 out of 51.36 out of 5 1.36
Earlier1802.06 out of 52.06 out of 52.06 out of 52.06 out of 52.06 out of 5 2.06

Add Your Review of Family Tree Maker - Current Version

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

428 Reviews of Family Tree Maker - Current Version     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Pamela,  5 hrs ago

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Such a shame on the reviews. I had an older version that I cannot even open now, and I wanted to renew to a current version.
I will not be buying this program. Like I said, it really is a shame because we could all benefit (even the developers) from having a good program. What a waste!

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: Why waste your programming talents to make software that isn’t good?

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Christopher,  11 hrs ago

Not Rated

I cannot review the current version as I have not updated since the 2011 version. Too scared! I have used FTM since 2004 updating up to and including 2011. The 2006 version was the best in my opinion. I have some 4000 names on my tree. In 2011, after the update, I would choose a name in the index and the tree would not populate. After my years of work…..!!!! Purely by accident I discovered if I put a question mark in the father or mother field then deleting this “person” I could then reselect their child and the tree would now be populated.
Also in the 2006 version I had all my photographs in chronological order with dates and comments. All this “went out the window” in subsequent updates. A lot of work “down the drain”.

Biggest Pro: First versions simple and intuitive. Seems a common theme from many reviews below.
Biggest Con: Now unwieldy. Plus thought I had lost all my data on my last upgrade in 2011.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by RMK,  2 days ago

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Constantly freezes and crashes. It is horribly slow. I delete the configuration every time I open it and it still crashes. I can’t upload to the FTM site because my file is too big. Just awful!

Biggest Con: freezes constantly, slow, takes forever to enter information

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by patricia,  5 days ago

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

has giving me a great knowledge of my family.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by David,  Jun 22, 2015

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I have been using FTM 2014 since Oct 2014 and like many of the features. I have a large volume of persons in the file. My major complaint is the speed/performance. I have found that using the “go offline” improves the performance. In online mode, it is unusable due to response time. I don’t attempt to keep any ancestry files synched.

Biggest Pro: Calculation and real time computing of relationships
Biggest Con: Speed

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Susan,  Jun 13, 2015

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I love FTM, and have used it since inception. I especially love how it interacts with Ancestry. However, when I updated to the newest version, I was told it would solve the problem of the index bogging down due to the size of the file. It has not helped in the least. If you have to conjure up the index for any action, it sits and sits, indicating that FTM is not responding and sometimes waits for 20 minutes or more before bringing up the index window. My opinion is that it is great to provide a new version with extra perks but please fix the bugs that hinder the program first.

Biggest Pro: Interaction with Ancestry
Biggest Con: Bogs down constantly

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by John,  Jun 9, 2015

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Much of the program functions well. It’s reasonably intuitive in it’s structure. The big glitch is in its Publishing function. One can export a “book” either as an rtf file or a PDF file. The PDF version, of course, cannot be edited after it’s exported. Strangely, the rtf version in Word is only partially editable. Each page has a line across the top and a lighter line across the bottom. The first problem is that one CANNOT delete the lines. Customer Service says the lines are in the program. The more serious problem is that if one edits the rtf/Word text, the lines stay in the same place in the text. If you delete content, the page become shorter. Content from the next page does not “wrap around” to fill the page. If you add content, since it doesn’t wrap, you end up with an added page with “orphan” text, rather than it moving into the next page. In short, this is absolutely useless if you want to edit content in a printed version without changing what is in the base FTM file or if you want to adjust the appearance. I’m looking into other genealogy programs. FTM deserves its bad rap.

Biggest Pro: Easy to import content from previous versions.
Biggest Con: Total waste and very frustrating for publishing. Bad, bad program.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Margaret,  Jun 2, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I used a much older stand-alone version which was very easy and straightforward to use - and it worked! So I didn’t think twice about buying the latest version when I upgraded to a new computer recently. What a mistake! Examples of irritations are - it takes more keystrokes to use notes, and not all the reports are together (it was a real process trying to find my preferred layout).
And for the icing on the cake …the programme has just crashed and it looks as though all yesterday’s data input will be lost - the only time I didn’t do a backup!!

Biggest Pro: Nil
Biggest Con: It doesn’t work!!

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Julie,  May 26, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Having difficulty with the printing of my reports with the 2014 program. Names start repeating, exactly the same info, especially the further back you go. Some of the names repeat 5 or 6 times with new numbering. Very frustrating! Never had any problems with Version16 but updated when I converted to Windows 7.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Cannot get a report to print properly.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Beth,  May 22, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Started with an earlier version in 2006 and have upgraded each time a new version came out. I have not had any major problems with any version except for having my file drop the link to the online tree a couple of times. I have found that their customer service people are very considerate and will work with me until I have solved a problem (usually of my own making). I am researching both my parents and my husband’s parents, including his adoptive father’s tree as well as my children’s spouse’s trees and it simply does the job it is supposed to do. Like all software you have to be consistent in your data entry for the software to function at its best. It does emphasize ancestry.com, but in the search window you are able to search any other site you want to add to the list and you are then able to either clip data or webpages to add to your file.

Biggest Pro: It does what I want, when I want it and it syncs to my web tree - good customer service.
Biggest Con: It is sometimes slow to respond, probably due to the amount of info in the file.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Elaine,  May 19, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Hate it. Almost ready to drop my subscription to Ancestry. Trying to keep my old computer with the old software alive. It was a joy to work with. Typical of corporations now. Buy up all the competition, tell the customer what they need and ruin a good thing. Bigger is not better and new and improved is not necessarily good.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Cumbersome. Used to be great software that was super easy to use.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Emile Franco,  May 19, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I loved the older version of FTM that I ran from about 1998 until I received FTM 2012 as a Christmas gift.

From the beginning, I found the newer version to be extremely frustrating as it is far less intuitive than the original, and simple things like entering notes require you to fumble until you figure out what you are supposed to click on. I used to love adding names and facts, but not in version 12.

The final straw has now come as it will no longer even run on my computer, which has the windows 7 operating system - a problem that developed after some recent windows updates.

An internet search indicates that I am not alone in having this problem - google “family tree maker will not run” to read about the frustration of other users.

And since FTM files are not easily imported by other programs, you are stuck if you do not have your data saved as a gedcom.

I did a system restore to bring my computer back to the point before FTM had ceased to work, which allowed me to run it one last time to export my file to a gedcom.

Goodbye FTM 2012, hello Legacy 8.

Biggest Pro: Lots of features if you have time to learn them
Biggest Con: Not user intuitive, poor compatability with Microsoft.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by STANLEY COHEN,  May 19, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have been using FTM 16. It was (is ) the best of all of them for ease of use and lack of frills that family tree users simply need to keep track of relatives and ancestors. the best feature is the real all-in one tree that gives you the view of the WHOLE tree at once then pick the section or individual you require and work from there. Download it, switch to ancestors, switch to book, no hassle. Change names, add siblings, no problem. I love working with it and will keep my XP just so I can do that. Tried the 2012 FTM. Lacking in everything that made FTM 16 great.

Biggest Pro: nada
Biggest Con: no all-in-one htat is complete anmd shows all, easily on one page. BLAH!

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Jenny,  May 18, 2015

Not Rated

Just lost the whole reivew I wrote. FTM 2014 is a nightmare - I loaded a patch and, once again, it corrupted my date. Will not sort names alphabetically - will not take me to a name I type in directly - crashes - paid for and downloaded a new 2014 - same problems. The 2008 had already corrupted all of my census information. Folks this is 45 years of work - and I’m going to end up having to start over with input. I am furious. They should leave well enough alone - like cars, they keep putting so much stuff on them they break down easier and cost a fortune to fix.

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: everything

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by John Terry Brown,  May 10, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Just purchased 2014 deluxe version. Have Windows 7 the software is incompatible? That is absolutely incredible.

Biggest Con: Cannot even launch the proigram.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Mike G.,  May 7, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I recently switched from another software program and find that FTM2014 is far superior. Excellent notes fields, charting, search feature. Very useful tie in to ancestry.com.

Biggest Pro: visual appeal and notes features
Biggest Con: a bit slow to respond

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Rob,  May 3, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been using FTM since the 2010/2011 timeframe on Windows Vista and Windows 7 computers with no issues. I love the fact that i sync my tree with the ancestry.com tree and FTM downloads all the media to my computer. When my subscription expires, i can still view the media on my computer. I put my tree file and media in a box.com folder on my computer so i can access the media from anywhere and my data is backed up.

Biggest Pro: Syncs with FTM
Biggest Con: doesn’t sync with familysearch.org

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Peter,  May 2, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I bought the FTM 2014 upgrade for my FTM 2011, all seems to go well until you get to the compulsory patch that you have to download (because their programme is defective) it won’t load . I’ve tried all the scenarios and have given up as I can’t get the programme to work; commercial software from Ancestry.com shouldn’t be like this; it is very disappointing. Fortunately FTM 2011 was only used out of interest, my genealogy is on TMG 9 which is a great programme even though it is no longer being developed. I’ll probably get Family Historian 6 or Roots Magic 7 which support the transfer of most of the TMG data and chuck FTM in the bin. They shouldn’t be selling something that is so flaky.

Biggest Pro: Doesn’t work
Biggest Con: Doesn’t work

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Dave,  Apr 27, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Crashes if I try to enter a note…every single time. I can view my previously imported information, but cannot do any meaningful new work in this release.

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: doesn’t work

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by JERRY OLIVER,  Apr 26, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

An earlier version (2006) did everything I wanted. Allowed me to easily enter notes for individuals and was very intuitive. Not unlike using earlier versions of Word. Edition 2012 is none of those things. I have lost data. I lost 90 days of work and do not know why. Have been forced to do things I do not want to do. The help line is a joke. Nobody seems to know anything.

Biggest Pro: NONE!
Biggest Con: It does not begin to meet my simple needs as a CUSTOMER. They do not care.

Show 21-40 »