Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry

by Ancestry.com
In 2016, Ancestry sold Family Tree Maker to Software MacKiev. Please only review Ancestry versions of Family Tree Maker here. Go to the Family Tree Maker page for Software MacKiev to review releases that started in March 2016. There is also a Mac version.

Ancestry completely rewrote Family Tree Maker in 2008 and it was very different than its previous incarnation. Use this entry to review Ancestry’s newer version, and use the FTM Up To Version 16 entry to review the versions prior to the rewrite.

Unsupported • Windows • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://web.archive.org/web/20150207071808/http://www.ancestry.com/cs/a...
Overall5601.92 out of 51.92 out of 51.92 out of 51.92 out of 51.92 out of 5 1.92
2017171.77 out of 51.77 out of 51.77 out of 51.77 out of 51.77 out of 5 1.77
2016452.22 out of 52.22 out of 52.22 out of 52.22 out of 52.22 out of 5 2.22
Earlier4981.86 out of 51.86 out of 51.86 out of 51.86 out of 51.86 out of 5 1.86

Add Your Review of Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

560 Reviews of Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by CHRISTINE L OTTO,  Sep 11, 2017

Not Rated

I’m having an issue My Family Tree Maker 2012 won’t open up anymore I have 23 years of research and files and now I can’t open was unable to back it up couldn’t find my usb stick to back up on and I noticed it was getting slow when I was putting names in.

Biggest Pro: easy to us
Biggest Con: it kept combining families like when the father had more then one wife it would put the children with all wives

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by Joyce Mannell,  Sep 6, 2017

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I couldnt register 2014 F.T.M.
I dont know how to print fathers side of my family off
I cant read the book as the print is so small

Biggest Pro: I love the F.T.M iVe used for years 2005 still using as well as 2014
Biggest Con: cant read book print to small I cant register and Ive never had any help or advice

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by Yvonne Chard,  Aug 4, 2017

Not Rated

I have used many versions. Now I have FTM 11 working on Windows 10.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use. Clear.
Biggest Con: Duplications not easy to check and remove.

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by M WALKER,  Jul 27, 2017

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

My Internet connection went down on the 14th July and we have been unable to to get it back..
Does this mean that I have to buy the 2017 version.
So much for promises….it will make no difference.MacKiev
So disappointing when you are in the middle of a piece of work.

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by Betty Jo Wells-Long,  Jul 23, 2017

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Where are MY leaves? I have familytree maker 14 and on 17 July, 2017 I had blue leaves and could not connect to the internet. I took my computer to the Geeks at Best Buy and they were and still are baffled. They had it for 3 days and do not know what to do. It first said my firewall was blocking Ancestry but this was not true. MacKiev, please fix this. Leave what is working alone and quit trying to improve something you don’t understand. Now I have to set up another computer to look stuff up because you chose to mess with us researchers. I hope the pre-paid new software will work better.

Biggest Pro: nothing good
Biggest Con: nothing good

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by Cindy Sharp,  Jul 18, 2017

Not Rated

My ver 2014.1 stopped in the middle of a download, after many hours of looking I have found that it was deliberate. No upgrade option just a purchase of $115 for Canadian users for untested software baffling for a many year user. For Ancestry what exactly to we pay you all the money for.

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by Fred Donaldson,  Jul 15, 2017

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Bought 2014 FTM (registered) as an upgrade after many years with them, and linked trees from Ancestry. Now, they won’t sync because new owners decided to end that feature and force us to pay $30 or $40 for their 2017 version. I want my old program to work (sync) and they are CRIMINAL to remove the main function to force sales to their new product, which hasn’t even been released yet. Everyone is supposed to sit in limbo, unless they are beta testers. I was upgraded to the newest 2014 version but that doesn’t work and isn’t QUALIFIED for the update to the 2017 version. I am stuck with a program the new owners broke or I have to come up with $40. I am 75 years old and live on my Social Security and FTM just ripped off an old guy. Congratulations, you crooks! Time for lawyer, BBB, attorney general, CNN, MSNBC, 60 Minutes. Wish I had the money to go after them. freddonaldson1@verizon.net

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by Stacy Pleau,  Jul 15, 2017

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I like the older version way better then the 8.1 how do I convert it back to the older one.

Biggest Pro: To complicated, older version much easier to figure out.
Biggest Con: to much crap

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by Henry,  Apr 7, 2017

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Was working relatively well until 2014. I experienced loss of numerous attached documents which they were never able to recover. Some were very significant. Their sale to Mackiev has had numerous bumps and Mackiev wants to charge premium prices for unproven software while Mackiev provides NO customer support.

Biggest Pro: Original versions sync well with on-line
Biggest Con: Loss of attached documents

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by Baye,  Apr 6, 2017

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Bought this in January 2017. Got a notice that it needed to be updated in March 2017. Did what I thought I was supposed to do, and now it will not sync with Ancestry.com. Email and chat attempts to fix the problem have been useless making the software useless after 3 months. It wasn’t that great to begin with. It looks like software from 1990–dull, crowded, and certainly not user friendly. Other than syncing it every once in a while, I have not found a single advantage to having it. I purchased this because the professional reviews claimed that I would be able to create nice printouts–yeah, not really. I was hoping the updates might make it useful. People seem to have been fond of early iterations and hate the new ones. Perhaps the company should start listening to the customers.

Biggest Pro: Cannot think of a single thing
Biggest Con: Totally worthless after 3 months

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by Dekle Griffith,  Apr 4, 2017

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

This product is a rip off. Just bought it 90 days ago, and now it is obsolete. Have to buy an update to even be able to use it. It was already slow, and not intuitive. Now it is worthless. Do not buy this product!

Biggest Pro: N/A
Biggest Con: Everything! See comments above.

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by ROGERNS,  Mar 29, 2017

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

If all you want is up to version 16, you too late.. this was okay for us that dont need to verify everything we see. I will make my mind if I like what is see and if I dont. the newer versions giveus al lot of options we did not have in thew version up to 16. Also took out a lot of good stuff..

Biggest Pro: Ability to merge without typing all in/
Biggest Con: NOT USER FRIENDLY

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by Roderick,  Feb 23, 2017

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Just got FTM 2014. Absolutely hate it. I’ll keep using 2005 til it breaks. 2014 is just a horrible junked up piece of software just like the last 3 versions.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Too much junk

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by Jo Ann Jayne,  Feb 16, 2017

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I had family tree 2005 and love everything about it. I hate very much 2014 version. It does not have the ease of use that 2005 had.

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by Bonnie,  Feb 8, 2017

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I started with the 2010 and later bought the 2012. I did not like the 2012 so went back to the 2010.

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by JGM,  Feb 4, 2017

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I’m using FTM version 16 and 2014 on XP and Vista computers. The later in compatible mode. My biggest data base has 334,000 people in it. They both work of on all data bases in compatability mode on my windows 7 computer. I just bout a windows 10 computer and both versions work on it for small data bases, But the large data base will not load into or access by these 2 versions of FTM. It takes about 10 minutes to load it into FTM 2014 the first time. Now it tries for over 2 hours and then FTM stops responding at about 80 to 90 % loaded. On line searching says I need to have the computer adjust this or I do It manually. The smaller data bases loaded and worked ok on the Window 10. Software MacKiev rep said to buy their version of 2014, but when I asked if they would refund my money if that did not solve the problem I received no response. I told the ancestry.com rep that they should never sold FTM. Are they only using trees on their cloud or are they going to come out with new software to kill FTM? Ancestry wins either way. Not the same company since they sold out a few years ago.

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: NO knowledgable help when FTM does NOT work

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by marie wood,  Jan 27, 2017

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

ancestry is a big rip off. They take data You cannot have reliable data without reliable sources. That is very poor research. Their FTM programs were geared to enter your computer and use your data. It is state of the art plagiarism.

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: FTM version after 2008 is terrible

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by Tom,  Dec 22, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

It gets me so angry that people rate this fantastic program with a 1 because they don’t know how to work with a computer. On person even rated FTM with “1″ because Windows10 was installed on her computer. Erm…

I use FTM2014 on Windows 10 and it works just fine. For me it is one of the best programs out there. Easy to use, infinite options to create charts and reports, very good source handling,…
For the negative people here, some tips:

- if you are working on an old version (2012 for example), don’t be surprised that it doesn’t work anymore. The world evolves, so should you. Also: don’t be angry at MacKiev for that. They have *nothing* to do with that version of FTM. They will not be able to help you. Ancestry has sold FTM, they will not help you either.
- if you have trouble with Windows 10, contact Windows. Don’t blame FTM for that. Win10 works perfectly fine, if something is wrong it is probably because your hardware is outdated or because you did something wrong.
- if you move your tree to another computer, you should first unlink the tree from ancestry before you can download and link it again.

Biggest Pro: full option, nice look, easy use
Biggest Con: images should be organised, location list is outdated

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by Paul Clarke,  Nov 29, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Total garbage. Moved to a new PC and it will not allow me to download Ancestry tree. Went to their “Help” page., problem not listed and NO contacts available. Ancestry not interested as they sold off FTM.

I will have nothing to do with any software from this shower and I will be cancelling my ancestry subscription after deleting all my data.

I’ve only rated this one star because there is nothing lower.

Biggest Pro: There isn’t one
Biggest Con: Doesn’t work, no help, obviously couldn’t care less about customer support.

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by Sheila Winn,  Nov 18, 2016

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

A lot harder to use that earlier versons. I updated in 2010 bought that version and have struggled with the program since. I am afraid I am going to lose all the trees I have so since there is no one in my area to help me I just left it alone. Is there somewhere I can get some help?
Thanks
Sheila

Biggest Con: navigating

Show 21-40 »