Family Tree Maker - Current Version

by Ancestry.com
The current version of Family Tree Maker is followed by its release year, e.g. 2012. It was completely rewritten in 2008 and is very different than its previous incarnation. There is also a Mac version. They have a Family Tree Maker category in their blog. Use this entry to review the current version, and use the FTM Up To Version 16 entry to review the versions prior to the rewrite.

Purchase • Windows • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://www.familytreemaker.com/
Overall4431.65 out of 51.65 out of 51.65 out of 51.65 out of 51.65 out of 5 1.65
20151071.83 out of 51.83 out of 51.83 out of 51.83 out of 51.83 out of 5 1.83
20141561.36 out of 51.36 out of 51.36 out of 51.36 out of 51.36 out of 5 1.36
Earlier1802.06 out of 52.06 out of 52.06 out of 52.06 out of 52.06 out of 5 2.06

Add Your Review of Family Tree Maker - Current Version

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

443 Reviews of Family Tree Maker - Current Version     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Mike Warren,  1 day ago

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

What ever you don’t spend a lot of time building a family genealogy in this program.It will routinely crash, give you error messages, have you make changes to files hidden on your machine and then when you get it running again it may work for several times and then you do it all over again because it quits AGAIN. This has been a routine problem on two different machines running two different operating systems. If you already have a bunch of data input make sure you -export it to a GEDCOM file so there is some hope you can recover it in another program because you will have to

Biggest Pro: Intergration with Ancestry
Biggest Con: Continued crashes

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Tony Scott,  1 day ago

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

FTM 2014 used to crash at intervals with a large data file (about 900 persons) with Windows 7.
Ran OK-ish on Windows 8, but crashes on initiation after Windows 10 upgrade.
I was offered and accepted a refund - but WHY oh WHY have the developers not tested and patched the application before launch of Windows 10????

Biggest Pro: Useful for its ability to sync to Ancestry trees
Biggest Con: Uselles if it won’t run on Windows 10.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by nelson d,  1 day ago

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

FTM 2014 Crash crash crash. This is the worst program I’ve used in the past 20+ years of being on the Internet. it looks good at first but as you get larger files the whole thing bogs down into a mess of crashes and slow slow responses. Things that are done in seconds with Legacy take minutes to hours to do. I’ve spent the past 4 hours simply trying to get my family tree to download from Ancestry. It’s not Ancestry or the web that is the problem it’s this darn useless program!

It takes up two 2 hours to download a file and as it is almost 99% finished the program reports and error and shuts down! Editing and finding duplicates is for the birds. Nothing is automated. Legacy was faster and more full featured 15 years ago. Linking files from Ancestry to FTM is also a mess. crash crash crash- Only 1 in 10 tries works.
Except for the fact your need this program to download ALL of your pictures and records Ancestry will not allow other programs to auto download pics and records. It’s worthless.
To top it off you can only use the program on one machine. Heaven help you if your download crashes before you
can get it installed because Your not allowed to to download extra copies. Rating 1/2 out of 10

Biggest Pro: Great for downloading ancestry trees and info- when it works.
Biggest Con: It doesn’t work 99% of the time.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Keith J,  Jul 26, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I used FTM for quite a few years, liked it, and upgraded till it got to FTM2012. That took to crashing (losing data I’d spent time adding). Eventually, I found that the crash is caused by a “memory leak” (easy to tell, once you know that’s what you’re looking for).

Ancestry’s reply was that I need to buy the update to FTM2014. Before doing that, fortunately, I asked around. No, the memory leak has NOT been fixed - and there are more problems. Ancestry deny the existence of the memory leak, despite the reports of dozens of users confirming it.

At that point, I abandoned FTM2012 and moved on to another package, which has worked flawlessly. The changeover took a couple of days because of incompatibilities in GEDCOM format, but I’m glad I made the move.

My FTM2012 will still load and run, but having read the warnings elsewhere, I don’t plan to risk using it any more.

Biggest Pro: Interface to Ancestry.com
Biggest Con: Unstable; known faults are denied and not fixed.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by B. Boucher,  Jul 25, 2015

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

If the reviews look similar, it is because everybody is having the same problems. This software was OK when I had version 5 but the new versions simply do not work with large family trees. They do not import, export, update the web tree or do anything consistently and well. They have enormous problems. They generate excessive number of duplicates when you export or import and errors every kind during all work. I have multiple versions online and on my family tree with thousands of individuals trapped in them because of failures to update and export. I am abandoning FTM because none of the dated versions work well enough to tolerate. My computer is now broken and my trees are more trapped than ever, which would not have happened if I could only have updated or exported them reliably. User generated errors are unforgivably numerous in the data shared but so are software-generated errors, such as code numbers and error messages in the data. Needs a system of verification where users can check each other’s work and report or fix egregious errors like Geni.com and major overhaul of the software to ensure stability and reliabilty. The system is broken but nobody seems to know how to fix it or even admit how badly it is broken.

Biggest Pro: Lots of charts and reports.
Biggest Con: Does not work reliably with larger trees.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by John Hicks,  Jul 23, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have used Family Tree Maker for many years and faithfully upgraded as each new program came out. I have also upgraded my computers to have more memory and speed. Until recently I thought that Family Tree Maker was excellent. I would have given it a 4. It still required better and more control features for its many powerful features, such as publishing, etc. .I adapted when they changed its interface. Now I am disappointed that no steps have been taken to fix pervasive and widely known problems, which almost everyone on this site has experienced. Until this is fixed, I would give it a 0.

My program says that it has stopped working and that it will not open because it was not properly closed. Then the program keeps reverting to a 2010 version which will not link to my data. I have not been able to access my extensive data base for months. I keep following the suggested fixes without success.

Biggest Pro: It’s potential.
Biggest Con: Programming of fixes and improvements to handle contemporary data demands has been seriously neglected. Unless something is done soon this will become a total dud.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by S Leith,  Jul 16, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have spent 10 years researching my family tree, I have over 80,000 people within that tree. Recently I had the desire to print out my information, The Gedcom software, is a complete waste of time and money and effort, it does not allow you to print out more that 10 generations, it does NOT print out the charts that are listed. When trying to find assistance, there is very little back up service.

THINK TWICE BEFORE YOU WASTE YOUR TIME ON THIS SYSTEM.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by John Palmer,  Jul 15, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have 2012 version and found it very difficult to use and navigate so I upgraded to version 14 which is equally useless. I found the 2006 version simple and so easy and clear that is why I bought the later versions.
I have now tried Family Historian which so far is superb and much much easier and friendly to use..
Don’t waste money on Family Tree Maker now!

Biggest Pro: Nothing
Biggest Con: Almost impossible to understand and navigate.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Bob,  Jul 15, 2015

Not Rated

I have about 20 years of research loaded into FTM Version 11 and can’t print or export reports/trees without the program crashing. I know there is a problem with the program running on a 64 bit system but Ancestry.com should get off the lazy A**ES and fix the problem!

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Can’t print or export reports on a 64 bit system.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Gaila Limeberry,  Jul 12, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Version 16 was the easiest to use of all the rest. Please bring that version back….

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Hard to use

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Rhonda Hendricks,  Jul 10, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

it just keeps shutting down

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Brian,  Jul 7, 2015

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I’m using FTM 2014 with the latest updates. The program is adequate except for two MAJOR issues. First, I have been shocked at how many times I get program errors, and get thrown out of the software. The software is just flat not reliable. Second, the mapping of data fields between FTM and Ancestry.com is poor, and the number of problems synching up the two seems outrageous to me (yes I am a very frustrated user). While they are both by the same company, the two software development team clearly don’t talk to each other.

I do like the way you can list all the sources and the citations in various ways. But I think the tools to help you build citations are very crude. If you’re trying to follow Evidence Explained standards, this may not be the software for you.

Biggest Pro: Managing sources and citations
Biggest Con: Syncing with Ancestry.com, lots of bugs

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Bob G,  Jul 1, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

FTM 2014 and earlier versions have been fine. I have been using it since the beginning of time. They are not real good at updating the software with fixes. They do ok for about 3 months after the new version comes out and then start working on the next version. Anytime Microsoft comes out with a new version for example Windows 10 then you will see some compatibility issues until after the release. They will not respond to any requests for updates or information. The software itself works well and syncs with Ancestry.com. I have never had issues during an upgrade and they will help you if you reach out to them with any upgrade issues. They want it to work well for you. One thing to watch out for is don’t do upgrades online and in FTM at the same time. It is better to work in one area and I really prefer the web when I am paying for a subscription and then sync to FTM. When I am not paying for the subscription then I just update FTM with details and media and when I start paying again I just sync the local FTM again and move back to the web. I have had broken sync issues if I try to do too much in both at the same time which makes sense. Recover is no fun by the way.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use and well thought out interface
Biggest Con: You get stuck having to upgrade ever year or two just to keep it working.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Mark G.,  Jun 30, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Its funny how a lot of the negative comments sound like they were written by the same person. Some of the recent comments are even written by people who say that they don’t even have the newer version of FTM. Hmmm …. Funny. Just saying…

Biggest Pro: intuitive, ease of data entry and retrieval
Biggest Con: a bit slow at times

*** Moderator’s note: Please do not add your opinion of other comments. Please just give your own review. This is a review site, and is not a forum for flame wars. See the FAQ.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Lisa,  Jun 29, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Just spent all day trying to download familytree 2014. http://www.novadevelopment.com/ your service sucks.
Recieved my liciense and after I entered it says that it can not connect to the remote service. Tried turning off my firewall. No help. After waiting another 30 mins for someone at Nova to answer they could only offer a refund. I took it. So frustrating.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Pamela,  Jun 29, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Such a shame on the reviews. I had an older version that I cannot even open now, and I wanted to renew to a current version.
I will not be buying this program. Like I said, it really is a shame because we could all benefit (even the developers) from having a good program. What a waste!

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: Why waste your programming talents to make software that isn’t good?

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Christopher,  Jun 29, 2015

Not Rated

I cannot review the current version as I have not updated since the 2011 version. Too scared! I have used FTM since 2004 updating up to and including 2011. The 2006 version was the best in my opinion. I have some 4000 names on my tree. In 2011, after the update, I would choose a name in the index and the tree would not populate. After my years of work…..!!!! Purely by accident I discovered if I put a question mark in the father or mother field then deleting this “person” I could then reselect their child and the tree would now be populated.
Also in the 2006 version I had all my photographs in chronological order with dates and comments. All this “went out the window” in subsequent updates. A lot of work “down the drain”.

Biggest Pro: First versions simple and intuitive. Seems a common theme from many reviews below.
Biggest Con: Now unwieldy. Plus thought I had lost all my data on my last upgrade in 2011.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by RMK,  Jun 27, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Constantly freezes and crashes. It is horribly slow. I delete the configuration every time I open it and it still crashes. I can’t upload to the FTM site because my file is too big. Just awful!

Biggest Con: freezes constantly, slow, takes forever to enter information

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by patricia,  Jun 24, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

has giving me a great knowledge of my family.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by David,  Jun 22, 2015

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I have been using FTM 2014 since Oct 2014 and like many of the features. I have a large volume of persons in the file. My major complaint is the speed/performance. I have found that using the “go offline” improves the performance. In online mode, it is unusable due to response time. I don’t attempt to keep any ancestry files synched.

Biggest Pro: Calculation and real time computing of relationships
Biggest Con: Speed

Show 21-40 »