Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry

by Ancestry.com
In 2016, Ancestry sold Family Tree Maker to Software MacKiev. Please only review Ancestry versions of Family Tree Maker here. Go to the Family Tree Maker page for Software MacKiev to review releases that started in March 2016. There is also a Mac version.

Ancestry completely rewrote Family Tree Maker in 2008 and it was very different than its previous incarnation. Use this entry to review Ancestry’s newer version, and use the FTM Up To Version 16 entry to review the versions prior to the rewrite.

Unsupported • Windows • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://web.archive.org/web/20150207071808/http://www.ancestry.com/cs/a...
Overall5421.92 out of 51.92 out of 51.92 out of 51.92 out of 51.92 out of 5 1.92
2016442.11 out of 52.11 out of 52.11 out of 52.11 out of 52.11 out of 5 2.11
20151622.1 out of 52.1 out of 52.1 out of 52.1 out of 52.1 out of 5 2.10
Earlier3361.5 out of 51.5 out of 51.5 out of 51.5 out of 51.5 out of 5 1.50

Add Your Review of Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

542 Reviews of Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by Paul Clarke,  Nov 29, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Total garbage. Moved to a new PC and it will not allow me to download Ancestry tree. Went to their “Help” page., problem not listed and NO contacts available. Ancestry not interested as they sold off FTM.

I will have nothing to do with any software from this shower and I will be cancelling my ancestry subscription after deleting all my data.

I’ve only rated this one star because there is nothing lower.

Biggest Pro: There isn’t one
Biggest Con: Doesn’t work, no help, obviously couldn’t care less about customer support.

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by Sheila Winn,  Nov 18, 2016

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

A lot harder to use that earlier versons. I updated in 2010 bought that version and have struggled with the program since. I am afraid I am going to lose all the trees I have so since there is no one in my area to help me I just left it alone. Is there somewhere I can get some help?
Thanks
Sheila

Biggest Con: navigating

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by Joanne Johnston,  Nov 17, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Apparently I have to order a new 2014 version of family tree or its compatible program. I have a computer which I added Windows 10 for free and Family Tree 12 worked great.

Then I purchased a new computer which already had windows 10 and I tried to transfer my 2012 to my new computer. I still have not been able to transfer the data from my old computer to my new computer.

I called about 6 months ago and they said I would have to purchase the new 2014 version or reput 2012 version with my disks, however I had purchased the downloaded version, bad mistake.

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by Wiliam,  Oct 31, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

MacKiev does not appear to have a fix to convert and compact files in FTM 2012 so they can become compatible with FTM 2014.1. When I purchased FTM 2012.1 I was assured that it worked with Windows 10. Now, after spending several hours with a MacKiev rep. I cannot open compact and covert files in FTM 2012.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Just does not work.

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by Marie Payne,  Oct 13, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I am SO very, very angry!!! I cannot retrieve over 30 years of hard work! I did not ask for Windows 10 it just appeared and now In cannot open any of my files. PLEASE can anyone advise me on how to get my files back?

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by Sharolyn,  Oct 11, 2016

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I have 2008. It was working fine now it just say’s it has stopped working. I can not get it to open. I had over 3000 names and now what do I do.

Biggest Pro: easy to use
Biggest Con: crashed

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by mary,  Aug 29, 2016

Not Rated

i have FTM 2011 and it was working just fine on my new computer with windows 10 now it does dont open and at and states it is working on a solutions=, this has been going on for 5 days. it is now aug 29, 2016 and i am frustrated. how can i get to my files.

Biggest Pro: there is none
Biggest Con: you have to keep purchasing updates, which such

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by Bibi,  Aug 22, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I have FTM 2014 and Windows 10…. no problems.

Biggest Pro: Ability to research on line from software
Biggest Con: Uncertain future now not supported by Ancestry.com

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by T Reese,  Aug 22, 2016

Not Rated

I have FTM 2014, down loaded it, all information and media worked, but recently, when I hit a family file , it keeps crashing, never opening, I bought FTM 2014 off of EBAY:, it worked fantastic for three months, and when I try to cancel Ancestry.com it clobbered by info on FTM 2014 from opening up, I put it on disc, tried opening it up, and zero family tree, it shows a blue bar and says
“not responding” and a small window, that says “Stop working” …. luckily it only cost me 16 bucks. Just going to have to purchase the newer version, I don’t want to down load it and watch it crash to. So, I salvaged my subscription with all my family date intact. I guess if you try to cancel, they put something in your FTM 14 to jam it .

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by Erdeslau,  Aug 16, 2016

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

In response to the previous comment, the 2014 Version of FTM is certainly compatible with Windows 10, but I’m not sure whether all earlier versions work fully.

Of course, versions earlier than 2014, are unlikely to receive any further updates, which is understandable, so if something else in a ‘new’ or updated software breaks functions in FTM 2012 then it’s unlikely that a ‘fix’ will be provided.

Biggest Pro: I works (Syncs) with the Ancestry Website
Biggest Con: For anything other than research Ancestry’s databases for source material, I find that it is clunky and complex to use in comparison to the main competitors products. It is also constrained by having an encrypted database and in terms of the limited flexibity of its output options.

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by Adrienne,  Aug 15, 2016

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

It’s not compatible with windows 10, so I can’t use it n ynew laptop

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by Florence M. Beese,  Aug 1, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

i Have windows 7 and family tree maker 2010. A father that are not related or connected in any way is shown as my father’s father. I have detached and deleted it don’t help. Please help me

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by Nan,  Jul 15, 2016

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I have been using FTM for several years, the latest being FTM14. I run it on a PC with windows 10 and it runs fine and syncs quickly to Ancestry.

I did learn the hard way that the media fields in Ancestry do not match up 1 to 1 on FTM14. After doing a lot of research and entering in Ancestry, then syncing, I found that all my media source info didn’t follow. To solve the problem, in Ancestry I enter all data into the description field. I still don’t understand why it’s not a 1 to 1 match, since both were the same company.

Biggest Pro: Sync to Ancestry
Biggest Con: Media source fields not 1 to 1 match with Ancestry

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by Roderick Brentnall,  Jul 3, 2016

Not Rated

I would not suggest this piece of garbage for anyone who wants to keep records of their family history. It freezes, loses data including notes. If you merge something be guaranteed it will double the same information. If you’re a basic computer user this program will do nothing less than stress you out. 2005 - 2016. All junk!

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Yep! Biggest con.

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by Phillips,  Jun 20, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

It is difficult to use and cumbersome … for the average user who is only interested in “simple” … there are more “bells and whistles” then needed….

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by Shirley arrett,  Jun 11, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I am trying to reinstall FTM14 with MacKiev. I have paid $10 to have a D mailed to me, but keep getting the notice that the number given to me will not work (KTMRPWIN6) What to do?

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by Georgia,  Jun 11, 2016

Not Rated

I have Windows 10 and new software . Works fine for me..

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by H. Larry Harper,  Jun 6, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

It sucks. Only reason they got a 1 was because that was the lowest i could check. My files will not load to my computer. The FBK and FTW files will not load to my computer without going on line and paying money to look up and load a program that will open these file extensions. To say we sold the company and it is no longer our problem after I can not access the hours and hours of files is not a good solution. The files are on my Western Digital Backup drive, I just can not open them. I am looking for a allternative to Family Tree Maker. If Ancestry bought it out then i hold them accountable as well.

Biggest Pro: none, it will not load to my computer
Biggest Con: It sucks. Would nto use their product if they paid me.

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by henry,  May 17, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Im the auther, im the truest believer

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by Gill Greef,  Apr 29, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I can’t understand the complaint regarding Windows 10. We use Windows 10 and FTM 2014 works perfectly normally.

Show 21-40 »