Family Tree Maker - Current Version

by Ancestry.com
The current version of Family Tree Maker is followed by its release year, e.g. 2012. It was completely rewritten in 2008 and is very different than its previous incarnation. There is also a Mac version. They have a Family Tree Maker category in their blog. Use this entry to review the current version, and use the FTM Up To Version 16 entry to review the versions prior to the rewrite.

Purchase • Windows • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://www.familytreemaker.com/
Overall2981.5 out of 51.5 out of 51.5 out of 51.5 out of 51.5 out of 5 1.50
20141181.31 out of 51.31 out of 51.31 out of 51.31 out of 51.31 out of 5 1.31
2013481.97 out of 51.97 out of 51.97 out of 51.97 out of 51.97 out of 5 1.97
Earlier1322.26 out of 52.26 out of 52.26 out of 52.26 out of 52.26 out of 5 2.26

Add Your Review of Family Tree Maker - Current Version

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

298 Reviews of Family Tree Maker - Current Version     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by K Curtis,  34 min. ago

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I was seduced into buying 2014 after having used FTM 2008 since it’s inception. What a terrible mistake - ‘not responding’ at every action, adding existing media is a nightmare as it takes an age to reveal. It’s hard on the eye, missing media etc etc etc. I spent 3 days on it and I didn’t even get as far as syncing with Ancestry as it was so unresponsive and I just didn’t trust what it might do! I’ve uninstalled it and reverted back to my simple 2008 version. If you are happy with your old system then stick with it, don’t waste your money on this pile of poo! ‘If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it’

Biggest Pro: Can’t think of one…
Biggest Con: Yes, it is a big con! Don’t fall for it, it’s a pup!

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Mark Murphy,  3 days ago

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I had been using Family Tree Maker for years and years. It had always been very intuitive with beautiful and simple screens, easy to create trees and reports, and flawless operation. It had everything a genealogist needed and would need into the future. There was no reason to make any changes to it unless you thought, like Microsoft, that the way to greater profits was to rewrite the software so that users would have to “upgrade” to something that was obscure and dysfunctional. If you have been a longtime victim of Microsoft and have watched what has happened for example with Excel, you know what I am talking about. I bought a new laptop, a 64 bit machine with Windows 7 and quickly discovered that my FTM would not run on a 64 bit machine. I had to upgrade to FTM 2014. What a mess! The screen is so complicated and so covered with little type and little sub-windows that you have no idea what you are looking at. I tried it out for several weeks and decided this is a piece of junk. I also owned Legacy and it comes close to being what FTM was when it was a quality program. I switched to Legacy and I have abandoned FTM, and unless some miracle happened I won’t be using it again. Just read the reviews here and you will see what must be the lowest rated software product ever seen.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Design is a mess, very unintuitive, not trustworthy. DON’T BUY FTM.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Frank Hale,  6 days ago

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I was using FTM 16 and found it satisfactory until I purchased a new computer with Windows 8.1, another mistake. The FTM 16 did not function properly with 8.1. When I contacted Ancestry their only solution was FTM 2014 which I purchased and installed. When I try to open some of the books I had I get the message.

” This book was imported from an older Family Tree Maker file. There may be reports and charts that are missing. Because of differences between the old and new formats, book items may not include the same formatting or in some cases, the same data. The book import is intended to give you a template from which to recreate your pre-existing book.

This text item was added during import and should be deleted because it was not part of the book.”

Why would anyone want to re-create what they already had? Not only are photos missing, but the format of the screen is not as intuitive as previous version and more steps are required to enter data. Some of the photos that were included in the FTM 16 files did not transfer, only the name or description. I now have to go back into my personal files to find them and re-install them in the update. I cannot go back to 16 as the search feature is no longer supported. Would not buy again. Sometimes less is really more.

Biggest Pro: Easy search for hints and similar family trees
Biggest Con: Loss of data, difficult and more complicated to use. Requires more steps in data entry

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Monie,  6 days ago

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I hate it.

I really loved the older versions of FTM. It has long been the best genealogy software. FTM 14 is not user friendly at all, and crashes about 10 times every day using Windows 8.1 even with all the updates and fixes installed. Hate it hate it hate it.

Biggest Pro: Auto sync to tree online and error checking
Biggest Con: Everything else, especially the crowded screen layouts and tiny font (even the option to enlarge the font is still small compared to older versions)

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Sandy Kat,  Oct 10, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have been using Family Tree Maker for years, latest version was the 2011. Then I purchased the 2014. DON’T BUY IT!! It says it doesn’t overwrite your former version. True. What it does is change all your former saved FTM files into the 2014 version, deletes any photos you had on your former version and does not carry them over to the 2014 version. My sources listed on the 2011 FTM were mixed up AND I AM VERY UNHAPPY!!! If you purchase the 2014 FTM you’re in for headaches and an extended time of recovery and replacement. A true waste of money.

Biggest Pro: There are none.
Biggest Con: Everything about it.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Myrna bailey,  Oct 7, 2014

Not Rated

I have gym 6 have no problem with it
Now I can’t get serch web
They say it’s because they have cancallec the older version
I now would have to upgrade which after reading some of these problems is kindv,e scary
What shall I do I’m an older lady with little who finds all this hard to understand
So I need help myrna bailey

Biggest Pro: FTC 6

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Glen Waring,  Sep 30, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I purchased Treemaker some years ago and a new disk 2012 however on purchasing an upgrade 2012 found it had glitches and my program would crash. So purchased the new 2014 Deluxe Treemaker. On loading I found a raft of issues such as missing text, stalling of program, $100 spent and still not able to download a tree as it stalls and requires a complete reboot. The support staff keep suggesting I do the work and send them screen shots and uninstall, reinstall reboot etc which I have done. Last year when I ordered Update 2012 on line, they lost the order, the money was debited and no one could be bothered to send a receipt via email or an order number, phoning didn’t help as ended up in USA when the order was processed in UK or France.. following it up until finally the head of sales followed it up and sent me the disk. Took months! Is almost a month since I ordered Treemaker 2014 and still cant get it to load. Although I backed up my files, come time to load, it stated a corrupt file so lost the tree entirely after years of work.

Biggest Pro: Did have great descendants reports which could be printed and link to website
Biggest Con: Download links don’t work, glitches, patches required for NEW programs. Screen freezes. Bonus memberships don’t register.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Julie,  Sep 30, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Trying to update from FTM 2011. The first download installed, opened and then crashed. I’ve talked to tech support a couple of times and tried several downloads and a disk. I keep getting the same error message. C:\PROGRA~3\{3F06E~1\Family Tree Maker – Files\951C9513\8488E27\msvcr100.dll, They keep giving me solutions that don’t work. They don’t seem to be interested in what the error message is. Something is obviously missing and they just want me to keep turning things on the computer off and on. I’ve never had a problem loading a program before. Something is wrong with FTM 2014.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Jill,  Sep 24, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

When it works, it is great. But after a week of trying every fix listed, I want my money back.

Biggest Pro: Point and Click
Biggest Con: Doesn’t work

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Sharon Morgan,  Sep 24, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I am SO SORRY I upgraded to FTM2014. It DOES NOT WORK. It has DESTROYED 30 years worth of family trees. Ancestry.com support does not know how to fix it. DO NOT BUY IT!

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Does not work.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by chicoles36,  Sep 22, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

FTM 14 is so awkward, unintuitive and complex compared with FTM 16 I am sorry I “upgraded.” it is a definite loser.

Biggest Pro: Auto sync
Biggest Con: Not user-friendly. Stricktly for people who have lots of time to relearn how to use FTM

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Wendy O'Keeffe,  Sep 22, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Thank you for all these reviews. You have saved me the expense and effort of upgrading. I have used Family Tree Maker since it’s first edition, upgrading every few years. The last time I upgraded was to the 2011 version and I was so disappointed that I’ve hardly ever used it. The main problem is the lack of choices to customise charts. I thought the latest version may have improved but now I see it is even worse. I will be looking for a different programme now.

Biggest Con: Lack of chart customisation features.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Vanita,  Sep 21, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I am very disappointed in 2014. I have had nothing but headaches. None of the media will link to the people. All you get is links to read instead of fixing the problem. The people are not much help and really do not know how to answer your questions. I hope I haven’t lost everything. I am going to reinstall 2012 and hope that it will link to it. This is one sorry program and has some major issues.

Biggest Pro: NOTHING
Biggest Con: DON’T BUY

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Rose,  Sep 13, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I got a new computer and couldn’t find my disks for my old

Family tree maker vs 10, so I bought the 2014 version. I hate it. It’s really hard to see what you have and where to find it. My pictures didnt all transfer over. I don’t like the reports that are available and there are not many options to make a custom report.

I’m thinking of switching to a different program, but am not sure what would be a good one.

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: screen views and reports.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by RC,  Sep 13, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

It has now ruined my 40,000 person database built up over 20 years. I should have stayed away but the link with ancestry.com was too tempting. Stay away from this program. Competent support is apparently unavailable.

Biggest Pro: Easy access to ancestry.com.
Biggest Con: No useful search function. It is incredibly slow. Most importantly, it has more bugs than an anthill.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Daphne Gawne,  Sep 12, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have used Family Tree Maker ever since its first version. 2010 was a disappointment and 2014 is worse. It does not have a useful search feature. It is difficult to use. Now that he excellent search feature of Family Tree Maker 16 has been discontinued, I will start looking for new software.

Biggest Con: search feature

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Maggie,  Sep 7, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

FTM 2014 has taken the pleasure out of researching. It is too complicated and not easy to view progress.

Whoever designed this latest FTM obviously is not au fait with how genealogy works.

Please revert to the previous ‘user friendly’ system - BIG PLEASE

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Modus Operandi too complicated and not well structured. Please reconsider reverting back and make FTM enjoyable again.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Jan Connell,  Sep 6, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Very unhappy with Family Tree Maker Deluxe 2014. I wasted money buying it. It does not update as required. Each time there is a key stroke, I receive “not responding” - which makes it impossible to use this software. I wish I had read the reviews before purchasing. Help desk was not able to help at all. This is a software issue and not an user issue. Computer works with all other software application.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Does not work!

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Simon,  Sep 6, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I work as a programmer, and am amazed that this software was ever released - the glitches and problems put it in ‘beta’ testing at best.
I’ve had to help my partner (who isn’t tech savvy) every night of the last 2 weeks. And the ‘fixes’ shouldn’t be anywhere near as involved as they are - certainly not for the average user, who won’t want to be bothered with clean boots, deleting folder contents etc etc.
If this software was free, then maybe you could forgive the constant crashes etc - but it isn’t and it’s awful. I certainly wouldn’t trust my family history on such a bug ridden piece of software.

Biggest Pro: The ability to sync with Ancestry
Biggest Con: Everything else about the software

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Ian,  Sep 5, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Like the other users of here I have successfully used Family Tree Maker for many years without issue. Upgrading to FTM 2014 was the worst thing I have ever done and a total waste of money. No matter what you do it will not let you install the updates required to make it work. Their support desk is no help.

Biggest Con: Total rubbish - do not buy it.

Show 21-40 »