Family Tree Maker - Current Version

by Ancestry.com
The current version of Family Tree Maker is followed by its release year, e.g. 2012. It was completely rewritten in 2008 and is very different than its previous incarnation. There is also a Mac version. They have a Family Tree Maker category in their blog. Use this entry to review the current version, and use the FTM Up To Version 16 entry to review the versions prior to the rewrite.

Purchase • Windows • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://www.familytreemaker.com/
Overall2661.65 out of 51.65 out of 51.65 out of 51.65 out of 51.65 out of 5 1.65
2014861.42 out of 51.42 out of 51.42 out of 51.42 out of 51.42 out of 5 1.42
2013481.97 out of 51.97 out of 51.97 out of 51.97 out of 51.97 out of 5 1.97
Earlier1322.26 out of 52.26 out of 52.26 out of 52.26 out of 52.26 out of 5 2.26

Add Your Review of Family Tree Maker - Current Version

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

266 Reviews of Family Tree Maker - Current Version     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Janealogy,  Jul 22, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I’ve been using FTM for many years, I have upgraded many times. Each time have reverted back to 2005.
My problems were, lack of ease using the newer programs, my embeded scrapbook files were not transfered over in gedcom, many names would not transfered over. I’m using Vista, which I’m hanging on to for as long as possible!
I did find a way to transfer all my embeded media and all the names some 16,000. Did not lose one! purchased a tablet for going overseas and needed a genealogy program to access all my material on the tablet. I downloaded the free version of The Master Genealogist. You will have to read up when transfering your files, what program you are using eg FTM 2012 etc. I saved them to gedcom and making sure I clicked transfer media files or what ever they list. The full gedcom was transfered over, ready for me to put on my app program. The Master genealogist will be a way not to lose any of your data to transfer to what ever program you are using. If other programs can do this why can FTM? some may like the Master Genealogist, I found it to be an updated version of the old PAF program. No bells and Whistles, simple.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Fix the issues with earlier programs before releasing another with more problems

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Bill Fraser,  Jul 15, 2014

Not Rated

Just switched from FTM 2005 to 2014 and find that the Genealogy Report does not include facts ie Baptism, wedding facts, cause of death, and others etc. I feel this is important info that should be included in the Genealogy report. FTM 2014 is %$##$*&.

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: too complicated

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Bill Fraser,  Jul 12, 2014

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I have just switched fro FTM 2005 to FTM 2014 (my 3rd (version) and find it more user confusing than user friendly. This may be since I missed versions between 05 and 14. To me if I was brand new to FTM I would be in trouble. However as time passes I will get use to 14. I find citing sources more confusing than 05 version. Too many bells and whistles when you open it up. But I guess that’s progress.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Total Frustration,  Jul 8, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have used Family Tree Maker Software ever since it was invented and reordered every time a new version came out. Version 16 was wonderful with XP and worked perfectly. Version 9 sucked because it dropped off records.
My last purchase was Version 2014. What a boo-boo. It’s slow as Christmas starting up. Every time I bring it up the INDEX will work only for 2 or three clicks, then the program crashes. The filter refuses to work at all. If you click on the filter, a screen comes up and I select ‘include all’. Within a minute, the program crashes again.
I can be working on a person and suddenly I get a message ‘not responding’, then it crashes again. Sometimes it just freezes up.
I am a veteran user of FTW so I know what I am doing and I am more than well versed in computer knowhow. This 2014 version is a piece of junk. You need to either fix all the bugs or give people their money back.

Biggest Pro: None. It has too many bugs and doesn’t work as intended
Biggest Con: Slow, unresponsive, crashing, a piece of junk to bilk customers out of money

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Wendy,  Jul 4, 2014

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I moved over from Legacy Family Tree to FTM 2014 mainly because of the syncing with Ancestry and being able to keep my data in Ancestry as a backup. Well that’s working to expectation but my beef with the software is the slowness in which it starts up, the constant “not responding” and the freezing when adding new data which most of the time can only be solved by shutting the software down via the Task Manager.
I’m using it on both a Win7 laptop and a Win8 desktop with high specs. The only way I can combat these annoyances is to go “offline” which stops the software from constantly trying to search Ancestry for links or whatever it does.
Funny enough that I thought Legacy was getting too big for it’s boots with Legacy 8!
RootMagic is starting to look rather good!

Biggest Pro: Syncing with Ancestry.com.au
Biggest Con: Slowness, unresponsive, crashing

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Barry P.,  Jul 3, 2014

Not Rated

After I’ve read your reviews below, I feel my suspicions are confirmed that Ancestry.com has taken over the world of Genealogy. My genealogy is locked up in a Family Tree Maker, version 2006 data file that I feel I may never be able to access again, either at all or in part. My confidence in the world of genealogy has been shaken. I’m not sure what else to say?

Biggest Pro: None.
Biggest Con: Genealogy has been hi-jacked by Ancestry.com, and/or affiliates.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Martyn,  Jul 3, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

This is the worst software experience I have ever encountered. I have used Family Tree Maker for many years only updating when ‘forced’ to by Ancestry as I only really wanted somewhere to store the data and print simple trees. The last version I have been using on my old XP computer was FTM 2008. When XP expired I had to buy a new Windows 8.1 computer and Ancestry told me 2008 was not compatible with this and I had to buy 2014 to see my old files. Having followed their advice it just doesn’t work and they either can’t or won’t assist me. I have asked for my money back but even if I do eventually get it I still have the problem of how to access my own data. Fortunately I have kept the old XP machine so I am wondering if there is any third party software out there which can process the old FTM backup files into some intelligible form?

Biggest Pro: None what so ever
Biggest Con: No simple upgrade path to enable conversion of years of FTM data.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Brenda,  Jul 3, 2014

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

The program is more time consuming, has a lot of not responding issues…I like the old 2005 program, was simple and easy to read..2014 text is smaller and difficult to read…do not like it..

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: none

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Terri,  Jun 30, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I just started using FTM 2014 recently because I had to buy a new computer. FTM 2014 is the pits as it way too complicated for a simpleton like me. Why couldn’t they keep it simple like FTM 2005 which is on my old computer and will remain in use just because it is simple.

I want my genealogy report to be simple like FTM 2005 - not a lot of stuff in it that I don’t want to print. I want to be able to select what I want included and what generation to start with when I separate the groups.

Biggest Pro: None that I can find
Biggest Con: Too complicated.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Malcolm,  Jun 29, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Have use FTM 2012 since it came out with no problems have just tried to upgrade to FTM 2014 that did not work properly so cost me money for nothing.
So purchased a full copy which has the same problems in that it will dot perform the required update I just get “Failure opening New FileC:\Programme file\Family Tree Maker 2014\ RTA 21211 with the end number changing have had 40621 and 69050.
After this it will not open so I have to uninstall and reinstall done this 4 time now same problem it is a complete con.

Biggest Pro: None as it does not work properly
Biggest Con: FTM 2014 is unuasable

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by John,  Jun 26, 2014

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Apparently after the Windows update of 6/16 and after the Ancestry site crash, my copy of FTM 2014 will not connect to the network. Reloading the software made it worse since the media connection failed due to no internet connection. Could be FTM2014 issue or it is affected by the 6/16 windows update. I am running Windows 7.1 with current updates on a Toshiba A505 with lots of memory. Have used FTM for a years and all my data files are converted to it, not real happy about now. Anybody have any ideas how wake up FTM2014 or how to convert my file to some form I can get to them.

Biggest Pro: Used FTM for years and found it great, FTM2014 good until this happened
Biggest Con: No easy way to convert current data files to some other system, way too much work involved

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Laura,  Jun 21, 2014

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Does anyone have a solution for the ” There is not enough memory left to generate your book” error? I just upgraded last week from FTM16. I had to upgrade because FTM 16 was no longer going to work with search in ancestry after July 31, 2014. I transferred my file & photos (working fine in 16) to FTM 2014, then had to pull the photos back into my book, then realized that 2014 has spouse order scrambled, so worked on that (I know I haven’t corrected all of these yet, did call ancestry about spouse order to find out that they had to be done individually). Then when I finished getting my pages in order, I clicked on ‘Table of Contents’ & get nothing but the error ” There is not enough memory left to generate your book”. Well I did a google search, I see that there are MANY more with the same issue!!! Called tech dept, no solution, they are sending error ticket to someone higher up who will send me an email. I am running Windows Home Premium 64, 4 G memory, AMD Turion II dual core processor. Did the compact files, go offline, FTM only thing open, same error. Very sluggish moving from things, spins takes forever to load. I have not added anything new to the file, just reorganizing what was imported. I started with FTM back in the 90’s with version 3.1. and have a loyal customer for 20+ years. I am so disappointed….

Biggest Pro: FTM has been great over the years!!
Biggest Con: FTM 2014 has too many bugs, doesn’t work, very sluggish…

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Lorrie,  Jun 20, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Software freezes many times per use. It is extremely frustrating to find new facts and be unable to enter them because the FTM 2014 is either frozen or reloading. I have a large family file, but the program should be able to handle it. It also crashes with my smaller family files.

Biggest Pro: Sometimes can sync with Ancestry tree.
Biggest Con: Functionally unusable.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by G. Maryland,  Jun 20, 2014

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Software often crashes or locks up. Screen size jumps from partial screen to full screen and back unprompted. Now, like other people here, it has no access to the internet for about the past week. I am paying monthly for this access and will be asking for a refund this month. Maybe if everyone else does too then they will fix the problem.

Biggest Pro: decent reports
Biggest Con: buggy

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Chris Gynn,  Jun 20, 2014

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I use FTM2012 with Windows 7 Home Edition. My PC has 8Mb RAM. No probs for 2 years, but now FTM2012 takes about 2 minutes to load and I get a symbol (top right beside the leaf) which suggests not connected to the internet. My FTM 2012 tree is now missing about 30 people which I have added to Ancestry.co.uk but cannot synch. any ideas? PC working fine otherwise.

Biggest Pro: Has, until now been a useful, offline backup to Ancestry.Media reports are useful.
Biggest Con: Only this current problem-unable to go on-line

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Sandra,  Jun 20, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I knew there was a reason I kept my old laptop which uses XP! FTM 2006 works perfectly on it. My complaints about FTM 2006 are minor. I had to purchase a new computer and it’s OS is Windows 8.1. What a royal pain!
I tried my friends FTM 16 on the Windows 8.1 and all it did was crash. This would be a laugh if it wasn’t so serious to me. I have 20 years of research on a program that is no longer supported by Ancestry and cannot be successfully transferred to FTM 14 or FTM 16 and is installed on a perfectly good laptop that uses the now obsolete & unsupported Windows XP.

Biggest Pro: There simply are no pros. It’s bloated junk!
Biggest Con: Forcing it’s customers to buy the updated version with the “promise” of being newer & better when it’s a piece of frustrating junk!

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by eleanola,  Jun 20, 2014

Not Rated

re “There is no connection to the Internet or a firewall is preventing connection.”
: i read somewhere that although the main ancestry site is back up and running, their sister sites, including family tree maker, are still screened off while they continuwe working on the problems.
It really is infuriating

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Rob,  Jun 20, 2014

Not Rated

This is the 5th day of Error “There is no connection to the Internet or a firewall is preventing connection.”
The laughable part of this error, is that I can load ancestry.ca on the Web Search tab, and I can cut and paste from Ancestry.ca using the web search tab but all the while - Family Tree Maker is insisting that there is no internet connection. Looks like it’s back to PAF 5.1 for me.

Biggest Pro: The promise of great software
Biggest Con: The reality of this crap.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Robert M,  Jun 18, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Family Tree Maker 2014 is by far the worse genealogy software program to date, by the generations network.

This message will eventually cause you nothing but frustration.

Error “There is no connection to the Internet or a firewall is preventing connection.”

there is a connection to the Internet and the connection is not being blocked by a firewall. Doesn’t matter if you suspend firewalls either..

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Crap software, PIS.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Linda,  Jun 16, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

As I was still using FTM16 (and loving it except for maxing out the file size allowed), I was forced to upgrade if I wanted to continue with FTM. After a certain day in July FTM16 will not longer work with Ancestry. FTM2014 is total crap! I have only been using it for about a month and it has already crashed more than FTM16 did all the years I used it! Today it is telling me I am not connected to the internet or my firewall is blocking access. Bull!! I do have an internet connection and I have set my firewall to allow FTM access and I wasn’t having a problem yesterday… until it crashed of course! I just cannot say anything good about this problem. If you are considering buying it, please take the time to read all you can about the problems everyone is having with it. You may save yourself a lot of time, money, frustration and heartbreak if it trashes your files, as it probably will. Best of luck to all who have struggled with this inferior program!

Biggest Pro: Not one thing is “pro” regarding this program
Biggest Con: Can’t keep it from crashing so I guess that’s the “biggest” con

Show 21-40 »