Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry

by Ancestry.com
In 2016, Ancestry sold Family Tree Maker to Software MacKiev. Please only review Ancestry versions of Family Tree Maker here. Go to the Family Tree Maker page for Software MacKiev to review releases that started in March 2016. There is also a Mac version.

Ancestry completely rewrote Family Tree Maker in 2008 and it was very different than its previous incarnation. Use this entry to review Ancestry’s newer version, and use the FTM Up To Version 16 entry to review the versions prior to the rewrite.

Unsupported • Windows • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://web.archive.org/web/20150207071808/http://www.ancestry.com/cs/a...
Overall5351.9 out of 51.9 out of 51.9 out of 51.9 out of 51.9 out of 5 1.90
2016372.09 out of 52.09 out of 52.09 out of 52.09 out of 52.09 out of 5 2.09
20151622.1 out of 52.1 out of 52.1 out of 52.1 out of 52.1 out of 5 2.10
Earlier3361.5 out of 51.5 out of 51.5 out of 51.5 out of 51.5 out of 5 1.50

Add Your Review of Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

535 Reviews of Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by Bibi,  4 days ago

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I have FTM 2014 and Windows 10…. no problems.

Biggest Pro: Ability to research on line from software
Biggest Con: Uncertain future now not supported by Ancestry.com

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by T Reese,  5 days ago

Not Rated

I have FTM 2014, down loaded it, all information and media worked, but recently, when I hit a family file , it keeps crashing, never opening, I bought FTM 2014 off of EBAY:, it worked fantastic for three months, and when I try to cancel Ancestry.com it clobbered by info on FTM 2014 from opening up, I put it on disc, tried opening it up, and zero family tree, it shows a blue bar and says
“not responding” and a small window, that says “Stop working” …. luckily it only cost me 16 bucks. Just going to have to purchase the newer version, I don’t want to down load it and watch it crash to. So, I salvaged my subscription with all my family date intact. I guess if you try to cancel, they put something in your FTM 14 to jam it .

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by Erdeslau,  Aug 16, 2016

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

In response to the previous comment, the 2014 Version of FTM is certainly compatible with Windows 10, but I’m not sure whether all earlier versions work fully.

Of course, versions earlier than 2014, are unlikely to receive any further updates, which is understandable, so if something else in a ‘new’ or updated software breaks functions in FTM 2012 then it’s unlikely that a ‘fix’ will be provided.

Biggest Pro: I works (Syncs) with the Ancestry Website
Biggest Con: For anything other than research Ancestry’s databases for source material, I find that it is clunky and complex to use in comparison to the main competitors products. It is also constrained by having an encrypted database and in terms of the limited flexibity of its output options.

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by Adrienne,  Aug 15, 2016

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

It’s not compatible with windows 10, so I can’t use it n ynew laptop

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by Florence M. Beese,  Aug 1, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

i Have windows 7 and family tree maker 2010. A father that are not related or connected in any way is shown as my father’s father. I have detached and deleted it don’t help. Please help me

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by Nan,  Jul 15, 2016

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I have been using FTM for several years, the latest being FTM14. I run it on a PC with windows 10 and it runs fine and syncs quickly to Ancestry.

I did learn the hard way that the media fields in Ancestry do not match up 1 to 1 on FTM14. After doing a lot of research and entering in Ancestry, then syncing, I found that all my media source info didn’t follow. To solve the problem, in Ancestry I enter all data into the description field. I still don’t understand why it’s not a 1 to 1 match, since both were the same company.

Biggest Pro: Sync to Ancestry
Biggest Con: Media source fields not 1 to 1 match with Ancestry

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by Roderick Brentnall,  Jul 3, 2016

Not Rated

I would not suggest this piece of garbage for anyone who wants to keep records of their family history. It freezes, loses data including notes. If you merge something be guaranteed it will double the same information. If you’re a basic computer user this program will do nothing less than stress you out. 2005 - 2016. All junk!

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Yep! Biggest con.

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by Phillips,  Jun 20, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

It is difficult to use and cumbersome … for the average user who is only interested in “simple” … there are more “bells and whistles” then needed….

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by Shirley arrett,  Jun 11, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I am trying to reinstall FTM14 with MacKiev. I have paid $10 to have a D mailed to me, but keep getting the notice that the number given to me will not work (KTMRPWIN6) What to do?

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by Georgia,  Jun 11, 2016

Not Rated

I have Windows 10 and new software . Works fine for me..

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by H. Larry Harper,  Jun 6, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

It sucks. Only reason they got a 1 was because that was the lowest i could check. My files will not load to my computer. The FBK and FTW files will not load to my computer without going on line and paying money to look up and load a program that will open these file extensions. To say we sold the company and it is no longer our problem after I can not access the hours and hours of files is not a good solution. The files are on my Western Digital Backup drive, I just can not open them. I am looking for a allternative to Family Tree Maker. If Ancestry bought it out then i hold them accountable as well.

Biggest Pro: none, it will not load to my computer
Biggest Con: It sucks. Would nto use their product if they paid me.

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by henry,  May 17, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Im the auther, im the truest believer

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by Gill Greef,  Apr 29, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I can’t understand the complaint regarding Windows 10. We use Windows 10 and FTM 2014 works perfectly normally.

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by jackie Lane,  Apr 17, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I bought my Family Tree Maker version in 2015 I loaded it on my computer it worked for awhile and now I cant get into the programme I reloaded it and still no good . I am not impressed at all just a waste of money I certainly would’t recommend it to anyone.

Biggest Pro: cant use it

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by Anne Nicholson,  Apr 14, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have now used FTM for over many many years and it is an excellent program. I can’t believe Ancestry have now dumped the program after all the millions and millions of dollars they have made out of this program. How much money does Ancestry want? It is nothing but greed and I will never use Ancestry again after this selfish act. Think of all the people you have hoodwinked over the years.

Biggest Con: Nothing but con merchants Ancestry

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by Beverley Reynolds,  Apr 5, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Family Tree maker 2014 WAS a good program. Easy to use and grow my family tree. Unfortunately it is incompatible with Windows 10 so now I am unable to access my tree at all. Very very angry.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use and navigate
Biggest Con: Incompatible with Windows 10 so unusable. Do NOT buy

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by C. Barrow,  Apr 2, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I would like to obtain FTM 2014, please contact me.

Biggest Pro: History log for research
Biggest Con: The need for personal one on one guidance and support

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by Linda Ann Quinn,  Apr 1, 2016

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Can’t pull up my Quinn family

Biggest Con: Can’t find what I am looking for

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by Gerald Berner,  Mar 29, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I had 3 family trees on FTM and synced to Ancestry. I just did a back up and one family disappeared and another now has a 2015 date on it. I have no clue what happened and don’t know who to talk to for help. I am an old guy and not sure I have the patience to start over. Can anyone help me restore to what I had? Thanks

Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry Review by Frances Shay,  Mar 2, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I am looking for an alternative software. When Ancestry bought the program from its originators, they took it, gutted it and threw out the baby with the bath water ! I have suffered with each new version, and now they’ve sold it to another joker like themselves. I am mad at Ancestry for their corporate takeover of just about all,the sites worth visiting. Greedy greedy people. I can’t believe some of the things they pulled right before Christmas. I may pull my subscription to Ancestry as well, and I just spent money last year on the DNA tests!

Biggest Con: I have found practically no new information on Ancestry except census, social security , or death records for several years. It’s like all the info from genealogy .com was thrown in the trash also, as well,as roots web etc.

Show 21-40 »