Family Tree Maker - Current Version

by Ancestry.com
The current version of Family Tree Maker is followed by its release year, e.g. 2012. It was completely rewritten in 2008 and is very different than its previous incarnation. There is also a Mac version. They have a Family Tree Maker category in their blog. Use this entry to review the current version, and use the FTM Up To Version 16 entry to review the versions prior to the rewrite.

Purchase • Windows • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://www.familytreemaker.com/
Overall4581.69 out of 51.69 out of 51.69 out of 51.69 out of 51.69 out of 5 1.69
20151221.88 out of 51.88 out of 51.88 out of 51.88 out of 51.88 out of 5 1.88
20141561.36 out of 51.36 out of 51.36 out of 51.36 out of 51.36 out of 5 1.36
Earlier1802.06 out of 52.06 out of 52.06 out of 52.06 out of 52.06 out of 5 2.06

Add Your Review of Family Tree Maker - Current Version

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

458 Reviews of Family Tree Maker - Current Version     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Iatros,  2 days ago

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Just returned Family Tree Maker 2014 to Amazon for refund. This version is NOT compatible with Windows 10. It will try to load, but stops with a strange error about the loaded cannot file a file on the C:/ drive. FTM support was pleasant but offered no real solutions. Removing all traces of FTM from the computer and the registry did not correct the problem. Support referred me to Nova stating that they were the seller to Amazon. Upon calling Nova, the support person rudely dismissed any claims and referred me back to Amazon. Luckily, it was within the 30 day limit for Amazon. I have been a long time user of FTM but now I am stymied.
I think possible solutions would be running FTM in 32-bit version, and setting compatibility to Win 7? Other possibilities include finding some other similar software.

Biggest Pro: Previous versions were reliable and easy to use for genealogy
Biggest Con: Incompability with Win 10. Terrible tech support (lack of knowledge, not lack of courtesy)

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Harold Way,  4 days ago

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I H A D been giving this software rave reviews. NO LONGER ! ! ! ! ! ! I’ve just completed loging in my FOURTHEENTH hour with their customer service. They have no answer to my problem. I’ve submitted a “crash report.” Today I was told it will take from 10 to 14 days for anyone to respond to that “crash report.” THAT IS UNACCEPTABLE ! ! ! !

I’m REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY fed up with their inability to solve my problem of not being able to load the software. I keep getting a message that the system was shut down improperly the last time. I’ve done cold boots, I’ve done manual loads, I’ve attempted to load fictitious trees, NOTHING WORKS and I won’t find out any information from their (ALLEGED) technical support for at least a week.

Biggest Pro: I used to have several
Biggest Con: Lack of responsive technical support. I can’t talk to Tech Support…only Customer Service. THAT’S GARBAGE!

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Pete,  5 days ago

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Have upgraded from Win 8.1 to Win 10 and FTM 2014 would not load my files. After wrestling with this or few days I uninstalled the 64 bit version and replaced it with the 32 bit. This has allowed me to open any file and seems to be reliable with an occasional crash which has seemed to improve in the last few weeks. I do not use the reports features since they really are pitiful compared to what existed in the FTM version 16. Instead I purchased a FTM plugin called Family Book Creator that outputs your tree with images to a MS Word document that is heads above anything FTM has to offer. My main tree has nearly 30,000 individuals and this plugin can produce an ancestor or descendant report with index in about a minute. If you decide to install this download the 64 bit version and it will work fine. On another note; I do not sync my tree to the ancestry site because of the data mining leeches that profit from others hard work. I have a tree on ancestry that is private but was last synched in 2012. I realize this sounds like an advertisement for Family Book Creator but everyone I have showed it to has raved about the final report. They have a free trial if you’re interested.

Biggest Pro: Best option if you started with earlier FTM versions
Biggest Con: Always had unresolved bugs and the user interface is poor compared to previous.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Harold Way,  6 days ago

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I was (NOTE PAST TENSE) very satisfied with FTM until this past Thursday. I tried to open the program and got a message that the software was closed improperly. There were terse instructions on what to do. I followed them. That was Thursday this past week. Now it’s late Monday afternoon. I have spent approximately 12 hours with various “customer service” personnel (NOT ! ! ! Technical Support ! ! ! ). They cannot seem to solve the problem. Most of the “fixes” suggested I’ve tried numerous times. NOTHING WORKS. It’s extremely frustrating. Customer Service won’t stay on the phone to walk a person through the problems. I just sent the “crash log” to their “support” system. We’ll see ???????? FRUSTRATED and just about ready to begin looking for another software package

Biggest Pro: Links to Ancestry databases
Biggest Con: They can’t get my FTM up and running

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Sandra Mason,  Aug 20, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Just bought Family Tree Maker Platinum 2014 and cannot load it on to my pc that runs Windows 8. No help from ancestry so far. Very disappointed and annoyed at what it has cost me

Biggest Con: Won’t load

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Bob,  Aug 19, 2015

Not Rated

Just loaded up Windows 10 after using 7 and have the following problems

1) Cannot open the HELP window. Have a laptop with Windows 7 and had to access a Microsoft site to get the fix. There is no fix listed for Windows 10. I talked to Microsoft and they say there will not be a fix coming for Windows 10. They consider it a developer problem.

2) When I was running Windows 7 I could NOT print trees or export any reports. I called Ancestry.com and they stated that they have heard of the problem but offered NO solution.

3) It appears that they want you to upgrade to Version 2014 but offer no guarantee it will resolve the problems I am having.

Biggest Con: Have 20 years of records using FTM 11 and can’t export any files. DON’T BUY THIS SOFTWARE!!!!!!

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Chuck Hjortness,  Aug 18, 2015

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Latest august 2015 was a requirement to continue. It has crashed every time I find a duplicate prior entry and merge the two to get one person in the file instead of two of the same. It happened 7 of 8 times this morning,

It also won’t let me merge parents from the same tree like it used to.

Biggest Pro: Right now I don’t think there is any
Biggest Con: Always seem to crash

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Luke Bender,  Aug 16, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Tried to install Family Tree Maker 2014 from my CD disk on my new Windows 10 laptop and will not install

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Bob,  Aug 16, 2015

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Can’ topen help menu in Ver 11 after installing windows 10. This was displayed after hitting help.

Error opening Help in Windows-based programs: “Feature not included” or “Help not supported”

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by David Spangler,  Aug 14, 2015

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I know I am not in the wright place to inform Ancestory BUT do not know what to follow! I have version 14 on my pc that will not go past required up date. Why? The latest problem is with my I pad version. I was forced by Apple to upgrade iOS. Whin I did I lost my user name and password to Apple ID. I can not re bet either. I lost my EMAIL info also. So I can not get EMAIL. I can not loge into my Ancestory account so I can not use Ancestory at all.

What to cook? David

Biggest Pro: Every thing is the best.
Biggest Con: Locked out at this time.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Mickey,  Aug 11, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I gave it the lowest mark because it is completely unsupported by the parent company, Ancestry. Any attempt at getting technical support is met with very long wait times, and redirects back to the website. Tech support may ask you to send in your FTM file. They will keep you hanging, sometimes for weeks, saying “we’re working on it.” Then they say they “didn’t get it” or “can’t open it”. So why didn’t they tell you right away? Sad truth is, it appears that Ancestry does not have an actual department for technical support. They a trained call center to divert, confuse, misdirect, and outright lie to customers. Do NOT buy this program, unless you can provide your own tech support.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Completely unsupported. Will lose all your work.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Tom F,  Aug 10, 2015

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I have FTM 2012 and don’t find it as easy to use as it should be. If I find something online I want to copy and paste to a particular person in FTM 2012, I can’t.. I called support and they sent me an email on how to do it with 2014, not 2012, Even that’s more of a task than just a simple copy and paste. I sent an email to support and have not received a reply. Brother’s Keeper seems to have a pretty good rating and I might give them a try.

Biggest Pro: Has not crashed
Biggest Con: Cannot copy and paste and I’m finding a lot of duplications

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Pete Depad,  Aug 6, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Awfully complicated and poorly laid out program. You need to be a computer programmer to use this.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Stealing my data for the ancestry website

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Tom,  Aug 6, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I read some very weird comments below…
My family tree has over 30.000 people and FTM has no problem at all handling them. It is fast, it doesn’t crash, it is clear,… Compared to many other applications I have used (Legacy, Brother’s Keeper, Aldfaer, etc), this one is by far the best. Easy to use, infinite possibilities, nice and modern lay-out, a lot of options for exporting,… One guy said that it wasn’t possible to print more than 10 generations… I have printed my last tree with 42 generations without a problem. Other programs and websites often only go to 10 or 12 indeed.

There is only one flaw: every time ancestry (the website) is updated, the synchronizing fails and I need to link it again. But that’s a matter of minutes and no data are lost.
A second flaw popped up today: the incompatibility with Windows 10… But I’m sure they will patch that up soon!

Biggest Pro: integration with ancestry
Biggest Con: updates cause synch problems

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Tony scott,  Aug 3, 2015

Not Rated

Ftm 2014 is NOT compatible with Windows 10 at present. Beware. Be very ‘ware!

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Mike Warren,  Aug 1, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

What ever you don’t spend a lot of time building a family genealogy in this program.It will routinely crash, give you error messages, have you make changes to files hidden on your machine and then when you get it running again it may work for several times and then you do it all over again because it quits AGAIN. This has been a routine problem on two different machines running two different operating systems. If you already have a bunch of data input make sure you -export it to a GEDCOM file so there is some hope you can recover it in another program because you will have to

Biggest Pro: Intergration with Ancestry
Biggest Con: Continued crashes

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Tony Scott,  Aug 1, 2015

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

FTM 2014 used to crash at intervals with a large data file (about 900 persons) with Windows 7.
Ran OK-ish on Windows 8, but crashes on initiation after Windows 10 upgrade.
I was offered and accepted a refund - but WHY oh WHY have the developers not tested and patched the application before launch of Windows 10????

Biggest Pro: Useful for its ability to sync to Ancestry trees
Biggest Con: Uselles if it won’t run on Windows 10.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by nelson d,  Aug 1, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

FTM 2014 Crash crash crash. This is the worst program I’ve used in the past 20+ years of being on the Internet. it looks good at first but as you get larger files the whole thing bogs down into a mess of crashes and slow slow responses. Things that are done in seconds with Legacy take minutes to hours to do. I’ve spent the past 4 hours simply trying to get my family tree to download from Ancestry. It’s not Ancestry or the web that is the problem it’s this darn useless program!

It takes up two 2 hours to download a file and as it is almost 99% finished the program reports and error and shuts down! Editing and finding duplicates is for the birds. Nothing is automated. Legacy was faster and more full featured 15 years ago. Linking files from Ancestry to FTM is also a mess. crash crash crash- Only 1 in 10 tries works.
Except for the fact your need this program to download ALL of your pictures and records Ancestry will not allow other programs to auto download pics and records. It’s worthless.
To top it off you can only use the program on one machine. Heaven help you if your download crashes before you
can get it installed because Your not allowed to to download extra copies. Rating 1/2 out of 10

Biggest Pro: Great for downloading ancestry trees and info- when it works.
Biggest Con: It doesn’t work 99% of the time.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Keith J,  Jul 26, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I used FTM for quite a few years, liked it, and upgraded till it got to FTM2012. That took to crashing (losing data I’d spent time adding). Eventually, I found that the crash is caused by a “memory leak” (easy to tell, once you know that’s what you’re looking for).

Ancestry’s reply was that I need to buy the update to FTM2014. Before doing that, fortunately, I asked around. No, the memory leak has NOT been fixed - and there are more problems. Ancestry deny the existence of the memory leak, despite the reports of dozens of users confirming it.

At that point, I abandoned FTM2012 and moved on to another package, which has worked flawlessly. The changeover took a couple of days because of incompatibilities in GEDCOM format, but I’m glad I made the move.

My FTM2012 will still load and run, but having read the warnings elsewhere, I don’t plan to risk using it any more.

Biggest Pro: Interface to Ancestry.com
Biggest Con: Unstable; known faults are denied and not fixed.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by B. Boucher,  Jul 25, 2015

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

If the reviews look similar, it is because everybody is having the same problems. This software was OK when I had version 5 but the new versions simply do not work with large family trees. They do not import, export, update the web tree or do anything consistently and well. They have enormous problems. They generate excessive number of duplicates when you export or import and errors every kind during all work. I have multiple versions online and on my family tree with thousands of individuals trapped in them because of failures to update and export. I am abandoning FTM because none of the dated versions work well enough to tolerate. My computer is now broken and my trees are more trapped than ever, which would not have happened if I could only have updated or exported them reliably. User generated errors are unforgivably numerous in the data shared but so are software-generated errors, such as code numbers and error messages in the data. Needs a system of verification where users can check each other’s work and report or fix egregious errors like Geni.com and major overhaul of the software to ensure stability and reliabilty. The system is broken but nobody seems to know how to fix it or even admit how badly it is broken.

Biggest Pro: Lots of charts and reports.
Biggest Con: Does not work reliably with larger trees.

Show 21-40 »