Family Tree Maker - Current Version

by Ancestry.com
The current version of Family Tree Maker is followed by its release year, e.g. 2012. It was completely rewritten in 2008 and is very different than its previous incarnation. There is also a Mac version. They have a Family Tree Maker category in their blog. Use this entry to review the current version, and use the FTM Up To Version 16 entry to review the versions prior to the rewrite.

Purchase • Windows • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://www.familytreemaker.com/
Overall4191.62 out of 51.62 out of 51.62 out of 51.62 out of 51.62 out of 5 1.62
2015831.81 out of 51.81 out of 51.81 out of 51.81 out of 51.81 out of 5 1.81
20141561.36 out of 51.36 out of 51.36 out of 51.36 out of 51.36 out of 5 1.36
Earlier1802.06 out of 52.06 out of 52.06 out of 52.06 out of 52.06 out of 5 2.06

Add Your Review of Family Tree Maker - Current Version

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

419 Reviews of Family Tree Maker - Current Version     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Beth,  34 min. ago

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Started with an earlier version in 2006 and have upgraded each time a new version came out. I have not had any major problems with any version except for having my file drop the link to the online tree a couple of times. I have found that their customer service people are very considerate and will work with me until I have solved a problem (usually of my own making). I am researching both my parents and my husband’s parents, including his adoptive father’s tree as well as my children’s spouse’s trees and it simply does the job it is supposed to do. Like all software you have to be consistent in your data entry for the software to function at its best. It does emphasize ancestry.com, but in the search window you are able to search any other site you want to add to the list and you are then able to either clip data or webpages to add to your file.

Biggest Pro: It does what I want, when I want it and it syncs to my web tree - good customer service.
Biggest Con: It is sometimes slow to respond, probably due to the amount of info in the file.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Elaine,  2 days ago

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Hate it. Almost ready to drop my subscription to Ancestry. Trying to keep my old computer with the old software alive. It was a joy to work with. Typical of corporations now. Buy up all the competition, tell the customer what they need and ruin a good thing. Bigger is not better and new and improved is not necessarily good.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Cumbersome. Used to be great software that was super easy to use.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Emile Franco,  2 days ago

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I loved the older version of FTM that I ran from about 1998 until I received FTM 2012 as a Christmas gift.

From the beginning, I found the newer version to be extremely frustrating as it is far less intuitive than the original, and simple things like entering notes require you to fumble until you figure out what you are supposed to click on. I used to love adding names and facts, but not in version 12.

The final straw has now come as it will no longer even run on my computer, which has the windows 7 operating system - a problem that developed after some recent windows updates.

An internet search indicates that I am not alone in having this problem - google “family tree maker will not run” to read about the frustration of other users.

And since FTM files are not easily imported by other programs, you are stuck if you do not have your data saved as a gedcom.

I did a system restore to bring my computer back to the point before FTM had ceased to work, which allowed me to run it one last time to export my file to a gedcom.

Goodbye FTM 2012, hello Legacy 8.

Biggest Pro: Lots of features if you have time to learn them
Biggest Con: Not user intuitive, poor compatability with Microsoft.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by STANLEY COHEN,  2 days ago

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have been using FTM 16. It was (is ) the best of all of them for ease of use and lack of frills that family tree users simply need to keep track of relatives and ancestors. the best feature is the real all-in one tree that gives you the view of the WHOLE tree at once then pick the section or individual you require and work from there. Download it, switch to ancestors, switch to book, no hassle. Change names, add siblings, no problem. I love working with it and will keep my XP just so I can do that. Tried the 2012 FTM. Lacking in everything that made FTM 16 great.

Biggest Pro: nada
Biggest Con: no all-in-one htat is complete anmd shows all, easily on one page. BLAH!

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Jenny,  4 days ago

Not Rated

Just lost the whole reivew I wrote. FTM 2014 is a nightmare - I loaded a patch and, once again, it corrupted my date. Will not sort names alphabetically - will not take me to a name I type in directly - crashes - paid for and downloaded a new 2014 - same problems. The 2008 had already corrupted all of my census information. Folks this is 45 years of work - and I’m going to end up having to start over with input. I am furious. They should leave well enough alone - like cars, they keep putting so much stuff on them they break down easier and cost a fortune to fix.

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: everything

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by John Terry Brown,  May 10, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Just purchased 2014 deluxe version. Have Windows 7 the software is incompatible? That is absolutely incredible.

Biggest Con: Cannot even launch the proigram.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Mike G.,  May 7, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I recently switched from another software program and find that FTM2014 is far superior. Excellent notes fields, charting, search feature. Very useful tie in to ancestry.com.

Biggest Pro: visual appeal and notes features
Biggest Con: a bit slow to respond

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Rob,  May 3, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been using FTM since the 2010/2011 timeframe on Windows Vista and Windows 7 computers with no issues. I love the fact that i sync my tree with the ancestry.com tree and FTM downloads all the media to my computer. When my subscription expires, i can still view the media on my computer. I put my tree file and media in a box.com folder on my computer so i can access the media from anywhere and my data is backed up.

Biggest Pro: Syncs with FTM
Biggest Con: doesn’t sync with familysearch.org

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Peter,  May 2, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I bought the FTM 2014 upgrade for my FTM 2011, all seems to go well until you get to the compulsory patch that you have to download (because their programme is defective) it won’t load . I’ve tried all the scenarios and have given up as I can’t get the programme to work; commercial software from Ancestry.com shouldn’t be like this; it is very disappointing. Fortunately FTM 2011 was only used out of interest, my genealogy is on TMG 9 which is a great programme even though it is no longer being developed. I’ll probably get Family Historian 6 or Roots Magic 7 which support the transfer of most of the TMG data and chuck FTM in the bin. They shouldn’t be selling something that is so flaky.

Biggest Pro: Doesn’t work
Biggest Con: Doesn’t work

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Dave,  Apr 27, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Crashes if I try to enter a note…every single time. I can view my previously imported information, but cannot do any meaningful new work in this release.

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: doesn’t work

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by JERRY OLIVER,  Apr 26, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

An earlier version (2006) did everything I wanted. Allowed me to easily enter notes for individuals and was very intuitive. Not unlike using earlier versions of Word. Edition 2012 is none of those things. I have lost data. I lost 90 days of work and do not know why. Have been forced to do things I do not want to do. The help line is a joke. Nobody seems to know anything.

Biggest Pro: NONE!
Biggest Con: It does not begin to meet my simple needs as a CUSTOMER. They do not care.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Carol C,  Apr 25, 2015

Not Rated

FTM 2014 has given me nothing but trouble. Had message to upload a patch. Forced me to do this. Could not get it to open so I did all of the suggestions I found online and now it won’t even open.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: A big waste of my time and research. It doesn’t work.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Michael,  Apr 23, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Very nice software - I’m not sure what all of the concerns are about. I have use FTM since FTM10 and I think that 2014 is faster and smoother than ever before.

Biggest Pro: Ability to format notes, visual appeal, page contect and set up.
Biggest Con: Slow to start up.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Bill sigmund,  Apr 22, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Software is an easy way to generate duplicate entries into your tree. It duplicates events, people, anything at all. Searching for duplicates is extremely tedious. You can’t set the parameters; every time you search for duplicates it occasionally finds a duplicate or 2 (or more), but you have to go through the same list of possible duplicates with any new entries it adds. My last list of possible duplicates was 208 entries long. Compared to other software available, it’s overpriced. I would recommend Legacy or Roots Magic. Both sync with web sites like FTM 2014, but without the endless duplicates. The online data at Ancestry.com is EXTREMELY inaccurate. Many users accept every hint without checking. I’ve seen numerous times children born before the parents, born after parents death, 150-200 year life spans, etc. Reports are next to useless.

Biggest Pro: After several re-installs, it doesn’t crash as much as it used to.
Biggest Con: Connects to a large database online.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Dennis Stanley,  Apr 19, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I’m using the latest Mac version (as of Apr 2015) and I can’t even sync my Ancestry database without the program failing (after 30 minutes or so). Granted, I have a moderate to large database of 12k people. This stinks.

Biggest Pro: Supposed link to Ancestry
Biggest Con: Doesn’t work

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Gerald C Theisen Jr.,  Apr 16, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I have been using FTM since 2009. Currently I have 2014. I also have Ancestry.com on my I Pad. Thus my problem. I am un able to upload all the Media from my computer to My I Pad. I contacted Support and they emailed me instructions as to how to unlink and relink my tree. I followed the instructions and it did the same thing so as a result I do not have all my ftm media on my I PAD.

Biggest Pro: FTM is very accurate and detailed.
Biggest Con: Transfering media is very tough as well as update problems.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by LarryB,  Apr 8, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I’ve used FTM for many years and its sheer simplicity was its greatest asset. It was intuitive, not over sophisticated and did all the basics. Then came the tie up with Ancestry. Now there is a generation of family tree builders who simply sync their work with totally unresearched hideously inaccurate family trees on Ancestry.com. I’m an Ancestry user too, and it is an extremely valuable resource, but it lets total newbies pollute the web with totally inaccurate family trees. And of course it was acquired as a bolt-on to Ancestry to generate greater revenues for them. the simplicity of syncing totally bogus trees does a major disservice to all genealogists.

Biggest Pro: simple intuitive interface
Biggest Con: ancestry.com

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Ron Hager,  Mar 30, 2015

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

The primary focus of FTM seems to be its connection to Ancestry.com and EVERYTHING else is of a very distant priority. In my opinion they have no real interest in providing a database for our home use and are headed in the direction of providing cloud services rather than a home database. In the meantime we long time users (I’m a customer for nearly 20 years) are nothing more than repeat customers who provide cash on a regular basis. This year I moved my database to a new computer and of course upgraded to 2014 and have found few improvements. The system is still slow, cannot handle large files well and I have discovered that the export branch feature has holes in it. The problem for us users is that they have the money to throw at advertising and are selling their products so they think they are a success and are unwilling to change any of their ways. I see little hope of any improvement until they become a public company and are no longer under the influence of the church.

Biggest Pro: It is what I have been using for years, so I know many of the issues and work arounds.
Biggest Con: Their focus on Ancestry.com

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Irene Hobbins,  Mar 25, 2015

Not Rated

I am getting the message “could not find required dll to export report” . in FTM 2012,, Can anyone tell me where I can find out what dll and where I could download it from?

Generally I like the program once I got used to using it. I was never able to publish a book, but until recently was able to do the reports. I would really like to able to do the RTF again…\\

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by M Richardson,  Mar 24, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Most difficult and awkward program to use. Cant understand the terms used and what the heck do they want. ?
Publishing the print outs take a month of study to decide what you want to do.

I just hate it.. I have numerous duplicates on my program now for some reason and it doesn;t even show them on the merge section. And NO I do not want to merge Tom Someone b. 1806 with William Someone b 1815.

I now have my people page greyed out and the principal name I am trying to work on is blanked out.

Show 21-40 »