Family Tree Maker - Current Version

by Software MacKiev (Jack Minsky)
The current version of Family Tree Maker is followed by its release year, e.g. 2012. It was completely rewritten in 2008 and is very different than its previous incarnation. There is also a Mac version. They have a Family Tree Maker category in their blog. Use this entry to review the current version, and use the FTM Up To Version 16 entry to review the versions prior to the rewrite.

Note: In Feb 2016, Ancestry.com announced that Software MacKiev will become the new publisher of Family Tree Maker.

Purchase • Windows • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://www.mackiev.com/ftm/
Overall5111.85 out of 51.85 out of 51.85 out of 51.85 out of 51.85 out of 5 1.85
2016131.65 out of 51.65 out of 51.65 out of 51.65 out of 51.65 out of 5 1.65
20151622.1 out of 52.1 out of 52.1 out of 52.1 out of 52.1 out of 5 2.10
Earlier3361.5 out of 51.5 out of 51.5 out of 51.5 out of 51.5 out of 5 1.50

Add Your Review of Family Tree Maker - Current Version

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

511 Reviews of Family Tree Maker - Current Version     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Virginia Lloyd,  4 days ago

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

EVERY single time I have to detach and re-attach a person the software locks up. I sure hope whoever takes over the software has someone who knows what they are doing go through it and fix the glitches. It’s like if you change sometimes it’s like “OH MY GOD THEY’VE CHANGED SOMETHING - WHAT DO WE DO???!!!!” Ridiculous for as many years as this software has been out there. It’s the same problems over and over again. Complain - NOTHING HAPPENS!

Biggest Pro: Good handling of Fact fields
Biggest Con: Locks up when you change information

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Pauline,  5 days ago

Not Rated

I have always been a fan of FTM from the early days. I still run 2005 on Windows XP but also have 2014 so when i update one, I import to 2014 so both are current. 2014 has been a challenge and I do prefer the older version. I have dragged my feet updating my OS simply because of the problems people have had. I am VERY disappointed it will no longer be available. I have never synced with Ancestry simply because of access and use issues. I prefer sole control of my work

Biggest Pro: Trees, reports media - tutorials in the help
Biggest Con: Ancestry encouraging usage only to withdraw it again!!!!

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by T. Dalessandro,  5 days ago

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I have FTM 11 in Windows 10 and use it simply for dates and personal notes.
Lately I can change dates and places but I cannot edit the notes. WHY???

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by WMW,  Feb 2, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I’m not sure why all of those folks are having such troubles with FTM 2014 and Windows 10. I have a computer that originally ran Windows 7, which I loved, but decided to do the upgrade to 10 when it was offered. I’ve had no problems with the FTM software running under Windows 10. I do virtually all of my work on FTM and then sync the tree with my online tree. Since I do all of my work on FTM I was one of the many who were dismayed when Ancestry announced they were discontinuing FTM. Apparently I was not the only one. Just today they announced a couple of options for those of us who don’t do our work on the Ancestry website. I am hopeful that one of these will work well.

Biggest Pro: Link with online databases
Biggest Con: Reports

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Barb,  Feb 2, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have had FTM almost since it’s beginning. I have had all versions up to 2010. I bought a new computer for my “she Shed” that had Windows 10 not knowing that FTM wasn’t compatible. (Never really thought about unfortunately.) The program worked fine for almost a year. FTM stopped working so I took it in to see what the problem was. Lo and behold Windows 10 doesn’t support my version of FTM. I was told how lucky I was that it work the year. Anyway. I have 3000 entries. The repair shop took the FTM program off, but saved my data. Well, since 14 isn’t being sold and my data won’t load to Rootsmagic , just purchased it , from the backup because the data is just data not from another program (FTM, GEDCOM etc) I can’t retrieve my info. I finally found a copy of 14 bought it and it won’t load on my computer. Anybody have any suggestions or a good repair person that can maybe figure out what I can do. I use my FTM primarily for data input. I don’t link up to Ancsestry as I had too many errors in information from personal trees. I usually get the info, enter data on my tree or on paper and research it more myself. I do use the census’, birth and death etc.as they are more reliable. P.S. Thanks Ancestry for nothing but problems. Big business….doesn’t consider it’s loyal customers Just $$$$$. Hopefully word will spread and you will be the ones looking for help.

Biggest Con: Doesn’t load

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Jim,  Jan 30, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

At this point in time FTM is leaving us so there is no reason to use FTM unless you already have it. I teach FTM classes. see my wordpress blog if you want more info: ftmbyebye.wordpress.com

Biggest Pro: Easy input, great reports
Biggest Con: Will no longer be supported after 2016, and syncing function to Ancestry.com will be phased out.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Liz,  Jan 29, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I’ve used an old FTM for years but had to update. The old version was so easy and intuitive. This new one is simply impossible. Trying to figure out the simplest things takes forever.

Biggest Pro: haven’t found it yet
Biggest Con: very difficult to use

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Frank,  Jan 23, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I give it a 1 rating because Ancestry has discontinued FTM.

Biggest Pro: They have nice charts
Biggest Con: They discontinued FTM

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Denise,  Jan 20, 2016

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I have been using FTM for many years, love the syncing capability with Ancestry as it sure saves paper and time BUT I got a new computer for Christmas, yep Windows 10. Couldn’t install FTM 2014 on the new computer so I purchased Legacy due to reviews about how easy it is to use. I disagree, I also purchased the guide which is a bunch of narratives on how Rasmussen would enter the information, not how to use the program. Also I was not able to import any of the media I had attached to my tree into Legacy. Real big disappointment. Any one know if Roots imports all data and if it provides relationship to the home person? I have a huge tree as the family I’m tracing is “Carter” but I am missing a key link so I am trying to do a work around - instead of going backwards, I am trying to move forward.

Biggest Pro: Reports, display of relationships, syncing, and ease of use
Biggest Con: being retired by Ancestry. Once its on their site, they have full use of the information whereas when it is based on your local machine, you know what has been input.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Arlene Brooks,  Jan 7, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have had so many problems with FTM 2014, so I went to Roots. 2014 never works right. I had two copies when one did not work I bought another still no good. I have a brand new computer with windows 7 on it and to tell the truth I am disappointed with it. They have tried to help solve the problem but to no avail. If you go to merge it locks up, if you delete it deletes records I need. All my other copies have been really great. I was hoping there was a newer version out there that I can try so maybe it will help . Please let me know if I have the latest version if not can I buy the newest version? I love the program and Ancestry .com but this version stinks for me.

Biggest Pro: Love new format
Biggest Con: doesn’t work all the time

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Betty,  Jan 4, 2016

Not Rated

I have an old Version of FTW and wondering if I should upgrade to the newest Version before the support stops. Also an having BIG problems with transferring from desktop to laptop for Windows 10. Can anyone help??

Biggest Pro: easy usage
Biggest Con: support to stop soon and cannot cut and paste anymore to Word

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by rob,  Jan 2, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

hello?

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: Ancestry.com

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by debkdg,  Jan 1, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have used FTM 2011 with upgrades to the 2014 version and worked hundreds of hours inputting information. After FTM message that my old XP operating system would need updating, I purchased a new desktop with Windows 10. I cannot transport my FTM tree to new computer and my tree on my old tree will no longer appear.

Now I find out Ancestry.com (I have paid membership fees for years) is dumping FTM and abandoning all it’s users. Totally unconscionable and unethical. Would it really be so difficult to fix past issues and come out with an updated FTM version with Windows 10 compatibility and a trustworthy method to transport the old FTM files?

Ancestry.com has totally lost my business and I will never pay them another cent for membership. What crooks! I think all amateur family genealogists should boycott them as well as tell the world about the hundreds of hours of lost research those money grubbing jerks have cost us. We are very,very angry.

I have read a lot about Roots Magic 7, Legacy 8 and Family Historian software but don’t have any idea which to switch to. Any help would be gratefully appreciated.

Biggest Pro: FTM 2014 was easy to use before being sold to Nova and “sold out” by Ancestry.com.
Biggest Con: FTM is no longer made and only marginally supported by Ancestry and Nova until 2017. All users will have to find new genealogy programs and transfer their data.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Ivo,  Dec 24, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

They always say that with every problem there is always a silver lining. With Ancestry retiring FTM to pursue more data grabbing products and more $ I am looking at other products. I already downloaded Legacy and was ASTOUNDED by how responsive their support was as I tested their program with my FTM data. Things I could not do in FTM I could easily accomplish in Legacy. And there is an Italian version. Very impressed. Also tested RootsMagic. Within 10 minutes my data was converted over and ALSO ON my iPad AWESOME So thank you Ancestry for making me change. I can’t believe how I have worked in the dark with FTM all these years

Biggest Con: aNCESTRY

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by stan wilson,  Dec 23, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

With Ancestry.com’s decision to stop supporting Family Tree Maker, it doesn’t matter what this program’s strengths are, since it will no longer be supported in just 12 mounts. So the job now is to look for alternatives for a laptop-based family tree program that can synch with an online tree. That is the issue today.

Biggest Pro: None with the decision to terminate support for FTM.
Biggest Con: Ancestry.com’s decision to stop supporting Family Tree Maker

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Joyce Doty,  Dec 18, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Question: What will remain in my FTM 2012 tree when Ancestry discontinues it? I assumed that everything I downloaded from Ancestry would be a permanent part of my tree whether or not I remained a paying subscriber (I am currently a paying subscriber) … and I know that data needs to be downloaded not just linked to Ancestry. I also assumed that since I could backup and export FTM that it was permanent. Will data in my FTM 2012 disappear Dec 31, 2017? At first I would have thought this is a stupid question until I realized that Ancestry is capable of such incomprehensible decisions.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use, great companion to Ancestry, very happy with FTM
Biggest Con: Stupid new Ancestry format and stupid decision to abandon FTM; no Cons with FTM

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Les Sullivan,  Dec 14, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Jim Buckley got it about right (4 reviews down).
I have been using FTM since its earliest days and it got better and better. Yes, there were problems but they did get sorted.
The integration with Ancestry and media links are invaluable. The ability to share trees “privately” on-line was also very successful, again, after initial teething problems.
The biggest problem is not so much the software but the consumers.
Too many people expect something for nothing.
A computer is extraordinarily complex and it amazes me that they work at all.
People expect to be able to buy a computer, switch it on and be expert with everything working and little knowledge on their part.
I work in IT and support a large number of end users. Their ignorance (and in many ways I do not blame them for this) is extraordinary and rather than accept responsibility for their own short-comings, they blame the computer.
A computer needs constant “tweaking” to keep it running well. That involves time, money and knowledge. Very few of my clients have a proper backup strategy or even keep updates and security up-to-date.
The bean counters at Ancestry are only concerned about shareholder profits.
There is nothing wrong with profit but look at the wider picture.
I think what has killed the desktop version of Family Tree Maker is the user-base who blame the software for their own failings. Supporting them must be a nightmare.
There is no way that I want my hard earned data gathered painstakingly over 40 years subjected to the whims and instabilities of a cloud based data management team that do not have my interests at heart.
Depressingly I will now have to spend a huge amount of time trying to find an alternative that is anywhere close to being as good as FTM with its integration with Ancestry.
A tragedy when something that worked so well gets sacrificed because of the need to make money from a mass market that neither understands the implications or perhaps even cares. Too many people just want lots of ancestors and do not care about the quality of their data. Rather like collecting “friends” on Facebook. Sad.

Biggest Pro: Integration with Ancestry. Ability share privately.
Biggest Con: None really, just needs time and effort to learn. Make sure you keep good local backups.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Marc,  Dec 12, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I received this message from ANCESTRY, too bad

Dear Family Tree Maker™ community,

Ancestry is proud to have made a significant investment this year to bring valuable new content and records to the Ancestry site. In 2015, we’ve made 220 million searchable historical records from Mexico available, more than 170 million pages from the largest collection of U.S. will and probate records, among others. We’ve also introduced new features such as Ancestry Academy, and major advancements for AncestryDNA.

As we strive to provide our customers with the best experience possible, we are constantly evaluating our services and product offerings. True to this focus, we’ve taken a hard look at the declining desktop software market and the impact this has on being able to continue to provide new content, product enhancements and support that our users need. With that, we’ve made the tough decision to stop selling Family Tree Maker as of December 31, 2015.

We will continue to support existing Family Tree Maker owners at least through January 1, 2017. During this time, all features of the software, including TreeSync™ will continue to work. Our Member Services team will also remain available to assist with questions or issues you may have.

These changes are never easy. But by focusing our efforts, we can concentrate on continuing to build great products for our loyal Ancestry community.

Biggest Pro: TreeSync lets you easily synchronize your tree in Family Tree Maker with an online Ancestry.com tree
Biggest Con: Stop selling FTM on december 2015 and TreeSync will stop working january 2017

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Eileen Souza,  Dec 12, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Please see my post “Why I Use FTM as My Primary Genealogy Program” at http://www.oldbonesgenealogy.com/why-i-use-ftm-as-my-primary-genealogy-program/. I do not maintain an Ancestry tree so I am not interested in the FTM SYNC feature.

Biggest Pro: Fastest data entry and the MERGE feature
Biggest Con: Propriatary GEDCOM not always imported correctly by other programs

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Marilyn Klinger,  Dec 11, 2015

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I was very happy with FTM 2008 but switching to Windows 8 forced me to purchase 2014. I do not like 2014. It is difficult to use. With this new version I am unable to print out Descendant’s Reports that are lengthy. When I called FTM to seek help they were unable to help me. Now they are going to drop it like a hot potato.

Biggest Pro: The green leaf that appears when family has been located on Ancestry was a nice touch.
Biggest Con: I cannot get the reports I want and need.

Show 21-40 »