Family Tree Maker - Current Version

by Ancestry.com
The current version of Family Tree Maker is followed by its release year, e.g. 2012. It was completely rewritten in 2008 and is very different than its previous incarnation. There is also a Mac version. They have a Family Tree Maker category in their blog. Use this entry to review the current version, and use the FTM Up To Version 16 entry to review the versions prior to the rewrite.

Purchase • Windows • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://www.familytreemaker.com/
Overall4011.55 out of 51.55 out of 51.55 out of 51.55 out of 51.55 out of 5 1.55
2015651.66 out of 51.66 out of 51.66 out of 51.66 out of 51.66 out of 5 1.66
20141561.36 out of 51.36 out of 51.36 out of 51.36 out of 51.36 out of 5 1.36
Earlier1802.06 out of 52.06 out of 52.06 out of 52.06 out of 52.06 out of 5 2.06

Add Your Review of Family Tree Maker - Current Version

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

401 Reviews of Family Tree Maker - Current Version     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Irene Hobbins,  2 days ago

Not Rated

I am getting the message “could not find required dll to export report” . in FTM 2012,, Can anyone tell me where I can find out what dll and where I could download it from?

Generally I like the program once I got used to using it. I was never able to publish a book, but until recently was able to do the reports. I would really like to able to do the RTF again…\\

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by M Richardson,  3 days ago

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Most difficult and awkward program to use. Cant understand the terms used and what the heck do they want. ?
Publishing the print outs take a month of study to decide what you want to do.

I just hate it.. I have numerous duplicates on my program now for some reason and it doesn;t even show them on the merge section. And NO I do not want to merge Tom Someone b. 1806 with William Someone b 1815.

I now have my people page greyed out and the principal name I am trying to work on is blanked out.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Ken,  Mar 17, 2015

Not Rated

Family Tree 2012 - worse than earlier versions! Attempted to create a book. Very difficult to do. Descendant charts came out terribly compressed, filling only about 1/4 of the page. Would NEVER recommend!

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: very poor set up for creating a book. Formating is terrible

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Greg P,  Mar 17, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have had two other FTM versions, and this one is by far the worst. I plan to uninstall it and go back to my 2003 version, which is much easier to work with.

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: hard to navigate. can’t seem to find anything and adding info sucks

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Ron Irwin,  Mar 17, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I’ve had FTM 2014 since Jan ‘14 and overall I’m happy with it. I have almost 20K people and 1K documents on the program. It has had a few problems, but overall very workable. My trouble started when I bought an Apple MAC. The MAC 3 FTM is absolutely the PITS! I’ve had so many problems that I started a log recording the date and problems. I finally stopped. Too many. The people at Ancestry answering phone attempt to help, but they obviously know very little about the program or they know support has no answers. I keep getting “I’m going to send an email of what you need to try. . .” which is worthless. I started sending screen shots to support, but got tired of that also. I bought the MAC specifically for FTM. I quit fighting it and bought a HP laptop with (UGH) Windows 8.1 and I’m having a heck of time with it. Maybe I’m too old to adapt to the computer age? I’ve checked for other family tree software, but Ancestry still provides the best tools so I’ll probably stick with it.

Biggest Pro: Will hold lots of data & USUALLY I get good help when needed
Biggest Con: Cannot get a report for a specific location without a long list (1,166 pages for all names)

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Randee,  Mar 12, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have never had so many problems with Family Tree Maker like I have with this newest version. For years I’ve used an older program which I loved, but when I got a new computer it wouldn’t allow me to use my old program so like many others I updated to the newest version…..what a mistake…..what a waste of time….. I would never recommend this version to anyone until the kinks are worked out. Maybe going back to what worked is the solution….. I’m thinking of going to another program, hate to, but I can’t be playing games day after day with something that is suppose to be fun and rewarding. This newest version is definitely NOT!!

Biggest Pro: not one comes to mind…
Biggest Con: has toooooo many bugs and problems

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Joseph Dorseuy,  Mar 11, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

It is a peice of crap. It will not download on my new computer. It keeps saying “Unabke to extract installation data downloaded from the web.” What does this mean. I have been on hold to Ancestry support for almost an hour to talk about this.

Biggest Pro: NONE
Biggest Con: “Unabke to extract installation data downloaded from the web.”

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Gill Cooper,  Mar 10, 2015

Not Rated

Have been successfully using FTM since the Broderbund days - bought 2014 Worldwide Version, which included 6 months Ancestry membership, loaded onto new computer (Windows 8.1) - icon appeared but programme won’t launch. Tried software on 2 laptops, in case it was the computer, but programme failed on each. Fortunately I have a good version (2010) on my old computer. Thinking of trying a different programme altogether after reading other reviews - what a phaff!

Biggest Pro: You must be joking!
Biggest Con: Unusable

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Virginia,  Mar 7, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I’ve tried several versions of FTM since 16 and they are all for the trash can. Miserable to even look at, worse to use, unfriendly. The new versions are terrible, very difficult for old eyes and the entire entry system is a pain to manage, very difficult. I purchased FTM2012 and 2014, hated both and was promised by sales person each time, they were so much improved - HA HA very wrong, I did return 2014 for a refund that took forever.
I know you cannot un-ring a bell, but FTM really went to you know where in a hand basket after 16. This seems to me that programmers who don’t actually DO GENEALOGY write your new programs.

Biggest Pro: NONE
Biggest Con: The entire program.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Trevor,  Feb 27, 2015

Not Rated

Totally useless

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: paying for something that doesn’t work

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Bill Henderson,  Feb 26, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have used Family Tree Maker for over 25 years now and after version 16 this software has gone downhill quickly. Seems as if there technicians have been on vacation. I currently have the latest version FTM 2014. I have constantly contacted their support center and complained about the errors in syncing with Ancestry and have not received an answer to fix this problem in the past six years. I add a new name and the birth dates and death dates and it crashes. In an average of one hour working on with this software, it will crash causing me to wait until it is useable again about forty minutes out of an hour. After trying a few fixes of my own, it works well for twenty minutes and then starts crashing again. If it actually had some type of crash report to send to the makers of FTM maybe they would put a update and fix these problems. If you check Ancestry support pages, you will see all of the problems people are having with Family Tree Maker. Don’t waste your time until these problems are fixed for good.

Biggest Pro: Very easy to use
Biggest Con: Constantly crashes

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Matti Sinivuori,  Feb 26, 2015

Not Rated

I have the Family Tree Maker version 2008. I use VISTA program. Now I need the Training Video and instructions. There is a good book for this FTM 2000 Mattel. I have used the FTM for some time and now need to make a fresh start again. I must have lost the instructions and need new. I need not the new FTM 2014. I have not had any family in US or Canada, so there is no need for the Ancestry program. Though the programs are not in Finnish language they do serve me.
Could you send the needed instructions for FTM 2008.
My mail is matti. sinivuori@netikka.fi or mskon@netikka.fi.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by bob,  Feb 25, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

It sucks hard to control

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by D. Keller,  Feb 25, 2015

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I have a Love/Hate relationship with this software. The reason I love it is the interaction between the software and Ancestry.com. I can work on my tree online, come home and sync my computer version to the work I did earlier. That is a huge benefit! The reason I hate it is that it is unstable and if you have a very large tree, stand by for multiple errors in reports. FTM 2014 won’t make a Descendants Report for more than 5 generations, if I’m lucky, because the software can’t handle tens of thousands of people in the database.

FTM 2010 has no problem chugging out that same report, but it does not have some of the really nice qualities that 2014 comes with, such as the ability to sort children by birth order in your entire file with one click. I’m hoping that FTM 2016 will capture the best of 2010 and 2014, whenever they decide to release it.

FOR THOSE HAVING PROBLEMS GETTING FTM TO RUN:

Uninstall the program, reboot, TURN OFF VIRUS PROTECTION/FIREWALL, re-install, run FTM 2014, run updates, TURN ON VIRUS PROTECTION/FIREWALL. You should be up and running.

Biggest Pro: Online Sync; more sort capabilities
Biggest Con: Unstable with large files; reports won’t run properly (or at all) if you have a large file

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Janice miller,  Feb 24, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Connection to ancestry after each session to upload your changes to your tree.

Biggest Con: filtering the volume of information found on ancestry subscription

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Huggins,  Feb 24, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Crashing

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Beverley Prouting,  Feb 22, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

The new version is a waste of time, have moved to Legends, you cant do pdf files anymore to send information and the new front pages is just hopeless………and so hard to read and follow…after many many years of use very angry.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: None.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Lillian Wold,  Feb 20, 2015

Not Rated

I have seen all the terrible reviews. I hope I can find an earlier version and try to upload all my work into that version. Now that you have seen how horrible your version 2014 is, when are you going to go back to the best FTM and end our suffering!!!

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Lillian Wold,  Feb 20, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Family Tree Maker 2014 is the worst I have ever tried to use. I had to put all my 19,000 + names and all my precious notes to the 2014 because my computer crashed. Luckily, I didn’t lose my information but I was forced to add the 2014 version. It is so hard to go to different tasks and reports! It seems that each version is harder than the one before. Now, I hope to find someone who can help me maneuver through this version.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Michael York,  Feb 19, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

FTM 2014 is a Hugh dissointment, I have fought it for a year and it’s no better today than the day installed, sync issues, error messages, locks up, ftm must close, it goes on and on, we deserve our money back

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: we are being conned

Show 21-40 »