Family Tree Maker - Current Version

by Ancestry.com
The current version of Family Tree Maker is followed by its release year, e.g. 2012. It was completely rewritten in 2008 and is very different than its previous incarnation. There is also a Mac version. They have a Family Tree Maker category in their blog. Use this entry to review the current version, and use the FTM Up To Version 16 entry to review the versions prior to the rewrite.

Purchase • Windows • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://www.familytreemaker.com/
Overall3291.51 out of 51.51 out of 51.51 out of 51.51 out of 51.51 out of 5 1.51
20141491.37 out of 51.37 out of 51.37 out of 51.37 out of 51.37 out of 5 1.37
2013481.97 out of 51.97 out of 51.97 out of 51.97 out of 51.97 out of 5 1.97
Earlier1322.26 out of 52.26 out of 52.26 out of 52.26 out of 52.26 out of 5 2.26

Add Your Review of Family Tree Maker - Current Version

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

329 Reviews of Family Tree Maker - Current Version     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by David Stagner,  13 hrs ago

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

This is insane, I signed up for the 14-day free trail not knowing that every month after the free trial they charge you $16.50, it took me 3 months to discover the funds being leaked out of my Paypal account. I sent ancestry.com a email asking them for a refund explaining my situation. Of course, they denied me a refund so I canceled my subscription with them only to be charged a $10 early cancellation fee. By this time I’m about to go insane, I sever all ties they had to my Paypal hoping that I wont lose any more money. The total loss: $59.50 Just thrown in the trash, thanks ancestry.com. (I don’t want to give them a star, far too overrating)

Biggest Pro: It did find my ancestors but was not worth the cost
Biggest Con: they leaked money out of my paypal and virtually stole it

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Gary McIrvin,  1 day ago

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

My wife was using FTM 2014 successfully on her old laptop. I bought her a new DELL and tried installing it on the new laptop. Got the can’t find/read file RTA80050. So I cleaned it out and paid for a new copy and downloaded it and tried to install it with can’t read/find file RTA27860 then RTA21360. Guess I try and install 2012 and see if that works

Biggest Pro: Worked great until this install on a new laptop
Biggest Con: Can’t get it to install……

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by HBlackwell,  1 day ago

Not Rated

I agree with David they should have stuck with 2006. Because of a computer issue I had to go from 2006 to 2012. I didn’t particularly like it but no other choice. It was like going from my tree and Ancestry helping me to Ancestry’s tree and me helping them. I did buy the 2014 update but after reading all the reviews when it first came out I decided to stay with 2012. Today a friend of mine was wanting to get an Ancestry membership for his wife for Christmas and was wanting my input. Does anyone have some good ideas what to put him into?

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Brian Hood,  3 days ago

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

FTM 2014 is a joke. I recently had to re-install Windows 7 and now FTM won’t install. I keep getting a error that says I’m not connected to the internet when I am! Back when it “worked” it kept crashing. Ancestry needs to make a program that stable and works.

Biggest Pro: Nice to have a database
Biggest Con: Takes too much of the customer’s time to troubleshoot problems

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Disappointed User,  Dec 11, 2014

Not Rated

While I am glad that Ancestry Family Tree Maker exists, I am disappointed about its amaturish programming and design. This in turn makes me concerned about the integrity of the whole thing–i.e., use of data and ancestry dna. There is simply no excuse for the poor programming. The idea is to make the program easy to use. Google and others excel at this. The programming problems are noted in other reviews, so I won’t go over them here, but someone needs to take this over because it is a disaster.

Biggest Pro: It exists and is readily available.
Biggest Con: World’s worst programming allowed to go live.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by anon,  Dec 11, 2014

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I am reviewing 2009 Family Tree Maker which was a Gift to me.
It was bought to replace an older software program called Generations Deluxe edition 6.0 /Easy Tree by Sierra which I had for eons and which I love/loved!!!! I never really used FAMILY TREE MAKER, ONLY TESTED IT.

I am still trying to use my old Generations Program on WINS 8.1 - but there are conflicts, which I have managed to overcome and get around. Of course, it could use some tweaks to make it easier to do certain functions - like adding info from one file to another, but basically speaking - heads above anything New by other manufacturers. I really only wanted an Updated program of my Original program which I had hoped would make some functions EASIER - not a poor replacement program by another company.

There is “NO” program with a Layout as NICE and as Easy to use as my “old” Generations’ Easy Tree program.

My understanding is Sierra’s Generations was bought out by the owners of Family Tree Makers
Their Idea of how a family tree program should work, is poorly duplicated everywhere!
I do not want anything to do with any of these new programs. They are poor replacements, not easy to use, nor do any of them appropriately and easily allow you to input data for each family group as my OLD family tree program PLUS I don’t want to be HOOKED to any online site never sure if they will steal my info OR I will upload it by mistake.

MY biggest complaint —
1) Family Tree Maker HOOKs you to their site or associated site ( ancestry ) and I can never be sure I won’t do something that will “steal” my private Information in my tree. I do NOT like being Immediately ONLINE with my “info at risk” when I open the program AND have to turn it manually OFF every time I start the Program! I never know “for sure” if I might do something that could trigger my private info being Uploaded to Ancestry or some other Online Site. PRIVACY and my program info being SECURE is very important to me.

People today have NO idea how much Private Info they are giving out on Sites today - and the many hazards of their actions to their Privacy — which could include putting them at risk for ID thief! No one should be using their REAL NAME online or posting so much private info as is rampant today.

2) Regarding FAMILY MAKER - their layout is terrible!! All these new programs are set up like a TIMELINE — which I could do on my old program, but as an option as another way to view my info, plus many other layouts for my info.

IF they laid out the program like my Old program with a few improvements, I would be ecstatic !!

Biggest Pro: NONE
Biggest Con: SECURITY RISKS to my private tree info by hooking me to an online site when I activate the program, risking my Family tree info being Stolen or accidentally uploaded to this site !

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Chris Schmidt,  Dec 11, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Crappiest programme ever invented. Constant sync issues. On a computer with independent graphics and 18 gig of ram and a quad core process it loads slowly, starts slowly, everything responds slowly. I too have an extensive background in IT. Like other people here I often lose major portions of my tree, and as other people have found out their support is useless.

I would not recommend Family Tree Maker 2014 if I was paid $1million. In fact, I believe each version has got progressively worse since 2008. DO NOT BUY- RUN A MILE!

Biggest Pro: Does sync with ancestry- however you have to check every little detailis syncing properly
Biggest Con: Buggy…slow….stupid…Does really weird things

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Alan G,  Dec 10, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have attempted to use their software over the last five years, know it very well, and have an extensive background in IT, so know what I am doing. Overall, it is dysfuntional in the extreme, now complicated further by the most recent required “patch” which has caused many individuals to lose major portions of their trees or entire trees altogether in the update and/or sync process. Their “support” is utterly useless, having no software training and they just read from menus which are often dated, misleading, or incomplete.

No one tolerates performance like this from any other retail software or paid online service.

Biggest Pro: Maybe works sometimes for baisic functions
Biggest Con: Buggy and dysfunctional beyond all other known current retail software

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by David South,  Dec 8, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

The 2014 version on FTM is still sloooooow and periocally will just hang and a manual close is required. I wish FTM would go back to the performance of 2006. I’m not sure all of the new features are worth the degradation in performance.

Biggest Pro: places list
Biggest Con: performance

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Carol C.,  Dec 5, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I am disappointed to see so many reviews posted by folks who obviously have no idea what they are doing. Comments like ” 2014 lists only the birth, there is no place for the death” or “it is owned and operated by the Morman Church” are but a few examples. These are totally wrong comments. Not knowing how to put in the death date is the user’s error. It is very easy if you take the time to learn where it goes. The program is fantastic and you can do so much with it. I will not, however, use the online sync for personal reasons. To the person who said that their media was “all missing” it probably isn’t…..if you entered it correctly TO the program and not just LINKED to it. If you did it right and it seems “gone” you simply click to restore it and there it is. Again, this is a user error, not a software problem. I could go through a number of such things folks have listed, but I picked these two recent ones. I suggest that if you need help, take a class at your local genealogy center, use the free companion guide that is posted on line for it, use the help function, or find a person who is more used to working with this program. I hate to see such a great program “trashed” by users who simply do not understand what to do.
PS: No, I have NOTHING to do with the company itself, but yes, I thoroughly understand the program. For years I have taught classes locally on each new version of FTM. I almost wonder if some of these truly incorrect, negative comments were posted by rival companies.

Biggest Pro: outstanding software, user friendly, extreemly powerful program
Biggest Con: you must be willing to learn the program or you will not like it

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Willie K,  Dec 5, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I had windows XP installed on my PC and upgraded to Windows 7 when XP was no longer supported by MICROSOFT. I was using FTM 2006 at the time. When I loaded the software Windows 7 did not support FTM 2006. So I purchased FTM 2014. It has been a disaster first I could not load my 2006 data to the 2014 data base. I finally gave up after talking to tech support. Then about three months later I tried to transfer the data once again and it loaded in less than a minute. WHAT A SURPRISE. I began loading new data in between those shutdowns and was fairly happy with 2014. Then I went to review an item in MEDIA and found the whole file was “missing”. Meaning that I no longer had the census reports, marriage reports, pictures and on and on. I worked several days trying to fix it and then spoke to a friend who also uses 2014. She suggested I contact tech support. They tried several things and then said they would send me an e-mail on how to fix it and I needed to follow the steps in the exact order. When I started through the fix, my problems only compounded. Also, the index is alphabetical until you add new individuals. They are not placed alphabetically VERY ANNOYING! I am looking for a new software program as this does not work

Biggest Con: Continues to crash, loses data and does not keep individuals in index in alphabetical order. Twech support is minimal at best.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Dr. H B Prasad,  Dec 2, 2014

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

provide space to write about members of family tree

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Leigh Dismukes,  Nov 27, 2014

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I purchased the upgrade online for FTM 2014. I saved it to a zip. I have had to uninstall it twice and now the code that I have will not work. This is ridiculous. You purchase something and it fails to work and there is no technical support and I can’t even open the program…I have 30 years of info tucked in there that I cannot access.

Biggest Pro: Loads more info
Biggest Con: Won’t work.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Scott,  Nov 26, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I am so sorry I ever upgraded from 2006. It crashes constantly. Try generating a descendant report. The Taj Mahal took less time. DO NOT BUY THIS VERSION!! If I didn’t have 1,200 names to redo for this one tree, I’d go back to FTM 2006!!!

Biggest Pro: None.
Biggest Con: Crashes and closes constantly!!

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Mickey Klinger,  Nov 25, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Who ever thought they were improving this product when they wrote 2014 was out of their mind. It is hard to use. When I tried to print a Descendants Report for 10 generations after waiting for 6 minutes for the program to “gather report data” I cancelled. Give me back my 2006 XP version. I was so happy back then.

Biggest Pro: None so far.
Biggest Con: Hard to use. Too much junk of screen. Hard to move around within a family. Reports do not work.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by nathan,  Nov 25, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Bought Familiy Tree Maker 2014 4 weeks ago. Today another patch comes out and now over 1,000 people are missing from my file. Any data added since the last patch is gone.

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: looses data, constantly needs new patches from internet

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Roger Dunn,  Nov 19, 2014

Not Rated

I have used FTM2011, 2012 and then upgraded to 2014. No real reason to update other than I was expecting some improvements. I had previously run the program on XP and Vista, now on Windows 7. Yes, occasionally any of the programs crash, and for some reason we consumers put up with that kind of thing - almost expect it, but FTM 2014 actually has fewer features than FTM 2012, some of which don’t work at all. Trying to sort out source citations simply doesn’t work with FTM 2014. The program canot tell you how many names are associated with any source linked to more than about 500 names, and if you try to detach a source from a person you know that without fail the program will crash and give you an error message which implies it was all your fault and you should have run the ‘Compact File’ routine more often - I was running this around every 30 minute just to be sure. I have wasted many hours writing messages to the message boards asking when the fault in the software will be fixed and have been expecting the fix to be downloaded at any moment. Well about 12 months in and absolutely nothing done, so I have now had to convert my file back to work with FTM 2012; this will take some considerable time on my part to get everything back up and running and I hate to have to waste my time doing this but FTM2014 simply doesn’t do what is promised and clearly Avanquest are not bothered enough to make their software work, so to anyone looking out for Family tree software, look at Family Tree Maker, then move on! Very angry with this product and the lack of customer care on the part of the makers.

Biggest Pro: Looks pretty
Biggest Con: The biggest con was paying money for this software!!!

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Alexander MacLellan,  Nov 18, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have been a subscriber to both Ancestry .com and FTM for many years, and I have regularly updated my version of FTM. I maintain a number of FT’s mostly under 1000 names but my main tree features 43,000 names which I hold on an ageing XL PC. About 4 months ago I purchased 3 individual discs of FTM 2014 directly from Ancestry.com for the purpose of : (1) to provide the latest update for my files held on my Windows XP PC, (2) to provide the latest FTM product to be installed on my new 2TB 16GB RAM PC, and lastly to gift a FTM disc to a friend who was a newcomer to family research. NOW, I can only say at this point in time my experience with FTM 2014 has been a disaster. Running FTM 2014 on my old XP PC has resulted in the program ‘closing’ with the now common message ‘……encountered a problem and must close down’ ! Consequently, I could not access the files to run a compacting routine, forcing me to reset my database almost a month previous. Even more frustrating, the system automatically indicated that updates were available, HOWEVER ACTIVATING THESE UPDATES IMMEDIATELY RECREATED THE SAME PROBLEM AND CLOSED DOWN THE PROGRAM. Moving on to my brand new PC…….FTM was the first program to be installed, but before completion ‘an essential update’ had to be processed which immediately caused the program to close down with the usual reason ‘ encountered a problem …….’ Or, quite strangely the error message ‘the previous FTM program was not closed properly…. Try compacting your files….’ BUT THERE WERE NO FILES!! IT WAS A COMPLETELY NEW PC WITH ABSOLUTELY NO DATA THERON!! I have tried ‘Uninstall’, ‘Reinstall’, ‘Unistall’, ‘Reinstall’, ‘Unistall’, ‘Reinstall’, etc., etc., ad nauseum but I could not rectify the problem which appears to lie with the mandatory updates. I only recently utilised these FTM 2014 discs and discovered these major problems which renders the software un-useable. I have not had time to refer the problems back to FTM but I am not encouraged by previous comments on this topic.

Biggest Pro: Great FT framework which previously worked so-so
Biggest Con: Extremely disappointed with FTM 2014 , for me it’s an unworkable product in its present state.

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Dennis Blankenmeyer,  Nov 16, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have used Ancestry since it came out and never had a problem like I have with the 2014 version. It will not install. I keep getting a notice telling me I am missing a .dll file in my 2012 version. After a few call to a customer rep were of no help and then reading these reviews, I am going to attempt to obtain a refund.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Worthless program

Family Tree Maker - Current Version Review by Dale Brose,  Nov 15, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Software freezes when entering information in SOURCE.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Software is unusable

Show 21-40 »