Brother’s Keeper

Click To See Award Winners
by John Steed
The most respected and successful shareware genealogical program. Has been around a long time and has many dedicated users.

Purchase • Windows • Full Featured
http://www.bkwin.org/
Overall964.79 out of 54.79 out of 54.79 out of 54.79 out of 54.79 out of 5 4.79
201684.86 out of 54.86 out of 54.86 out of 54.86 out of 54.86 out of 5 4.86
2015134.92 out of 54.92 out of 54.92 out of 54.92 out of 54.92 out of 5 4.92
Earlier754.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 5 4.50

Add Your Review of Brother’s Keeper

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

96 Reviews of Brother’s Keeper     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Brother’s Keeper Review by Peter Barclay,  1 day ago

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

The best and easiest program to use. Been using it since the late 1980’s. John Steed keeps it up to date and deserves a medal. Have tried several other programs but Brother’s Keeper is by far the most versatile, backs up easily, stores a very large database. Just great.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use and versatile output.
Biggest Con: None for me.

Brother’s Keeper Review by Cheryle Martin,  Jul 25, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I too have used this program since it began and cannot fault it. Love it. Just need to find an App to put on my Android Tablet.

Biggest Pro: Ease of use and email queries answered promptly.
Biggest Con: No App

Brother’s Keeper Review by Jane Marriott,  Apr 25, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I’ve used it from the very beginning - decades ago! Everything I want to record, I can. Never had a problem with it. A few years ago I thought I might try a different one. Transferred all my info by GEDCOM, but never got to grips with the other rather flashy programme. Brother’s Keeper every time for me!

Biggest Pro: Does everything I want it to.
Biggest Con: Can’t think of one.

Brother’s Keeper Review by Sam,  Mar 27, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Have used this software for decades and found it to be the best available for managing genealogical data.

Biggest Pro: Ease of use
Biggest Con: Resizing photos for reports is time consuming and error prone

Brother’s Keeper Review by Macquid,  Feb 9, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I first purchased Brother’s Keeper back in the 1990s… and subsequently bought the online update to BK7 as soon as it was issued. I’m extremely satisfied with this great software (as well as with John Steed’s very prompt support, always within literally minutes of emailing them any question) on those couple of occasions when it was requested. So I’m a big “fan” of Brother’s Keeper, and never miss an opportunity to recommend it to others.

Biggest Pro: Ease of use, navigation and generating numerous text/graphic report formats. Handles very big family trees (data files) without any difficulty. Frequent updates (free-of-charge), each with added functions/features
Biggest Con: Not a one!

Brother’s Keeper Review by Amoetat Akevoth (Israel),  Feb 4, 2016

Not Rated

Used by us-the biggest site of Dutch Jewish genealogy worldwide-exclusively for many years.

It helps maintaining our website of over 350,000 pages and over 800,000 visits yearly.

http://www.dutchjewry.org

Biggest Pro: multual language English & Dutch, easy switching between the 2 languages, can handle Hebrew text

Brother’s Keeper Review by Peter Hawlina,  Jan 20, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I prefer BK5 and therefore still use old PC with Windows XP.
For special purposes only I move my file to BK7.

Biggest Pro: The most complete service for genealogist, quick, reliable, simple,
Biggest Con: no user defined aliases,

Brother’s Keeper Review by treebuff,  Jan 4, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been using this shareware program over 15 years. I liked it enough to pay for the full version. It is easy to learn to use. I have only had need for support once and received prompt assistance, even if it was by email. I have tried to “move up” to the more popular programs, but have gone back to Brother’s Keeper each time.

Biggest Pro: easy to learn and easy to use
Biggest Con: not widely used

Brother’s Keeper Review by Nelson,  Dec 10, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have over 50000 names and works great. Have had it since forever. Tried other programs but BK is by far the easiest for and old fellow like me.

Biggest Pro: Easy to work with
Biggest Con: None.

Brother’s Keeper Review by Marilyn Henninger,  Nov 12, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Brother’s Keeper was the very first computer program I used. It was in the early 90s. I wish all programs were as versatile and easy to use. I used it to produce a 1,000 page genealogy book. There are many report options. Don’t buy other programs that charge for upgrades every few years. In over 20 years I think I only paid for the Dos version, Windows version and BK7 version.
There is excellent support from Mr. Steed. He is prompt and patient.

Biggest Pro: Very easy to use. Reasonably priced.
Biggest Con: Absolutely none.

Brother’s Keeper Review by Joanne Smith,  Aug 28, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Best program for ease of use. Fantastic for people starting out and great for the advanced user. Always kept up to date by the maker of the program. Heaps and heaps cheaper than any other programs. Doesnt hog your computer for space either.

Biggest Pro: EASE of use
Biggest Con: None

Brother’s Keeper Review by Dr. Henry A. Fribourg,  Aug 13, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Brother’s Keeper is by far the best genealogical program I have ever used, starting with version 3. In the last twenty years,I have been able to build a database of over 56,000 individuals. Occasionally, I have committed some errors that, with the use of the manual, I could not correct. I have always found Mr. Steed willing to help me out within a very short time. I recommend the program without any reservation for its capabilities and numerous options of classifications and outputs.

Brother’s Keeper Review by Joanne Armstrong,  Jul 26, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Have used Brother’s Keeper for many years and find it great. My biggest disappointment is that I cannot create files of the trees so that I can email them to others.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use
Biggest Con: Unable to save trees and reports as files so that they can be emailed to others

Brother’s Keeper Review by Mary Ann Gohr,  Jun 20, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have used this program since the DOS days and I love it. It may not be as colorful or “pretty” as some of the other programs, but it can handle data with the best of them. I completely agree with what others have said about how often it is updated and how it keeps up with the latest software capabilities. I see no reason to use a more expensive program when BK can do the job just as well, or better!

Biggest Pro: Data handling, and I mean large amounts of data!
Biggest Con: The time it would take me to think up a biggest con… Like all of us, it has the occasional - rare - flaw. But John Steed supports this program well and will get you an answer quickly.

Brother’s Keeper Review by Sharon Rowe,  Jun 19, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

This is the program I used for many years until I got a Mac. There is no Mac version, else I would still be using it. It is a very robust program that has huge data storage capabilities. I originally started using it when I had too many names in my database for my previous program.

Biggest Pro: Can have a huge database.
Biggest Con: No Mac version.

Brother’s Keeper Review by John Campbell,  Mar 19, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Thought about using it over the years. But now, since that I’m more experienced with computers and it’s software side. This is one of the easier genealogical programs to use. A genealogy programs doesn’t need all those bells and whistles to be awesome.

Biggest Pro: The ease of use. Also, a short learning curve.
Biggest Con: Doesn’t do a comprehensive family website.

Brother’s Keeper Review by Jared Handspicker,  Mar 18, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have had the privilege of using BK since the DOS days. Some time in the 1980s I realized that computers could really help keep track of my ancestral history (at the time, filling four three-ring binders with Family Group Sheets, Individual Sheets, and stories/pictures. Though there were a few other programs around at the time (I believe my first version had to be requested by mail and came on 5 1/4″ floppy with a fairly basic user manual), BK was the more affordable for the quality and quantity of features. I had tried a few others before settling with BK. Since then, with only a few breaks from continual updates, the program has grown with my needs and is still my primary interface to my family history. I have exported the GEDCOM to other programs in order to prep the data for posting to my website. That might be my only “con” if I had one, but I have gotten around that for years now, so I don’t see it as one. I currently have three other genealogy programs loaded on my laptop and PC, and though the other three are more expensive, they are only there for when I need to provide exported material in different formats. I’ve not yet loaded BK7 onto my Win8.1 laptop, and expect there will be some issues, but those are to be expected. All in all, this is THE best software for genealogy I’ve ever had the pleasure of using (including TMG, RootsMagic, FTM, Legacy, Gramps, GenoPro, Reunion, and several others).

Biggest Pro: Ease of use, quick and easy support
Biggest Con: None

Brother’s Keeper Review by bob Ranson,  Feb 27, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I don’t know when BK was started but I think I started using it in the early eighties when it was dos. I have hundreds of hours of research stored on it. It was great! I moth balled my computer and haven’t used it in years. I am now retired and wish to bring it up to date. My computer crashed and I had it rebuilt and have a windows based hard drive. I can find the BK program but cannot open it because it is in DOS. Can I convert it to windows or have I lost all of my work.


Moderator’s note: try: http://www.bkwin.org/bk5.htm (Thanks Die Vo)

Brother’s Keeper Review by Charles L'Écuyer,  Feb 14, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I use BK since the Version 5.2 and I like it because it is very easy and fast to work with. As the datadase is a GEDCOM structure, can upload my database on any other software using GEDCOM. Very powerfull.
Never had any problem.

Biggest Pro: GEDCOM database.
Biggest Con: None.

Brother’s Keeper Review by Olavi,  Feb 3, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been using BK since 2007. I like it’s ascetic design, and ease of use.

I don’t miss prettiness of the other programs. But I miss the possibility to share with relatives. Thus it seems i have to move to myheritage or some other webpage for that

Biggest Pro: ease of use, no gimmicks
Biggest Con: No family tree website

Show 21-40 »