Brother’s Keeper

Click To See Award Winners
by John Steed
The most respected and successful shareware genealogical program. Has been around a long time and has many dedicated users.

Purchase • Windows • Full Featured
http://www.bkwin.org/
Overall744.46 out of 54.46 out of 54.46 out of 54.46 out of 54.46 out of 5 4.46
201474.32 out of 54.32 out of 54.32 out of 54.32 out of 54.32 out of 5 4.32
201394.68 out of 54.68 out of 54.68 out of 54.68 out of 54.68 out of 5 4.68
Earlier584.46 out of 54.46 out of 54.46 out of 54.46 out of 54.46 out of 5 4.46

Add Your Review of Brother’s Keeper

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

74 Reviews of Brother’s Keeper     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Brother’s Keeper Review by Dr Irfan Hyder,  Nov 16, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Just got the database and the file from my relative who had painstakingly entered the family data in detail comprehensively of our ancestors in early 1800s. Easy to load and use.
How do I integrate it with my website?
Why BK website is so unhelpful. Does not list features etc.

Much easier to handle then many web versions.

Biggest Pro: Easy and fast
Biggest Con: Seems like the company supporting it is altruistic

Brother’s Keeper Review by June Castle,  Sep 13, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have used the Brother’s Keeper programme since 1984 when I first started family history. In that long time I have had no problems even though I have 6,795 names on it. I had a family reunion in February of this year and each guest was given a copy of their family tree.

June Castle from New Zealand

Brother’s Keeper Review by Dave Sloan,  Sep 9, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Have used program for over 20 years and have had only one problem. Made one phone call to John Steed, problem solved.

Biggest Pro: ease of use, variaty of searchs and reports.
Biggest Con: NONE

Brother’s Keeper Review by Pat Stiles Taritas,  Jun 20, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

BK has been my favorite since I first began using it when it appeared on the market. I must admit my giving it a chance was the fact of it’s Michigan origins. And, to tell you the truth I can’t remember the year. We lived a long way from home, in the Caribbean, and genealogical research wasn’t an easy hobby and I had the only personal computer on our island. IBM had just that year 1978 began selling to the public and I knew nothing about using one. Good typist but computer operator? I needed a good solid data base genealogical program and after trying several of the well touted and expensive programs and starting with Dbase 1 thru 4 which I used in our business, I wanted something which was more helpful with genealogy. Brother’s Keeper filled the bill with both helping fill the genealogy need and helping learn the computer. The program grew with me. I’ve since learned a tremendous amount about both and because of my intense loyalty to the personal help from John Steed when needed over the years and after trying all the popular commercial programs I’ll stick with my first choice and go to the publisher with Brother’s Keeper in hand.

Biggest Pro: Easily learned with John Steed there helping with every problem along the way. Haven

Brother’s Keeper Review by Jörg,  Mar 16, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Ich nutze BK seit Zeiten von DOS. Sehr umfangreiches Programm, das mit zum genealogischen Standard gehört. Braucht Einarbeitungszeit, lässt dann aber keine Wünsche offen in der täglichen Arbeit. Nicht gut geeignet für Stammbaumausgaben, dafür ist die Nutzung anderer Programme per Gedcom-Datenübertragung besser.

Biggest Pro: Riesiger Funktionsumfang. Schnelle Hilfe bei Fragen.
Biggest Con: Bei jedem Versionssprung recht teuer.

Brother’s Keeper Review by Clarence Forwood Gunther,  Feb 27, 2014

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I have run your program for ten years or so rather successfully until about one year and a half ago when an inexperienced fellow lost the program and I have not been able to recover it. This was ten years of hard work to accumulate. Any ideas on what I may try to recover my comprehensive date program? Garet Gunther

Biggest Pro: Cannot locate my whole program
Biggest Con: I had learned a rather good program and had earlier received help from John Steed.

Brother’s Keeper Review by Annette,  Jan 12, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Have used this for 12 years, always up todate and very easy to navigate through. Would not change for anything and have tried a few others.
Excellent personal help from John Steed if not sure of anything.

Biggest Pro: Easy to Use
Biggest Con: None

Brother’s Keeper Review by Chris Dixon,  Dec 13, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I’ve been using Brother’s Keeper since early 1993 when it was DOS version. I tried a few other programs before and since then but those were not as easy to use as BK. Outstanding support with recent program updates available for download.

Biggest Pro: easy to use; easy to enter, import and export data; outstanding support

Brother’s Keeper Review by Peter Du Port,  Dec 5, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

There is no better programme for saving your family history information. The edit page displays way more information of your relatives lives than any other programme and lets you see their life story on one page. Additional information and reference sources, including photographs and text documents are only one click away and it is all delightfully simple to use.
I have used Brothers Keeper for many years and despite being very happy with it, I am constantly on the look out for any better new programmes. There are none so far !

Biggest Pro: Ease of use and clear comprehensive display of information.
Biggest Con: Can share and export information via GEDCOM but cannot be accessed via the cloud on other devices.

Brother’s Keeper Review by Billie Jo Monger,  Jul 14, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Great program!!! First used Brothers Keeper on a Zenith 151-52 way back when John Steed first developed the program. I have always found it easy to use, accurate and very reliable. For these reasons I have always suggested this program to the students in my classes regardless of their age because all genealogists never, ever have enough time to fullfill their own individual research objectives. No one wants to waste time which is irreplaceable dealing with a genealogy program full of extras that few will ever use.

It is important to learn a genealogy program to understand it’s many features; for instance, Brothers Keeper recognizes that color is a very personal issue thus many colors are indeed available in the program and maybe easily selected for each individual computer screen. These colors may also be changed by simply touching a key on your own computer without an effect on the data.

Biggest Pro: Uncomplicated to use while delivering all of the necessities required by the professional or hobby genealogist.
Biggest Con: Not one single one that I have ever found. .

Brother’s Keeper Review by Billy Bob,  Jun 7, 2013

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Ok I started with this one in the 90’s it was pretty good then, but the world has moved on. For goodness sake add some color to the screens, it’s ……sooooo boooooring spending the day entering info into every GREY screen…so depressing !!

Me thinks it’s time the author gave up on the VB6 and ported it to a newer software platfom or open source it and let others improve it.

Biggest Pro: Some nice reports
Biggest Con: Grey buttons, grey background, grey, grey, grey more grey and then some more grey

Brother’s Keeper Review by David Jones,  May 16, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Have used BK since early 90’s. Nothing over complicated for one who is only marginally computer literate. I had fast and helpful response to problems recently when moving to Windows 8. The trick of moving Databases under DATA instead of PROGRAM FILES, as instructed on the Website, was most successful for me, and I commend that to anyone who is thinking of upgrading to Win 8. It’s a bit fiddly doing Backups, but I have decided for the time being, to run BK6 on two computers with XP and 8 until my old hardware gives up and/or I feel more comfortable with MS and Win 8.

Biggest Pro: ‘One to one’ help. Where else would one get this service?
Biggest Con: None.

Brother’s Keeper Review by Penanne,  May 14, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

have used BK for many years,appreciate the support when needed..it is prompt and helpful. User friendly, I have recommended it to many genealogy newbies.

Biggest Pro: easy to use, great support
Biggest Con: none

Brother’s Keeper Review by Peter Jacobs,  Apr 16, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

My primary genealogy software for a number of years. BK’s John Steed adheres to keeping the BK software simple and straight forward. My cousins in NL also use BK, thus crossing the language barrier when sharing genealogy info is less problematic.
Hebben een goede dag,
Piet

Biggest Pro: Export trees to PDF.
Biggest Con: None that have not been corrected with quick updates.

Brother’s Keeper Review by Dave Sloan,  Jan 15, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been a user for over 15 years. Love all of the reports you can create. Also like the way sources are entered and handled.

Biggest Pro: The mail llist with the author John Steed available to answer questions.
Biggest Con: There are none that I know of.

Brother’s Keeper Review by Nancy Roberson,  Jan 6, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Been using BK for many years and have been totally satisfied. It is easy to enter data and easy to add documentation to the data. Also can easily add pictures into your BK. It is easy to print family group sheets and pedigree charts and I have printed many registers.

Biggest Pro: So user friendly!

Brother’s Keeper Review by GC,  Dec 22, 2012

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Developed by a “one man band” who can’t be getting any younger. What will happen when he can no longer continue? That is the sole reason that I keep looking for an alternative. If I don’t find something soon, I hope I die before John Steed does.

Biggest Pro: Does what I want it to.
Biggest Con: Developed by a “one man band”.

Brother’s Keeper Review by John,  Sep 15, 2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Purchased this on floppy drives! Been through many years of improvements, enhancements, etc. sometimes two or three a month. Just keeps doing more and better.

I never hesitate to recommend BK to folks who were/are struggling with fancier and far more expensive software.

Questions and problems are always resolved almost immediately. John Steed is always patient and never stops until your problem is resolved.

Biggest Pro: Superb tech support! Quickly responds to user group concerns and suggestions.
Biggest Con: none

Brother’s Keeper Review by Don Porter,  Sep 7, 2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

First used the DOS version on a Commodore 64 - have tried other programs over the years but always go back to Brother’s Keeper.

Biggest Pro: Learning curve is quick and easy.

Brother’s Keeper Review by John Montgomery,  Aug 16, 2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been using Brothers Keeper since 1994 and find it to be an excellent programme giving me clear printouts which are not cluttered with fancy gimmicks. I have been in contact with John on several occasions over the years and, like many others have had replies virtually by return.
Yes, I have been tempted to look at other programmes but have found that they do not fulfil my requirements so I am very happy to stay with Brothers Keeper.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use and is private
Biggest Con: Cannot think of any.

Show 21-40 »