Brother’s Keeper

Click To See Award Winners
by John Steed
The most respected and successful shareware genealogical program. Has been around a long time and has many dedicated users.

Purchase • Windows • Full Featured
http://www.bkwin.org/
Overall1054.84 out of 54.84 out of 54.84 out of 54.84 out of 54.84 out of 5 4.84
201775 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 5.00
2016104.75 out of 54.75 out of 54.75 out of 54.75 out of 54.75 out of 5 4.75
Earlier884.75 out of 54.75 out of 54.75 out of 54.75 out of 54.75 out of 5 4.75

Add Your Review of Brother’s Keeper

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

105 Reviews of Brother’s Keeper     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Brother’s Keeper Review by Don Porter,  Sep 29, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Have used this program since the DOS version back in the 1970’s. Always keep up to date with new features and reports - great support.

Brother’s Keeper Review by Hans Verlinden,  Apr 6, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

April 06, 2017
htpps://www.verlinden.nu
I just have updated BK to 7.2.3.
I use BK in Netherlands since 1960. A marvellous program, easy to handle.John Steed answers all questions and/or makes immeditaly changes in the data-base if f.e. the printing of some letters is not correct.
I use BK as support for drafting my website.
The HTML-facilities are splendid. If I may say so: more HTML-solutions could improve the use of BK.

Biggest Pro: reliability of the program, easy back-up procedures
Biggest Con: possibilities to delete a database

Brother’s Keeper Review by Janet Bower,  Mar 20, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have used Brother’s Keeper for over 20 years now - originally as shareware on two 5 inch floppy discs. I then bought a full licence and the CD version a few years later. I have always upgraded when a new version has become available. I have watched this program grow to the fantastic product it is now. Have tried others but have always come back to my Brother’s Keeper - now version 7.2.2. I have never had any problems with it - I have entered over 15000 names and nearly 5000 families. Most records have at least 5 images attached too - too vast a number of images to mention. Great reports too.
Thank you very much Mr John Steed.

Biggest Pro: 1st and main pro - Easy Backup procedures on exit… 2nd - The ease of adding photos to individuals along with sources and notes…. 3rd - To be able to add my own Events
Biggest Con: Very sad that there is no Android version for my Samsung Tablet. Would be willing to pay extra too….

Brother’s Keeper Review by Otto Jørgensen,  Mar 7, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Many users in Scandinavian and the program is very popurar in Scandinavian.

Brother’s Keeper Review by Jeff Dixon,  Mar 7, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

User since 1988.
Very easy to use.
Great support.
The BK maillist is monitored by many experienced users as well as the developer. Questions answered, software issues resolved, and even enhancement requests are immediately evaluated and handled.

I requested a means of creating name tags for my family reunion, and within weeks that was a new feature.

Biggest Pro: Many reports, graphs, trees, etc. Utilities, database merge/split. Too much to remember.
Biggest Con: none

Brother’s Keeper Review by Jim Hemphill,  Feb 25, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

John Steed has a very good program that I have used for over 10 years, I started with 4.1 and use 7 today. very user friendly and John is always there to help if you have any questions.

Biggest Pro: user friendly and not flashie

Brother’s Keeper Review by Anne Johnston,  Jan 13, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have used Brother’s Keeper for probably over 20 years and am continually amazed at how it continues to develop with new features being continually added while at the same time the product has the same look and feel and remains very easy to use, particularly in comparison to other family history software. The dedication of its developer John Steed is second to none.

Biggest Pro: Ease of use
Biggest Con: None

Brother’s Keeper Review by Nancy Pakkala,  Dec 1, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I have used BK since the late 90’s I believe when I finally learned to use a computer. The program was so easy to learn how to use. Only problem I have had was getting pictures from my computer to the program but that may be my own fault and I haven’t really worked at it in quite a while. John is so helpful, either by email or phone call and of course the list where you can post questions and get prompt answers. Haven’t really needed to use the list very often as most things are explained very well in the manual. I did download and try another program but after a few days came back to BK and deleted the other. Very satisfied!

Biggest Pro: Ease of use and the fact there is always help available.
Biggest Con: None that I can think of.

Brother’s Keeper Review by Lorna Kay,  Sep 3, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Excellent user-friendly programme which I have been using since the very first edition. John Steed is always helpful and answers queries quickly and in a logical easily understood way. I would not hesitate to recommend this programme to both beginners and advanced genealogists. Can’t see any reason to change to another programme or even try one. This has everything I need.
Lorna Kay, Manchester UK.

Biggest Pro: User friendly
Biggest Con: Can’t find one

Brother’s Keeper Review by Peter Barclay,  Aug 22, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

The best and easiest program to use. Been using it since the late 1980’s. John Steed keeps it up to date and deserves a medal. Have tried several other programs but Brother’s Keeper is by far the most versatile, backs up easily, stores a very large database. Just great.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use and versatile output.
Biggest Con: None for me.

Brother’s Keeper Review by Cheryle Martin,  Jul 25, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I too have used this program since it began and cannot fault it. Love it. Just need to find an App to put on my Android Tablet.

Biggest Pro: Ease of use and email queries answered promptly.
Biggest Con: No App

Brother’s Keeper Review by Jane Marriott,  Apr 25, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I’ve used it from the very beginning - decades ago! Everything I want to record, I can. Never had a problem with it. A few years ago I thought I might try a different one. Transferred all my info by GEDCOM, but never got to grips with the other rather flashy programme. Brother’s Keeper every time for me!

Biggest Pro: Does everything I want it to.
Biggest Con: Can’t think of one.

Brother’s Keeper Review by Sam,  Mar 27, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Have used this software for decades and found it to be the best available for managing genealogical data.

Biggest Pro: Ease of use
Biggest Con: Resizing photos for reports is time consuming and error prone

Brother’s Keeper Review by Macquid,  Feb 9, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I first purchased Brother’s Keeper back in the 1990s… and subsequently bought the online update to BK7 as soon as it was issued. I’m extremely satisfied with this great software (as well as with John Steed’s very prompt support, always within literally minutes of emailing them any question) on those couple of occasions when it was requested. So I’m a big “fan” of Brother’s Keeper, and never miss an opportunity to recommend it to others.

Biggest Pro: Ease of use, navigation and generating numerous text/graphic report formats. Handles very big family trees (data files) without any difficulty. Frequent updates (free-of-charge), each with added functions/features
Biggest Con: Not a one!

Brother’s Keeper Review by Amoetat Akevoth (Israel),  Feb 4, 2016

Not Rated

Used by us-the biggest site of Dutch Jewish genealogy worldwide-exclusively for many years.

It helps maintaining our website of over 350,000 pages and over 800,000 visits yearly.

http://www.dutchjewry.org

Biggest Pro: multual language English & Dutch, easy switching between the 2 languages, can handle Hebrew text

Brother’s Keeper Review by Peter Hawlina,  Jan 20, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I prefer BK5 and therefore still use old PC with Windows XP.
For special purposes only I move my file to BK7.

Biggest Pro: The most complete service for genealogist, quick, reliable, simple,
Biggest Con: no user defined aliases,

Brother’s Keeper Review by treebuff,  Jan 4, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been using this shareware program over 15 years. I liked it enough to pay for the full version. It is easy to learn to use. I have only had need for support once and received prompt assistance, even if it was by email. I have tried to “move up” to the more popular programs, but have gone back to Brother’s Keeper each time.

Biggest Pro: easy to learn and easy to use
Biggest Con: not widely used

Brother’s Keeper Review by Nelson,  Dec 10, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have over 50000 names and works great. Have had it since forever. Tried other programs but BK is by far the easiest for and old fellow like me.

Biggest Pro: Easy to work with
Biggest Con: None.

Brother’s Keeper Review by Marilyn Henninger,  Nov 12, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Brother’s Keeper was the very first computer program I used. It was in the early 90s. I wish all programs were as versatile and easy to use. I used it to produce a 1,000 page genealogy book. There are many report options. Don’t buy other programs that charge for upgrades every few years. In over 20 years I think I only paid for the Dos version, Windows version and BK7 version.
There is excellent support from Mr. Steed. He is prompt and patient.

Biggest Pro: Very easy to use. Reasonably priced.
Biggest Con: Absolutely none.

Brother’s Keeper Review by Joanne Smith,  Aug 28, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Best program for ease of use. Fantastic for people starting out and great for the advanced user. Always kept up to date by the maker of the program. Heaps and heaps cheaper than any other programs. Doesnt hog your computer for space either.

Biggest Pro: EASE of use
Biggest Con: None

Show 21-40 »