Brother’s Keeper

Click To See Award Winners
by John Steed
The most respected and successful shareware genealogical program. Has been around a long time and has many dedicated users.

Purchase • Windows • Full Featured
http://www.bkwin.org/
Overall864.71 out of 54.71 out of 54.71 out of 54.71 out of 54.71 out of 5 4.71
2015114.89 out of 54.89 out of 54.89 out of 54.89 out of 54.89 out of 5 4.89
201484.44 out of 54.44 out of 54.44 out of 54.44 out of 54.44 out of 5 4.44
Earlier674.57 out of 54.57 out of 54.57 out of 54.57 out of 54.57 out of 5 4.57

Add Your Review of Brother’s Keeper

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

86 Reviews of Brother’s Keeper     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Brother’s Keeper Review by Joanne Smith,  2 hrs ago

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Best program for ease of use. Fantastic for people starting out and great for the advanced user. Always kept up to date by the maker of the program. Heaps and heaps cheaper than any other programs. Doesnt hog your computer for space either.

Biggest Pro: EASE of use
Biggest Con: None

Brother’s Keeper Review by Dr. Henry A. Fribourg,  Aug 13, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Brother’s Keeper is by far the best genealogical program I have ever used, starting with version 3. In the last twenty years,I have been able to build a database of over 56,000 individuals. Occasionally, I have committed some errors that, with the use of the manual, I could not correct. I have always found Mr. Steed willing to help me out within a very short time. I recommend the program without any reservation for its capabilities and numerous options of classifications and outputs.

Brother’s Keeper Review by Joanne Armstrong,  Jul 26, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Have used Brother’s Keeper for many years and find it great. My biggest disappointment is that I cannot create files of the trees so that I can email them to others.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use
Biggest Con: Unable to save trees and reports as files so that they can be emailed to others

Brother’s Keeper Review by Mary Ann Gohr,  Jun 20, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have used this program since the DOS days and I love it. It may not be as colorful or “pretty” as some of the other programs, but it can handle data with the best of them. I completely agree with what others have said about how often it is updated and how it keeps up with the latest software capabilities. I see no reason to use a more expensive program when BK can do the job just as well, or better!

Biggest Pro: Data handling, and I mean large amounts of data!
Biggest Con: The time it would take me to think up a biggest con… Like all of us, it has the occasional - rare - flaw. But John Steed supports this program well and will get you an answer quickly.

Brother’s Keeper Review by Sharon Rowe,  Jun 19, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

This is the program I used for many years until I got a Mac. There is no Mac version, else I would still be using it. It is a very robust program that has huge data storage capabilities. I originally started using it when I had too many names in my database for my previous program.

Biggest Pro: Can have a huge database.
Biggest Con: No Mac version.

Brother’s Keeper Review by John Campbell,  Mar 19, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Thought about using it over the years. But now, since that I’m more experienced with computers and it’s software side. This is one of the easier genealogical programs to use. A genealogy programs doesn’t need all those bells and whistles to be awesome.

Biggest Pro: The ease of use. Also, a short learning curve.
Biggest Con: Doesn’t do a comprehensive family website.

Brother’s Keeper Review by Jared Handspicker,  Mar 18, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have had the privilege of using BK since the DOS days. Some time in the 1980s I realized that computers could really help keep track of my ancestral history (at the time, filling four three-ring binders with Family Group Sheets, Individual Sheets, and stories/pictures. Though there were a few other programs around at the time (I believe my first version had to be requested by mail and came on 5 1/4″ floppy with a fairly basic user manual), BK was the more affordable for the quality and quantity of features. I had tried a few others before settling with BK. Since then, with only a few breaks from continual updates, the program has grown with my needs and is still my primary interface to my family history. I have exported the GEDCOM to other programs in order to prep the data for posting to my website. That might be my only “con” if I had one, but I have gotten around that for years now, so I don’t see it as one. I currently have three other genealogy programs loaded on my laptop and PC, and though the other three are more expensive, they are only there for when I need to provide exported material in different formats. I’ve not yet loaded BK7 onto my Win8.1 laptop, and expect there will be some issues, but those are to be expected. All in all, this is THE best software for genealogy I’ve ever had the pleasure of using (including TMG, RootsMagic, FTM, Legacy, Gramps, GenoPro, Reunion, and several others).

Biggest Pro: Ease of use, quick and easy support
Biggest Con: None

Brother’s Keeper Review by bob Ranson,  Feb 27, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I don’t know when BK was started but I think I started using it in the early eighties when it was dos. I have hundreds of hours of research stored on it. It was great! I moth balled my computer and haven’t used it in years. I am now retired and wish to bring it up to date. My computer crashed and I had it rebuilt and have a windows based hard drive. I can find the BK program but cannot open it because it is in DOS. Can I convert it to windows or have I lost all of my work.


Moderator’s note: try: http://www.bkwin.org/bk5.htm (Thanks Die Vo)

Brother’s Keeper Review by Charles L'Écuyer,  Feb 14, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I use BK since the Version 5.2 and I like it because it is very easy and fast to work with. As the datadase is a GEDCOM structure, can upload my database on any other software using GEDCOM. Very powerfull.
Never had any problem.

Biggest Pro: GEDCOM database.
Biggest Con: None.

Brother’s Keeper Review by Olavi,  Feb 3, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been using BK since 2007. I like it’s ascetic design, and ease of use.

I don’t miss prettiness of the other programs. But I miss the possibility to share with relatives. Thus it seems i have to move to myheritage or some other webpage for that

Biggest Pro: ease of use, no gimmicks
Biggest Con: No family tree website

Brother’s Keeper Review by TE,  Jan 11, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Always being updated. Handles large databases well.

Brother’s Keeper Review by Ann Janeen Guidry,  Dec 17, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

John Louis Crockett

Brother’s Keeper Review by Dr Irfan Hyder,  Nov 16, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Just got the database and the file from my relative who had painstakingly entered the family data in detail comprehensively of our ancestors in early 1800s. Easy to load and use.
How do I integrate it with my website?
Why BK website is so unhelpful. Does not list features etc.

Much easier to handle then many web versions.

Biggest Pro: Easy and fast
Biggest Con: Seems like the company supporting it is altruistic

Brother’s Keeper Review by June Castle,  Sep 13, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have used the Brother’s Keeper programme since 1984 when I first started family history. In that long time I have had no problems even though I have 6,795 names on it. I had a family reunion in February of this year and each guest was given a copy of their family tree.

June Castle from New Zealand

Brother’s Keeper Review by Dave Sloan,  Sep 9, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Have used program for over 20 years and have had only one problem. Made one phone call to John Steed, problem solved.

Biggest Pro: ease of use, variaty of searchs and reports.
Biggest Con: NONE

Brother’s Keeper Review by Pat Stiles Taritas,  Jun 20, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

BK has been my favorite since I first began using it when it appeared on the market. I must admit my giving it a chance was the fact of it’s Michigan origins. And, to tell you the truth I can’t remember the year. We lived a long way from home, in the Caribbean, and genealogical research wasn’t an easy hobby and I had the only personal computer on our island. IBM had just that year 1978 began selling to the public and I knew nothing about using one. Good typist but computer operator? I needed a good solid data base genealogical program and after trying several of the well touted and expensive programs and starting with Dbase 1 thru 4 which I used in our business, I wanted something which was more helpful with genealogy. Brother’s Keeper filled the bill with both helping fill the genealogy need and helping learn the computer. The program grew with me. I’ve since learned a tremendous amount about both and because of my intense loyalty to the personal help from John Steed when needed over the years and after trying all the popular commercial programs I’ll stick with my first choice and go to the publisher with Brother’s Keeper in hand.

Biggest Pro: Easily learned with John Steed there helping with every problem along the way. Haven

Brother’s Keeper Review by Jörg,  Mar 16, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Ich nutze BK seit Zeiten von DOS. Sehr umfangreiches Programm, das mit zum genealogischen Standard gehört. Braucht Einarbeitungszeit, lässt dann aber keine Wünsche offen in der täglichen Arbeit. Nicht gut geeignet für Stammbaumausgaben, dafür ist die Nutzung anderer Programme per Gedcom-Datenübertragung besser.

Biggest Pro: Riesiger Funktionsumfang. Schnelle Hilfe bei Fragen.
Biggest Con: Bei jedem Versionssprung recht teuer.

Brother’s Keeper Review by Clarence Forwood Gunther,  Feb 27, 2014

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I have run your program for ten years or so rather successfully until about one year and a half ago when an inexperienced fellow lost the program and I have not been able to recover it. This was ten years of hard work to accumulate. Any ideas on what I may try to recover my comprehensive date program? Garet Gunther

Biggest Pro: Cannot locate my whole program
Biggest Con: I had learned a rather good program and had earlier received help from John Steed.

Brother’s Keeper Review by Annette,  Jan 12, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Have used this for 12 years, always up todate and very easy to navigate through. Would not change for anything and have tried a few others.
Excellent personal help from John Steed if not sure of anything.

Biggest Pro: Easy to Use
Biggest Con: None

Brother’s Keeper Review by Chris Dixon,  Dec 13, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I’ve been using Brother’s Keeper since early 1993 when it was DOS version. I tried a few other programs before and since then but those were not as easy to use as BK. Outstanding support with recent program updates available for download.

Biggest Pro: easy to use; easy to enter, import and export data; outstanding support

Show 21-40 »