Family Echo

Click To See Award Winners
by Familiality Ltd. (Gideon Greenspan)
Build an interactive family tree of your ancestry. Invite family members to collaborate online and fill in the missing details.

Free • Online • Full Featured
http://www.familyecho.com/
Overall424.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 5 4.10
2015113.86 out of 53.86 out of 53.86 out of 53.86 out of 53.86 out of 5 3.86
2014104.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 5 4.60
Earlier214.05 out of 54.05 out of 54.05 out of 54.05 out of 54.05 out of 5 4.05

Add Your Review of Family Echo

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

42 Reviews of Family Echo     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Family Echo Review by Teri,  Jul 12, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

For a free site this is an excellent source for your family tree. I have been able to go back to the 1600’s with no problems until it comes to printing. You need to change the settings to show everyone and the print out takes 100 pages and lots of taping . I don’t have walls big enough !!! If you want to put your tree on your own website or domain it’s easy and allows for full HTML export . You can invite tree members to edit their personal information without effecting the other information . I would have given it a 5 if there was a better way to print .

Biggest Pro: Easy to use and save data as HTML , Text or Gedcom
Biggest Con: inability to print tree effectively

Family Echo Review by J,  Jun 21, 2015

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I had no idea that after spending hours researching dates (marriages, births, deaths, divorces, birthdays that my data would disappear. I did not know to create an account. Is there anyway to get that information back?

Biggest Pro: easy to use, but easy to lose
Biggest Con: Wasted hours and lost all my data. Wish I could get that information back. All I have is the saved document, but it does not show all the data I entered.

Family Echo Review by Bill,  Jun 19, 2015

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Software was easy to use but could not figure out how import a GEDCOM file to familyecho.com.

Biggest Pro: It’s free and easy to use.
Biggest Con: Could not import GEDCOM files or search historical records.

Family Echo Review by Thimmappaiah,  Jun 4, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

A good software .

Family Echo Review by Virginia,  May 14, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I had to pull together two family trees in a short time. I struggled with other programs but was finally lucky enough to find Family Echo. It is awesome! It’s very easy to start with yourself and work “backwards” to your great-great grandparents etc. and equally as easy to put in your kids and grandkids. It’s also really easy to put in biographical information, sources etc. without going through a laborious process. It allows you to put in ex-partners, multiple marriages/unions of one person PLUS the offspring produced by each marriage/union. It prints out an awesome family tree either in colour format (blue for male, pink for female) or just plain. You can have information displayed as first and last name, with or without a middle name, showing the maiden name. It’s an incredibly easy program to use and yet you can put in tons of information.

Biggest Pro: ease of use and the fact you can put in detailed information
Biggest Con: When saving / downloading, I’m really unfamiliar with all the ways a person can save information and don’t understand the benefits of using one format over the other. It would be nice if there was some sort of guideline such as “If you are exchanging information with a relative this format works best with such and such program” i.e. some sort of rating based on the genealogist’s expertise (”If you’re just starting out, use this to save” “If you’re an expert genealogist you might want to save in this format because…..”

Family Echo Review by Angela,  Apr 17, 2015

Not Rated

Love the ease of the software, but there’s no real space to put your resources/sources/ideas/thoughts and random notes/findings.

But, for free, it does a fab job that’ll do most people for their needs…. we can all whinge that we want more, but, heck, it IS free

Biggest Pro: It is free and works easily
Biggest Con: Not being able to hold/read/see notes etc. I use the spaces in biography, but it’s a poor option for that.

Family Echo Review by Brian,  Mar 26, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Better than most paid family tree makers.

Biggest Pro: easy to learn
Biggest Con: it doesn’t work on phones

Family Echo Review by Kian M.,  Mar 2, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Really good, easy to use and learn. Good for making real or fake family trees.

Biggest Pro: Easy to learn and use!
Biggest Con: You can’t look at the entire tree with all members at once…

Family Echo Review by Dan,  Feb 19, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

It is good so I can make fictional family trees and create some of my own.

Biggest Pro: It is very elaborate.
Biggest Con: None

Family Echo Review by anil dj petla,  Jan 24, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Anil dj dj petla

Family Echo Review by Weston,  Jan 9, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Very well made aside from few points (see biggest con)

Biggest Pro: Layout
Biggest Con: past cousin marriages result in multiple duplicates that can make the layout disorganized

Family Echo Review by Freya,  Dec 30, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Its really good for making the trees, but if you want to print them, you can only see a few people at once meaning I cant use it for my whole extended family. It does work well though!

Biggest Pro: Simple to use
Biggest Con: you can only see a few of your family at once

Family Echo Review by Jessie,  Dec 29, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Excellent. Easy to use, logical layout, pleasing results. Can view many generations at once and add biographical information to individuals. By far the most superior genealogy tool I have been able to find on the internet.

Biggest Pro: Layout
Biggest Con: None

Family Echo Review by Harry Hurley,  Dec 7, 2014

Not Rated

What does it mean: What is “optional premium services” mean to me in the future
harryhurley@hotmail.com please answere. Thanks

Family Echo is a free service. In future it may include advertising or offer optional premium services

Family Echo Review by Umesh Chandra Shrivastava,  Oct 25, 2014

Not Rated

Wonderful source of preparing family tree and preserve for keeping informed our future generation about their ancessestors. The tool is simple to use. Great facility provided for free.Thanks.

Biggest Pro: to print in one sheet as my family tree go up to seven generations
Biggest Con: None

Family Echo Review by barry,  Oct 15, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

excellent tool for sketching out family trees

to the reviewer who had problems printing large trees - it is possible in program settings to specify
how many sheets you want the tree printed over

Biggest Pro: free easy to use does what it says on the tin!!!
Biggest Con: none

Family Echo Review by Leonard Garcia,  Aug 16, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Imported family tree into this one, perfect import.

Biggest Pro: Free
Biggest Con: No support, no phone, no user’s manual

Family Echo Review by Rosdir,  Jun 13, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I’ve searched for and tried several tree creators, but this one is the best. It’s free, and there’s no download, registration, or special software required. It’s the best choice by far.

Biggest Pro: It’s browser based and free.
Biggest Con: I wish you could make seperate family trees on the same page as others.

Family Echo Review by Samir Azer,  Jun 10, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Excellent, well thought out program. Extremely user friendly and intuitive. The find key makes it very easy to search a blood line. And on top of all that it is free
Great job

Biggest Pro: Comprehensive, easy to use, easy to search.
Biggest Con: None

Family Echo Review by John Peter,  Jun 2, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Was really good I was able to completer my class assignment with this about 2 years ago.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use
Biggest Con: Hard to print as my family tree goes up to 4 generations

Show 21-40 »