Family Echo

Click To See Award Winners
by Familiality Ltd. (Gideon Greenspan)
Build an interactive family tree of your ancestry. Invite family members to collaborate online and fill in the missing details.

Free • Online • Full Featured
http://www.familyecho.com/
Overall543.58 out of 53.58 out of 53.58 out of 53.58 out of 53.58 out of 5 3.58
2016103.28 out of 53.28 out of 53.28 out of 53.28 out of 53.28 out of 5 3.28
2015133.66 out of 53.66 out of 53.66 out of 53.66 out of 53.66 out of 5 3.66
Earlier314.41 out of 54.41 out of 54.41 out of 54.41 out of 54.41 out of 5 4.41

Add Your Review of Family Echo

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

54 Reviews of Family Echo     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Family Echo Review by Dakota Peatross,  Nov 18, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Fam

Family Echo Review by Ashlyn Da Fox,  Nov 15, 2016

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Family Echo has been a great help!! It´s very flexible, and overall amazing. Sadly, it kept cutting off entire branches of my family tree, and I couldn´t print them, and could only acess it by finding their name in the list

Biggest Pro: So flexible!
Biggest Con: It kept cutting off branches of the family for no reason

Family Echo Review by Ross,  Oct 13, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Very helpful to make a family tree that can be browsed and modified with ease

Biggest Pro: Free. Good as, if not better than, a paid one. Easy to use and browse
Biggest Con: No way to differentiate adoptions from births. Could not make a Ptolemaic Dynasty family tree as it does not allow sibling marriages.

Family Echo Review by Gal,  Oct 13, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

The program is very helpful if you have a bif family. It knows how to orgenize everything the way you like. Altho I whouldnt recommand for very small families becouse you can just do it on powerpoint or word etc.. if you have more then one family to display the program support it which is very nice and helpful

Biggest Pro: The orgnizing way
Biggest Con: To save your family you have to register

Family Echo Review by Gus,  Oct 5, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

This is a pretty impressive piece of software. I imported a gedcom file and was up and running within five minutes. The user interface is reasonably intuitive. (Took a little bit of time to figure out the locations of the various items and how to access them, but after that it is pretty slick.)

I especially like the ease of sharing the tree with others, which makes cooperation a cinch. The variety of export formats is impressive, although the text format orders the nodes in a tree in a seemingly arbitrary manner, which makes it impossible to use for archiving. It also seems difficult to get a printed copy of the tree, but with almost 1800 nodes in the tree, it is understandable that a readable layout would be tricky.

Another important feature that I have not seen in other software is that the tree displays information both backwards (ancestors) and forwards (descendants) simultaneously. Being able to control the depth of the tree is also useful. All in all, an awesome piece of software. And it’s free!!

Biggest Pro: Easy navigation, easy sharing
Biggest Con: Export in text format is useless.

Family Echo Review by Meow,  Jun 12, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I would recommend this to all. The only problem I see with this is that you can’t really display the tree all the way. Otherwise, very easy to put in information.

Family Echo Review by Ollie smith,  Jun 10, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Not able to save family tree to move to family history book.

Biggest Pro: miss leading. the program is horrible.
Biggest Con: Will not recommend for use.

Family Echo Review by Anonymous,  Mar 10, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

This program was horrible. Wasn’t able to display all of the family because Family Echo said that it would be too confusing. Ended up doing my family tree manually in word with text boxes, which ended up being much easier than trying to use Family Echo. Would not recommend.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: All of them

Family Echo Review by Malolalo,  Mar 5, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

This is what I have been looking for something private that only the family can share. Most people are very private and do not want details of their family flooting around the internet. This keeps the information within the family and is easy to use. I have discovered a lot of lost family that I had not kept in contact with and is a tool to pass on to future generations. Good job.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use.
Biggest Con: Limit what you can share with other family members.

Family Echo Review by vikas srivastava,  Jan 14, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Very Easy to use and browse through in huge family tree, the only issue I faced is to optimally aligning the tree for printout. There is no way to move the nodes and realign the tree.

Biggest Pro: Very Easy to use and browse through in huge family tree,
Biggest Con: There is no way to move the nodes and realign the tree.

Family Echo Review by John B,  Dec 29, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Having used a variety of flaky software systems over the years I was expecting problems. But, despite having imported another big family tree, added a hundred new records; it has only failed once and a reboot saved the day. Very impressed. It seems to cover all the bases. I could add a wish list of things I would like, but that would be churlish for a free program! Thanks.

Biggest Pro: It just works.
Biggest Con: Can’t draw complex tree arrangements and creates a dashed line where the tree should be.

Family Echo Review by jg,  Nov 25, 2015

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

It is not loading on the left, where you are supposed to be able to create your tree. Help please!!

Biggest Pro: easy to use
Biggest Con: cant use it

Family Echo Review by Teri,  Jul 12, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

For a free site this is an excellent source for your family tree. I have been able to go back to the 1600’s with no problems until it comes to printing. You need to change the settings to show everyone and the print out takes 100 pages and lots of taping . I don’t have walls big enough !!! If you want to put your tree on your own website or domain it’s easy and allows for full HTML export . You can invite tree members to edit their personal information without effecting the other information . I would have given it a 5 if there was a better way to print .

Biggest Pro: Easy to use and save data as HTML , Text or Gedcom
Biggest Con: inability to print tree effectively

Family Echo Review by J,  Jun 21, 2015

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I had no idea that after spending hours researching dates (marriages, births, deaths, divorces, birthdays that my data would disappear. I did not know to create an account. Is there anyway to get that information back?

Biggest Pro: easy to use, but easy to lose
Biggest Con: Wasted hours and lost all my data. Wish I could get that information back. All I have is the saved document, but it does not show all the data I entered.

Family Echo Review by Bill,  Jun 19, 2015

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Software was easy to use but could not figure out how import a GEDCOM file to familyecho.com.

Biggest Pro: It’s free and easy to use.
Biggest Con: Could not import GEDCOM files or search historical records.

Family Echo Review by Thimmappaiah,  Jun 4, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

A good software .

Family Echo Review by Virginia,  May 14, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I had to pull together two family trees in a short time. I struggled with other programs but was finally lucky enough to find Family Echo. It is awesome! It’s very easy to start with yourself and work “backwards” to your great-great grandparents etc. and equally as easy to put in your kids and grandkids. It’s also really easy to put in biographical information, sources etc. without going through a laborious process. It allows you to put in ex-partners, multiple marriages/unions of one person PLUS the offspring produced by each marriage/union. It prints out an awesome family tree either in colour format (blue for male, pink for female) or just plain. You can have information displayed as first and last name, with or without a middle name, showing the maiden name. It’s an incredibly easy program to use and yet you can put in tons of information.

Biggest Pro: ease of use and the fact you can put in detailed information
Biggest Con: When saving / downloading, I’m really unfamiliar with all the ways a person can save information and don’t understand the benefits of using one format over the other. It would be nice if there was some sort of guideline such as “If you are exchanging information with a relative this format works best with such and such program” i.e. some sort of rating based on the genealogist’s expertise (”If you’re just starting out, use this to save” “If you’re an expert genealogist you might want to save in this format because…..”

Family Echo Review by Angela,  Apr 17, 2015

Not Rated

Love the ease of the software, but there’s no real space to put your resources/sources/ideas/thoughts and random notes/findings.

But, for free, it does a fab job that’ll do most people for their needs…. we can all whinge that we want more, but, heck, it IS free

Biggest Pro: It is free and works easily
Biggest Con: Not being able to hold/read/see notes etc. I use the spaces in biography, but it’s a poor option for that.

Family Echo Review by Brian,  Mar 26, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Better than most paid family tree makers.

Biggest Pro: easy to learn
Biggest Con: it doesn’t work on phones

Family Echo Review by Kian M.,  Mar 2, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Really good, easy to use and learn. Good for making real or fake family trees.

Biggest Pro: Easy to learn and use!
Biggest Con: You can’t look at the entire tree with all members at once…

Show 21-40 »